• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Early retirement in JB

Well-said! But why you so "suay" to see 3 India Indian docs?!

I'm glad that the opposition political parties are getting stronger in the past few years. Also glad to have social media reveal the shameless tactics of the SG government. We didn't have that benefit back before the days of Internet.

It doesn't matter if the opposition cannot win many seats. But from the way things are happening now, I can see the presence of the opposition parties alone makes the PAP wake up from their arrogance and brute force way of pushing local commoners aside in favour of mediocre or substandard foreigners.

Just read the Straits Times that the government has appointed CPF Board to look into allowing partial lump sum withdrawals and voluntary minimum top-ups. This happens only after countless attempts by the citizens and people like Roy Nerng (note: I am neutral towards him) who dare to protest. Now we know GE is coming soon! :smile:

Do you all realise one thing? We need to voice our complaints before this money-face government wake up from their deep sleep. Besides the CPF issue, below are some others:

- Expensive, under-supply of HDB flats (Then suddenly they built a lot more BTO flats. Now flats are over-supplied and prices are going down down down.)

- Overcrowded and often broken down MRT trains (Suddenly Straits Times showed Lui Tuck Yew doing his homework by taking MRT trains like the lazy schoolboy who only studies last minute for his exam)

- Over-priced Brompton bikes bought by NParks. (Khaw Boon Wan initially gave some stupid excuse that such bikes are necessary for the park rangers' comfort. Turned out the tender for the bikes was not done fairly.)

- Chinese cheat Yang Yin tried to steal the wealth of the elderly widow. Ang Mo Kio MP Intan Mokhtar simply submitted a recommendation letter to Immigration based on the fact that the woman suffering from dementia had claimed he was his grandson. Did she simply write the letter when she realised how "rich and successful" the China cheater is? (Only when the news broke out later that he forged his certificate and documents did the police step in to arrest him. If not, then what? This guy would have become an overnight multi-millionaire with his family getting citizenship in no time?)

- The infamous Sim Lim case where a Vietnamese man was cheated and literally begged to have his money returned by the shop (Only then did the authorities decided more needs to be done to remove such dishonest practices.)

There is a handful more. I am too tired to type but I am sure all of you can give some examples without thinking too hard.

Yes there are so many bad policies and lack of monitoring that gave crooks like Yang yin opportunity to fake everything to get his employment pass and PR. The recent columbarium incident also exposed the govt to be not doing their job well.

Yeah I was really quite suay to see three India indian doctors but there are so many of them in polyclinic so not that uncommon too. The first was a few years back at a polyclinic. The other two were recently.

You know what the first India indian doctor was chatting on the phone when his India friend called him in the midst of consultation. When I asked him after the call ended why he talked so long and that he shouldn't do this as he is paid by taxpayers, the nurse and him looked so shocked. He must have been doing this for ages with the poor patients waiting for him with no complaints.

But he quickly recovered and you know what he retort me? He asked me whether I pay tax?! I said of course I do. Obviously he thought polyclinic patients are poor and can be treated shabbily. Very arrogant third world doctor right?

Haha I got more story to tell about the second and third India indian doctors but maybe another day.

snowbird

Instead of talking and discussing about "Early retirement in JB", this thread had turned into "complain and complain about problems in Singapore".

Frodo

Instead of talking and discussing about "Early retirement in JB", this thread had turned into "complain and complain about problems in Singapore".

Maybe one thing to do when retired in JB is to complain about Singapore! LOL!

enjoylife77

For the unhappy lot, just remember to earn as much S$ as possible and spend only on your necessity here. For clothing, luxury item, entertainment etc, just spend it overseas; this way you can deprive the govt of the 7% GST.

summervale

Then what have this thread " A Singaporean's Guide To Living in JB" becoming into? Investment thread?

Forumers from all wards of life come are here to share informations, seeking advice, and even to scold each other.

If you are not happy or simply not interesting in one thread, then move to the other, unless you are the modulator which you find that the contents are not suitable in this forum.

Personally, I am not a fan of condo, does it mean I need to tell all forumers to stop discussing about condo?

Thank you..

whoami

One thing i like about this forum...is a free forum. No holds bar. Anything goes.

Why we KPKB here abt MIW? Even my 10yr old newphew knows the answer.

Problems affecting sinkies...ranging fm pro-FTs, CPF, HOusing etc etc etc etc. Kong Bey Leow. Tats why must KPKB. Tat way i would feel better pouring out my grievances.

Forummers (of course not the 60.1%) should also ask themselves why we KPKB in this particular thread. Go put on ur thinking cap.

I would be worried if theres no complain..AT ALL abt MIW.

eric3417

Agreed. Complaints/grumbles are part & parcel of life.
On a free forum surely there's a place for them.
Esp in a general thread like retirement in JB.

It's what u choose to do with your life that's important,
anything else is just news/noise/information.

snowbird

Agreed. Complaints/grumbles are part & parcel of life.
On a free forum surely there's a place for them.
Esp in a general thread like retirement in JB.

It's what u choose to do with your life that's important,
anything else is just news/noise/information.

Agree too that complaints/grumbles are part & parcel of life.
Then please go and start a fresh thread something like "EVERYTHING THAT I AM NOT HAPPY ABOUT SINGAPORE" to complain and grumble.
My point is leave this to people who wish to talk everything about living in JB!

Maybe one thing to do when retired in JB is to complain about Singapore! LOL!

Aiyah retired in JB if kena major and chronic illness also need to go polyclinic and public hospitals for long drawn treatment. So rich to seek all private treatment in JB meh. Stay in overseas also need to pay the new medishield life premium. So as long as the govt no change, retired in JB still got to see and complain third world doctors and suffer from lousy govt policies.

Agree too that complaints/grumbles are part & parcel of life.
Then please go and start a fresh thread something like "EVERYTHING THAT I AM NOT HAPPY ABOUT SINGAPORE" to complain and grumble.
My point is leave this to people who wish to talk everything about living in JB!

The point is the discussion just flowed and led to these comments. If people can only discuss this in another thread, it is a form of suppression, that such comments are like the untouchable to be banished somewhere else.

And if you really think so all comments should be centralised that way, why did you comment in more than one threads about the china developers? Why don't you create one thread "EVERYTHING THAT I AM NOT HAPPY WITH CHINA DEVELOPERS IN JB" to complain and grumble about China developers instead of repeating in various threads as and when discussion flowed?

sgcount

Haha... That India Indian doc probably thought he was still in his home country, got caste system. I can't imagine this kind of thing happened in other first world countries. There will be racial discrimination, protests and riots. Go to countries like US and Australia and see if a foreigner dare to behave and talk to their natives in that manner.

Did you read the silly comparison given by Khaw Boon Wan about the Chinese "Butterfly Lovers" story?

Yes there are so many bad policies and lack of monitoring that gave crooks like Yang yin opportunity to fake everything to get his employment pass and PR. The recent columbarium incident also exposed the govt to be not doing their job well.

Yeah I was really quite suay to see three India indian doctors but there are so many of them in polyclinic so not that uncommon too. The first was a few years back at a polyclinic. The other two were recently.

You know what the first India indian doctor was chatting on the phone when his India friend called him in the midst of consultation. When I asked him after the call ended why he talked so long and that he shouldn't do this as he is paid by taxpayers, the nurse and him looked so shocked. He must have been doing this for ages with the poor patients waiting for him with no complaints.

But he quickly recovered and you know what he retort me? He asked me whether I pay tax?! I said of course I do. Obviously he thought polyclinic patients are poor and can be treated shabbily. Very arrogant third world doctor right?

Haha I got more story to tell about the second and third India indian doctors but maybe another day.

sgcount

Although this forum is about retirement in JB, I guess discussing the negative sides of living here is a push factor to find retirement elsewhere, for eg, in JB? :smile: I don't think many here bought properties in JB mainly for investment. It's more like to get out of Singapore.

See this:
http://www.straitstimes.com/premium/forum-letters/story/all-not-well-sgh-ae-20150131

5.5 hours wait in SGH A&E. What amazes me is that there are so many government supporters. One even blamed the forum writer and said she should take care of her own elderly mum instead of complaining the long waiting time and lack of service.

I don't remember at all waiting at A&E was that long in the past. The situation is so glaringly obvious. This country is overpopulated. The commoners have to accept their HDB flats will be small and priced like condos not that long ago, they will no longer be able to afford a car, they have to squeeze in over-crowded MRT trains (if still not happy, buy a bicycle and cycle to work, as advised by Khaw Boon Wan), there may not be enough hospital beds, wait for hours at A&E, one may need to send their aged parents to JB in future, etc.

So.... yes, retirement in JB is one option indeed! :smile:

Frodo

Although this forum is about retirement in JB, I guess discussing the negative sides of living here is a push factor to find retirement elsewhere, for eg, in JB? :smile: I don't think many here bought properties in JB mainly for investment. It's more like to get out of Singapore.

And for many of us it is to get out, get in, get out, get in, get out...of Singapore, commuting almost daily to earn Sing dollars to spend in Malaysia! :p All said, the "backyard" of Singapore is a vast area to explore esp in shopping and fooding!:biggrin:

Narmi

See this:
http://www.straitstimes.com/premium/forum-letters/story/all-not-well-sgh-ae-20150131

5.5 hours wait in SGH A&E. What amazes me is that there are so many government supporters. One even blamed the forum writer and said she should take care of her own elderly mum instead of complaining the long waiting time and lack of service.

I don't remember at all waiting at A&E was that long in the past. The situation is so glaringly obvious. This country is overpopulated. The commoners have to accept their HDB flats will be small and priced like condos not that long ago, they will no longer be able to afford a car, they have to squeeze in over-crowded MRT trains (if still not happy, buy a bicycle and cycle to work, as advised by Khaw Boon Wan), there may not be enough hospital beds, wait for hours at A&E, one may need to send their aged parents to JB in future, etc.

Really true about A&E waiting time. This one is at KTPH not sgh but even longer waiting time what FT medical workers. They even asked my dad if wanto be admitted n treated faster can consider alexandra hospital. What stooooopid suggestn to give when we stay in yishun and asked to go Alexandra.

Haha... That India Indian doc probably thought he was still in his home country, got caste system. I can't imagine this kind of thing happened in other first world countries. There will be racial discrimination, protests and riots. Go to countries like US and Australia and see if a foreigner dare to behave and talk to their natives in that manner.

Did you read the silly comparison given by Khaw Boon Wan about the Chinese "Butterfly Lovers" story?

Yeah lor that India indian doctor was being racist and insensitive. And these people are well known to cry foul of others being racist and insensitive but they themselves do it nevermind lah.

Yes that silly comparison should be famous by now. Really shameless of million dollar minister to explain a big govt negligence in such a casual manner. No proper check before awarding tender just say so instead of giving a filmsy excuse like this.

Now they seem to want to settle the matter between govt and company simply by finding a mutual solution. Like that also can? No need to account to the public first who is at fault and who pays for any damage?

See this:

Yes instead of our lives improving, we are constantly being told to accept many compromises in order to accommodate the foreigners. Besides the examples you have given, we have the govt telling locals no need to study university (while they keep importing many foreign students to study for free), plum jobs are going to foreigners without any controls (my friend used to work in company with 80 or 90% foreigners and in her team were all India Indians while she is the only local and the experience has been horrible). Etc etc.

ComingToJB

Really true about A&E waiting time. This one is at KTPH not sgh but even longer waiting time what FT medical workers. They even asked my dad if wanto be admitted n treated faster can consider alexandra hospital. What stooooopid suggestn to give when we stay in yishun and asked to go Alexandra.

Waiting time is a big problem from polyclinic to gov hospital. Next appointment given have to wait very long.
Unless you are rich to go for private.

My fren now retired in JB.. Go for treatment by specialist in JB.. No waiting time is need & even next appointment is very fast..

Cost wise, if were to compare, is about the same as SG gov hospital after subsidy

sgcount

Yes instead of our lives improving, we are constantly being told to accept many compromises in order to accommodate the foreigners. Besides the examples you have given, we have the govt telling locals no need to study university (while they keep importing many foreign students to study for free), plum jobs are going to foreigners without any controls (my friend used to work in company with 80 or 90% foreigners and in her team were all India Indians while she is the only local and the experience has been horrible). Etc etc.

Yes. It's so rubbish. As the days and weeks pass by, I can see clearly where this government is heading. They are trying to create a system where only the local academically brightest (or who they consider to be the brightest, may not be so in real life) will be selected to head or run the show. The rest of the workforce they can do a mass recruitment of workers from overseas 3rd world countries at much cheaper price. It's all about how to maximise profits while minimising taking care of the citizens.

Rather than be accountable for their actions, they will always come up with some nice excuses. For eg, after importing so many foreigners and causing locals to have pay cuts, fewer and fewer couples want to have children or have more than 1. So the government says we need more foreigners to be imported to make up for the population shortage.

When Singaporeans find that certain jobs are no longer suitable or them because of the long hours and low pay (you want people to get married and have more children, yet the work is long and low pay, then HOW??!), they are labelled as "lazy", "incompetent", "whiners".

When HDB flat prices all shot up within a short span of time, instead of building more flats, they gave the excuse "you have to manage your expectations. Flats are still affordable. You can take 30 year loans and live in 3 or 4 room flats". They also paint a false picture for young people that they can also live a lifestyle similar or better than their parents. That's rubbish. A non-university educated parent 1 generation ago can have 3 kids on average, a family car, spend money for kid's uni education, live in a 5 room or executive flat. Couples today worry if they can cope with only a kid, no money to buy car, instead told to cycle to work, take 10-20 years longer housing loans, and live in a much smaller 3 or 4 room flat.

Singapore is successful today mainly because Singaporeans are very obedient citizens like a dog listening to its master faithfully. There is nothing really super special about the SG government. If the same method of governance, where foreigners are favoured more than locals, is applied to any other bigger countries like Japan, Korea, Australia, US, Europe, etc, they will be 10,000 times even more successful. Singapore would be nothing in comparison.