• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

[Future of Sinkapore?] An inside look at HK low cost apartment living

German photographer Michael Wolf gives the world an inside look at the cramped conditions of low-income apartments in Hong Kong. Seeing these overhead views of identical 10’ x 10’ rooms makes this reporter thankful to just have a toilet that isn’t in the living room.

With 6,480 people packed into every square kilometer, Hong Kong is one of the most densely populated places in the world. To put this number into perspective, Tokyo has a population density of 6,000 people per km2, London is at 1,570 people per km2, and Los Angeles is at 3,124 people per km2.

To make living even more crowded, only 6.8 percent of land in Hong Kong is used for housing, giving rise to behemoth apartment structures.

houses-in-hong-kong9.jpg

houses-in-hong-kong10.jpg

houses-in-hong-kong.jpg

houses-in-hong-kong2.jpg

houses-in-hong-kong3.jpg

houses-in-hong-kong4.jpg

houses-in-hong-kong5.jpg

houses-in-hong-kong6.jpg

houses-in-hong-kong7.jpg

houses-in-hong-kong8.jpg

houses-in-hong-kong11.jpg

houses-in-hong-kong12.jpg

houses-in-hong-kong13.jpg

houses-in-hong-kong14.jpg

houses-in-hong-kong15.jpg

houses-in-hong-kong16.jpg

houses-in-hong-kong17.jpg

houses-in-hong-kong18.jpg

houses-in-hong-kong19.jpg

houses-in-hong-kong20.jpg

houses-in-hong-kong21.jpg

houses-in-hong-kong22.jpg

houses-in-hong-kong23.jpg

houses-in-hong-kong24.jpg

Jlokta

I think this picture reflects the housing for the future if this little red dot is still under the rule of the 超级白.

HongKongCageHome1.jpg

china people leh...............

amazing how some of those buildings are so tall but yet so small footprint.............i think 1 floor 1 unit only.........

pure madness...........

kohpc

Yes its quite bad and its no wonder they are up in arms when so many 'locust' mainland chinese descend on Hong Kong and use up their scarce resources.

Our forefathers came from southern China to SE Asia to seek a better life for their descendants.

It looks like we shall return to the simple lifestyle of our forefathers. :biggrin:

imagesofsingapore5.jpg

Remember: flats may become smaller but it does not mean the quality of living will drop.

So said the HDB CEO in 2011. :cool:

[video=youtube;2EWiF9CufU4]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2EWiF9CufU4[/video]

... With 6,480 people packed into every square kilometer, Hong Kong is one of the most densely populated places in the world. To put this number into perspective, Tokyo has a population density of 6,000 people per km2, London is at 1,570 people per km2, and Los Angeles is at 3,124 people per km2. ...
y dey never put sinkielan? ... sinkielan beats all of dem hands down ...

Remember: flats may become smaller but it does not mean the quality of living will drop ...
whole dot may b suffocating wif 8m popn, but it does not oso mean quality of living wil drop ...

peasants wil live underground, but it does not oso mean quality of living wil drop ...

We take solace that HDB is highly subsidized , 1k also can buy type. How fortunate we r compared to hongkies.

sinkies must consider themselves lucky for having a gov that treats quality housing with the utmost priority. :biggrin:

I think this picture reflects the housing for the future if this little red dot is still under the rule of the 超级白.

Already happening....
My friend partitioned his hdb 4 room flat and rents bed space to FTs.
He can pack 32 pax into it.....very happy every month end during rent collection time.

Jlokta

Already happening....
My friend partitioned his hdb 4 room flat and rents bed space to FTs.
He can pack 32 pax into it.....very happy every month end during rent collection time.

WTG!!

Average $160/bed x 32pax >$5K tax free at the expense of FT!!

Give your friend a Tiger!!

tiger%u00252B2.jpg

WTG!!

Average $160/bed x 32pax >$5K tax free at the expense of FT!!

Give your friend a Tiger!!

View attachment 13892

Sorry boss...it's minimum $220 per pax....up to $250.
$220 is for the pretty ATBs....the master bedroom with attached bathroom is exclusively the 'girls dorm'.
Smart chap vets his tenants carefully...the trick he says is to rent to shift workers....so all the tenants are never home at the same time. He easily banks more than $6k per month from this venture....utilities are very high...
He knows many are doing the same. Some are enterprising FTs who are 2nd hand tenants who rents the whole unit from clueless sinkies.