• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Project 2016: Vote out Lee Hsien Loong (SBF)

xingguy

10427299_674349772683114_3824347276131815934_n.jpg

That day I watched a documentary about Haw Par corporation and the daughter of the founder was being interviewed said about the founder moved the company from Burma to Spore back in 1921 as Spore was the SEA hub, something like that. It showed a video of the Spore city then, already built up and very bustling with activity, and this had got nothing to do with PAP. So why should Spore be in deep trouble without PAP?

What did PAP do in the last ten years besides bringing in tonnes of foreigners, building casinos and shopping centres? Only after much complaints then they are willing to start building more HDB, MRT, hospital. Why should the failing of this kind of govt bring deep trouble to Singapore? Instead it should be the reverse, this kind of govt bringing in tonnes of low quality foreigners created deep trouble for Singapore.

Next GE may not be when ‘everybody is expecting it’: PM Lee

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/next-ge-may-not-be-when/1526188.html

This motherfucker is so pompous, so conceited, so 自以为是... that he sincerely believes that he is such a genius playing mind games and being coy about the GE date. :rolleyes:

One of his cyber-astroturfing dogs had recently eagerly set up this blog.

http://sggeneralelections2016.blogspot.com

Which obviously seems to suggest that the GE is anything but in 2016. Look for the signs: teachers being activated for election duty, ramping up of 'good news' articles in the mainstream media, an escalation of bombarding the WP. :rolleyes:

Stompiss

DEAR TRS, I WAS FIRED BY A FT BOSS BECAUSE I HAD A DISPUTE WITH HIS COMPATRIOT FRIEND

Post date:
15 Dec 2014 - 2:27pm

Dear TRS,

I was very happy when i got my desired job after many months of search. I liked my job and picking up gradually thinking that i will be confirmed in the job.

It is a MNC company and majority are Indian nationals and PRC's . Everything was going smooth to me till one fine day, a Indian national technician tried to push his mistake to me. Eventually i was not happy and i had to argue with him to justify, in the presence of supervisor who is also an Indian, converted to SG citizen recently. These two are very thick like gays. By seeing me arguing with his friend, he was unhappy.

Just four days before the confirmation date, i was called by the manager who is a Philipino, for a assessment . During the meeting, i found out that their intention is to expel me from the company. Reason they gave is that i am not performing.

<ins id="aswift_1_expand" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentcolor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: inline-table; visibility: visible; position: relative; border-image-source: none; background-color: transparent;"><ins id="aswift_1_anchor" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentcolor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: block; visibility: visible; position: relative; border-image-source: none; background-color: transparent;"><iframe name="aswift_1" width="336" height="280" id="aswift_1" frameborder="0" marginwidth="0" marginheight="0" scrolling="no" vspace="0" hspace="0" allowfullscreen="true" allowtransparency="true" style="left: 0px; top: 0px; position: absolute;"></iframe></ins></ins>

As per the senior technicians personal remarks, i was picking up very fast and going great in the job. Just because i had to argue with the supervisors friend. The supervisor gave a bad remark of me to the manager. All this happened on sept this year and I am still jobless till today.

I would like to conclude by saying that the Singaporean like me are unsecured and affected in the workplace by group of FT's. FT's rice bowl are full and where else locals is empty.
Thanking you
SR
TRS Contributor

xingguy

Source: likedatosocanmeh

20141216 Younger Singaporeans must learn from parents’ mistake and not vote to get retirement fixed by PAP
December 16, 2014 by phillip ang

Singaporeans have been fooled by the PAP for five decades. We have mistakenly thought a blank cheque given to the PAP was to govern; instead, the government has been using its power to profit from citizens’ misery.

Fortunately, younger Singaporeans are more educated and internet savvy and have access to factual information vs only state propaganda in our mainstream media available to their parents. But even without the internet, one should be able to see the shocking number of older and elderly citizens in low-wage jobs. PAP has forgotten an ordinary human being needs rest after working for decades.

PAP loves to trumpet its success in transforming Singapore into a very wealthy country. But which wealthy country has 26% of the population earning less than half the average median income? Which wealthy country has a majority of retirees who cannot retire after contributing the highest percentage of wages into a retirement savings fund for more than 3 decades?

What our CPF system does is to give the PAP total control to ru(i)n our lives, as is evidenced by the frequent tweaking to generate pseudo GDP growth ie increase real estate prices in tandem with a population increase.

Why did the PAP allow 40% of CPF to be used for housing in the 1980’s? Why is the highest percentage of our CPF monthly contribution not channeled into an investment account for retirement but allowed for housing? The PAP had already fixed Singaporeans’ retirement plans for us to downgrade in the event of any retirement shortfall. But the PAP had not expected this to be the mother of all retirement shortfalls.

Strangely, the PAP has still not understood the price it will have to pay at the next election. No PAP politician has deviated from its grand retirement plan for ordinary citizens and they have continued to insist on helping us (Silver Housing Bonus) to monetise our leased HDB flat by downgrading.

Every ordinary Singaporean goes through similar housing/retirement phases:

1 A child lives with his parents until he decides to move out. Since private property is out of reach, he has to settle for public housing which is of course under PAP’s control.

2. 64% of our CPF contribution (23% OA of total 36%) is channeled to pay for the bloody-expensive public roof over our head. After paying off installments for 30 years, little has been invested and therefore there will be little for retirement. No need to be a rocket scientist to understand this but somehow all our PAP scholars failed their Math?

3 At retirement, a majority of CPF members are unable to retire. But the PAP has assumed this is really not a problem and is more than willing to ‘assist’. It then sticks to its plan hatched decades ago and inform retirees to be self reliant and responsible by DOWNGRADING our homes.

Be mindful of the danger with such PAP ‘planning’ because retirement funding must not be conditional upon the property market on a national scale.

PAP apologists will be heard screaming “if cannot afford then buy a smaller flat lor”. But why must affordability mean buying a much smaller home than the previous generation? Is this PAP’s definition of a wealthy country?

As long as the PAP wields total power, PAP will implement its retirement plan to fix ordinary citizens. By accepting our lot as dictated by the PAP, we will be treated as economic digits. It is also likely the PAP will further delay/reduce CPF payout with its famous tweaks.

<span style="background-color: #FFFF00">PAP politicians are of course not bothered. Why should they? Look at ex MND minister who screwed up big time on housing. After retirement, he became a big time investor owning some $28 million worth of shares in GSH Corporation and simultaneously receiving his MP allowance without shame. Aren’t others as shameless?

Ordinary Singaporeans don’t realise we have the right to a dignified retirement and not one dictated by the PAP. If not, PAP should not be receiving its million-dollar salary.</span>

Older Singaporeans have been fooled by the PAP. Hopefully, the younger generation will be much wiser and not vote to get their retirement ‘fixed’ by the PAP.

End Of Article​

10712885_870000446366277_2330360303872201550_n.jpg
1557654_762747860424870_2576716221815642297_n.jpg

Source: likedatosocanmeh

20141216 Younger Singaporeans must learn from parents’ mistake and not vote to get retirement fixed by PAP
December 16, 2014 by phillip ang

Singaporeans have been fooled by the PAP for five decades. We have mistakenly thought a blank cheque given to the PAP was to govern; instead, the government has been using its power to profit from citizens’ misery.

Fortunately, younger Singaporeans are more educated and internet savvy and have access to factual information vs only state propaganda in our mainstream media available to their parents. But even without the internet, one should be able to see the shocking number of older and elderly citizens in low-wage jobs. PAP has forgotten an ordinary human being needs rest after working for decades.

PAP loves to trumpet its success in transforming Singapore into a very wealthy country. But which wealthy country has 26% of the population earning less than half the average median income? Which wealthy country has a majority of retirees who cannot retire after contributing the highest percentage of wages into a retirement savings fund for more than 3 decades?

What our CPF system does is to give the PAP total control to ru(i)n our lives, as is evidenced by the frequent tweaking to generate pseudo GDP growth ie increase real estate prices in tandem with a population increase.

Why did the PAP allow 40% of CPF to be used for housing in the 1980’s? Why is the highest percentage of our CPF monthly contribution not channeled into an investment account for retirement but allowed for housing? The PAP had already fixed Singaporeans’ retirement plans for us to downgrade in the event of any retirement shortfall. But the PAP had not expected this to be the mother of all retirement shortfalls.

Strangely, the PAP has still not understood the price it will have to pay at the next election. No PAP politician has deviated from its grand retirement plan for ordinary citizens and they have continued to insist on helping us (Silver Housing Bonus) to monetise our leased HDB flat by downgrading.

Every ordinary Singaporean goes through similar housing/retirement phases:

1 A child lives with his parents until he decides to move out. Since private property is out of reach, he has to settle for public housing which is of course under PAP’s control.

2. 64% of our CPF contribution (23% OA of total 36%) is channeled to pay for the bloody-expensive public roof over our head. After paying off installments for 30 years, little has been invested and therefore there will be little for retirement. No need to be a rocket scientist to understand this but somehow all our PAP scholars failed their Math?

3 At retirement, a majority of CPF members are unable to retire. But the PAP has assumed this is really not a problem and is more than willing to ‘assist’. It then sticks to its plan hatched decades ago and inform retirees to be self reliant and responsible by DOWNGRADING our homes.

Be mindful of the danger with such PAP ‘planning’ because retirement funding must not be conditional upon the property market on a national scale.

PAP apologists will be heard screaming “if cannot afford then buy a smaller flat lor”. But why must affordability mean buying a much smaller home than the previous generation? Is this PAP’s definition of a wealthy country?

As long as the PAP wields total power, PAP will implement its retirement plan to fix ordinary citizens. By accepting our lot as dictated by the PAP, we will be treated as economic digits. It is also likely the PAP will further delay/reduce CPF payout with its famous tweaks.

<span style="background-color: #FFFF00">PAP politicians are of course not bothered. Why should they? Look at ex MND minister who screwed up big time on housing. After retirement, he became a big time investor owning some $28 million worth of shares in GSH Corporation and simultaneously receiving his MP allowance without shame. Aren’t others as shameless?

Ordinary Singaporeans don’t realise we have the right to a dignified retirement and not one dictated by the PAP. If not, PAP should not be receiving its million-dollar salary.</span>

Older Singaporeans have been fooled by the PAP. Hopefully, the younger generation will be much wiser and not vote to get their retirement ‘fixed’ by the PAP.

End Of Article​

10712885_870000446366277_2330360303872201550_n.jpg
1557654_762747860424870_2576716221815642297_n.jpg

Gosh, with this facts, Sam leong cannot say PAP is what what what liao LOL.

xingguy

Source: My Singapore News

6/14/2014
The CPF issue took down a minister in 1984

In 1984, Howe Yoon Choong, then Minister of Health, produced a paper, Report of the Committee on the Problems of the Aged, with the main objective of delaying withdrawal of CPF savings from age 55 to 60. This created an up roar with the workers telling the trade unions they were strongly against it. The feedback was so negative that it led to his stepping down from politics.

Though the report was stating a demographic problem that was waiting to happen, it was wrong news at the wrong time. It is always never pleasant to be a messenger of bad news. Often the messenger got fried. Howe’s recommendation was a simple delay from age 55 to 60, but it was bad enough to bring down a serving minister for suggesting it.

Since then, several changes had taken place in the CPF scheme. Withdrawal age was pushed back to 60, 62, now 65 and may go higher. The withdrawal sum is no longer a lump sum but in the forms of drips and drapes, an annuity payable monthly. Then there are now two minimum sum schemes that are holding back a huge sum of the people’s savings, at current rate, about $198k with the Medisave included. In addition, the CPF members are compulsorily required to purchase CPF Life annuity insurance and an akan datang Medishield Life medical insurance.

Compare these changes to what Howe Yoon Choong had proposed the delay from 55 to 60 was nothing. How did the Govt managed to get so far without an uprising or an up roar like the time of Howe? Maybe the people did not protest. Maybe the trade unions did not protest. Maybe the protests were not fed back to the Govt. Maybe the Govt simply ignored the protests. Whatever, things seemed to have gone down well superficiality, or quietly. No protest meant the people agreed to the changes.

7 Jun told a different story. It was like all the problems and anger were bottled up and just exploded. The can of worms was ripped apart and no one can close it anymore. The issues and unhappiness are in the open. No complaints, no protest, no demonstration? What is real?

Is the anger is real? If the misgivings and unhappiness are real, would this CPF thing bring down another minister? Or would it bring down instead a Prime Minister? I think not. I think it could be worse. Everything that is wrong with the CPF has come together as one big problem and is blowing up at one go.

Please feel free to disagree. I know, many would think this assessment is an over exaggeration of a small problem or no problem. Don’t make a molehill out of a mountain. Oops, don’t make a mountain out of a molehill. It will fizzle off and nothing more would be heard of it. Life will return to normal. And the minimum sums will just keep piling up as planned.

Kopi Level - Green

Source: Balding's World

Posted on June 3, 2014
Between Apathy and Risk

I admire Roy Ngerng. I admire Roy Ngerng not for what he said, though I generally agree with what he said. I admire Roy Ngerng because he spoke out willing to accept the risks of speaking the truth. Much of the time when I write about Singapore, I feel like a fraud because I am not generally in harms way when writing about the enormous financial discrepancies. Roy Ngerng who faces much greater risk than I do has accepted that risk and calling.

Though I generally do not read comments on my work, I happened to browse through the comments section at TRemeritus.com a few months back and a reader asked me to write about specific issue that has haunted me ever since. To paraphrase with my interpretation, what will rouse Singaporeans from their apathy in determining their course as free men and women with God given rights?

The English philosopher John Stuart Mill stated that “Bad men need nothing more to compass their ends, than that good men should look on and do nothing.” People make calculations on the risks of speaking out and too often decide to remain silent, allowing bad men to compass their ends. This attitude of cynicism and self interest permeates views about those who accept risks. One Chinese youth was quoted as saying people don’t do things for ideals. The world is a sad and lonely place when people do not hold ideals and the people that do are considered lunatics.

I do not believe it is my place to advise Singaporeans who to vote for or what specific policies you should implement. However, I strongly believe <span style="background-color: #FFFF00">you should demand transparency, openness, and accountability from any government of your choosing.</span>. I strongly believe you have the right to criticize your government or any other government without fear of retribution. I strongly believe Singapore and Asia need more men and women like Roy Ngerng who are willing to accept the risks of speaking truth regardless of consequence.

Too often we think of doing the right thing as earning reward and benefits when frequently the reality is the complete opposite. Doing right may earn scorn, derision, and retribution. During my five years in Asia, I have met many wonderful people and found them insightful and thoughtful. I have however found too many people unwilling to stand up for what they believe is right. Consumers and citizens are more informed now than ever before and instead leadership creates fear and infantilizes them insisting “you wouldn’t understand.”

Roy Ngerng has met his fundraising objective of paying for the fine, but go further by attending the Return our CPF meeting at Hong Lim park on June 7th. Maybe I will come as just an innocent bystander to observe the proceedings. There is nothing about CPF, Temasek, GIC, or Singaporean finances that I can say that will make people stand up and make their voice heard. The bigger question is whether the good men and women of Singapore will stand by and do nothing.

Brief Specific Points on the CPF (as I have already written much on the topic):

1. There is no interest rate guarantee. As I have long noted, there is no guarantee because you cannot guarantee yourself. The government guarantees CPF funds and Singaporean tax payers are the funders of the government. The Singaporean tax payer is “guaranteeing” itself. This is the equivalent of buying life insurance from yourself and promising to put the payment in a separate account so that based upon your expected death, there will be the same amount for your children. If there are ever problems with CPF and Singapore government finances, guess who will be footing the bill for this guarantee? Singapore taxpayers will be paying for their own guarantee. If something goes wrong and you have to bail yourself out, that is not a guarantee.

2. If the government via any means is legally mandating citizens provide it revenue: that is a tax. The CPF is a significant form of wealth taxation on Singaporeans. In the MOF response, they state that they keep all funds above the “guaranteed” rate meaning they are imposing an implicit form of taxation. A government simply cannot pass a law requiring citizens that confiscates money and not call it a tax.

3. Please raise your hand if you would rather have the guaranteed CPF rate of 2.5% (a total weighted 3.67% based upon all CPF funds) or the unguaranteed GIC rate of return of 6.5% in USD terms? What about the 16% of Temasek primarily holding historical Singaporean state owned firms? Anyone? Anyone?

4. As I have noted before, as a matter of prudence, I support raising the guaranteed requirement. However, to achieve those ends it would be better to let Singaporeans share the benefits of the GIC and Temasek through any number of various proposals, rather than make it that much harder to meet the minimum standard. Temasek is comprised primarily of historically state owned firms and GIC, by the governments own admission, is comprised of public investment capital. The people of Singapore should share this bounty rather than being forced into indenbtured servitude.

End Of Article​

Einstein.jpg