• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Project 2016: Vote out Lee Hsien Loong (SBF)

xingguy

Source: The Real Singapore

PM LEE: WE ARE PAYING CORRECT SALARIES TO MORALLY UPRIGHT AND TRUSTWORTHY MINISTERS
Post date: 11 Nov 2014 - 9:00am

Lee%20Hsien%20Loong%201.jpg

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said ministers must be paid “realistic and correct salaries” so that they get “morally upright people” for the job.

He said this in an interview with Yang Lan on Beijing Satellite TV. The interview was broadcasted on Monday.

“I think the topic of high salaries can cause a sharp reaction.

Mr Lee said, “In principle, we are not talking about high salaries.

“What we want are realistic and correct salaries.

He said that this is because they want “morally upright people” and the “right people for the right jobs”.

“The most important job must be done by the most capable, the most trustworthy person.

He feels that they should pay high salaries to ministers because “we must treat them fairly and equally.”

He said that, “If we want the services of such capable and trustworthy people, then we must treat them fairly and equally.

“We must have a practical system - a realistic salary.

“At the same time our requirements are strict - your performance must be good.”

He also revealed, “Legally, you absolutely cannot do anything you are not supposed to do.

“And if that happens, you will be punished under the law, and the punishment will be severe.

Mr Lee said, “So this is not just a question of salaries.

“It is also a matter of the system, an issue of transparency, and our whole culture.”

Mr Lee also said, “In the long term, anti-corruption measures are necessary for economic development.

“In Singapore, we feel anti-corruption is very important,” he claimed.

He also claimed that, “Since the People's Action Party became the ruling party, its 55 years - we have always stood firm on maintaining a clean and corruption-free Government.

Again, Mr Lee said that everything that needs to be done muat be done legally.

“Of course, sometimes some people may break the rules, or break the law.

He made the claim too that, “No matter who is involved, we deal with this very strictly according to law.

Today, the Singapore ministers are paid the highest salaries in the world. Mr Lee’s own salary of $2.2 million puts him as earning more than three times as much as the next highest-paid head of state.

The income inequality in Singapore is also the highest among the developed countries. The rich-poor gap in Singapore is also the highest.

Even though Mr Lee earns $2.2 million in a year, a cleaner can still only earn $1,000 a month. It will take nearly 300 years for a cleaner to earn the total of what Mr Lee can earn.

In recent times, the Singapore government has also increased their own salaries in 1994, 2000, 2004 and 2007 and each time, the income inequality rose with it, followed by the rich getting richer as the share of income that goes to them also increased.

Mr Lee said that ministers should be treated “fairly and equally” but this comes at the expense of Singaporeans who are treated unequally.

<span style="background-color: #FFFF00">However, the question has been often asked, if we need to pay office-holders such extravagant salaries to prevent them from being corrupt, then are they even “morally upright” and “trustworthy” people in the first place, as Mr Lee claimed?

Then, are they truly the “right people for the right jobs”?</span>

Related:

Court Rules that Lawyer, PAP MP Alvin Yeo overcharged $1 Million in Legal Fees

End Of Article​

Excerpt from We want “realistic and correct salaries” in government: Lee Hsien Loong, The Online Citizen

Lee’s ruling People’s Action Party, which has run the government since independence, saw its vote share dived a further 6.6 per cent, and the PAP losing a group representation constituency for the first time.

Almost immediately after the election, Mr Lee announced that the government would review ministers’ salaries. Two weeks later, he appointed an eight-member committee led by the then National Kidney Foundation chairman Gerald Ee, to oversee the review.

In January 2012, the committee released its recommended salary scales for office holders.

Lee’s salary was slashed from S$3.76 million to the current S$2.2 million.

It nonetheless still made him the highest-paid head of government in the world.

The current salary scale is as follows:

salary.jpg

In October last year, former head of the Civil Service, Ngiam Tong Dow, criticised paying ministers millions of dollars.

“I don’t know whether Lee Kuan Yew will agree but it started going downhill when we started to raise ministers’ salaries, not even pegging them to the national salary but aligning them with the top ten [in the private sector]”, he said.

“When you raise ministers’ salaries to the point that they’re earning millions of dollar(s), every minister — no matter how much he wants to turn up and tell (PM Lee) Hsien Loong off or whatever — will hesitate when he thinks of his million-dollar salary,” he continued. “When the salary is so high, which minister dares to leave, unless they decide to become the opposition party? As a result, the entire political arena has become a civil service, and I don’t see anyone speaking up anymore.”

After the government rebutted his assertions, Mr Ngiam later withdrew his remarks.

xingguy

Source: Osman Sulaiman Facebook Page

A new Prime Minister. Pronto!
November 6, 2014 at 6:58am
1) The PAP MPs who have a direct role in electing Lee Hsien Loong (LHL) to be the Prime Ministers should have a good idea of where he is leading us. If they have a tinge of patriotism in them, they should bring it upon themselves to remove him from office and elect another leader among them.

2) We are talking about running the nation. We cant just give him the leadership position by virtue of his father. All the more now that we can see the citizens are suffering from ill crafted policies.

3) For the Malay MPs, do something right for once. Internally, lobby your colleagues to elect another leader. Tharman is there. Tan Chuan Jin is also there. To say you have no other capable leaders within your own rank is a disgrace to your own peers. You dont support someone who continuously deny equal opportunity for others. Do your community whom you represent a favour. Have the courage and boldness to effect the change that you seek for.

4) If 1, 2 and 3 fails, the regime supporters who care much about the country should take it upon themselves to remove LHL. Although the PM is elected by the party CEC, you are still able to play a direct role to effectively replace him with someone else. That is through the ballot box. AMK GRC to be exact. PAP will still be in power even if the PM is removed. Most probably someone else will take over. With change, comes hope.

Let us briefly talk about the 3 Prime Ministers.

5) LKY is worshipped by many. But his atrocious human rights record is well documented and it disgust many too. He is also cruel and merciless when dealing with his political foes. His disastrous 'stop at 2 policy' was his biggest blunder.

6) The repercussion of his policy misjudgement is continuing right up to this day as you can see from our low fertility rate. But somehow, the average Singaporeans seems better off during those days. Our mothers dont have to work. Life pace was much slower and suicide rates aren't as high as today.

7) Goh Chok Tong (GCT) has done nothing much except to benefit from the system he inherited from LKY. He did no game-changing move to attribute anything great about him except warming the seat for LHL. In fact he sets the stage for our decline by commencing with the liberal immigration policies. The accelerator was stepped on but at a snail's pace.

8) The current Prime Minister, Lee Hsien Loong, although a math genius, didn't bring us anywhere. He further extend the problems created by GCT. Under his leadership, the people are much worse off than before.

9) Our fathers and mothers are forced to work even during their twilight years. Poor people have no choice but to skip seeking medical treatments bcoz of the high cost of our medical services. The younger generation delay their marriages as they cant afford to buy a flat which have been sky-rocketing since he took over.

10) Our public transport system is bursting at the seams. Over-crowding due to the huge influx of foreigners. Full throttle importing immigrants without preparing the infrastructure to accommodate these extra numbers seems to suggest a severe lack of basic foresight.

11) Low wage workers did not see any meaningful increases on their wages in tandem with our inflation rate. Middle-income earners are now sliding down to the bottom bracket as they struggle with high cost of living, inflation and unemployment.

12) The people expect a sterling performance from the Prime Minister. But what the people get is a Cherry QQ performance machine while paying for a Pagani Zonda price.

13) If Singaporeans are facing the same problems like what the other people from developed nations are facing, then why are we paying monstrous salary to LHL and his team? Why are they burdening the tax payers when all that they can do is to compound our misery and make us work harder without sharing the spoils of the country?

14) I urge the people, whether you are pro-PAP, pro-alternatives or even neutrals to stop this decline. After all, we are in this together for the long haul. We can't allow a clueless leader like LHL to lead any longer. Be a man. Do the right thing.

10371968_10152670073947550_1395063344181591337_n.jpg

End Of Article​

xingguy

Source: likedatosocanmeh

20141109 Singaporeans’ well-being depends on the removal of the greedy PAP from government
November 9, 2014 by phillip ang

As the dominant party in Parliament, the PAP has been able to enrich itself for decades. Every ‘proposal’ for a salary increase never failed to bring a smile on ministers’ faces. Pay increases have always been supported by ex PM Lee Kuan Yew, whose nonsensical justifications Singaporeans were expected to accept blindly.

In 1970 when ministers’ salaries were increased, Lee Kuan Yew said his PM salary would “remain at $3,500 to demonstrate his commitment to the policy of no wage increases without productivity growth”.

However, Lee’s pay shot up 171% from $3,500 to $9,500 three years later in 1973. So what happened to Lee’s commitment to the policy of no wage increases without policy growth? Did productivity increase by 171% in 3 years?

In 1981, Lee’s pay jumped to $16,500 for no rhyme or reason. Did productivity increase by 357% since 1970? Lee was clearly talking nonsense and Singaporeans were paying the price for the greed of our ‘leader’.

Lee had set a bad example after the PAP came into power and greed is now entrenched in our system – PAP MPs join politics not to serve but enrich themselves.

Like attracts like and it is therefore not surprising there are PAP MPs like Alvin Yeo who overcharged total legal costs by more than $1,000,000. But within our ‘greed is good’ system, the clear case of overcharging is treated by the Law Society as issue of “costs reduction”.

PAP’s propaganda attempts to convince Singaporeans that exorbitant salary attracts the best and the brightest to ‘serve’. But the reality is we have perm secs who are run-of-the-mill civil servants heading statutory boards assisting ministers/ex ministers like Mah Bow Tan who screwed up in housing, Yeo Cheow Tong, Lim Hng Kiang and Khaw Boon Wan in healthcare, Raymond Lim, Lui Tuck Yew in transportation, etc.

Perm Secs and CEOs without any relevant experience are rotated in a game of musical chairs. A recent example would be the CEO of LTA being appointed the Second Perm Sec of MND, leaving all the unresolved chronic issues to his successor from the PUB who likewise has ZERO experience in transportation.

Extremely poor planning in public housing construction, causing a property bubble to develop, is an epic PAP screw up. Higher property prices translate into additional hundreds of dollars in monthly mortgage installments, causing unnecessary stress over the loan period of 30 years. That housing prices are too high has been confirmed by DPM Tharman who would like to see a “meaningful reversal” despite the property market having corrected over the last few quarters.

When the PAP increased the population by 1 million but reduced hospital beds by 500, its idiocy also caused ordinary Singaporeans to suffer.

The only way to reduce overcrowding on public transportation is to reduce the intake of foreigners. But the LTA came up with a stupid idea to allow buskers to perform at MRT stations to “enhance commuters’ experience”. Perhaps the LTA expects commuters to experience less overcrowding because there’s live music? The LTA knows it cannot address the overcrowding issue in any meaningful way because the PAP will increase the population to 6.9 million, probably more. The high cost of COE has caused hardship for many small businesses which either ‘closed shop’ or pass on the increased cost to consumers in order to survive.

Most PAP’s screw ups are due to greed – greed has blinded our ministers and civil servants to focus only on their KPIs. These are economic indicators which actually work against citizens’ interests ie increase in GDP rewards the PAP but these increases are mostly the result of increase in prices of housing and other necessities. The PAP can never govern properly with its eyes on generating more profits through the privatisation of healthcare, selling public flats at higher prices by including land cost in HDB flats which we DO NOT OWN, reducing the lifespan of motor vehicles through the COE scheme, etc.

Ex civil servant Ngiam Tong Dow had disagreed with the COE scheme which profits from Singaporeans. But Lee Kuan Yew had no qualms about making money at the expense of citizens and had asked Ngiam “What’s wrong with collecting more money?”. Lee had known ordinary citizens would ultimately bear the increased transportation costs but had prioritised profits over the well-being of citizens.

ngiam20tong20dow1.jpg

Since about 2 decades ago, ALL aspects of our life have worsened. Don’t be fooled by the latest hardware because too many chronic problems have remained unresolved – newer HDB flats may be more aesthetically pleasing but the issue of unaffordable housing has yet to be resolved, newer buses but overcrowding has worsened during peak hours, newer hospitals and better technology but healthcare more unaffordable, etc.

The PAP does not have any solution other than throwing more tax dollars. Since too many chronic issues persist, should Singaporeans continue to support the PAP?

PAP MPs receive an allowance for a part-time job that places them above the 90th percentile income. They are completely isolated from the issues of ordinary Singaporeans in their ivory tower. Why should any of them be bothered when none of them live in public housing, none commute by public transport and all will never be admitted to hospital corridors and tents instead of proper wards?

From political office holders to top civil servants (excluding most rank and file) and grassroots, the PAP is about insatiable greed. Ordinary Singaporeans will continue to suffer because the PAP has only been able to entice the greedy to ‘serve’. Greed is so entrenched in the PAP that Singaporeans’ well-being now depends on the removal of the greedy PAP from our government.

End Of Article​

Readers' comment:
Pat says:
November 11, 2014 at 11:22 am
What is your suggestion – to increase inclusive growth? – lower health cost? – create more meaningful jobs? – provide reasonable housing? – provide better and bigger homes for those who want them (but can’t afford) – lower educational costs? reduce cost of private car ownership? reduce fuel cost? – improve public transportation? – maintain social cohesiveness in our multiculturalism? – provide national security? improve home security? huh? Mr couch potato critic?

phillip ang says:
November 11, 2014 at 7:34 pm
The PAP has to be held accountable for not delivering the quality of life despite being paid the highest political salary in the world. PAP’s system is to privatise all costs – even those of public healthcare, transportation, housing, etc and giving generous aid to foreigners while depriving many deserving citizens. This sort of government is morally bankrupt.
The issue is not so much of having insufficient funds but keeping tax dollars within an opaque system. Is Singapore a wealthy country? If we are not, then why do PAP politicians deserve their million salaries?
Can you not understand all the nonsense coming from ministers like Lim Swee Say, so called union leader whose objective is to lower business costs? Are you happy with almost ZERO transparency where you don’t even know where your CPF money is? Are all the mistakes not epic screw ups which in any other democratic government, the PAP would have long been removed?
Criticisms have forced the PAP to improve, albeit marginally. It has indirectly acknowledged its failure or it would not have planned for 204,416 residential units to be completed by 2016. But it has always been citizens who pay for PAP’s mistake such as the increased mortgage instalments, not for a few months but 3 decades. Why should we pay the price but the PAP not held accountable?​

James says:

November 11, 2014 at 8:23 pm
All of the above! At least Phillip bothers to speak out on what’s wrong. What about you? You think everything is hunky dory today in Singapore? If you don’t, then where is the root cause of these problems? If you bother to trace, you will come to the same conclusion as more and more Singaporeans have.​

xingguy

Source: likedatosocanmeh Blog

20141116 The abusive PAP government may fall sooner than we think
November 16, 2014 by phillip ang

Three weeks ago, the executive chairman of Banyan Tree opined that PAP could only lose power completely after 25 years. Last week, we heard Han Fook Kwang, SPH Editor-At-Large, speculating on the possibility that PAP could even be in power for another 50 years after losing, perhaps, the next 2 elections!

Han correctly points out the challenges faced by the current crop of inept leaders such as the proliferation of social media, more diverse issues, a widening income gap, etc. The feedback he received – the PAP has changed beyond recognition and likely to lose a substantial number of votes from its past supporters.

Han compares Britain’s political parties, which managed to transform themselves, to the PAP. However, our politics are worlds apart – Britain did not have any political party which had hung on to power for 5 decades through gerrymandering, engaged in fear mongering with total control of the press, civil service and grassroots, jailed political opponents for more than 2 decades, bankrupted opposition party members, etc. Neither did they have a petty PM like ours who has taken legal action against an ordinary citizen over a blog post.

In short, Han is comparing apples and oranges.

The PAP has been addicted to power, easy tax dollars for its exorbitantly-priced ‘service’ to citizens, tweaking flawed policies at its whim, unable to resolve chronic issues, etc. The PAP has not been listening for 5 decades but Han thinks there may be a miracle? Perhaps Han thinks a leopard could change its spots.

The PAP has continued with its old ways of “never mind what the people think” governing and lives in its ivory tower where social/online media do not exist. It has continued to demand total control and does not tolerate dissent.

In 2011, Lee Kuan Yew, ex PM/SM/MM, warned that the PAP may be voted out, giving the example of the fall of the Japanese Liberal (Democratic*) Party which had almost-uninterrupted power from 1955 to 2009. He said the LDP’s downfall was partly because it “carried on with old ideas”.

Has the PAP not been carrying on with old ideas and governing as if the internet does not exist?

The PAP is unable to rejuvenate itself because its old ideas are a turn-off for potential candidates. The PAP has only been able to attract incompetence after scraping the barrel. So long as PAP MPs continue with its old ways of promoting minimal transparency, no accountability and working against the people with PAP’s pro business policy, they are effectively useless to voters.

Like Ho Kwon Ping, Han’s crystal ball merely distracts with his meaningless speculation of PAP’s potential return to power. Han has certainly outshone Ho in his assessment of Singapore politics.

Because Japan’s LDP has recently regained power in 2012, Han tells us not to rule out the possibility this may also happen to the PAP. Why is Han even comparing PAP and LDP when our political landscapes are vastly different?

Hmm.. so after Han, who will be roped in to speculate on PAP’s even brighter future?

Fewer citizens now believe the PAP has our interests at heart because the PAP has thrived on:

1 Minimal transparency
2 No accountability
3 Maximum control of citizens through its absolute control of state resources, civil service, grassroots and security forces.

The PAP has abused its power for decades and its popularity has been on the decline despite belatedly increasing the number of housing units, giving the assurance of an increase in number of hospital beds by 2020, ‘recognition of our pioneers’ contribution with the PGP, etc.

More better-educated citizens now demand accountability for PAP’s epic screw ups. Without accountability, it’s only a matter of time before PAP finishes digging its own grave.

Take for example the ‘forgetful’ MND permanent secretary and senior civil servants who have caused hundreds of thousands of citizens to commit additional hundreds of dollars to their HDB mortgage every month – why have they not been held accountable ie demoted or sacked? What about other senior civil servants who continue to draw exorbitant salaries or may even have been promoted after screwing up citizens’ lives?

But it’s not easy to implement accountability in our system because that may mean the removal of numerous top civil servants who have been sleeping on the job. It would lead to a revolt with embarrassing information leaking to the public.

In 2003, Ngiam Tong Dow warned in an interview: “I suspect we have started to believe our own propaganda”. 11 years later, the PAP has held on firmly to its belief that flawed policies are good for the people.

The PAP has been so successful with its propaganda that it is able to teach new dogs old tricks with newbie minister Tan Chuan Jin trying to convince Singaporeans that our elderly, as old as above 80, are working as cleaners/other menial jobs to avoid boredom and be independent.

After PAP has abdicated its responsibility to vulnerable and needy Singaporeans, another newbie-scholar-fast-tracked minister Chan Chun Sing wants Singaporeans to believe in our unique Kueh Lapis way of tackling poverty. Fact is the PAP has in place hurdles to prevent financial assistance from being disbursed. Charities have been forced to raise funds in the most unproductive manner, incurring private sector costs, such as high salaries of CEOs, resulting in less assistance provided.

The PAP simply cannot change from running Singapore on a for-profit basis to one which prioritises the well-being of citizens.

The abusive PAP is increasingly viewed as a party unfit to govern and it will lose more votes come the next election. Citizens would have none of its old ways of governing, taking us for another ride without transparency and accountability. Its pro-business policies and pro-business union, NTUC, have caused untold suffering but the PAP has yet to realise the need to change.

Both Ho Kwon Ping and Han do not commute by public transport, eat at hawker centres, do not need their CPF for retirement, etc. With wealth and right connections, life must be a breeze for them. Are they supposed to understand issues faced by ordinary citizens? Are they aware ordinary citizens are increasingly fed up with the PAP and will not hesitate to boot them out?

In 2011, the WP’s Sylvia Lim said “this is not the time to take over the government”. The mainstream media subsequently seized the opportunity to cast the PAP as indispensible, conveniently forgetting that Sylvia also mentioned that “it doesn’t mean we are not building up towards that day”. That day could be now.

Is the WP and other opposition parties ready? Why not when there were/are ministers like Wong Kan Seng, Yaacob Ibrahim, Chan Chun Sing, Lawrence Wong etc, and MPs like Tin, Ang Wei Neng, Intan, Alvin Yeo, etc. Which opposition member could be worse than Lim Swee Say?

The PAP has been clinging on to straws in a desperate attempt to mask its shortcomings ie creating distractions by casting aspersions on the opposition such as giving the WP’s AHPETC a red band in estate management (again), NEA taking WP to court over a trade fair permit, calling the WP a liar over hawker centre cleaning issue, etc No wonder the PAP has not been able to govern properly – it spends too much time and public resources micromanaging and trying to fix the opposition..

The PAP has abused the trust given by citizens and enough is really enough.

With increasing awareness of what’s really been happening in our society through social/online media, it is a certainty an abusive government will not last long. PAP has overextended its stay in power and may fall sooner than we think.

*Asiaone typo

End Of Article​

bic_cherry

what u guys think har? edmw have one thread. SBF can also have one. let's see if sbf version can K or not? hehehe.

Have to vote this fucker who commit high treason. knn, where got bring outsider to eat insiders one?

Vote this cancerous fucker out!!
And return me river mountain!

His favourite role models:
quote-what-good-fortune-for-governments-that-the-people-do-not-think-adolf-hitler-85922.jpg

quote-ideas-are-more-powerful-than-guns-we-would-not-let-our-enemies-have-guns-why-should-we-let-them-joseph-stalin-268865.jpg

Those who cannot see the similarities are either blind or stupid...

xingguy

Source: 2ECONDSIGHT Blog

THINK AGAIN! Controlling The Narrative
November 16, 2014 by 2econdsight

“The basic tool for the manipulation of reality is the manipulation of words. If you can control the meaning of words, you can control the people who must use the words.” Philip K. Dick 1928-1982

——————————————————————-
A corollary of Dick’s observation would surely be ‘manipulate the narrative and you control the people who must naturally discuss issues within that narrative. ‘ Oh yes, it sure helps when ‘neutral 3rd parties’ are roped in to help.

(Philip Dick, by the way, was an author whose works birthed films such as Blade Runner, Total Recall and Minority Report etc. As a writer whose living revolved around words, he should know a thing or two about words, and narratives.

So, what has that got to do even remotely with the PAP? Plenty.

story_diagram.gif

Controlling the Narrative
As the next General Election (GE) beckons, we see more discussions mushrooming in mainstream media (MSM). Well, so what?

Well, a GE is a fight to win hearts and minds – voter by voter. Using one’s weapons effectively to engage voters makes for victory. Unlike possessions and land conquest, hearts and minds are won subtly. Without the victim knowing it – that she was manipulated.

Hence, the gathering MSM political discussions. We examine how an Invisible Hand is controlling the narrative within which issues are discussed, are framed.

Hopefully, we the common people will neither effortlessly nor unknowingly fall into the trap set for us. Otherwise, the PAP would have won half the election battle.
05ebb-1004614_599988093379695_143445612_n.jpg

Where it began, I can’t begin to know it, but then I know it’s growing strong…
Before the narrative part, there was the ‘manipulation of words’.

Think ‘PWM’. Ring no bell?
That’s ‘Progressive Wage Model’ (Jan 2014) instead of ‘minimum wage’. Read the official propaganda here < http://www.mom.gov.sg/employment-practices/progressive-wage-model/Pages/progressive-wage-model.aspx>.

Next, ‘bus contracting model’ instead of ‘nationalization’ (May 2014). Read the propaganda here (http://www.mot.gov.sg/Transport-Matters/Public-Transport/Why-bus-contracting-/>

Does Mr Dick now make sense? Using the internationally-accepted words means ceding the initiative to, in this case, the Opposition who have been clamouring for it. It’s not about eating humble pie. Surrendering the control of the wage and bus transport agenda can be fatal to PAP’s fight for the blue-collar votes.

The latest spin on where we are heading, the more you read, the less you think…

The invisible hand started first with some mild attempts to work the narrative. Enough time till the next GE allows for easing in the narrative. Start first with non-political civic leaders…silently, stealthily but surely now…

Remember Prof Tommy Koh’s proposing his ‘ideological cleavage’? (ST 29 Mar 2014) Then, Prof Chan Heng Chee’s ‘time for love in politics’? (ST 17 May 2014). His is about a consensus breaking down, hers, the need to transit from ‘transactional’ to ‘empathy’ politics. Both firmly on the ‘trust the government governing’ bandwagon.

The 2 good professors’ views appeared to frame the political issues of our day not as failures of the PAP government but as philosophical discussions in all their intellectual glory. His, not going far enough, whilst hers, rather airy-fairy.

By and by, came George Yeo and Ho Kwon Ping with their speeches in quick succession, supposedly taking direct aim at the PAP.

While netizens latched on Yeo’s child emperor analogy to lampoon the ‘child’ now reigning over Singapore, MSM avoided that delectable illustration to instead headline ‘Singapore well-placed to adjust to new reality’, a remark made during Q&A. And an indirect compliment to PAP’s leadership. Yeo’s key point, ‘The most profound impact is in the way hierarchies are being corroded by information technology disintermediating what kept this hierarchy intact in the first place’ is ignored.

Yeo’s speech has street-cred in that it correctly pinpointed much of what is rumbling at the ground level, As for Ho’s, you’d think he’s PAP futurist-planner. His Politics & Governance lecture was about ‘the PAP’s dominance of not only the political process, but almost the entire national culture, was in large part the reason for Singapore’s rise from Third to First World in a single generation…(and) Can that dominance be maintained?’ (http://lkyspp.nus.edu.sg/ips/wp-con...-Politics-and-Governance-speech_201014_v3.pdf)

And the MSM faithfully stuck to their assigned propaganda role, reporting on Ho’s 5 anything-but-thought-provoking quotes which included PAP’s future and how PAP might lost an election (http://www.singapolitics.sg/news/fi...quotes-ho-kwon-pings-first-ips-nathan-lecture). TODAY, likewise, focused on PAP’s possible loss of dominance (http://www.todayonline.com/singapore/pap-could-lose-current-dominance-15-years-ho-kwon-ping).

But where, O where, is the discussion on what are the failures on PAP’s part that is giving rise to the possibility of power relegation? Zilch! Kosong! Pūjyam! 鸭蛋!

Even though we know Ho has all the money (well, at least more than Roy Ngerg) many times over to tell the truth and suffer the vengeful response of the PAP, he wouldn’t would he? A pale shadow of the once young rebel, he’s since sold over to the devil’s cause, presiding over his Banyan Tree empire and dressed impeccably in blue suits with a choice seat at the elites’ table. The PAP calls it co-opting. Well done!

So, with discussions of PAP’s possible demise now openly introduced, ST editor-at-large, Han Fook Kwang, finally found his balls (oops, pardon my Français slip), I mean the sound of his voice to speak the once-unspeakable subject. But he stuck closely to the Invisible Hand’s narrative, hardly discussing one word of PAP’s failures that should be the starting point behind its possible demise to instead speculate situations ‘where the ruling party might continue to reign supreme’.

20110713.175226_sphpapers2.jpg

Conclusion

So, folks, don’t be foolish and fooled! PAP is tying the fate of Singapore to the fate of the PAP. But we know the two are not the same.

PAP do not want you to discuss their failures.

They know they have lost the control and are too late to influence the narrative in social media. So, they seize the next strategic alternative where they wield the greatest control and, indeed, where the real battle is fought. I again refer readers to the FMMs (fence-sitters, marginal supporters and mal/mis-informed voters), the same ones Opposition parties need to win the next GE.

Please satisfy for yourself with the details of what I have offered.

Henceforth, we must recognise that PAP’s fate is PAP’s own problem, not Singapore’s. Let PAP deal with it themselves. No discussions needed. Period.

Singapore shall remain standing. It is more productive to discuss the new goals, checks and balances that we need for new leaders to operate for the good of citizens, not any one party political.

Since we cannot control the narrative, shall we discuss how we can disrupt it to ensure PAP fall earlier, quicker and harder the next discussion?

2cents

End Of Article​

10301419_1442822539304190_7155683549956953891_n_zpsbdee032e.jpg

Stompiss

Source: The Real Singapore

EXPOSED: MND AMENDED ITS WEBSITE AT THE LAST MINUTE TO MAKE WP LOOK BAD
Post date: 26 Nov 2014 - 4:21pm

Aljunied-Hougang-Punggol%20East%20Town%20Council%20Channel%20NewsAsia%201_0.jpg

[photo credit: Channel NewsAsia]

A netizen has exposed the claims by the Ministry of National Development (MND) that the service and conservancy charges (S&CC) operating grant is allocated to all Town Councils (TCs) based on the number of HDB flat units and the flat types.

MND said that the "grant formula has been in place since 1999, and is applied consistently to all TCs.

"S&CC grants are not based on the number of voters, nor does it apply to private property residents. TCs will receive more grants if they have more and smaller HDB flat types."

MND said this on November 20.

However, it was discovered by a netizen that prior to November 20, this information was never publicly known.

rpjEN3V.jpg

Information on website prior to change on November 19

In fact, it was on November 19 that MND amended the Town Councils website and inserted the new information on its website.

The new information that was inserted on the website reads: "The annual operating grant, also known as S&CC grant, is allocated to Town Councils based on the number of HDB flat units and the flat types. Smaller flat types get higher grants. The grant enables TCs to subsidise the S&CC for residents living in 4-room and smaller flats, with more being allocated for 1-room ($33.70 per month), 2-room ($26.20 per month) and 3-room ($17.00 per month) households. The grant for each 4-room household is $9 per month."

IssOV36.jpg

Information on website after insertion on November 19

This later became part of the reply that MND sent out to the media.

However, as many have pointed out, this information is inconsistent with the actual grants given out.

In 2011, when the Aljunied GRC was still under the control of PAP, the government gave the town council a grant of $26.7 million.

But after the PAP lost Aljunied to the Worker's Party, the government reduced the grants for the WP dramatically - it went down all the way to $7.3 million in 2012 and 2013.

Since then, many more discrepancies and inconsistencies about the funds that the government gives to the Aljunied-Hougang-Punggol East Town Council (AHPETC) have been exposed by netizens.

This has led some Singaporeans to ask if the new grant allocation claim by the MND was really in place or if it was newly created on November 19.

Last week, Minister of State for National Development Desmond Lee accused the WP of “serious financial mismanagement” and said that the WP needed to respond.

Mr Lee also said that "The key issue is accountability and transparency" and that the WP has to "come clean".

But the latest developments show that it might be the PAP-run government which has to come clean instead.

It looks like the PAP has taken to "fixing" the WP to a whole new level.

Sappork and good nite!

Vote Opposition Until PAP Becomes Opposition!

Altogether now, Huat ah! :p