• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Hong Kong and Hong Kong University is giving PAP Singapore Headaches

gingerlyn

Dear brothers and sisters,

Hong Kong being a small island just like Singapore but Hong Kong governing style is giving Singapore a lot of headaches!

PAP shall give more pressure to Hong Kong so that its people do not give Sinkie bad influence!

Hong Kong democracy
As you can see Hong Kong is a truly democracy country but its economics is running at full steam and it does not require any GST! Many forumers here are criticising PAP for silencing dissents via defamation and scandalising judiciary which you are unheard of in Hong Kong.

NUS Rebel Migrating to Hong Kong.
NUS law professor Michael Hor who is often critical of Singapore Constitutional and Judiciary is now promoted to Dean of Hong Kong Law School and this is reported by SCMP.

Prof Hor critics on ISA and ISA was widely used to purge political critics such as Teo Suh Lung.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VUk2ta5c__Y
Prof Hör was speaking in conduction with Operation Coldstorage anniversary.

Incoming HKU law dean puts freedom at the heart of his plans
http://www.scmp.com/news/hong-kong/...ing-hku-law-dean-puts-freedom-heart-his-plans

you see the words? Freedom!!! NUS Law School has freedom to write books?
The incoming law dean of the University of Hong Kong has vowed to protect academic freedom, promote freedom of expression and reach decisions that will be in the city's best interests.

Do you see the word? there is no academic freedom in Singapore NUS law school and Prof Hor has to go to HKU to regain his academic freedom!!!

NUS rebel published law book which is critical of Singapore Constitutional and Judiciary!!
http://www.law.hku.hk/ccpl/
You see! advertised big big on the front page
http://www.law.hku.hk/ccpl/pub/TeyTsunHang.html

Now Alex Au is charged by AGC for scandalising the judiciary and Alex Au is busy reading NUS rebel book on scandalising Singapore Judiciary.

http://yawningbread.wordpress.com/2013/11/27/agc-versus-me-the-2013-round/#more-10588

I have a word to PAP regime.
You can continue to cheat your own citizens but Singapore has 4 universities and several polytechnics and citizens are not stupid and they know that they have been cheated by PAP fairytale as such GST is used to help the poor.

God bless PAP

Hong Kong is not in the middle of a Muslim sea. It has the motherland to defend it from aggressors. It's defense expenditure is therefore minimal.

Hong Kong is a far more homogeneous society so more latitude can be allowed when it comes to public discourse. Singapore cannot afford the same degree of freedoms as racial strife is a very real possibility.

Hong Kong has a ready market for it's products and services. Singapore does not.

Hong Kong is not in the middle of a Muslim sea. It has the motherland to defend it from aggressors. It's defense expenditure is therefore minimal.

Hong Kong is a far more homogeneous society so more latitude can be allowed when it comes to public discourse. Singapore cannot afford the same degree of freedoms as racial strife is a very real possibility.

Hong Kong has a ready market for it's products and services. Singapore does not.

Chinese ppl didn't kiss m&ds ass today. Chinese ppl responsible for racism by not smiling at them or kissing their ass etc. Yup in short you're dealing with a very unreasonable bunch.

So basically Singapore is more FUCK UP than HK despite the fact we pay millions for our gahmen...who are nothing but a bunch of clowns,,

gingerlyn

Here is the news from the independent

Prof Michael Hor told the South China Morning Post: “Essential to any faculty, indeed any university of any note, is the protection of the freedom of thought and conscience, of speech and expression, of assembly and association, and with it the freedom of academic endeavour.

Does it mean PAP Singapore has no conscience (良心)?

Dear brothers and sisters,
please read in between the lines about academic freedom, freedom of expression and conscience that we have in Singapore and NUS / NUS LAW SCHOOL

http://theindependent.sg/singapores-pain-hks-gain/

What are you talking about man! the muslim gave Singapore independence. but PAP became paranoid.Just like UMNO in Malaysia.

Intan

Michael Hor is a Malaysian turned Sinkie Lah.

HE DID NOT SERVE NS!!!!!

HE always criticised Singapore anyway from Singapore type Wonton Noodles to almost everything!

http://singaporedissident.blogspot.sg/2011/11/lee-kuan-yews-singapore-all-in-family.html

Thursday, November 3, 2011

<meta content="8081742307252789733" itemprop="blogId"><meta content="59658096374753607" itemprop="postId">Lee Kuan Yew's Singapore. All in the family

Edited Nov 03, 2011

Ladies and Gentlemen,

Singapore's state controlled newspaper "Today" of Nov 1, 2011 has the story "New Law Dean at NUS". It says "A successor has been found for the longest serving dean at the National University of Singapore law school". "The NUS announced yesterday that with effect from January Professor Tan Cheng Han (present dean) will be succeeded by Professor Simon Chesterman, 39".

There are 2 interesting things in Chesterman's appointment which if one knows anything about Singapore, wouldn't be interesting at all. Firstly he is only 39, which by any standards is pretty young for any lawyer, let alone, the Dean of a Law Faculty. As for me, at 39 I was just beginning to understand the law, as most other mortals would be.

But his relatively young age in such high elevation would not be surprising anymore if one knew who he was. Yes you guessed it. He has high connections at high places. He is married to none other than Patricia Tan the daughter of the President of Singapore, an ethnic Chinese Tony Tan.

It appears he met this Chinese woman while studying at university and thought it best to marry her, very probably attracted by the goodies that will most certainly fall from heaven or rather the Singaporean Heaven under Lee Kuan Yew if he marries the daughter of Lee's hand picked President.

All Singapore institutions of education without an exception, you would have noticed, have the dubious worldwide distinction of seemingly appearing to have no opinion at all about anything. As we speak today, all the capitals of the world are abuzz with Protest Wall Street demonstrations, yet in Singapore as well as it is in Lee's university campuses throughout the island there is the silence of the cemetery. Every single student in Singapore is so afraid to speak up, they are as good as dead, thanks to the absolutely successful fear mongering that Lee has succeeded in advancing throughout the island.

And I hate to imagine the sort of lawyers that Lee Kuan Yew's National University of Singapore has produced so far and will continue to produce under this political puppet Simon Chesterman.

All in all Chesterman comes forward as a rather weak opportunist who doesn't appear to think too much of himself. For anyone with more confidence in his abilities, any relationship with a University in Singapore , just as a University in North Korea is more a minus than a plus on a resume.

In fact this sort of nepotism is openly seen across the breath of the Lee Kuan Yew government. The repeated attempts to say that Singapore is a meritocracy is as like repeatedly saying that North Korea is a beacon of democracy, which by the way, I believe they do. Look at the list here, which is only what I know, which list is very much longer if one took the trouble to look at it.

Wong Kan Seng, the Home Minister is Lee's Cousin. Tan Pei Ling, the little girl who makes a fool of herself and yet became an MP, is the wife of the Secretary of the Prime Minister. Ho Ching, the woman who runs Temasek the State Wealth Fund is the Prime Minister's wife. Lee's other son runs a government listed company. Tony Tan, Lee's hand picked President's son has avoided military service. And the list goes on if the reader cares to add.

Let's not pull punches and say it as it is. Singapore is nothing more than the Lee family's private possession which he runs with compliant and trustworthy relatives and friends. And that's it. After all blood is thicker than water.

Gopalan Nair
Attorney at Law
39737 Paseo Padre Parkway, Suite A1
Fremont, CA 94538, USA
Tel: 510 657 6107
Fax: 510 657 6914
Email: [email protected]
Blog: http://singaporedissident.blogspot.com/

Your letters are welcome. We reserve the right to publish your letters. Please Email your letters to [email protected] And if you like what I write, please tell your friends. You will be helping democracy by distributing this widely. This blog not only gives information, it dispels government propaganda put out by this dictatorial regime.

Posted by<meta content="http://www.blogger.com/profile/15399145588654603667" itemprop="url">Gopalan Nairat<meta content="http://singaporedissident.blogspot.com/2011/11/lee-kuan-yews-singapore-all-in-family.html" itemprop="url"><a class="timestamp-link" title="permanent link" href="http://singaporedissident.blogspot.sg/2011/11/lee-kuan-yews-singapore-all-in-family.html" rel="bookmark"><abbr class="published" title="2011-11-03T17:20:00-07:00" itemprop="datePublished">5:20 PM</abbr>

So basically Singapore is more FUCK UP than HK despite the fact we pay millions for our gahmen...who are nothing but a bunch of clowns,,

Singapore and HK have entirely different histories. HK was a Chinese Island when the Brits took over. Singapore was part of the Malay Archipelago.

Singapore then became a hodge podge combination of different Chinese dialect groups, the natives and Tamils from Southern India. HK remained homogeneous.

The PAP inherited the Brits left behind and have made the Island an extraordinary success despite the odds being against it. For that they deserve every penny they earn plus more. HK, on other hand, is run by puppets of the mainland.

gingerlyn

Singapore's state controlled newspaper "Today" of Nov 1, 2011 has the story "New Law Dean at NUS". It says "A successor has been found for the longest serving dean at the National University of Singapore law school". "The NUS announced yesterday that with effect from January Professor Tan Cheng Han (present dean) will be succeeded by Professor Simon Chesterman, 39".

There are 2 interesting things in Chesterman's appointment which if one knows anything about Singapore, wouldn't be interesting at all. Firstly he is only 39, which by any standards is pretty young for any lawyer, let alone, the Dean of a Law Faculty. As for me, at 39 I was just beginning to understand the law, as most other mortals would be.

But his relatively young age in such high elevation would not be surprising anymore if one knew who he was. Yes you guessed it. He has high connections at high places. He is married to none other than Patricia Tan the daughter of the President of Singapore, an ethnic Chinese Tony Tan.

In comparison to the above, this is how Hong Kong University selected its Dean of Law School.
The Deanship appointment was made on the recommendation of a search committee after two rounds of worldwide search and with the assistance of a professional search firm in both exercises. In the first exercise, the search committee comprised myself (Chairman), the Faculty Board Chairman (Professor Michael Wilkinson), three elected Faculty members (Professor Fu Hualing, Mr. Thomas Cheng and Ms. Jessica Young), an elected student (Ms. Jenny Chung), a lay Council member appointed by the Vice-Chancellor (Mr. Martin Liao), and a senior officer appointed by the Vice-Chancellor (the Deputy Vice-Chancellor). After deliberation of the candidates, the committee was not able to recommend a candidate for appointment for lack of a clear consensus. It subsequently agreed that the committee be disbanded and that the entire search process start afresh. In the second exercise, the elected Faculty members on the search committee were Professor Lusina Ho, Ms. Jessica Young and Professor Y. Zhao, and the elected student was Miss L.K. Chan. Both Mr. Martin Liao and the Deputy Vice-Chancellor were invited to continue to serve on the committee.

You can read the original article below from the blogger in Korea.
http://shallwetalk.blogspot.kr

They are transparent. You never see such things happen in NUS and in Singapore as the processes are completed in secret chamber.

http://shallwetalk.blogspot.kr

Singapore and HK have entirely different histories. HK was a Chinese Island when the Brits took over. Singapore was part of the Malay Archipelago.

Singapore then became a hodge podge combination of different Chinese dialect groups, the natives and Tamils from Southern India. HK remained homogeneous.

The PAP inherited the Brits left behind and have made the Island an extraordinary success despite the odds being against it. For that they deserve every penny they earn plus more. HK, on other hand, is run by puppets of the mainland.

So what if sg is part of the m&d archipelago? The falklands are near argentina but are a part of the UK. Spain has land over in moroco. Seriously this is BS about sg being in m&d territory. So what? Sg is a soverign nation that doesn't bend over to m&ds.

Adding to the PAP's problems is the fact that a sizeable proportion of the population are ah nehs. We all know that anything more than 2 Ah Nehs in the same spot can spell disaster.

The fact that Singapore is still governable in this day and age where little India has spread far and wide is testimony to fact that the government is world class.

Since ah nehs r tat bad. Than y let them in by the plane loads? Now spore is worse right?

Adding to the PAP's problems is the fact that a sizeable proportion of the population are ah nehs. We all know that anything more than 2 Ah Nehs in the same spot can spell disaster.

The fact that Singapore is still governable in this day and age where little India has spread far and wide is testimony to fact that the government is world class.

Since ah nehs r tat bad. Than y let them in by the plane loads? Now spore is worse right?

They have their uses just like lab rats. As long as the situation is managed well, a net gain can be realised. However, it requires good governance.

Satyr

The same army that protects HK can also round up and imprison dissidents overnight. Singaporeans fully accept that racial and religious intolerance is unacceptable and they support the governments restrictions in these areas.
What they do not accept is the governments use of wide powers given to it to clamp down on political dissent. The public is also increasingly uneasy about the government trying to restrict dissemination of news to the few media channels under their thumb. Governments should be respected but never trusted as long as they are run by politicians of whatever stripe. I would stay vigilant even if the WP takes office one day. I would also argue that we are creating progressively weaker leaders by restricting criticism of them. If they have not thought through their positions and do not relish defending their decisions then there are likely to be weaknesses in their arguments.
The government has the advantage at the moment in that by and large the public shares the same ideals. That economic progress is paramount. You can say Singaporeans are quite homogenous in that respect. However a Government that does not take care of citizens, does not work to reduce inequality and clamps down on criticism will find its moral authority slipping. This is really dangerous.

If we are going to be bothered by always being surrounded by "the greenies" I propose we allow the US to annex us. OK I am being facetious, but really, what is the long term plan? Even the Hawaiians can think long term , we can't ?

Logisex

Singapore’s pain, HK’s gain
by The Independent on November 30, 2013.
inShare
s200_michael.horThe man who lost the race to become NUS law school’s dean has got the top job at the University of Hong Kong’s law school. Michael Hor Yew Meng will take up the post in July.
He was named as one of the two possible successors in 2009 by the then NUS law dean, Tan Cheng Han. The other was John Phillips.
Two years ago, out of the blue, the university appointed an Australian, Simon Chesterman, to run the school. Chesterman is the son-in-law of President Tony Tan.

Hor told the South China Morning Post: “Essential to any faculty, indeed any university of any note, is the protection of the freedom of thought and conscience, of speech and expression, of assembly and association, and with it the freedom of academic endeavour.

“In meeting the many challenges that will inevitably be faced, there will be different views and positions held in good faith.
“The key is to encourage all opinions to be aired and debated, and ultimately to reach a decision on the primary basis of what is in the best interests not of particular persons or groups or institutions, but of Hong Kong itself.”
HKU vice-chancellor Professor Tsui Lap-chee described Hor as an “inspiring and passionate teacher”.
Tsui said the university decided on him after two rounds of a worldwide search.
Hor read law at the National University of Singapore, followed by Bachelor of Civil Law studies at Oxford University. He also holds a Master of Laws degree from the University of Chicago

Satyr

http://singaporedissident.blogspot.sg/2011/11/lee-kuan-yews-singapore-all-in-family.html

Thursday, November 3, 2011

<meta content="8081742307252789733" itemprop="blogId"><meta content="59658096374753607" itemprop="postId">Lee Kuan Yew's Singapore. All in the family

Edited Nov 03, 2011

Ladies and Gentlemen,

It appears he met this Chinese woman while studying at university and thought it best to marry her, very probably attracted by the goodies that will most certainly fall from heaven or rather the Singaporean Heaven under Lee Kuan Yew if he marries the daughter of Lee's hand picked President.

All Singapore institutions of education without an exception, you would have noticed, have the dubious worldwide distinction of seemingly appearing to have no opinion at all about anything. As we speak today, all the capitals of the world are abuzz with Protest Wall Street demonstrations, yet in Singapore as well as it is in Lee's university campuses throughout the island there is the silence of the cemetery. Every single student in Singapore is so afraid to speak up, they are as good as dead, thanks to the absolutely successful fear mongering that Lee has succeeded in advancing throughout the island.

And I hate to imagine the sort of lawyers that Lee Kuan Yew's National University of Singapore has produced so far and will continue to produce under this political puppet Simon Chesterman.

All in all Chesterman comes forward as a rather weak opportunist who doesn't appear to think too much of himself. For anyone with more confidence in his abilities, any relationship with a University in Singapore , just as a University in North Korea is more a minus than a plus on a resume.

In fact this sort of nepotism is openly seen across the breath of the Lee Kuan Yew government. The repeated attempts to say that Singapore is a meritocracy is as like repeatedly saying that North Korea is a beacon of democracy, which by the way, I believe they do. Look at the list here, which is only what I know, which list is very much longer if one took the trouble to look at it.

Wong Kan Seng, the Home Minister is Lee's Cousin. Tan Pei Ling, the little girl who makes a fool of herself and yet became an MP, is the wife of the Secretary of the Prime Minister. Ho Ching, the woman who runs Temasek the State Wealth Fund is the Prime Minister's wife. Lee's other son runs a government listed company. Tony Tan, Lee's hand picked President's son has avoided military service. And the list goes on if the reader cares to add.

Let's not pull punches and say it as it is. Singapore is nothing more than the Lee family's private possession which he runs with compliant and trustworthy relatives and friends. And that's it. After all blood is thicker than water.

Gopalan Nair
Attorney at Law
39737 Paseo Padre Parkway, Suite A1
Fremont, CA 94538, USA
Tel: 510 657 6107
Fax: 510 657 6914
Email: [email protected]
Blog: http://singaporedissident.blogspot.com/

Your letters are welcome. We reserve the right to publish your letters. Please Email your letters to [email protected] And if you like what I write, please tell your friends. You will be helping democracy by distributing this widely. This blog not only gives information, it dispels government propaganda put out by this dictatorial regime.

Posted by<meta content="http://www.blogger.com/profile/15399145588654603667" itemprop="url">Gopalan Nairat<meta content="http://singaporedissident.blogspot.com/2011/11/lee-kuan-yews-singapore-all-in-family.html" itemprop="url"><a class="timestamp-link" title="permanent link" href="http://singaporedissident.blogspot.sg/2011/11/lee-kuan-yews-singapore-all-in-family.html" rel="bookmark"><abbr class="published" title="2011-11-03T17:20:00-07:00" itemprop="datePublished">5:20 PM</abbr>

Gopalan Nair is a nutcase. But even a stopped clock is right twice a day.