• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Economic News

Tekkun

I think the economy is bad.. This is the start of the plunge.. Although in Singapore the cash buffer is pretty large both from govt and individuals..
So the impact if shortlived will not be felt badly.
However if it's longer then 6 months to a year the you'll start to stay significant cracks

Funnily, Malaysians are spending and spending.
===============================

[FONT=&quot]KUALA LUMPUR, Aug 18 ― Malaysia has halted a two-year slide in consumer confidence, with the local outlook improving even as Singapore, Thailand and Indonesia became more pessimistic, according to a global survey released last week.[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]The Mastercard Index of Consumer Confidence, which measures the robustness of Asia Pacific markets for the first half of 2016, found that Malaysia along with Philippines and India recorded improvements of at least five points compared the previous survey from late 2015.[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]- See more at: http://www.themalaymailonline.com/m...nal-decline-survey-shows#sthash.AlmXFZMB.dpuf[/FONT]

Frodo

And what is your backup plan if you lose your job? Your commitments in Johor are heavy, you have kids and no spouse to help with the payments.

Jump lor.:(

Just kidding. HDB rental income can cover both MY properties. The rest of family expenses to be covered by some other jobs e.g. Uber earnings.:p Of course if you say further "what if cannot get rental?" then win liao lor.

sgtsk

SG economy is in bad shape lah. 1-2% growth, despite the continuous population growth? I believe productivity growth is near zero or even negative.

Oil and gas, retail, local property, logistics all in bad shape. Companies profits are down from previous years. Year-end bonuses and wage increments are expected to be v modest too. Whcih industry can be said to be doing well? Maybe only IT related I guess?

Malaysia, starting from a relatively lower base with a young population, is actually in better shape than SG, despite the obvious troubles with IMDB and oil & gas.

I could only see SG's safe haven status in time of possible chaos like brexit and its sizable spending from its reserve that are holding up SG. There arent any new casinos or significant developments down the road that would boost SG's economy. Unless SG makes major breakthrough in innovations, high tech and knowledge based industries in next 5 years, SG would look very shaky. Perhaps a timely recovery of the global economy may buy SG more time. Let's see what the coming G20 has on its sleeve.

snowbird

Just kidding. HDB rental income can cover both MY properties. The rest of family expenses to be covered by some other jobs e.g. Uber earnings.:p Of course if you say further "what if cannot get rental?" then win liao lor.

So, if things turns bad, it is still your faithfully old HDB flat you rejected that come to the rescue to save the day.
Sigh, 何苦呢!
I've seen many people in the middle and upper management appointment, enjoying a reasonably good pay perk, also enjoying reasonably good and carefree life suddenly out of job one fine day and the whole world turned upside down.
Mortgage payment, car installment, children expenses, maid expenses, credit card bills, utilities bills, insurances, parents allowances, living expenses...............cut here, cut there, cut and cut, still so much to pay every month.
Worse, without any fall back plans and never though it can happen to them (my company very safe one) while savings shrinking off quickly.

Frodo

So, if things turns bad, it is still your faithfully old HDB flat you rejected that come to the rescue to save the day.
Sigh, 何苦呢!
I've seen many people in the middle and upper management appointment, enjoying a reasonably good pay perk, also enjoying reasonably good and carefree life suddenly out of job one fine day and the whole world turned upside down.
Mortgage payment, car installment, children expenses, maid expenses, credit card bills, utilities bills, insurances, parents allowances, living expenses...............cut here, cut there, cut and cut, still so much to pay every month.
Worse, without any fall back plans and never though it can happen to them (my company very safe one) while savings shrinking off quickly.

LOL! I wonder where you got the idea that I rejected my HDB flat, especially since I am still owning it to give me a stream of rental income. You like to engage in polar thinking? Hope not. Anyway, what you said goes to show that SG living is not cheap, unless you are single and living with parents. But life is full of uncertainties, your best laid plans can be laid waste if some silly drunk bump you off the road. Of course that doesn't mean one should not have 后路. If you have, good for you lor. For me, being on one income already means living just nice nice to get by, a back up plan is good to have but not feasible to implement at the moment. Even now I am only slightly better off than before because of lower cost of living. Hopefully JB will huat and I can make some money selling the JB condo. Its a pathetically hopeful wishful dream of a peasant. So be nice and don't spoil my dream and pour cold water hor!

xebay11

LOL! I wonder where you got the idea that I rejected my HDB flat, especially since I am still owning it to give me a stream of rental income. You like to engage in polar thinking? Hope not. Anyway, what you said goes to show that SG living is not cheap, unless you are single and living with parents. But life is full of uncertainties, your best laid plans can be laid waste if some silly drunk bump you off the road. Of course that doesn't mean one should not have 后路. If you have, good for you lor. For me, being on one income already means living just nice nice to get by, a back up plan is good to have but not feasible to implement at the moment. Even now I am only slightly better off than before because of lower cost of living. Hopefully JB will huat and I can make some money selling the JB condo. Its a pathetically hopeful wishful dream of a peasant. So be nice and don't spoil my dream and pour cold water hor!

Ha ha from the way I read it, your backup plan is to not have a backup plan and YOLO your way through life.

Frodo

Ha ha from the way I read it, your backup plan is to not have a backup plan and YOLO your way through life.

Well, it's a peasant life. Richer folks e.g. those born into rich families or have rich dads, will laugh at us.

mpan12

It is largely out of ignorance or laziness rather than "I don't want to". So they tell themselves, Why worry so much? Just relax, enjoy and YOLO all the way.

But even those who have some knowledge about investment, they could get it wrong too, either out of misjudgment or greed.

Those who don't know much will invest based on hearsay and rumours. Buy this, buy that. Invest in this, invest in that. That's gambling. Like how the herd mentality drove many to buy Iskandar condos back in 2013 even at unsustainably high prices.

sgtsk

It is largely out of ignorance or laziness rather than "I don't want to". So they tell themselves, Why worry so much? Just relax, enjoy and YOLO all the way.

But even those who have some knowledge about investment, they could get it wrong too, either out of misjudgment or greed.

Those who don't know much will invest based on hearsay and rumours. Buy this, buy that. Invest in this, invest in that. That's gambling. Like how the herd mentality drove many to buy Iskandar condos back in 2013 even at unsustainably high prices.

For the benefits of all here, could you please share your brilliant back up plan?

Tekkun

I used to cultivate a habit of paying 3 months installments in advance, just in case I am stuck with some unexpected cash flow problems. That will buy me some time to sort things out.

mpan12

For the benefits of all here, could you please share your brilliant back up plan?

This is the 2nd time I am saying this: I am not paid to give you investment advice. Do you fall into the "lazy" group I was referring to?

I think I just hit a raw nerve inside you. So I assume you must be one of those who blindly bought Iskandar condos.

Read my previous post carefully. I referred specifically to those who followed the "herd mentality". Are you one of them? Indirectly, you admit that you are. If not, why are you so defensive? People who bought Iskandar condos for their own use or because they have the money to splurge won't even be bothered by my comments. These are the ones who know what they are doing.

It's people ("investors") like you who get very sensitive. Do distinguish the difference between the 2 groups.

Xisiqomelir

He tok lanpa song onli. He no invest in Iskandar, why need to have back up plan? Tok cheep cheep,criticize plenty, action no have. :biggrin: :biggrin:

Wait, what? So why does he have *checks* 59 posts, the 4th highest in the thread?

That seems like an unproductive use of time for a negative Iskandar sentiment. There are actual REITs on trade to short to express that investment thesis.

Tekkun

Wait, what? So why does he have *checks* 59 posts, the 4th highest in the thread?

That seems like an unproductive use of time for a negative Iskandar sentiment. There are actual REITs on trade to short to express that investment thesis.

I told him before he is like a grandmother....nag nag nag....3x a day, don't forget to take your medicine, eat your brocolli... LOL
Other than nagging, he is a lot better than others. :smile:

xebay11

He tok lanpa song onli. He no invest in Iskandar, why need to have back up plan? Tok cheep cheep,criticize plenty, action no have. :biggrin: :biggrin:

By not investing in Iskandar is already a brilliant back up plan lol lol, when you invest in Iskandar then must have back up plans many many. Lol.

sgtsk

This is the 2nd time I am saying this: I am not paid to give you investment advice. Do you fall into the "lazy" group I was referring to?

I think I just hit a raw nerve inside you. So I assume you must be one of those who blindly bought Iskandar condos.

Read my previous post carefully. I referred specifically to those who followed the "herd mentality". Are you one of them? Indirectly, you admit that you are. If not, why are you so defensive? People who bought Iskandar condos for their own use or because they have the money to splurge won't even be bothered by my comments. These are the ones who know what they are doing.

It's people ("investors") like you who get very sensitive. Do distinguish the difference between the 2 groups.

You criticize others so much, is it not fair to ask for your solutions or back up plans, if you have any? Otherwise it is just not constructive criticism which offer less helpful value.

snowbird

You said that rental from your HDB flat covers your loan repayment in MY but didn't mention whether your HDB loan is fully paid.
If its fully paid, good for you but if your HDB loan is still outstanding, probably you're paying with your CPF monthly and if this is the case, your CPF savings would not be substantial towards the end of loan payment.
Whatever it is, it is the life you chose but your resources seems quite stretched, you are living dangerously.
Sorry, not pouring cold water, but just a kind reminder.

tstar

if you read Frodo's earlier posts, his hdn loan is almost or already fully paid up.
I can understand what he said. if in sg, hardly any savings and impossible to change to a larger hdb and less likely to buy a condo. if moving to jb, probably still stretched. but at least have a terrace house and a condo and loan canbe covered by hdb rental.

It does make a lot difference for him. though some people think otherwise.