• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

HSR and RTS Discussion

cybermad

That is exactly what I said about the services to be offered.
From SG there is one express service direct to KL and another to shutter to Nusajaya for connection to the other 6 stations.

The train system will be run by "local professional", usually a Malay too.
They brought in a German specialist to turn around MAS after years of heavy bleeding but he can't even serve his contracted term and "has to leave" after one year.
Everyone, including their mother and their pet pussy cat wanted his blood after he terminated 6,000 staff, many were caught sleeping or just doing nothing.

Nope, the shuttle sve betwn Sg and Nusajaya will be run by an international operator, just like the SG to KL route.

rotikok

Also mentioned was a shuttle service from SG to Iskandar Puteri. I'm surprised by this. But this perhaps shows the important position of Iskandar Puteri. For those who don't wish to spend so much on the HSR, at least there is the bus to get there.

The expected travel duration from iskandar puteri to sg would be 15 min according to the MOU. DO u think it is possible to travel by bus...that fast? why only bus can be shuttle, train cannot shuttle meh?

By then probably the condos in JB have also increased in prices, which means maybe many will feel very "dui" for missing the boat 10 years ago.

What is even more diu is they lose the exchange rate advantages. 1 to 3 will not here to stay for long, malaysia is getting away their reliance on oil revenue. But i dont think condo is ideal thing to invest in, buy landed whenever you can. See melbourne ppty market, apartment/condo overall drop in value while landed all up in price. DOnt risk your rmoney on condo, waste on opportunity cost only, there are better alternative.

The control measures in the CIQs and along the tracks must be done thoroughly to avoid any breach in security and terrorist threat.

By then I do expect islamic extremist already less of a concern, much like communist confrontasi era. The whole crude oil price changes, people change the way to use energy, will directly affecting middle east nations, and by 2030, Muslim world will have radical change, they will becoming more secular.

rotikok

I can still see and hear many people ( esp sinkies ) around me putting down on Nusajaya and calling it a Ghost Town.

Risk is, supply and demand will need time to get into balance. If second link area all build condo, iskandar can fit in another million of people influx. Supply is unlimited, ghost town still likely! There maybe appear 2 market on the same area, those that limited supply like landed ppty face unlimited demand, and those that unlimited supply like condo face limited demand. People will willing to pay more for asset that increase in value, rather than pay less for asset that erode in value. Asset that increase in value, no matter how expensive, is still cheap.

Yes. left of 2nd link Malaysia custom is Gelang Patah.

Nope, is Tanjung Kupang. There are many small pieces of land previously mostly owned by malay, now local chinese already sapu many of it. And big company like Mulpha, UEM, is direct benefitors, including many small timer land owner like me (the land price increases last year i see, compare to the price i get in, already made 2x paper profit) and there is a group of investors from Sarawak that sapu the land there also earn a lot of $$ ady.

Years ago, I already regard there as one of a life time opportunity, you see iskandar coast line, there is the only place remain undevelop and about to approach development. Buying agri land there and keep is no brainer, better than what condos, only singaporean like condo.

rotikok

God Bless Najib and PAP! I am very proud to see PM Najib and PM Lee working together for the benefit of both countries. After all, both are them are reputed to be the world top 10 most capable PMs
World top 10? who are the other 8? Mind to share?

Nobody rushing to buy Johor properties when you can take the train from Singapore, what is there to dui about it?
Exactly nobody rush into buy make it more luring for clever investor like you to buy, when everyone rush in you better be careful liao.

rotikok

I always think a strong and well-known hospital such as Gleneagles won't be so stupid to build in Medini if the place is so dead like now. They must know something that we don't. Maybe SG government has a part to play in this also.
You think too much. Gleneagles set up there because Khazanah want to lure investors into the area, if no critical attraction point like legoland or hospital in the area, really hard to sell that high price, right. It create an illusion for investors about the area will be very quick to be developed, because normally those facilities only appeared in matured township, one really hard to believe gleaneagle how come willing to get in? Singapore government? LOL! Gleneagle brand along with Pantai is wholely own by IHH healthcare, which majority own by khazanah. DOnt think has anything to do with temasek or GIC or sg gov. Gleneagle in singapore, and novena, mount E are all under IHH, something to do with khazanah, nothing to do with temasek.

Any of the IHH and MHI (another healthcare service provider listed in sgx) operated hospitals in malaysia will allow sg medicare to be used. This include pantai in whole malaysia and mahkota medical centre in melaka, regency hospital pasir gudang. Johor many private hospital belong to KPJ group which belong to Johor corp and KPJ group is not one of them, so sg medisave cannot be used. I think u do not fully understand gleneagle medisave thingy and create an illusion for you to believe singapore government got some special plan for medini... nope, and temasek involvement in medini just limited to afiniti, gleneagle not theirs, not singaporean asset.

Is like PURA milk in australia, aussie thought the milk from aussie farm, PURA, the most famous brand by right should belongs to australian....but nope, is japanese asset.

rotikok

Eh... why you talk so secretive? :biggrin: Nothing wrong to say it out loud... :smile:
They allow Medisave to be used in Gleneagles Medini.

Even Temasek had a share in developing Afiniti condo in Medini. Heard many Singaporeans and Malaysians snapped up all the units in a few hours after launch.

Now they are planning shuttle service into Iskandar Puteri. HSR will stop there also.

These are all subtle signals the SG govt is opening up a way for Singaporeans to move there (on their own intention). Of course, it is unlikely they will mention this directly for fear of making more Singaporeans unhappy.
Afiniti can be sold out that fast purely because of singaporean kiasu spirit, ppl queue up to buy, u dun buy really rugi de (if u kiasu enuf u will know the mentality). The more closer benefitors for the shuttle service would be UEM, Mulpha and Sunway Pendas if the rumour of the terminal will be built on the right side of second link ciq to be true. Forest city can also be one of them if they build a direct rail link up to the ciq, nothing is impossible for the PRC. Medini still a distance away, and maybe will need BRT to get to the terminal. Location wise, medini is quite far already.

Endless possibilities. I am just wondering where will Forest City fit in. Surely there will be a rail link to it.
Hopefully yes, and passby the land that i bought $_$, if so, land price @ tj kupang btw forest city and the terminal, in kampong pok area will have another dramatic jump. Wah siao liao, huat ahhhhh.

rotikok

Just curious, why is Gomen & Temasek focusing only in Iskandar Puteri and not JB City? Or did I miss out anything?
JB city got anything to focus beside the RTS? Temasek got a piece of land at danga bay area, opposite the residential island, latest development is just a sandy road been made, few tractors on the construction site, no crane. Surrounding lands price already reach the level of condo land price... too expensive. Actually the only gated and guarded taman closest to danga bay is a hidden gem many rookie and noobs investors do not know, it is right inside in the middle of the whole danga bay next phase planning.

But that's precisely the point that better connectivity would likely be there in 10 years time which would mean property prices could have gone up. So people may say, "wah lau, if only I had bought the condo in 2016, now prices in 2026 went up liao."
I think many people experience now dated back 4-6 years ago. 2012 when you bought, come to 2016 still headache whether got demand or not. Dont forget, the MOU that signed this year was expected way back from 2010. 2010 why ppl buy? Expecting HSR RTS! and come to 2016 they all have their timing wrong.

In fact right now is the time to buy...but people already afraid, when they not afraid, will be the price skyrocketing. Right now is good to buy ringgit, or borrow sgd loan convert rm and buy ppty in iskandar (but i will advise ppl who buy condo to do their due diligence). By 2018, the whole sentiment will change. 2017 will still be volatile as Najib will quickly do election before Mahathir new party gaining strength. For those who have not get in, this year or next will be good opportunity to get in.

FHBH12

HSR (Jurong Lake District)

rbcqix.jpg

http://news.asiaone.com/news/singapore/singapore-kl-high-speed-rail-what-you-need-know

FHBH12

It looks like the AYE below the orange sector could be realigned downwards to accommodate the HSR terminal, and Jurong Regional Line might have a station serving it. The orange sector will be the expansion of the International Business Park at Jurong East but with commercial/leisure components. If that is the case, then properties around MRT stations that closer to the HSR's MRT station could see significant price and rental appreciation as HSR nears completion.

sgcount

You think too much. Gleneagles set up there because Khazanah want to lure investors into the area, if no critical attraction point like legoland or hospital in the area, really hard to sell that high price, right. It create an illusion for investors about the area will be very quick to be developed, because normally those facilities only appeared in matured township, one really hard to believe gleaneagle how come willing to get in? Singapore government? LOL! Gleneagle brand along with Pantai is wholely own by IHH healthcare, which majority own by khazanah. DOnt think has anything to do with temasek or GIC or sg gov. Gleneagle in singapore, and novena, mount E are all under IHH, something to do with khazanah, nothing to do with temasek.

You evaluate the issues very well. Enjoyed reading your opinions! Thanks.

I do know that Gleneagles is not by SG govt. If Khazanah had a hand in this, it's even better! The Malaysians should know what to do and expect on their own soil. But at least the SG govt allow our Medisave to be used there. That's a sign that retiring in Iskandar is a closer possibility for Singaporeans.

On Temasek....yes, they co-developed Afiniti with Khazanah. That's also another sign the SG govt thinks there is something going on over there. Not now perhaps, but next time? I'm sure the top brains in Temasek would have studied the situation carefully before putting their money there. Ok, they are not always right with their investments. But at least, you know Temasek is ruled by who and it's not a suka-suka gamble investment.

On Singaporeans preferring condos....I agree. Maybe we are all so used to high-rise flats and apartments in Singapore. Yes, I also agree it is a risky investment. I'm not sure in future if there are people who will want to buy over condos when there are so many new ones coming up, and land in Johor is so huge compared to SG.

But think in terms of future retirement, maybe it's ok? By Johor standards, all those new condos are ridiculously priced. If I'm a Malaysian I also won't buy them. But for Singaporeans, they are affordable compared to back home.

You see today in those mature estates, 4 or 5 room resale flats are going for at least S$700k. Even tiny 4-room BTO flats have hit more than S$400k and not everyone can buy them. Got to ballot. Better location ones cost close to S$600k. Crazy.

Graduates' starting pay these days on average is only about S$3.5k a month if they are lucky. Combined income about S$7k. That's not a lot. Study so hard for years but earn so little. You go and calculate how long they will take to pay off a S$500k tiny HDB PUBLIC flat. In the past, our not so educated parents earned about S$2k each per month. But relatively big HDB flats cost only S$20-50k back in the '80s. Life was so much better.

If you project to the year 2025 or 2030, how much do you think HDB flats will cost then? How much do you think the local graduates salaries will be? For sure, it will get worse and the salary increments will never keep up with the high cost of living in SG.

Iskandar condos 1,000 sq ft cost about S$280k on average. If connectivity improves in future, Singaporeans definitely will be in a better position to retire or live there.

But I understand you are coming from an investment perspective. Yes, condo investments in Johor have their risks. S$280k is still quite big money for the commoners. Those who don't intend to live in Iskandar and cannot tahan the financial strain may have to let go at loss next time.

PuteriWorld

My cousin from Malaysia who married a fellow Phds just bought an EC in Singapore and they were lamenting about driving around in a 7 year old Toyota Altis and RM 3 million condos. His bother ( also a Phd ) bought into Bukit Indah and was enjoying life during weekends except he had to battle peak traffics daily. But according to him, once u are used to battling 2nd link peak hour jams everyday, it become just another routine. No stress.

If Phds couples are having whining financially, this country direction is a bit shaky.

For me I still cant tahan jams.

sgcount

My cousin from Malaysia who married a fellow Phds just bought an EC in Singapore and they were lamenting about driving around in a 7 year old Toyota Altis and RM 3 million condos. His bother ( also a Phd ) bought into Bukit Indah and was enjoying life during weekends except he had to battle peak traffics daily. But according to him, once u are used to battling 2nd link peak hour jams everyday, it become just another routine. No stress.

If Phds couples are having whining financially, this country direction is a bit shaky.

For me I still cant tahan jams.

Can't have the best of both worlds I guess.

I hate to be in jams also. So I'll never work in SG and live in Johor. Not at the moment at least until the connectivity improves.

My Malaysian technician ex-colleague earned considerably less than us and owned a landed house in Malacca. Every Friday, he would take a bus back home and come back to work on Mon.

We joked he had a much better life than many of us university-educated people living in SG.

But sometimes, I think we lead miserable lives because we compare too much with others. There will always be people richer than us. But being rich will not necessarily make us feel happy at the same time.

Frodo

Can't have the best of both worlds I guess.

I hate to be in jams also. So I'll never work in SG and live in Johor. Not at the moment at least until the connectivity improves.

My Malaysian technician ex-colleague earned considerably less than us and owned a landed house in Malacca. Every Friday, he would take a bus back home and come back to work on Mon.

We joked he had a much better life than many of us university-educated people living in SG.

But sometimes, I think we lead miserable lives because we compare too much with others. There will always be people richer than us. But being rich will not necessarily make us feel happy at the same time.

For peasant folk like me, maybe sometimes it is still possible to "feel" rich without actually being rich because we barely managed to buy and live in a landed property in JB for a mere fraction of the cost of a similar sized unit in Singapore. :p

Aviator

Presumably if the HSR starts construction simultaneously from KL and SG respectively, the mid-point might be Melaka or maybe Muar.
As there will be 3 services types : express, shuttle and domestic.
If so, it is conceivable that the "shuttle" between SG and Iskandar Puteri be operational, much earlier than 2026.
If 2018 start constructions, maybe by 2021/22, we already have this shuttle train between SG and IP, making 15mins runs by then!

Dreaming? :smile::smile:

ECboy

Presumably if the HSR starts construction simultaneously from KL and SG respectively, the mid-point might be Melaka or maybe Muar.
If so, it is conceivable that the "shuttle" between SG and Iskandar Puteri be operational, much earlier than 2026.
If 2018 start constructions, maybe by 2021/22, we already have this shuttle train between SG and IP, making 15mins runs by then!

In BSchool, it is always thought in entrepreneurship courses, if you have large product development/product design, you must always look at MVP (Minimum Viable Product) - so you can learn and benefit at a lower cost before completing the entire product/project. Reduce risk of wrong assumptions, calculations, etc.

I think its very likely that the shuttle will be completed first since it's shorter but maybe more complex, so it actually depends on which is the MVP, shuttle or domestic service? I'm no rail expert so can't comment.

rotikok

You have the point! The impact may come much quicker, land there will all shoot up much sooner than i expect. Unfortunately there aren't many G&G landed ppty there yet, those who bought melia already counting paper profit liao, congrat.

Tekkun

In BSchool, it is always thought in entrepreneurship courses, if you have large product development/product design, you must always look at MVP (Minimum Viable Product) - so you can learn and benefit at a lower cost before completing the entire product/project. Reduce risk of wrong assumptions, calculations, etc. I think its very likely that the shuttle will be completed first since it's shorter but maybe more complex, so it actually depends on which is the MVP, shuttle or domestic service? I'm no rail expert so can't comment.
No one build from point A to B. Every one start from Point ABCDE simultaneously and join them together. So you can be sure the construction of the tracks will start at all stations at the same time. That way, it will be completed in the shortest time.

ECboy

No one build from point A to B. Every one start from Point ABCDE simultaneously and join them together. So you can be sure the construction of the tracks will start at all stations at the same time. That way, it will be completed in the shortest time.

Sry, That's not what i meant that they will build A to B, see if ok then to C then D, etc. Of course they will build all as quick as possible but which will service will be operational first is what i meant. Like MRT project in SG, open few stations for phase 1 then few more phase 2 then all at phase 3, etc. SG downtown line as an example.