• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Switzerland vote to keep NS

Switzerland referendum voters to keep army conscription

Voting trends indicated a large majority of Swiss rejected plans to abolish conscription.

Correspondents say the Swiss Army is regarded as costly and many young men complain that their time is wasted.

But older voters say obligatory duty in the armed forces remains the best way to defend the neutral country.

Abolishing military service would break the link uniting the people and the army”

The vote on conscription was the third in Switzerland on the matter in almost quarter of a century.

Pacifists and left-wing parties campaigned for abolition. They did not expect to win, but rather muster more than a 30% share of the vote.

Male Swiss citizens aged between 18 and 34 begin service with weeks of basic training. They then keep their uniforms and weapons at home to be ready for tours of duty. Women can serve voluntarily.

Conscientious objectors have the option of undertaking non-military service, for example in environmental projects. Men who do not serve pay a special tax of 4% of their salary.

'Outdated'
Centre and right-wing parties argue the measures are needed to maintain Switzerland's army in a time of security challenges. They argue it helps to bring together a country with three main language groups: German, French and Italian.

"Abolishing military service would break the genuine link uniting the people and the army," Defence Minister Ueli Maurer said.

Critics say the end of the Cold War removed the need for large-scale forces with fighter planes, tanks and artillery. Switzerland has not been invaded since the Napoleonic Wars of the early 19th century.

"Compulsory military service is a tool created for wars of the past," said Tobias Schnebli of the anti-military group, Group for a Switzerland Without an Army, told the news agency, AFP.

Recent scholars have questioned the belief that the Swiss military's complex of underground bunkers deterred an invasion by the Nazis during the Second World War, AP reported.

Some historians argued that Adolf Hitler left the Swiss alone because he wanted to use their banks.

if swiss vote out NS, all the people here will hail them and insult PAP again.

swiss vote to keep NS, all the people here , cock in their mouth unable to speak.

I_Hate_Pappies

We can't stop the Swiss from from voting on what they wished for. Just like how i can't stop your Mother putting her mouth on my cock.

gingerlyn

swiss vote to keep NS, all the people here , cock in their mouth unable to speak.

Majority of Europe has voted out NS for quite some time, including taiwan.
Here is the mudlay news on Europe consription:
http://www.nst.com.my/latest/conscription-dies-out-in-europe-1.359180
Led by Britain and Luxembourg in the 1960s and followed in the 1990s and 2000s by nations including Belgium, France, Spain, Portugal, Italy, Poland and Germany, successive European nations have abandoned the call-up.

Taiwan was about to end consription but due to certain reasons, they delayed the plan.
http://www.bangkokpost.com/news/asia/369404/taiwan-military-delays-plan-to-scrap-conscription

pls lah, don't use Swirzerland case to supork NS. :biggrin::*:

I_Hate_Pappies

she passed away, OA army. But your malaysian mother can suck my cock. fxxk off back to malaysia.

She is died but you are still forcing her mouth on my cock? What a son she used to have..... Can't even spell fuck properly? Do you even know how to fuck correctly?

Asterix

The vote on conscription was the third in Switzerland on the matter in almost quarter of a century.

Bet they held real referendums instead of fake ones like in Sinkieland.

Asterix

Singveld dey country bumpkin with the crap English
Tried bery hard to help his masters bluff daft Sinkies
Twas THIRD referendum in twenty five years on conscription
Daft Singveld skip this part he suffering mental constipation
Such an important issue as merger with Malaysia
Scums in White play dirty with fake referendum
Elected President supposedly to guard your reserves
No referendum Singapore’s White Lightning’s preserve
Lightning Goons must hold genuine vote on this issue
Then can make apple for apple comparison with Swiss

Sideswipe

" Male Swiss citizens aged between 18 and 34 begin service with weeks of basic training. They then keep their uniforms and weapons at home to be ready for tours of duty. "

our NS men should also keep their weapons with bullets at home to be ready in case of wars.

U mean the swiss NS is a couple of weeks? not like 2 years in singkieland?

" Male Swiss citizens aged between 18 and 34 begin service with weeks of basic training. They then keep their uniforms and weapons at home to be ready for tours of duty. "

our NS men should also keep their weapons with bullets at home to be ready in case of wars.

Poomer

at least the swiss get to vote on abolishing NS? so when was the last time the government let us vote on any policy?

Like that its pointless to abolish NS when its 18 to 21 weeks, that is at most 6 months,,,FUCK PAP

Switzerland's NS is 18 to 21 weeks duration. very short period.

Singapore's Reservist period is apparently the world's 2nd longest after Israel. it is simply ridiculous.

Poomer

If we get to keep our weapons at home, we won't have such nonsense such as an open door immigration policy, '6.9 million population', overcrowded MRTs, government run unions, get to see your CPF when you die.

Poomer

Like that its pointless to abolish NS when its 18 to 21 weeks, that is at most 6 months,,,FUCK PAP

NS = Enforced conscription of cheap labour to fill the ranks of the paper army while paying the conscripts below minimum wage. In other news, the Singapore government run a surplus of $30 billion in 2012.

In Singapore, NS is no longer about defending the nation, its about enriching the PAP and its Cronies. If we dont have NS, how to justify the existence of ST, all the generals and other mindef civil serpents? they on superscale one hor,,

and look at the quality of our generals? do u think singkieland can survive an indon attack?

NS = Enforced conscription of cheap labour to fill the ranks of the paper army while paying the conscripts below minimum wage. In other news, the Singapore government run a surplus of $30 billion in 2012.