• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Does Apple iPhone 5(C) and 5(S) pricing make sense?

chupacabra

People sometimes forget that although Apple sells fewer phones than Samsung, the profit they make from each iPhone is much higher than what Samsung makes.

Apple is what some call an aspirational brand. The definition is "In consumer marketing, an aspirational brand (or product) means a large segment of its exposure audience wishes to own it..."
Much like the Lambo, Ferraris, Merc,.....

Asians are very brand conscious so expect the iPhones to do well despite the cost.

You are very right about Asians being brand conscious and also sheeps..When I was working in Perth and taking the train to work, alot of aussies still use their old phones..and those type of cheap nokias..like the ones banglas in peesai uses..

where is the innovation?
where is the design, it look worse than before.
look like this plastic iphone will be a flop. too expensive for a low cost model.

That kind of money can buy alot of other useful stuff than a phone plus not forgetting the monthly charges. Youngsters nowadays dunno how to prioritize their spending..Even when compact handphones was first introduce in the 90s, I thought it was a waste of money..Now i still use my 5 year old Nokia and have it on prepaid (malaysia"s hotlink)..My colleague whom are in their 20s spend an average of 200 sg bucks monthly on phone bills( mine the most 50 ringgit a month)..How stupid is that knowing that their life in peesai going to be hell once they decide to settle down and buy a pigeonhole..

It means that you do not understand the mindset of youngster and the current trend of earning money.

you are stuck in the caveman age and that is why you use caveman devices.

You are out of touch and not current. Your idea of a phone is only to call and that is your out-dated idea.

the modern one is to have more than just a call. well, i guess you dun get it.

peppertail

It means that you do not understand the mindset of youngster and the current trend of earning money.

You are out of touch and not current. Your idea of a phone is only to call and that is your out-dated idea.

Ye, call and play games. Great innovation right?! Smartphones are a freaking waste of time and money. I rather be out of touch than living on another planet.

geylangchickenloyangduck

nah beh....iphone is like go call escort for fuck....samsung is like go Geylang to screw. Want something cheaper like Petain or Keong Siak - go buy Nokia 1100...buy before its gone.

peppertail

Ye, call and play games. Great innovation right?! Smartphones are a freaking waste of time and money. I rather be out of touch than living on another planet.

Proof:

1175686_702974953050829_1617654606_n.jpg

iPhone 5S
11wd0ld.jpg

iPhone 5C
1zbe15c.jpg

Difference of $140. This is Apple's definition of 'low cost'? Is it aligned with PAP's warped sense of affordability of HDB flats?

You missed the best part, Apple is now selling on the 8MB iPhone 4 for S$588...& the iPhone 5 is missing!. I saw the price difference between the two, if I really need a phone, between the 4, 5c & 5s, if I have the money, I would buy the 5S...why would I buy a plastic phone, that has limited feature..even though it runs on the latest IOS & get free Apps from APPLE??

The cheap phone they are SELLING is the 5c with 2 years contract, 16GB at USD99..which is just as affordable as the AFFORDABLE medicare the MIW is offering..now you know where the MIW learn it from??

Anyway, if you phone is still working & still receiving the support from the phone hand set company..why change?? I won't bother to dump my current iPhone & go buy a 5C...

chupacabra

What can IPHONE do that my macpro and dell alienware cannot do at home.? My nokia even though 5 years old..still can use whatsapp and message for free.

Spending money using the internet on the go for playing games and viewing youtube is so modern according to you..What a bunch of belony..And IPHONE camera cannot beat a cheap digital camera in terms of picture quality and options.In the future alot of people going to regret using their phones to take shitty pictures of once in a lifetime moments..Just like poloroids in the past that fades..IPHONE takes shitty photos..

I guess you and most sinkees dont get it, being sheeps of society is what all governments wants..

I thought I was on your ignore list? Please put me back on your ignore list.

nah beh....iphone is like go call escort for fuck....samsung is like go Geylang to screw. Want something cheaper like Petain or Keong Siak - go buy Nokia 1100...buy before its gone.

You never update...
There's no more Keong siak....
And petain is going the same way...they just demolished one row of whorehouses.

Different by 15%. Better dont waste time marketing for low cost. At least must reduce by 50%.
Just see how Samsung do low cost some low cost smart phone is less than 30% of Samsung Note.
I predict Apple share price will start to dip .

Different by 15%. Better dont waste time marketing for low cost. At least must reduce by 50%.
Just see how Samsung do low cost some low cost smart phone is less than 30% of Samsung Note.
I predict Apple share price will start to dip .

Why u make predictions on events that had happened already? lol

You are very right about Asians being brand conscious and also sheeps..When I was working in Perth and taking the train to work, alot of aussies still use their old phones..and those type of cheap nokias..like the ones banglas in peesai uses..

By the way, those cheap Nokia phones will probably be a thing of the past. Nokia has sold its handset business to Microsoft, and that includes both smartphones and feature phones.

Better buy one and keep as souvenir.