• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

10,000 dogs killed in "dog meat festival" in Guangxi

[h=1]Uproar over dog meat festival[/h]By Leeann Li | 2013-6-20

A FOLK festival dedicated to dog meat in southern China has triggered a public debate among its supporters and animal rights activists over whether to continue with the tradition or simply boycott it.

The annual festival begins tomorrow in Yulin, Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region, where locals have carried on the tradition to eat dog meat to celebrate the summer solstice. A citywide feast offers a variety of dog dishes.

It is reported that about 10,000 dogs are slaughtered during the festival each year, and that many are electrocuted, burned and skinned alive, according to UK-based Guardian newspaper.

Animal rights groups across the nation have swarmed into Yulin in an effort to save the dogs from tables. They distributed leaflets and hung banners on streets and markets, calling for "respecting life" and "feeling at ease only by not eating dogs."

Members of the Bo'ai Small Animal Protection Center have been protesting in Yulin since early this month, calling on the local government to cancel it, group founder Du Yufeng told AFP.

But some supporters of the festival, which features binge parties of dog meat and lychees dipped in liquor, said the dogs slaughtered are not pet dogs stolen from their owners, but dogs raised just like pigs and chicken.

However, according to an open letter written by the Hong Kong-based NGO Animals Asia, though dogs are raised by local farmers, many of the stuff consumed during the festival are stray dogs.

The letter claims some of them are transported into the city on filthy, overcrowded trucks, significantly increasing the risk of rabies and other contagious diseases, Guardian reported.

Trucks arriving in the city packed with dogs have taken measures to avoid being intercepted by animal lovers, Du said.

"We can't stop the trucks because they come at three or four in the morning, so we don't know about them," she said. But they had still managed to rescue dozens of dogs and hoped to find new homes for them.

But some local people have slammed the activists for their "declaration of war against their tradition." If slaughtering dogs was deemed cruel, "what about the slaughtering of chickens and pigs?"

"It is no less cruel. Would they just quit eating chicken and pork?" a netizen asked in an online post. "If you boycott the festival because of the slaughtered dogs, what about the traditional Spring Festival (when lot of birds and animals are slaughtered)?"

Oracle

Can we massacre those Guangxi Tiongs and have them BBQ four Hungry Ghost Festival?
Let them have a taste of their own medicine.

Agoraphobic

If your culture allows eating of dog meat, fine, go ahead and do it. But leave your hands of MY pooch because if you so much as lay a finger on him, I'll kill you.

Nothing wrong with eating dogs. They are just like pigs. Chicken. Fish. Carrots n other vegetables. They Are all meant to be consumed.
Can we massacre those Guangxi Tiongs and have them BBQ four Hungry Ghost Festival?
Let them have a taste of their own medicine.

soIsee

The Ah tiongs killed the wrong type of dogs.

They should have help the Sinkie to rid of the 80+ dogs in Sinkland and the Sinkie would be forever be grateful for their help. LOL

escher

The tastiest, the most succulent of meat, is the siang rou done to perfection.
You never know meat until you sink your teeth into a good piece of siang rou

The Ah tiongs killed the wrong type of dogs.

They should have help the Sinkie to rid of the 80+ dogs in Sinkland and the Sinkie would be forever be grateful for their help. LOL

Can you afford to eat them, they are like the premium Japanese Beef. But these 'go ro' here will cost $1,000,000 a kilo & the lowest, RC or PA or CUNT brand can cost up to $10,000 a kilo. These can only be consume by eating with Mee Siam Mai Hum with chillies & onions too, which is another elite dish.

Can you afford it??:biggrin:

Logisex

Nothing wrong with eating dogs. They are just like pigs. Chicken. Fish. Carrots n other vegetables. They Are all meant to be consumed.

Last time I also has the same thinking till I have a dog. Dogs genuinely wants to be with humans and they can love you unconditionally. No other kind of animals can do that. You don't eat something which you have a connection with.

My mum don't eat beef because during the Japanese occupation, the Japs were slaughtering cows in the open and she saw that the cows who are in the queue were crying as their brother and sisters were being slaughtered in front of time. Which other animal can do that?

Its the truth,,,vegetables are living things...so are cows, pigs etc etc. All meant to be eaten. Dogs is the same..only BS western liberal crap say cannot eat this and that,,animal rights hypocritical assholes.

:biggrin:..................:biggrin:....................velly funny leh you

escher

Last time I also has the same thinking till I have a dog. Dogs genuinely wants to be with humans and they can love you unconditionally. No other kind of animals can do that. You don't eat something which you have a connection with.

Dog orledi dead.
How to have connection when dead.
You go around with ouija board to talk to dog?

Why not just eat and enjoy the dog. The dog forever part of you after that and forever connected with you.