• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

ADVICE WARNING: This CNY, Please Do Not Spend Money On Expensive Things. BoPaiSeh One

ahleebabasingaporethief

Still seeing some queues for expensive "bak quas" though much shorter than previous years. Prices for "bak qua" have shot through the roof.

1) Eat at home. Steamboat is the best. Ingredients up to your budget.

2) Do not gamble on horses on 2nd day of CNY. Yes the Turf Club (Garment) still trying to "pok-kai" as many people as possible. Organise race during CNY somemore.

3) Dont buy branded clothes especially for wear at homes. Shorts and T's for home wear should be bought at HDB market stalls. Some great bermudas can be had for less than $10 at CK store in Chinatown. ...er not Calvin Kleins lah.

4) Cut down on cigarettes. the more you smoke the more the Garment makes. Dont you hate them (Garment) enough not to want them to make more money of you?

5) If must eat out, eat at "LOCALLY" owned diners. Support your own kind.

Let's all Singaporeans make it really hip to dress like "lesser mortals". Wearing less expensive clothes dont make a person look cheap or unfashionable. Have you seen those rich ah peks and ah bengs/lians with their expensive clothes? Just cannot carry it off. Cannot means cannot.

If you have the right attitute, you have class. Therefore, you dont need Branded expensive clothes.

Let's Make Wearing Branded Clothes at times like this a CRIME!

Say "NO" to branded items. Make fun of those that wear expensive branded items by saying: "Wah, steady lah. Is that a LV bag? Wah in times like this you still can spend. You must be very hoosay ah!"

Tell you what. Most after hearing things like that will feel "paisei" and know it's not HIP to show off anymore by wearing branded clothes

R4g3

Re: ADVICE WARNING: This CNY, Please Do Not Spend Money On Expensive Things. BoPaiSeh

If everyone thinks like you, then there will be very low spending around which will hurt the retailers and then more will close down, rental will have to lower, GLC landlord and GLC retailer will make lesser money.

But that's what i have been doing over the years, too bad most people still spend like water end up feeding all these monopolized businesses.

ahleebabasingaporethief

Re: ADVICE WARNING: This CNY, Please Do Not Spend Money On Expensive Things. BoPaiSeh

Alfrescian (S)

My Reputation: Points: 45 / Power: 8
R4g3 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: ADVICE WARNING: This CNY, Please Do Not Spend Money On Expensive Things. BoPaiSeh
If everyone thinks like you, then there will be very low spending around which will hurt the retailers and then more will close down, rental will have to lower, GLC landlord and GLC retailer will make lesser money.

But that's what i have been doing over the years, too bad most people still spend like water end up feeding all these monopolized businesses.

That's is the idea.

Who is the biggest landlord in S'pore?
Who drove up property and rental prices?
Who drove up the costs of living?
Who brought in FTs to lower their OWN costs of doing business?
Who never extended PROPER help when help is needed?

It's time they paid for over-cheating and hyping.:oIo:

2lanu

This cannot cut much lah. Not that I repeating the same thing over again, CNY is once in a year event. The most killing one is basic things like utilities, transport, ciggie, kopitiam food and drink price. One way or another have to spend one...

Like LHL said smoking kills. Now before smoking really kill, the economy already killing many more!

kchunjeng

Very simple strategic to be survive in Singapore.

Rule no. 1 :

What the politician say, do the reverse.
example : ask you to spend, you save.

Rule no. 2 :
Only believe in yourself.

Rule no. 3 :
Cash is KING. keep cash.

Rule no. 4 :
Look down on FT, Look up to Singaporean.

CHEER !! and happy New Year !!

Very simple strategic to be survive in Singapore.

Rule no. 1 :

What the politician say, do the reverse.
example : ask you to spend, you save.

Rule no. 2 :
Only believe in yourself.

Rule no. 3 :
Cash is KING. keep cash.

Rule no. 4 :
Look down on FT, Look up to Singaporean.

CHEER !! and happy New Year !!
I agree with all your rules, except that in the case of rule number 4, that should be the default unless proven otherwise. Because there are some Singaporeans who are selfish and inconsiderate fuckers and some foreigners who are kind.
I have seen foreign workers give up their seats readily to the elderly on the MRT while the Singaporeans pretend to sleep.

DearestGodlikeWarlord

Still seeing some queues for expensive "bak quas" though much shorter than previous years. Prices for "bak qua" have shot through the roof.

1) Eat at home. Steamboat is the best. Ingredients up to your budget.

2) Do not gamble on horses on 2nd day of CNY. Yes the Turf Club (Garment) still trying to "pok-kai" as many people as possible. Organise race during CNY somemore.

3) Dont buy branded clothes especially for wear at homes. Shorts and T's for home wear should be bought at HDB market stalls. Some great bermudas can be had for less than $10 at CK store in Chinatown. ...er not Calvin Kleins lah.

4) Cut down on cigarettes. the more you smoke the more the Garment makes. Dont you hate them (Garment) enough not to want them to make more money of you?

5) If must eat out, eat at "LOCALLY" owned diners. Support your own kind.

Let's all Singaporeans make it really hip to dress like "lesser mortals". Wearing less expensive clothes dont make a person look cheap or unfashionable. Have you seen those rich ah peks and ah bengs/lians with their expensive clothes? Just cannot carry it off. Cannot means cannot.

If you have the right attitute, you have class. Therefore, you dont need Branded expensive clothes.

Let's Make Wearing Branded Clothes at times like this a CRIME!

Say "NO" to branded items. Make fun of those that wear expensive branded items by saying: "Wah, steady lah. Is that a LV bag? Wah in times like this you still can spend. You must be very hoosay ah!"

Tell you what. Most after hearing things like that will feel "paisei" and know it's not HIP to show off anymore by wearing branded clothes

You qualify yourself yet again as a lesser mortal, also a boring and unfunny one with this dumb post of yours.

:oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo:

tchinkoo

How u noe the guy who pretend to sleep in the MRT

is a Singaporean ?

kakowi

a lot of what you said made sense

in general it is always good to be thrifty

but being thrifty is highly relative; for some spending $50,000 is thrifty, for others $5...so from my point of view, it translate to spending what you can afford and have enough for a rainy day

good advice though :smile:

Happy Chinese New Year to all Chinese here