• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

free ride... what free ride??

These so-called "free rides" are paid for with tax dollars. Essentially, it is the public subsidizing a small subset of commuters. Which means the majority will not benefit directly.

Gahmen policies and initiatives affect each individual differently. I find it helpful to have people here sharing their views, as it leads to better understanding of the effectiveness and scope of impact.

once again, a nation has been ignorantly conned.

do remember the quote from our infamous immortal: THERE'S NO FREE LUNCH.....especially from the pappies :(

Just a curious question, you must board before 7.45am at the designated stations along those designated lines, how can we know that fares are not deducted when we tap our cards?? it may show free on the display...

Only SINgaporeans the 60% "lemmings" will believe these 'wayang'..if they really want to show concern..the free rides should be from any station in SINgapore before 7.45am...

What a joke...& the joke is on YOU!

and if most of the commuters are foreigners.........................then foreigners get free rides while locals pay................

Just a curious question, you must board before 7.45am at the designated stations along those designated lines, how can we know that fares are not deducted when we tap our cards?? it may show free on the display...

Only SINgaporeans the 60% "lemmings" will believe these 'wayang'..if they really want to show concern..the free rides should be from any station in SINgapore before 7.45am...

What a joke...& the joke is on YOU!
i think hor when u board the time, u r qualify for the FREE RIDE but when u reach destination, free ride time over. that means u pay. if the train breaks down as usual, then good luck to everyone for waking early, lor :biggrin:

stupidly, that is the MILLION$ the gahmen donated to smrt just to torment us further by depriving our beauty sleep.

just remember the infamous immortal wise words:

THERE IS NO FREE LUNCH especially in singapore and especially so from the pappies. later they shall get every cents back with compounded interests. just u wait and see.....

Blazars

and if most of the commuters are foreigners.........................then foreigners get free rides while locals pay................

Yah lor. Out of so many commuters to choose from, CNA has to choose a fucking pinoy to interview about this free train ride.

KuanTi01

Yah lor. Out of so many commuters to choose from, CNA has to choose a fucking pinoy to interview about this free train ride.

Oh and see the grin on his face. He clearly lapped up the attention showered on him. Btw, he outtalked the CNA reporter. What a joke! Scared to interview the real Singaporean commuter who is frustrated and damn tulan with the bad service and frequent delays and breakdowns. Nothing is free in this land.

freedalas

after smrt has tricked everyone happily, it'd be time to drop the big bomb: FARE INCREASE.

This whole free ride in wee hours of morning is just a smoke screen as usual from the PAP. No one is asking the PAP for free MRT rides. Singaporeans are not so greedy as the PAP. All they asking for is to stop the ever increasing fares which happen every year. All they asking for is to keep the fares affordable since there are no real reasons for any increase with SMRT making super super profits in hundreds of millions every year.

And as u pointed correctly, the PAP will not give away anything for free. We know them too well. When the PAP gives u a drumstick with its left hand, it will take back the whole chicken from u with its right hand. So in order to cover these free rides, fares are bound to soar for the normal boarding hours. Just watch. As the Cantonese says "PAP moh kum ho say"

Just watch. As the Cantonese says "PAP moh kum ho say"

We are SINgapore, we are SINgaporeans...we do not know them, we must be stupid..the 60%....your backside is a free ride...they already tell you very clearly..." mo min fai"...nothing is free...

soon...they will be asking for 5cts fare increases..."kum ho say, min fai"...:rolleyes:

angbin

Obviously it has to come out of taxpayers if not where should it come out from? Not possible from PAP budget right? But then at least taxpayers' money is now being used for the people and not enriching FTs.

We can see the number of losers getting up so early for such a cheap thrill. These are the same fools who wouldn't think twice about wasting money on useless crap in Groupon.

When new line start operating in 2 year . The operating cost will increase and so do the fare .
I predict the fare will up 5% next year.

kiwibird7

The meaning of the word FREE RIDE means NO PAYMENT or complimentary. A discount or concession fare for early bird commuters is still payment and NOT FREE! So where are the FREE MRT rides?

In air travel or sea cruises, those who book early enjoy discounts or concessions, airlines and cruise line operators do not say their tickets are FREE!

This whole free ride in wee hours of morning is just a smoke screen as usual from the PAP. No one is asking the PAP for free MRT rides. Singaporeans are not so greedy as the PAP. All they asking for is to stop the ever increasing fares which happen every year. All they asking for is to keep the fares affordable since there are no real reasons for any increase with SMRT making super super profits in hundreds of millions every year.

And as u pointed correctly, the PAP will not give away anything for free. We know them too well. When the PAP gives u a drumstick with its left hand, it will take back the whole chicken from u with its right hand. So in order to cover these free rides, fares are bound to soar for the normal boarding hours. Just watch. As the Cantonese says "PAP moh kum ho say"

to make your text simplest:

what pap give u a drumstick, they shall take back your hen and also the cock and chicks....but especially the cock :p

Obviously it has to come out of taxpayers if not where should it come out from? Not possible from PAP budget right? But then at least taxpayers' money is now being used for the people and not enriching FTs.

u are damn bloody right!
singaporeans would rather sleep an extra hour if they could then go sacrifice for those free rides. they would rather ride on their bolster in bed.

obviously, this FREE RIDE thing is to entice the FTs, the PRs and the new pirated singaporeans which probably would also trick them for their votes too and depict a fake picture that the gahmen is so "nice and generous".

true blue singaporeans would rather sleep than sacrifice for that meagre freebie which we jolly well know it would be a big payback time later :(

A public outreach campaign to gear Singapore toward higher productivity- Start work Earlier!

but this contradicts to pinky's call for "5 days work week". u know he wants couples to be romantic and bonk more often to breed like rabbits. so actually what is he trying to tell the rabbit bonkers?? start work early catch free ride. go back early. sleep early and bonk till heaven cums?