• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Party over? Many fancy restaurants shutting down recently

Totally agree with your statement.

not as simple as packing up and go, and reneging on the lease agreement. there are early termination penalties in lease agreements, and some of them are hefty. and in some cases, there's breach of contract implications. for some, it may be less costly to ride out the lease than risking all of the above which may cost the tenant much more than heshe bargains for. the other prospect is to file for bankruptcy protection. :o

shittypore

not as simple as packing up and go, and reneging on the lease agreement. there are early termination penalties in lease agreements, and some of them are hefty. and in some cases, there's breach of contract implications. for some, it may be less costly to ride out the lease than risking all of the above which may cost the tenant much more than heshe bargains for. the other prospect is to file for bankruptcy protection. :o

Best for FT to just pack his bag and scoot and never step foot on Shittysoil.

zeebjii

yes, case in point being Thai Express (Ah Goi's sil) vs Porn's where you have ah gong's money to tide you over the minimum 6 months and Porn's having to subsidise loss-making outlets from the better yielding ones - only matter of time for the death knell if he doesn't shut the bleeding ones...

Ah Goh as in Tommie Goh, not Goi as in Sam Goi?

What is 'Porn's'? I tried my best, but i catch no ball.

Ah Goh as in Tommie Goh, not Goi as in Sam Goi?

What is 'Porn's'? I tried my best, but i catch no ball.

Tommie Goh's SIL haolian fuck Ivan Lee....anyways thai express sold off liao.

Porn's is another Thai food chain started by mediacorpse chow aqua Pornsak

wendychan

a lot of lay people when they have spare cash like to start their own restaurants / pubs. It is a bit of hobby. Half the time it is fusion food which is euphemism for don't know how to cook a proper meal. The number of rich kids who open restaurants using parents money is quite a well known phenomenon.

jesus christ.............

Thanks for the clarification, Pii. Anyway, best to get my fix of Thai food in LOS rather than here.

Sorry i only know the low end places. I go to Golden Mile. But this place is not somewhere you take a date to. Slightly better for ambience is beer thai at golden mile tower (at least its a restaurant). People tell me Nakhon Kitchen in Hougang is good too....always packed....but this place also dun count as a restaurant. Lastly not sure if Tawanndaeng counts as a thai food bo....but i like the place.
And dun go to thai express.....this Ivan prides himself on cutting ingredients and simplify cooking steps one.

still prefer the satay man pushing his bike along the streets shouting out... saaaa tayyy!!!

Another reason y restaurants r doing badly is cos the quality is no longer there. Ppl will go to a hawker centre for good food. Even rich frens of mine dont go restaurants unless its company function etc. They say standard of food lousy n hawker centre more value for money. Y pay money for bad food. Anyway most familiee have maid now. Get maid to cook lor.

da dick

a lot of those restaurants went belly up when ICA crack down on fake s-pass(say their staff earn 2K/mth, but take back 1K from them each month), so who cares? fuck 'em all

watchman8

a lot of those restaurants went belly up when ICA crack down on fake s-pass(say their staff earn 2K/mth, but take back 1K from them each month), so who cares? fuck 'em all
Exactly. Sinkies should just learn to cook at home more instead of eating low quality food in restaurants and indirectly pay the GLC landlords.

Simbian

As I understand from friends working in F&B, the ones holding all the cards are the landlords, which the government will never take on unless Tharman grow two big brass ones and reintroduce rent controls once more to sic it to the realtors.

The talk about foreign labour is merely focusing smokescreen by the propaganda wing (read: mainstream media) of the PAP since if you notice in their reporting, the headlines will also say that there is a labour crunch, but in the fine print, you will notice that the business owners will also comment in addition to the crunch, the rentals are going up every year.

If interest rates every start rising, our economy will explode so fast that the MIW will be spinning in their chairs.

Hi all,

there seems to be alot of talk about interest raising...but I feel no matter what, there is no reason to raise interest rates. The PAP has not raise interest rates when the property market was booming. Now that there is a possible slowdown due to china and europe still in a mess. There is even no reason to raise the rates. Singkieland depends on low rates to survive. I dont see the need to raise it.

As I understand from friends working in F&B, the ones holding all the cards are the landlords, which the government will never take on unless Tharman grow two big brass ones and reintroduce rent controls once more to sic it to the realtors.

The talk about foreign labour is merely focusing smokescreen by the propaganda wing (read: mainstream media) of the PAP since if you notice in their reporting, the headlines will also say that there is a labour crunch, but in the fine print, you will notice that the business owners will also comment in addition to the crunch, the rentals are going up every year.

If interest rates every start rising, our economy will explode so fast that the MIW will be spinning in their chairs.