• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

so to join union or not to join?

The only union worth joining is the Union of the Snake. Serious!

[video=youtube;n6p5Q6_JBes]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n6p5Q6_JBes[/video]

andyfisher

join unions is good, have various amenities which actually you probably dont need.
but somehow it is still good or so they say.

OR

dont be a slave and become your own boss.
that is lagi shiok.

It is a waste of money to join unions in sinakpore. The union doesn't listen to members. Instead it tells what the government demands of you. So, why are you paying union dues for that?
And your union dues are used to pay PAP politicians waiting to stand for the next elections. How many of these PAP politicians are the unions supporting with 6-figure salaries?

Leepotism

It is a waste of money to join unions in sinakpore. The union doesn't listen to members. Instead it tells what the government demands of you. So, why are you paying union dues for that?
And your union dues are used to pay PAP politicians waiting to stand for the next elections. How many of these PAP politicians are the unions supporting with 6-figure salaries?

So don't pay and don't join. Why make these skunks richer when your union is actually an NTUC supermarket.

Mr Miyagi is usually spot on but this time around does not seem to hit he spot. I also found it quite amazing that he thinks that good laws are in place to protect the workers and therefore these laws have usurped the role of NTUC. He cites the failure of employers to pay CPF and the authorities acting real quick. The bulk of CPF goes to pay for public housing and the creditor is the govt.

Lets not kid ourselves. The first and most important role of NTUC is keep industry peace and let the economy hum along. Employee interest are secondary to what society wants according to the PAP. SIA had 5 unions, most of the near militant unions amongst the 5 refused to join NTUC for over 2 decades. They got results until SIA started hiring cheaper Ah Lians.

Again, lets not kid ourselves. NTUC is no different to many bloggers who need the traffic so appear to make dissenting views until they trip over the pants as it falls down to their ankles. They too know that this govt will never play by the rules of mankind.

Dun be silly. There are no workers union in singapore.
Where in the world can you find the 'union' chief is also a cabinet minister? This is so fundamentally wrong.

I remember that they made our former NTUC chief a board director of SIA in order to entice their militant unions to join NTUC. They refused. If they cannot be enticed by the fact he is a cabinet minister why would they consider being a board member influential. The board then kicked out Lim Boon Heng as he no other value.

enterprise2

I remember that they made our former NTUC chief a board director of SIA in order to entice their militant unions to join NTUC. They refused. If they cannot be enticed by the fact he is a cabinet minister why would they consider being a board member influential. The board then kicked out Lim Boon Heng as he no other value.

It's a sad state of affair when u get better support by going to MOM than by going to NTUC!!

neddy

Agree!

Singapore unions are hopeless in helping workers. Those union delegates who try to help the workers too much will be promoted so that they shut up. :biggrin:

I can tell you that in Australia, the management take the unions more seriously. We really crack out brains to make sure employees here have a better deal. In Singapore, when we want to cut variable cost, we look at cutting labour or employing foreigners. Also, union members have 5 extra union training days leave to relax and get con by socialist leftist thinking - they have an audience because the rich are getting richer. :biggrin:

Of course we do not like the militant unions, but there are many moderate unions that make sure that employees have safe workplace where racial, sexual harassment are addressed. Employees have access to free shrink (psychologist) counselling and Occupational Health And Safety managers.

Bloody Australian workers, very hard to sack!