• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

New revelation: Bishan coffeeshop owner is a PAP member

[h=2]New revelation: Bishan coffeeshop owner is a PAP member[/h]
PostDateIcon.png
April 14th, 2013 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Editorial

josephineteo-300x165.jpg
After TR Emeritus (TRE) published the news yesterday (‘Bishan East CCC: Seats were ‘choped’ by coffeeshop owner, not us‘, 13 Apr), a reader has posted some new information on TRE, revealing the background of the owner of Bishan food court, where the ‘choping’ incident happened last Sunday (7 Apr).
Last Sunday, netizens reported an incident where “grassroots members” reserved seats at a food court in Block 511 of Bishan for almost 2 hours and were seen “chasing away” food court patrons from the reserved tables (‘Grassroots members chase away foot court patrons to ‘chope’ seats for MP‘).
The said food court actually belongs to the 金山领 (Kim San Leng) group (see photo), which operates 23 coffeeshop outlets islandwide. This particular one in Bishan is located at Blk 511 Bishan Street 13, #01-522 [Link].
When the news broke on the Net about “grassroots members” chasing away patrons from the reserved tables in the food court, the vice chairman of the Bishan East Citizens Consultative Committee (CCC), Roland Ang, wrote to Stomp to explain that it was the coffeeshop owner who ‘choped’ the tables and not any grassroots leaders. Mr Ang said the owner just wanted to be a hospitable host to the group of grassroots leaders and MP on a walkabout.
He said, “The owner was informed that the visit would end at his coffeeshop.”
Mr Ang said, however, that unbeknown to his group, the coffeshop owner went ahead to reserve the tables. In other words, it wasn’t Mr Ang’s group who reserved the tables but the coffeeshop owner.
So, who is the owner of Kim San Leng group?
hoon.jpg
(Photo: FMAS)

According to the TRE reader, “It’s no secret the chairman of 金山岭饮食集团 (Kim San Leng group), 洪鼎良 has close relationship with PAP’s grassroots. He is/was an active grassroots leader (former CCC chairman or something) in Bishan. No wonder the coffeeshop was so eager to please the MP lah. They are all own kakis lah.”
Indeed, a check on the Net reveals that the chairman of Kim San Leng group is Mr Hoon Thing Leong (洪鼎良), who owns 23 coffeeshop outlets in Singapore [Link].
Further checks reveal that in fact, Mr Hoon is a long-time PAP member. At the 2011 PAP Awards, he was awarded the PAP Long Service Medal (Silver). He was also identified as a grassroots member of Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC (Bishan East).
http://maintmp.pap.org.sg/uploads/ap/987/documents/pap_awards_2011_recipients_list.pdf
Citation: The PAP has remained successful and cohesive all these years because of its loyal and long-serving members who have stayed the course through thick and thin. They did not melt away in crisis. Instead, they rallied to the cause. They did not flinch from the unglamorous work of tilling the ground between elections. Instead, they made significant contributions that have allowed the PAP to win at every General Election. In awarding the Long Service Medals, the Party salutes each of them for their dedication, loyalty and hard work.
In 2007, MOE awarded him the Service to Education Awards (Silver) in recognition of his role and contribution to the School Advisory Committee (SAC) of Jin Tai Secondary School.
http://www.moe.gov.sg/initiatives/service-to-education-award/2007/silver/
MOE Citation: This award is given to members of the public who have come forward voluntarily to serve in our schools. They have made significant contributions to our schools, working closely with the principals, staff and pupils, and giving their strong support to school programmes; raising fund to promote school development and programmes for pupil welfare and promoting closer relationship between the community and the school.
Mr Hoon’s other achievements found on the Net:

• He received his PBM in 1999 for his contributions as a grassroots member in Bishan East CCC. He was listed as the Auditor for Bishan East CCC [Link].
  • Life Honorary President of the Singapore Food Manufacturers’ Association (SFMA) [Link]
  • Vice President of the Federation of Merchants’ Association, Singapore (FMAS) [Link]
And interestingly, he appears to be close to Singapore’s President Tony Tan too. In a Zaobao article [Link], it was reported that Mr Hoon organized a “rah-rah” team of more than 20 supporters to follow and support Tony Tan during the Presidential Election in 2011, starting from nomination day till the end of the election:
属下有1000多名会员的老板联谊会的创办人洪鼎良(金山岭美食)说,他们其中20多人就组成了支持陈庆炎的团队,从提名日开始就一路支持他,因为大家认为陈庆炎有世界的眼光,可以把新加坡带到世界的平台上。
Join our TRE facebook page here: http://www.facebook.com/TREmeritus

enterprise2

Ever been to a PAP grassroots Dinner and Dance?? U will meet a lot of familiar faces...people like your local coffees op owner, your fav prawn mee shop owner..etc

There goes all the rubbish about private, reservations, book table crap etc. 23 Coffeeshops island wide!!!!! Explains why work permit in the pass was happily given out like cinema tickets. Can you imagine how much he would have gained for the cheap labour. Must be desperate to prevent the squeeze.

Obviously he looking after the PAP grassroots leaders.

Residents of the Bishan should boycott these leeches.

If you get the chance find out when the next CCC meeting is and wait outside and see who are the characters who are trooping in. Its a big number. Real kaleidoscope of characters and many of whom are unexpected. You can see the dependence of these people on the PAP and vice versa. These are people who have influence over permits, licences, bookings, and all sorts of things.

One lady PAP MP of the past who is a doctor tells the story of 3 elderly gentlemen who diligently turned up every branch meeting, never said anything but quietly sat thru the sessions. She found out that they were area elders and had a huge sway over the clans and their village men of the area. They also had direct line to certain political leaders and did not have to say anything. They attended the meetings to show who they were.

She managed to persuade the leadership to retire the 3 wise men as they did not contribute anything.

Ever been to a PAP grassroots Dinner and Dance?? U will meet a lot of familiar faces...people like your local coffees op owner, your fav prawn mee shop owner..etc

I_Hate_Pappies

For me I happen to be at Expo once and bump into the PAP D&D. Was outside and saw many faces I know. Those people thought I was an invitee too.Quite funny I thought!

If i were you, i won't think it's funny. I find it disgusting to be associated with them.

There goes all the rubbish about private, reservations, book table crap etc. 23 Coffeeshops island wide!!!!!....

spoken like a liar, hypocrite, fraud and manipulator who knows how it works. why don't you look into the mirror and come clean on why you do exactly the same crap you accuse others of doing? there's no point for you to beat the drums when you yourself are guilty of exactly the same hypocrisy and shenanigans. you are the most self-aggrandizing hypocrite on sbf. busted you with your clones with your tail tucked between your arse. funny thing is you actually reply to your clones and vice versa. and you use your clones to play the inf and points game while accusing others of chalking up points with no content as "good" as yours. how shameless, and what a nutcase!

anyone in the oppo camp better watch out for this snake. heshe the androgynous scroo is out to stroke your sympathies and win favors, but at crunch time will insinuate and stir shit to demean and character assassinate folks in the oppo whom heshe is jealous of. in other words, heshe wants to be in the limelight but doesn't have the guts and balls to go public and run. thus, the androgynous title is given by me to shim. we can't find any balls on shim, perhaps so tiny the size of black pepper, yet shis crotch reeks of rotten cheebye smell. :biggrin:

Hawkeye1819

case solved. no more need to question why he reserved tables for his own party goers.

Do you now regret defending the coffeeshop owner to the hilt? Take this as a political lesson.

Even if he weren't an active PAP member, points that others have made - about the disruption and the velvet cloth drawn between ordinary folk and grassroots who behave like some elites - still stand.

Don't be so naive next time.

Never. You talk like you machiam regular there. Are you one?

I can tell you with confidence that quite a number of anti-PAP people have successfully infiltrated those organizations. :wink:

Many of those grassroots activities are also open to the public.

Do you now regret defending the coffeeshop owner to the hilt? Take this as a political lesson.

Even if he weren't an active PAP member, points that others have made - about the disruption and the velvet cloth drawn between ordinary folk and grassroots who behave like some elites - still stand.

Don't be so naive next time.

After this revelation, it makes all that explaining away about 'reservation of tables' and 'showing hospitality' turn out to be a real stinker. :rolleyes:

If they're even lying about such things, who knows what's the truth about bigger things such as AIM, national reserves etc?

What a travesty.

Nothing surprising at all. There are several very senior SS members, in their late 50s and 60s who are also in this category. Even those who were once in the 'phian' business and now super stable financially are finding ways to get close and/or be associated with the MIW. Imo, they are purchasing 'insurance' against potential future hiccups. This involve someone who was once a 'heavenly king' in the beh kee underground business.