• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore is a screwed up country

char_jig_kar

Singapore is a screwed up country. Why so?

Its 97.6 percent Asian population here. But we put way too much emphasis on English language. That shows that this country has no sense of rule of proportionality. No common sense at all.

If a country has no sense of rule of proportionality, and common sense, isn't it a screwed up country??

ozeman

it is screwed up not because we speak english or rather singlish. The kiasu, kiasi and kia jenghu attitude makes this a screwed up society.

but all is not lost. we only need to go back and nurture the cultures of the 4 main races and all would be well again.

char_jig_kar

it is screwed up not because we speak english or rather singlish. The kiasu, kiasi and kia jenghu attitude makes this a screwed up society.

but all is not lost. we only need to go back and nurture the cultures of the 4 main races and all would be well again.

we could be speaking klingon language, but that is not the point. its about sense of proportionality, and common sense. its 97.6 percent asian population here, we shouldn't go down and blow the english language, making it the first language of this country.

how to go back and nurture the cultures of 4 main races when even those who born around 60s and 70s had been overly gang-tang-nized (Westernized)?

eeoror88

Spelling test for chinese helicopter :

How to spell " immediate " ?

Chinese helicopter : er...er.... " I idiot " ??:eek:

Satan

Its 97.6 percent Asian population here. But we put way too much emphasis on English language. That shows that this country has no sense of rule of proportionality. No common sense at all.

If a country has no sense of rule of proportionality, and common sense, isn't it a screwed up country??

Well, getting the mats and Indians to learn Chinese would invite criticisms from both especially Malaysia. Getting the Chinese to learn Indian is not going to work as most Chinese would not want to. Getting all the Chinese to learn Malay might work in Malaysia but most will criticize the goverment as being very biased towards mutland and interpret that the gahmant has intention to merge back with mutland. So any other suggestions??? :confused:

char_jig_kar

Well, getting the mats and Indians to learn Chinese would invite criticisms from both especially Malaysia. Getting the Chinese to learn Indian is not going to work as most Chinese would not want to. Getting all the Chinese to learn Malay might work in Malaysia but most will criticize the goverment as being very biased towards mutland and interpret that the gahmant has intention to merge back with mutland. So any other suggestions??? :confused:

Instead of using the Lee Kuan Yew's colonial mindset to see this issue, just look at other multiracial countries, and see how they deal.

Bring back the British lah.

char_jig_kar

Bring back the British lah.

What are the percentage of Westerners here in our country? less than 1 percent?

With our lopsided language policy, overly emphasize on english language, its just like the British colonial masters are still around.

no need one.. Ask your sinkie emperor to kneel down and offer sinkieland with both hands to the Queen of England.

But come to think of it, i wonder if the queen wants it.

char_jig_kar

no need one.. Ask your sinkie emperor to kneel down and offer sinkieland with both hands to the Queen of England.

But come to think of it, i wonder if the queen wants it.

hahah... she will take it. still have some value. the geographical location is good here.

hockbeng

Need some advice.

How to start a new thread hah?

Used to be able to do it but now that option for starting new thread has disappeared from my screen.

Has it been hidden by LS or something?

Plse advise

Thanks

char_jig_kar

maybe you should reboot or something.

the start new thread button is still around.

say, if u click on friendly coffee shop talk, and at the upper left hand corner, there will be a start new thread button.