• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Indians in Private Bank Like to Hire Their Own

Acting Manpower Minister Tan Chuan Jin said there had been many complaints of foreign managers in banks preferring to hire fellow countrymen and his ministry was investigating. Why is it TALK ONLY and NO ACTION again?

Complaint Against Unfair Unemployment Practices at Swiss Italian Private Bank
Dear Acting Minister,

It has been almost a month since our email dated 22 Feb 2013 was sent to your kind self. And it's extremely disappointing that we have not heard from you nor your ministry to date.

We sincerely hope you are not merely paying lip service to your own pledge in Nov 2011 to ensure that Singaporeans remain the core of our workforce in companies operating here.

Being accountable for what you have said, we would like to highlight the unfair unemployment practices against Singaporeans at a Swiss Italian private bank XXX Bank. We would like to know what actions are you or your ministry going to take to rectify the situation.

1) Until the middle of last year, almost all the Heads of Department/Section in the bank’s Wealth Management Department consist of foreign Indians:

Head of WMS (Malaysian Indian)
Head of Active Advisory (India Indian)
Head of Strategic Advisory (UK Indian)
Head of Investment Strategy (India Indian)
Head of Structured Product (India Indian)

It was only in May 2012 that a local was engaged by the bank as Head of Product Strategy. And that was the result of an unfortunate event further elaborated below.

Where is the hiring and developing of a Singaporean Core the TAFEP and the government have been advocating all this time?

2) Sometime in late 2011, an anonymous complaint letter against one of the India Indians was sent to the Monetary Authority of Singapore.

Instead of launching an investigation into the India indian, the bank shockingly chose to cover up for the latter and terminated the services of 2 Singaporeans. They then created the Product Strategy to take over some of the major responsibilities held by the India Indian in an effort to minimise the damage done.

Prior to that, the Singaporean Head of WMS was forced to step down after he openly questioned the competency of the same India Indian. The Deputy CEO, another India Indian, also reduced the Singaporean's responsibilities and remuneration, and this led to his resignation.

In all, it's disheartening that 3 Singaporeans lost their jobs simply because the management chose to shield one of their own kind.

Where is the protection afforded to Singaporeans against biased senior management who use unfair hiring/firing to favour their own countrymen in this case?

3) The bank has a discriminatory hiring practice, using every opportunity to recruit foreign Indians, whenever possible, for positions within the WMS department. It is not hard to understand why, given that the Deputy CEO is an India Indian.

Some examples: In Nov 2010, the bank went all the way out to recruit an India Indian for the position of Investment Analyst in the department.

Sometime in Mar 2011, another India Indian was also employed by the bank as an Advisory Associate in the same department when all these low level positions could have easily been filled by local Singaporeans.

Even the department’s risk manager is a new Singapore citizen who was previously an India Indian.

In fact, almost half the interns in the department during 2010 and 2011 are foreign Indians. Furthermore, if you exclude the investment advisors reporting to XXX HK (but based in Singapore), more than half the advisors ranked AVP and above in the department are foreign Indians too. This is clearly unacceptable.

We completely agree with Mr. Brenton Ong's letter to the ST Forum dated 28 Feb 2013 that many Singaporeans are unhappy with the "liberal recruitment of foreign professionals, managers and executives". In fact, almost 9 out of 10 Singaporeans now support curbs on foreign workers, especially PMETs.

In a ST article dated 25 Jan 2013, the Prime Minister was quoted as saying the PAP government is on the side of Singaporeans. Is it really true... then why are there so many foreigners performing jobs that can be easily filled by locals?

And in many cases, the foreign talent are not as "talented" as what the government paints them to be. They are simply here at the expense of Singaporeans, taking advantage of the government's lax pro foreigner policies.
As such, the PAP government especially the Ministry of Manpower must be held fully accountable (to what they have said) by investigating and penalizing firms with discriminatory employment practices and hiring/firing policies. Otherwise, we should vote for somebody else who can protect Singaporeans' jobs. Thank you.

kopikia

i remember many years ago, a certain financial company in melinia walk hired a foreign female tech director. within a yr, 90% of tech department was from her home country. the whole floor even smelled like the country. even the compamny's own people named the floor little [country name]

guess the race

The writer is just plain stupid by expecting PAP to do anything about it. As long as it does not affect them, PAP dun give a shit.

PAP will only care when they realised that this will cost them votes...

kopikia

need to put a nationality quota per company on top of the EP/SPass quotas.

mnc's were attracted by edb to set up base in sg because gahmen promise them tax breaks and complete freedom to run their biz. why u think none of the discussion on ft workers mentioned mnc's? only smb's

looneytan

i remember many years ago, a certain financial company in melinia walk hired a foreign female tech director. within a yr, 90% of tech department was from her home country. the whole floor even smelled like the country. even the compamny's own people named the floor little [country name]

guess the race

i remember many years ago, a certain financial company in melinia walk hired an Indian female tech director. within a yr, 90% of tech department was from India. the whole floor even smelled like India. even the compamny's own people named the floor little India

Correct?

yinyang

...certain financial company in melinia walk hired an Indian female tech director. within a yr, 90% of tech department was from India. the whole floor even smelled like India. even the compamny's own people named the floor little India
Just need 1 ah neh HR, and voila.. it's a dark office :p Just go to IOB (Indian Overseas Bank), and no light at end of tunnel

KNNBCCB

guess the race

Chinese with sai skin ?

This is also a chicken-and-egg question: who apart from non-Indians would want to work with Indians, if given a choice?

If you go for an interview and you found out the HR person is an Indian or you're interviewed by a panel of Indians (amazing that you even got the interview in the first place)... does that make you feel comfortable? Would you want to work there?

crackhead

If you go for an interview and you found out the HR person is an Indian or you're interviewed by a panel of Indians (amazing that you even got the interview in the first place)... does that make you feel comfortable? Would you want to work there?

means they are looking for a scapegoat for something about to explode.....

This is also a chicken-and-egg question: who apart from non-Indians would want to work with Indians, if given a choice?

The answer should be yes if you're not a shit skin yourself. I can bet some daft ppl wouldn't mind and actually want to work there they should get their heads checked.

in this way, they can shift their whole village to sinkapore.:eek:

Their wives on dependent permit is working in the bank too as the receptionist, the clerk, the tea lady, the...that is why, many of the foreign banks, look like it is from INdIA! ha ha ha

Kelings are like rodents..

If there are 1 Keling Dept head in your office, then rest assured he will bring in more of his Keling brothers to work together with him..

If the Kelings Breed inside an office, the locals are the ones who will be Bleeding..