• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Got to wait 5 years to solve MRT congestion!

Smoother rides within 5 years: minister

More trains, new MRT segment every year, better bus service soon

[SINGAPORE] Frustrated commuters don't have to wait until 2030 to see an improvement in Singapore's overloaded public transport system.

Though the White Paper on Population sees "a very convenient and high-quality" ride for commuters only in 2030, Transport Minister Lui Tuck Yew yesterday told Parliament that they will begin to see a difference in the next five years.

"Over the next five years, we will significantly increase capacity with additional trains, open a new MRT segment every year and work hard to improve reliability for train and bus services," he said. "You have my assurance that I will do my utmost to improve our public transport system."

Mr Lui noted that commuters currently have to put up with congestion in the morning peak hours. Many take a feeder to reach an MRT station or from the station to their destination, extending travel time. Plus their journey is made less predictable because of the variable waiting times and overcrowded buses.

The PAP tells us that we don't need to wait till 2030 for MRT congestion to be resolved, just 5 years. Wow, talking about managing our expectations. 5 years is too long ...will they take a 50 percent paycut for 5 years?

Oh dear, what if the Transport Minister gets voted out? No more construction or maintenance of the MRT lines... that will bring the entire economy to a grinding halt no matter how many millions of people you squeeze into this small island.

That's definitely more serious than the absence of some childcare facilities. :wink:

batman1

Vote him out lah,give so many excuse 5 years to settle ...then 10 years.Suka Suka like CPF withdrawal from 55 to 65.He still thinking of making more profits for the transport operators at the expenses of singapore citizens.

andyfisher

knn wat 5 years?

Drive into town also susah, parking difficult and the jam makes my blood boil, season parking is expensive and precious.

Take mrt is also susah, smell the smelly urines and shits, and sometimes tiong mei meis in mrt wearing sleevelee blouse lift their arms up. its the pits, they dont shave and smell like a dog covered in feces. so the whole bloody air con train smells like crap too.

Take bus is also susah, stop go stop go stop go, and the tiong ahmad think you must know mandarin even when you talk engrish, either they are stupid or act stupid.

Now the best option is take those premium buses, straight from home to ofc. Not sure for how long that service will be relatively quiet and peaceful

You want me to wait 5 years?? I think by that time, they will say 10 more years.

2016 akan datang, vote out la.

Leepotism

These days, jam here, jam there and jam everywhere. 5 years later will be worse, not better with yearly increase of foreigners and some of these rich foreigners will buy more cars which will add to the traffic woes.

Do you think after 5 years it will be solved? With the new influx of FTs? Big fat hope. These PAP motherfuckers are liars selling snake oil.

How come ah ...jam here, jam there, jam everywhere? In London, toll reduces traffic. Here toll boost traffic. Why like that one? Since toll boost traffic, get rid of tolls lah.

gbomega

5 freaking years while our wives and daughters get "molested" on crowded buses and MRT daily! Go die, the useless Navy Admiral

enterprise2

Of course need 5 years or more! Don't forget whilst they add more lines and capacity, they r also pumping in more FTs to go to the 6.9!

sense

Smoother rides within 5 years: minister

More trains, new MRT segment every year, better bus service soon

Why 5 years?

Because by then, it's somebody else (hint: next Transport Minister) problem.

cutcaster-photo-800899065-someone-elses-problem.jpg

saratogas

5 years to buy time... In 3 years time General Election, they hope voters to tahan for 2 more years and continue to trust they will deliver...

Enforcer

The PAP tells us that we don't need to wait till 2030 for MRT congestion to be resolved, just 5 years. Wow, talking about managing our expectations. 5 years is too long ...will they take a 50 percent paycut for 5 years?

After 5 years, they will say wait another 5 years. This is how we got conned year in and year out :o

watchman8

After 5 years, they will say wait another 5 years. This is how we got conned year in and year out :o
After five years, another 1 million new immigrants will arrive, and the mrt will remain overcrowded.

Pap cannot be trusted.

ionzu

2016 will be here in 3 years. good luck PAP! good luck LTY!

i wonder how many million dollar ministers will be made jobless in 3 years.

crackhead

talk rubbish.....nothing new to say should have kept his mouth shut.

all his points were actions put in place after the MRT breakdowns, poeple telling him its too crowded on public transport and MRT lines were planned years ago.