• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The Workers' Party

sengkang

Yee Jenn Jong, JJ (余振忠)

[h=5]Yee Jenn Jong, JJ (余振忠)
[/h]3 hrs · Edited ·

Tea with resident.
Met a resident of Neptune Court by chance last week while having breakfast at a Siglap coffeeshop and again at yesterday's WP outreach at a market. Was invited for tea at her place. We went with a complimentary copy of the latest Hammer newspaper today.

Since GE2011, we had the pleasure of being invited for tea with many residents at their residences all over the soon-to-be-defunct Joo Chiat SMC.

Neptune Court on Marine Vista holds special GE memories for me. During GE2011, the management committee allowed us to do door-to-door visits during the 9-day campaigning period. We were allowed in on the only Saturday of the campaign period, together with two other large condominiums which had allowed us to visit residents only on that same day. With careful scheduling and deployment of volunteers and non-stop visits, we managed to cover all three condominiums in one day. We were flat out but very satisfied that day because we had accomplished the impossible visiting schedule. For today, it was just a relaxing chat over tea.

sengkang

The Workers' Party

[h=2]Cover Photos[/h]
11822742_1151841621499086_8668082053344242065_n.jpg

melzp

All the FORCED smiles in Political arena.
Great hunting ground for Colgate and Darlie.
Unlike our Great LKY who is upfront and serious.

sengkang

[h=2]Daniel PS Goh[/h]Some memorable moments at East Coast (and there were so many):

Walked up to a family having breakfast at the hawker centre, greeted the parents and shook their hands. Extended my hand to the teenage children, who were so surprised that they mattered. A shy smile, eyes lighting up, perhaps with the thought bubble, "wah I matter, not just the invisible kid!", and as I walked to the next table, I hear them asking their parents about politics and the democratic process.

Walked up to another family and approached the father from the side extending my hand while saying, "Good morning Sir!". The father almost jumped out of his seat, his eyes filled with a moment's fear. Then he started laughing as I apologised for giving him a fright: "Wah lau I thought you NEA officer want to catch me for littering, I didn't litter hor! Good to see you all lah, I will support you!"

Knocked on a door and a genteel senior citizen walked out, and said, "ah Workers' Party, I am a longtime PAP member, what do you have to say to me?" "A lot more then Sir, and I would love to hear your views." We stood there talking for nearly 15 minutes and he gave the best advice that I will cherish through this season and more: "IQ is good, you are a prof, but it is heart and values that matter, work for the people, be humble; it is not about going down to the people, that's arrogant, thinking like a prince, it is being with the people, getting people to work with and for each other." He apologised that he would vote for his party, for that was his life's commitment, and I said there was no need, for he had already given me so much with his honesty and wisdom, that I should thank him instead. He wished me grace.

11402871_1151840951499153_1821715164568866225_o.jpg

sengkang

10653322_10152686160233972_8180921403246781010_n.jpg

[h=2]The Workers' Party Youth Wing (WPYW)[/h]
"I hope to encourage more like-minded Singaporeans to step forward. Singaporeans who want to see change should contribute in any way they can to bringing that change."

People of WP – Mohamed Fairoz

People People of WP – Mohamed Fairoz Pam Chae August 3, 2015 No Comments Why did you join WP? I joined WP because of the 2001 elections. It was supposed to be my first opportunity to vote, but I couldn’t because the GRC I was living in was won by the PAP through a walk over. Furthermore, the WP team…
wpyouth.sg

sengkang

10653322_10152686160233972_8180921403246781010_n.jpg

The Workers' Party Youth Wing (WPYW)

Dear friends and supporters,

We are postponing our Cultural Mapping exercise on 1st August and SG100 Conference on 22nd August to October or later. We are now busy preparing for the polls and it won't be good to conduct these events with the looming election influencing the proceedings.

Doing the events later after the SG50 celebrations will also be apt and meaningful. After the fireworks, we can more seriously map what heritage do we have left and ponder what we could and should preserve. After the nostalgic remembrances, we can look more sharply into the future to see what is possible for Singapore.

We will continue with our SG100 Art Competition and hold the selection of the winners during the WP Grassroots Committee's SG50 National Day Dinner for Aljunied, Hougang and Punggol East residents on 23rd August.

Thank you for your support. Please continue to check back here, as we have special People of WP features lined up. See you in October!

sengkang

Daniel PS Goh

Working from home today and my dad came back from his mailbox run. "Eh boy, you kena summon ah," he said matter-of-factly handing me a letter shouting "Singapore Police Force" in front. My heart skipped a beat and I see a wall of text when I tore open the letter. "No lah, traffic police want to give me badge of honour for clean record." "Waste time, too much money this government," he proclaimed as he walked away slightly disappointed at the lack of drama.

I like this scheme actually, all thumbs up for the badge of honour! I am quite proud of myself for keeping a super-clean record of no demerit points for 25 years! Though cheat a bit, I haven't been driving much in the past few years as I prefer to take public transport where I can think on my feet and not get harassed by rude drivers. In fact, we sold the family car last year and have been resisting the urge to buy another. Trying to cut our carbon footprint ...

But the problem of the scheme is the commercialism involved. I don't like the fact that the TP partnered Shell. Is Shell the preferred fuel of choice for the TP? Why Shell? Does Shell exemplify good corporate citizenship with a good ethical track record? It is important because honour has moral underpinnings. The badge will be hollow in meaning if it doesn't bring out the moral good of safe and sensible driving (because accidents harm others!) and I don't see how Shell or any fuel company helps here.

It is also that the commercialism and monetization (with a lucky draw gambling dimension) of the badge undermines honour. Honour is not an abstract value, but a real currency traded socially within shared cultural systems. Honour's value and thus the culture is strengthened when recognition is meaningfully and voluntarily given. Honour cannot be exchanged crudely for material gains without losing its value.

For example, when one is awarded a medal for military heroism in defense of the nation, one is respected by others for the feat and people will buy you drinks at the bar "to honour you" if they recognise you. But if you show off your medal by wearing it on your civilian clothes to try to stand to win drinks from people, then the respect will be eroded. Over time, the very idea of military heroism and the culture of respect for it will be lost. I hope that the culture of good driving in Singapore will not be inadvertently destroyed by a well-intentioned but not-quite-well-thought-through scheme.

sengkang

The Workers' Party

Interested in volunteering with The Workers' Party for the upcoming General Election?
Please fill up this form and we will get in touch with you as soon as possible.

Thank you.

Volunteer Form
Please enter your particulars and indicate in this form if you would like to volunteer with us for the General Elections.
docs.google.com

sengkang

[h=2]Chen Show Mao[/h]With the Alleycats, S. Jibeng and a Smiley face (all from my school days) at this evening's AJCC Hari Raya Celebration Dinner 2015 (Gemilang Aidilfitri di Aljunied)

11846661_913262905405637_308460797568585851_n.jpg

sengkang

Workers' Party chief Low Thia Khiang to defend his seat in Aljunied

"I want to continue to serve residents of Aljunied GRC," says the Workers' Party Secretary-General Low Thia Khiang.

phpomxr8q-jpg-7076.jpg

SINGAPORE: The Secretary-General of the Opposition Workers' Party (WP) Low Thia Khiang has confirmed he will defend his seat in Aljunied GRC for the upcoming General Election.

"I appreciate very much the residents of Aljunied who have given us a chance to serve, who have responded to the call to move Singapore towards a First World Parliament," he told reporters before his Meet The People session in Hougang on Wednesday (Aug 5).

He said he is "happy" to see that the Government today is "more responsive". "There are many policy U-turns being made for the benefit of the people and I want to continue to serve residents of Aljunied GRC and I'm grateful for their support," Mr Low added.

Aljunied GRC is the only Opposition-run GRC in Singapore. In 2011, the WP won 54.7 per cent of the votes in the General Election, versus the ruling People's Action Party's 45.3 per cent. The WP team there includes party chairman Sylvia Lim, and MPs Chen Show Mao, Muhamad Faisal Abdul Manap and Pritam Singh.

Mr Low added that it is difficult for the party to move. "Where else can we move? Our base is here. We don't have the resources to go as far as the West or all over Singapore," Mr Low stated.

"We make good use of our resources to provide a choice to Singaporeans and to build up a credible Opposition over time."

When asked if the upcoming election will see the current WP team of Aljunied MPs intact, he said: "We will give you more information about the candidates and all that so let's be patient about it. But I will stay."

He added that the WP would still like to avoid three-cornered fights if possible as it is a "waste of resources".

- CNA/ly

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/workers-party-chief-low/2031468.html

melzp

Continue to serve or continue to clean up/create more fiascoes there?

And intending to laugh to bank with allowance if you win?

WP is so lame n meek and not good enough for PAP.
WP only wants to eat the cake, have tea and durians.
So afraid of PAP that there are no jibes, sarcasm or even jokes
on PM's recent expression of Foreign PMETs balance.

There are no Mices or RATS in our clean Parliament House,
so pls (WP) atay far away.

sengkang

Yee Jenn Jong, JJ (余振忠)

Wonderful to meet again.

Yesterday afternoon during house visits near a place with many famous eateries and traditional shops, I met Ms D who reminded me that she had met me at Jln Keris outside of Ocean Park during the campaigning period of GE2011. It was drizzling that day and we had scheduled to meet CNA for a quick interview for me to respond to something that Charles Chong had said earlier. We chatted while waiting for the TV crew to get ready.

Ms D was then with her daughter and her daughter was again with her yesterday. The daughter is now a lovely young lady. Time flies.

sengkang

Yee Jenn Jong, JJ (余振忠)

Another great night of door-to-door visits followed by greeting residents at a nearby coffeeshop. A kind resident gave us all the cold drinks she could find from her fridge. Thank you!

11822796_916372928430482_1005479512554644785_n.jpg

11755448_916372938430481_3454235967913033528_n.jpg

11224690_916372971763811_3454789550406846431_n.jpg

11826036_916372995097142_2482991540690242254_n.jpg

11855741_916373018430473_2324988205212797863_n.jpg

sengkang

[h=2]The Workers' Party[/h]
Sylvia Lim spoke to the media at MacPherson SMC during The Workers' Party Hammer Outreach. "As far as Fengshan is concerned, we would like to thank the DPP for making way for WP to contest there in a straight fight with the ruling party."

With regards to the opposition meeting on Thursday, she said, "We made an assessment that it would not be productive for us to attend the subsequent meeting. Time is of the essence to us, so we will have to proceed."

11863288_1154211807928734_4295838908159340199_n.jpg

sengkang

[h=2]theonlinecitizen[/h]News/Media Website

The Workers' Party out in force in Marine Parade on Friday.
Photo: Terry Xu, TOC.

11145557_10153617049241383_5889814704423037136_n.jpg

sengkang

theonlinecitizen

News/Media Website

TOC spots WP's Chen Show Mao in Marine Parade GRC this morning.
Photo: Terry Xu, TOC.

11252444_10153617338701383_2023779120747496513_n.jpg

sengkang

[h=2]Gerald Giam[/h]Visited Simei again yesterday evening. Many residents told us they were glad we were coming back to contest. Had a good chat with one resident who said she was voting for the incumbent because she liked the local MP. I acknowledged that the local MP has done a good job (Jessica's work at the local and town level is certainly something we look to emulate) but that a general election is about more than just voting for a local MP. It's also about ensuring that the people have bargaining power to make the govt more responsive to people's needs. Pointed to examples of new measures to improve citizens' welfare introduced since the last GE. She too acknowledged that these would not have come about if not for last GE's results.
11855645_1037182822966810_643649080568850468_n.jpg

sengkang

Gerald Giam

Our team visited Longvale estate at Bedok Reservoir View, a quiet neighbourhood tucked away from the bustle of Bedok town, near the reservoir. We last visited almost two years ago. It was nice to still see so many welcoming faces and some new residents who had moved in since the last election.
11831765_1035456603139432_7726184549148643680_n.jpg

sengkang

Daniel PS Goh

I was inspired by the Faculty to become a sociologist and scholar twenty years ago. And I continue to be inspired by the Faculty today. Was appointed deputy head of the sociology department last month and attended my first management retreat yesterday. What an awesome door gift! Brilliant corporate gifting full of heart and soul. Thank you NUS FASS, super proud to be a faculty member!

sengkang

Daniel PS Goh

I know Ru since just after GE2011, when she appeared at Show Mao's MPS to volunteer. We sat next to each other writing letters of appeal for residents. We soon became good friends and we worked together on many projects to support the WP parliamentarians and in the past year in the Youth Wing Exco organising various activities to get young people excited about democratic politics. I can always count on her. She is committed, meticulous, thoughtful, caring and genuine. Because...
See More

People of WP – He Ting Ru
People, Uncategorized People of WP – He Ting Ru Pam Chae August 5, 2015 No Comments You worked and lived overseas for several years. Why did you come back? Having lived and worked in different countries for many years, I decided it was time to come home. Singapore is where my family is. This is wher…
wpyouth.sg