• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The Workers' Party

sengkang

[h=1]14.07.13 Kaki Bukit division Fasting Month Porridge Distribution[/h]Updated <abbr title="Tuesday, July 15, 2014 at 3:47pm" data-utime="1405410434" class="timestamp">3 hours ago</abbr> · Taken at Block 550, Bedok North Avenue 1

Lasy Sunday, MP Faisal was on hand to prepare and distribute porridge and a packet of dates to his residents in his Kaki Bukit ward. This simple and meaningful porridge distribution exercise during the fasting month of Ramadan is an annual event for the grassroots at Kaki Bukit division and it would not have been possible without the support and generous sponsorship from local stallholders and residents. It was an event made in Kaki Bukit, by the stallholders in Kaki Bukit, for the residents of Kaki Bukit. The event was well-received by Muslims and non-Muslims alike. MP Faisal would like to register his gratitude to all the volunteers who selflessly took time off their Sunday afternoon to do their bit for the community at Kaki Bukit.

Written by: Bernard Chen
Photo credit: Henley Hor

10498415_730842540310296_9206011889955850355_o.jpg

10548078_730841526977064_5950539969089851450_o.jpg

sengkang

Daniel PS Goh

In the dead of the night, as I write feverishly, I am trying to figure out why I am so terribly upset with the NLB pulping of the three children’s books. I count three reasons so far. #freemylibrary

(1) A cherished free-thinking space has been violated, and there are already so few such spaces in our society. We bring our two-year old to the library every other week, to run and read freely, trusting that the learned librarians would love learning and won’t take any partisan, factional, ideological, religious side. I head to the Central Library very often to conduct research, appreciating that the most hateful books and racist tracts are available to me for my probe into the inner recesses of humanity and inhumanity, for the difference between the two lies in the freedom to learn. And now the trust, and one more free-thinking space, gone, because of one knee-jerk fiat.

(2) Pulping is an industrial insult to the humanity of knowledge. Book burning is at least transparently hateful of knowledge. Pulping is a callous and complete disregard for the life and wisdom that is contained in the book. It is like the Nazis plucking the gold from the teeth and cutting off the hair of Jewish inmates of concentration camps for reuse before disposing of the rest of the body as waste. It is like the industrial processing of animals for food, the spare parts recycled as feed. We don’t hate you, we just think you are useless as a book, and therefore we will make you useful again, as pulp. It is the ultimate rejection of life and knowledge.

(3) In my opposition to the pulping as a father and an author/student/educator, the “pro-gay” label is slapped on me to pull me into a ridiculous political binary that I refuse. I have never been to a Pinkdot rally and I will never wear white. For me, gay partnerships is a fact I see around me, as real as single parenthood, cohabiting families and other types of families. For me, family values have always been about love within and beyond the family, however it may be defined by those who practice family life. Family life is private life, public policy on the family is another matter, but since when is community norms about denying facts? What community is that? Does it have a name? Where can I find that community to test the norms?

sengkang

Pritam Singh

CPF Series

Article 4: GIC does not use CPF funds: SM Lee
23 May 2001, The Straits Times

This article refers to comments made by then Senior Minister and Chairman of the Government of Singapore Investment Corporation (GIC) Lee Kuan Yew on the occasion of the GIC’s 20th anniversary in 2001, stating:

“Seeking to correct a view that the GIC invests CPF savings overseas directly for a return higher than that which the Board pays its members, he said that the two pools of money were separate and unlikely to cross paths even in the future.”

This quote is interesting because it gives the impression that CPF monies are handled as a stand-alone pool. The article does not deal with the question of the GIC’s use of CPF monies by stopping at the CPF Board’s purchase of Singapore government bonds from the Government, without stating clearly what the Government does when it is in receipt of the proceeds of the monies received from the purchase of those very bonds by the CPF Board.

This probably explains the intentional(?) caveat – “there is no ‘direct’ link between GIC monies and CPF monies.”

Unfortunately, this arguably inadequate explanation by a major newspaper is part of the reason why there is so much misinformation, myth and confusion about the CPF monies today. For that reason, we need to be more patient and forgiving of people who come to different conclusions about their understanding of CPF policy and how the government manages CPF monies, even if their explanations incorrectly borders on conspiracy.

More education by the Government of the policies that affect Singaporeans through the course of their life is in order. From Medishield Life to HDB policies, Workfair, employment rights, and of course, CPF for retirement adequacy, amongst many others – the list is long. Maybe we should teach these things in school along with financial prudence in a bigger way! But I digress.

Any misconception of separate pools was somewhat clarified by DPM Tharman Shanmugaratnam in parliament in July 2014 when he said:

“What does the Government do with the proceeds from SSGS issuance (bonds purchased by the CPF Board with members’ monies)? It pools them with the rest of the Government’s funds, such as proceeds from the tradable Singapore Government Securities (SGS), any government surpluses as well as the proceeds from land sales which under our Constitutional rules have to be accounted for as Past Reserves.

The comingled funds are first deposited with MAS as Government deposits. MAS converts these funds into foreign assets through the foreign exchange market. A major portion of these assets are however of a longer term nature, and are hence transferred over to be managed by GIC.”

In reply to Mr Low Thia Khiang’s (MP for Aljunied GRC) question at the same session of parliament, DPM Tharman stated if it was not possible to invest CPF monies separately, even though CPF monies were in the billions, as the CPF’s obligations towards its members would be very hard to meet should it be so.

“Mr Low Thia Khiang (Aljunied): Madam, I have two clarifications. First, will the Government consider allowing CPF members to withdraw from CPF Retirement Account to redeem housing loans with a small loan balance, let say about $20,000 at age 55, so that the member can save on paying interest.

I have a second clarification for the Deputy Prime Minister. He said that if the CPF monies were managed and invested as an independent pool, it would not be able to enjoy the same investment returns as GIC. I would like to know why it is so. I understand we currently have about $300 billion CPF balance. Is the pool not big enough to be able to secure the same returns and maybe better returns?

Mr Tharman Shanmugaratnam: If I can handle Mr Low’s second question first. It is a very important question and in fact many of my grassroots leaders and others have asked that question: why not just get GIC to manage the CPF money directly?

If the GIC had to manage the CPF money and ensure that we are able to meet our full obligations in CPF every year – that the capital is guaranteed, the interest rates are guaranteed and when market interest rates go down, we do not bring the CPF interest rate down but we keep it at the floor, a high floor, 3.5% on the Ordinary Account and 5% on SMRA for most accounts – if those were the obligations that were required, first, there is no private sector fund manager that will take on that task because it is very difficult to meet.

The GIC, because it has a large diversified portfolio aims to invest for the long term and do better than the SSGS obligations imply. However, that is only possible because the GIC is not just managing SSGS obligations. It is not just managing CPF liabilities. If it is only managing CPF liabilities or SSGS obligations, where you must meet that obligation every year, it will need a very conservative portfolio. This means a portfolio that does not invest much in equities, certainly not in real estate and alternative assets. It will aim to just minimise the chance of failing to meet annual obligations, not maximised long-term returns. That is what would happen.

It would not be able to aim to invest over the long term and ride out the market cycles: take big losses when the markets go down, knowing that as a long-term investor, you are the one who ultimately stands to gain. It will instead have to be conservative, avoid losses and make sure that it can meet the obligations every year. That is what would happen and it does not matter whether it is GIC or anyone else. If you are managing this unique set of obligations – guaranteed capital with high minimum interest rates – you will need a very conservative portfolio. To begin with, it will be hard to achieve, but it will be a conservative portfolio.

That is the reason why our real strength is that the Government has net assets, including unencumbered assets – proceeds from land sales over many years, proceeds from government surpluses (especially in the earlier years) and the investment returns on those funds. Those give us unencumbered assets. By pooling the SSGS proceeds together with those unencumbered assets, we are able to invest for the long term and aim for higher returns over the long term that will beat the SSGS.

But if we are only managing SSGS by itself, this would not be possible. So basically our net assets and the strong Government balance sheet are the real strength of the system. The Government balance sheet is taking the risk, and we can absorb that risk, protect CPF members from any risks, and retain our triple – A credit rating.”

CPF Interest Rates: http://mycpf.cpf.gov.sg/NR/rdonlyres/5C7AAE66-A2F1-4DCD-9898-D6D1F37A8FB0/0/InterestRate.pdf

DPM Tharman’s speech in parliament in July 2014: http://www.todayonline.com/singapore/dpm-tharmans-parliament-speech-cpf?singlepage=true

GIC Does Not Use CPF Funds
[url]www.scribd.com

Seeking to correct a view that the GIC invests CPF savings overseas directly for a return higher than that which the Board pays its members, he said that the two pools of money were separate and unlikely to cross...

[/URL]

sengkang

[URL="https://www.facebook.com/wpyouth"]The Workers' Party Youth Wing (WPYW)

[/URL][h=1]Youth Day Art Competition 2014: Prize Presentation[/h]Updated <abbr title="Monday, July 14, 2014 at 2:54pm" data-utime="1405320872" class="timestamp">on Sunday</abbr>

On Saturday, 12 July 2014, the Workers' Party Youth Wing held the prize presentation cum art exhibition for its inaugural Youth Day Art Competition 2014. The prize presentation was conducted at the Workers' Party Headquarters at 216G Syed Alwi Road.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank all of our contestants for their hard work and creative efforts, as well as Mr Low Thia Kiang, MP for Aljunied GRC and Secretary-General of the Workers' Party, for presenting the prizes and Mr Muhamad Faisal bin Abdul Manap, MP for Aljunied GRC and President of the Workers' Party Youth Wing.

http://wpyouth.sg/2014/07/<wbr>youth-day-art-competition-2<wbr>014-prize-presentation/

10399983_10152512388948972_9065858642759156073_n.jpg

10417762_10152512388873972_9169890754358802783_n.jpg

10389431_10152512389158972_1779859501307992652_n.jpg

sengkang

The Workers' Party Youth Wing (WPYW)

Youth Day Art Competition 2014: Prize Presentation

Updated <abbr title="Monday, July 14, 2014 at 2:54pm" data-utime="1405320872" class="timestamp">on Sunday</abbr>

On Saturday, 12 July 2014, the Workers' Party Youth Wing held the prize presentation cum art exhibition for its inaugural Youth Day Art Competition 2014. The prize presentation was conducted at the Workers' Party Headquarters at 216G Syed Alwi Road.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank all of our contestants for their hard work and creative efforts, as well as Mr Low Thia Kiang, MP for Aljunied GRC and Secretary-General of the Workers' Party, for presenting the prizes and Mr Muhamad Faisal bin Abdul Manap, MP for Aljunied GRC and President of the Workers' Party Youth Wing.

http://wpyouth.sg/2014/07/<wbr>youth-day-art-competition-2<wbr>014-prize-presentation/

10314548_10152512389143972_381748284290076533_n.jpg

10534624_10152512389258972_1012360695412208230_n.jpg

10390988_10152512389313972_5576042033400017320_n.jpg

sengkang

Went back to reservist service for the first time as a volunteer this week. It was a tiring but awesome week of introspection, learning and discussion about leadership. The one takeaway I had: I need to stop thinking in terms of how my country/party/company needs me, but how best I can be of service to my fellow citizens.

Was appointed ME4 (Apprentice) tonight, as part of the new Expertise Conversion Scheme announced by SAF last month (http://bit.Iy/Ufm2zH). Proud to be part of the pioneer batch and looking forward to another 9 years of reservist service!

Every morning, as we entered the centre we trained at, we were greeted by the photos of the two greats, Lee Kuan Yew and Goh Keng Swee, and their inspirational words. But my favourite quote on the walls of the centre was one by General Omar Bradley:

"Leadership in a democratic army means firmness, not harshness; understanding not weakness; generosity, not selfishness; pride, not egotism."

10390511_743335552395857_6952153882726790735_n.jpg

sengkang

[h=1]14.07.19 Paya Lebar Divison Porridge Distribution[/h]Updated <abbr title="Saturday, July 19, 2014 at 10:38pm" data-utime="1405780691" class="timestamp">on Saturday</abbr>

Photo Credit: Adrian Sim

1270367_732992200095330_2087607133160812272_o.jpg

10317701_732992166762000_9048979528504983666_o.jpg

10511669_732992176761999_4705510549913622428_o.jpg

sengkang

[h=1]19.07.14 Eunos Division Porridge and Welfare Distribution[/h]Updated <abbr title="Saturday, July 19, 2014 at 8:17pm" data-utime="1405772227" class="timestamp">on Saturday

</abbr>
10428150_732945800099970_3585358500388805476_o.jpg

10557008_732945900099960_1950717054422704096_o.jpg

10557008_732945920099958_5989842627828595254_o.jpg

sengkang

[h=1]14.07.13 Kaki Bukit division Fasting Month Porridge Distribution[/h]Updated <abbr title="Wednesday, July 16, 2014 at 4:50pm" data-utime="1405500622" class="timestamp">last Wednesday</abbr> · Taken at Block 550, Bedok North Avenue 1

Last Sunday, MP Faisal was on hand to prepare and distribute porridge and a packet of dates to his residents in his Kaki Bukit ward. This simple and meaningful porridge distribution exercise during the fasting month of Ramadan is an annual event for the grassroots at Kaki Bukit division and it would not have been possible without the support and generous sponsorship from local stallholders and residents. It was an event made in Kaki Bukit, by the stallholders in Kaki Bukit, for the residents of Kaki Bukit. The event was well-received by Muslims and non-Muslims alike. MP Faisal would like to register his gratitude to all the volunteers who selflessly took time off their Sunday afternoon to do their bit for the community at Kaki Bukit.

Written by: Bernard Chen

10498415_730842540310296_9206011889955850355_o.jpg

10271323_730842386976978_6639274029887540629_o.jpg

10499359_730842066977010_4736137819620074341_o.jpg

sengkang

[h=1]14.7.16 - Serangoon Division Temple Lunch[/h]Updated <abbr title="Tuesday, July 22, 2014 at 1:40am" data-utime="1405964433" class="timestamp">on Monday</abbr> · Taken at Blk 146 Serangoon North Ave 1

MP Sylvia Lim attended a temple lunch at Blk 146 Serangoon North Avenue 1 on 16 July 2014. The lunch was organised for senior citizens, including 100 senior citizens living in Serangoon Division of Aljunied GRC, coordinated by the Serangoon Division Welfare Team.

10487276_734070636654153_2606209715159460211_n.jpg

10574348_734070133320870_5714641584838045462_n.jpg

10559892_734070179987532_4868084387511432222_n.jpg

sengkang

Daniel PS Goh

I've been reflecting on the meaning of being a WP member, as I prepare to accept the outcome, whatever it may be, of an upcoming event. I found special solace in Lebanese poet Khalil Gibran's "The New Frontier", written in 1925 (which JFK quoted for his famous line):

Come and tell me who and what are you.
Are you a politician asking what your country can do for you or a zealous one asking what you can do for your country?
If you are the first, then you are a parasite; if the second, then you are an oasis in a desert.
Are you a newspaperman who sells his idea and principle in the slave market, who lives on the misery of people like a buzzard which descends only upon a decaying carcass?
Or are you a teacher on the platform of the city gathering experience from life and presenting it to the people as sermons you have learned?
If you are the first, then you are a sore and an ulcer. If you are the second, then you are a balsam and a medicine.
Are you a searching writer full of self-admiration, keeping his head in the valley of a dusty past, where the ages discarded the remnant of its clothes and useless ideas?
Or are you a clear thinker examining what is good and useful for society and spending your life in building what is useful and destroying what is harmful?
If you are the first, then you are feeble and stupid, and if you are the second, then you are bread for the hungry and water for the thirsty.

http://4umi.com/gibran/frontier/

sengkang

Pritam Singh

CPF Series

Article 5: CPF ain’t broke
11 February 2002, The Straits Times

What a difference a decade makes.

In 2001, PM Goh Chok Tong established the Economic Review Committee with DPM Tharman, then Senior Minister of State for Trade & Industry and Education chairing the sub-committee on policies related to taxation, the CPF system, wages and land.

This Straits Times editorial picked on a point made by DPM Tharman to Bloomberg about the prospect of allowing private fund managers to take over the CPF’s role in the management of Singaporeans’ retirements savings. The editorial was “sceptical” of DPM Tharman’s proposal, although it did suggest that “perhaps a fixed percentage of contributions can go directly to CPF, and the rest can go to a private plan”.

The prospect of private pension plans having some role in the management of our CPF retirement assets was raised again by DPM Tharman at a forum organized by the Institute of Policy Studies on 22 July 2014 as a prospect the Government was looking into.

The article also helpfully queries how private pension plans would work in an economic downturn as the Government has not hesitated to lower employer CPF contributions in the past, as a counter-cyclical, cost-cutting tool.

I mentioned in my introduction on this CPF series that many proposals to strengthen the CPF system have been raised in the past. This is a good example of one such proposal. The subject of retirement adequacy continues to vex. On this issue more than any other we need to Government, parliamentarians and the people to be on the same side. Will tackle some more issues in the weeks to come.

ChannelNewsAsia clip on the IPS Forum of 24 July 2014: http://www.channelnewsasia.com/tv/tvshows/documentaries/cpf-the-hot-button-issues/1279342.html

CPF ain't broke
[url]www.scribd.com

The editorial was “sceptical” of DPM Tharman’s proposal, although it did suggest that “perhaps a fixed percentage of contributions can go directly to CPF, and the rest can go to a private plan”.

[/URL]

sengkang

Yee Jenn Jong, JJ (余振忠)

Met Mitsunari Okamoto-san, a member of Janpan's House of Representatives at Singapore's Parliament yesterday. We had a good 1 hour of discussions on a variety of topics such as economic development and cooperation, integrated resort (Japan is debating whether to set up something similar), managing foreign inflow, education and regional politics. Japan's first bilateral trade agreement was with Singapore, in force since 2002. I had lived in Japan for 3 months in the early 1990s for research work and have fond memories of my various visits to Japan.

10557725_721836024550841_4433265186158783023_o.jpg

sengkang

Yee Jenn Jong, JJ (余振忠)

"Due to the monetary difficulties in his childhood, he had to work his way through primary school to earn enough money for school materials and pocket money. While the other children went to school on a bike, he chose to walk. At twelve, he started working in his dad's furniture workshop. The evictions he experienced three times in his childhood affected his way of thinking and his leadership later on as the mayor of Surakarta (solo) as he organised housing in the city."

"Part of Jokowi's personal style has populist 'can-do' (punya gaye) elements designed to build bonds with the broad electorate."

Congratulation to president-elect Jokowi who rose from poverty to take the highest office in the land. Look forward to 'can-do' developments to come in Indonesia.

Joko Widodo - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
en.wikipedia.org

Joko Widodo (born June 21, 1961) is an Indonesian politician and the current governor of Jakarta. He is often better known by his nickname Jokowi. He was previously the mayor of Surakarta (often also...