• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Setia Sky 88 community

Relaxman

I remember it was very popular when launched....maybe because near future RTS....anyway, if RTS really becomes a reality, it may Huat....I for one may choose to rent there and work in Sg since nearer RTS than my home in AH which is rented out...so there will be rental demand.

Is your choice. If you want to rent at an empty condo, pls do so. I have to accept that not all people are scare of ghost.

freedom

Is your choice. If you want to rent at an empty condo, pls do so. I have to accept that not all people are scare of ghost.

There will be lots of people renting once RTS is up and even now, I believe more r living in JB and working in Sg as evidenced by the worsening jams so much so that VEP is introduced and more people r carpooling...Sg is too expensive and our salaries r kept down by cheap FTs so this is really one of the best way to save more money....

Relaxman

There will be lots of people renting once RTS is up and even now, I believe more r living in JB and working in Sg as evidenced by the worsening jams so much so that VEP is introduced and more people r carpooling...Sg is too expensive and our salaries r kept down by cheap FTs so this is really one of the best way to save more money....
I repeat again if you did not see my earlier post. Not many will want to stay in a ghost condo. Just look at twin galaxy now.

mpan12

Re: Setia Sky 88 - April 2016 from Twin Galaxy

Sell first then talk.

Haha.. Exactly my point. Sell first, then come in here to say "I made RMxx,xxx" profits from my JB property.

Yes, there are people who made money like that. But only those handful. Either they are lucky with timing or astute enough to know how the market works. But not many are in this category.

People make mistakes thinking "Last time I heard property near my area sold for RMxxx,xxxx so I already made so much profit". That's on paper only. Johor properties not like SG's where the demand is much stronger even in a weak market.

The last time a buyer bought a JB property near yours doesn't mean you will necessarily be able to find another similar buyer for your own property. Johor is so darn huge. Choices are aplenty. New nice ones keep coming out.

Don't forget to minus away your loan (if any), repairs, renovation, taxes, miscellaneous costs, etc. Then come here to report how much you made.

mpan12

What this got to do with Setia Sky 88????? Are you in the wrong thread?

Leave her alone lah. This doc has got Malaysian relatives. So she totally loves Johor. She is just bragging here.

There is nothing wrong with liking such a particular lifestyle. But don't force others to see your point or accept the same thinking.

Just for info:

She already made her money from her properties in SG. So she got cash. She used her property as collateral instead of bank loan. That's how she has no mortgage worries on her Austin Heights home. This case doesn't apply to all people and to all freaking properties in Johor. Anyway, for RM900+k landed house and rental only RM2,500 a month, I'd say that's pathetic. S$40k paper profit is nothing to be proud about for property investment, especially with continual risks in the shaky Malaysian policies and depreciating RM currency. HDB flat owners in SG can make S$100-200k profits easily, by comparison.

freedom

Heard of something called Valuation? It is based on recent transactions and heard of something called Networth? How does one calculate one's net worth if it is not based on valuations and paper value may I ask? I monitor the market for this reason cause I do acknowledge that my net worth is largely tied to how well my properties do...so of course I use valuations and paper value all the time...

mpan12

If your husband had a proper job and you being a doctor, you should be able to afford a nice house in Singapore. I consider living in JB is a downgrade, something to do when my earning power is diminished.

Staying in Johor as a tourist or short-term visitor I think it's ok. Maybe one has too much money, dunno where to dump, sure, can buy your nice home in Johor.

To retire there, spend most of the time there, yes, it's a downgrade to me also. I have a few Malaysian colleagues and friends who can't stop giving me the ridiculous look when I jokingly tell them (as a test of their reactions) I want to move over to Johor. Some of them told me, "We want to come to SG, and you want to downgrade to live in Johor?!"

The world is so freaking huge. Why would one spend most of the nice ageing years mainly in a 3rd world country? I'd travel the world over with my cash and stay in many nice relaxing or exotic places. There is so much to see and do in the various continents. No need to be fixated to Johor. But that's me. Respect the opinion as much as I would respect why some argue so fanatically that they adore Johor till they die. :smile:

End of the day, it's one's choice, financial strength and lifestyle. No right or wrong.

freedom

As mentioned, this is a free forum so I am free to post my comments... Just as u think you r doing a service my dissuading poor people from investing here...I think I am doing a service to get richer people to invest and retire here....

In my experience, I profited greatly from property and when a downturn comes, if I have excess cash, I may invest in more or in shares....

Setia investors r not as stupid as you think....it is just a matter of holding power as property investments r not all suitable for flipping...

mpan12

I repeat again if you did not see my earlier post. Not many will want to stay in a ghost condo. Just look at twin galaxy now.

Is Twin Galaxy doing badly now?

I agree and see your point, bro. We're talking about condos in Johor. But the doc brought up an irrelevant case of her house for comparison.

I have yet to see positive resale figures on Johor condos in the last few years. Seems like there is no recorded data on it. Not even the authorities in the property business can tell me where to look for it.

Tells us how iffy and "mysterious" the condo resale market is in Johor.

freedom

Btw, I already made S$300k realised profit and S$700k paper profit on my Sg properties...how about you mpan? How good r u in investing in properties? Care to share?

Frodo

What is the use of having a condo but you dont use it? ..... worst can't even rent out or selling it?

What the buyer chooses to do with his condo is up to him, I was just pointing out that it is not akin to casino gambling.

Frodo

Staying in Johor as a tourist or short-term visitor I think it's ok. Maybe one has too much money, dunno where to dump, sure, can buy your nice home in Johor.

To retire there, spend most of the time there, yes, it's a downgrade to me also. I have a few Malaysian colleagues and friends who can't stop giving me the ridiculous look when I jokingly tell them (as a test of their reactions) I want to move over to Johor. Some of them told me, "We want to come to SG, and you want to downgrade to live in Johor?!"

The world is so freaking huge. Why would one spend most of the nice ageing years mainly in a 3rd world country? I'd travel the world over with my cash and stay in many nice relaxing or exotic places. There is so much to see and do in the various continents. No need to be fixated to Johor. But that's me. Respect the opinion as much as I would respect why some argue so fanatically that they adore Johor till they die. :smile:

End of the day, it's one's choice, financial strength and lifestyle. No right or wrong.

As a peasant, it has been a huge upgrade to me to be able buy a ang moh chu property and live in JB and also drive my dream car, which is impossible for me to realise in Singapore.

snowbird

If your husband had a proper job and you being a doctor, you should be able to afford a nice house in Singapore. I consider living in JB is a downgrade, something to do when my earning power is diminished.

Did she said she is a doctor?
Since she said to be retiring soon, so must have at least a 7 figure bank account.
Most experienced and successful doctors can earn tons of money in SG and if you are a specialist, better still, buying that semi-D in SG is small change and can enjoy all the finer things in life in SG, why bother to come to JB?
Maybe she is only a nurse?

sgtsk

As a peasant, it has been a huge upgrade to me to be able buy a ang moh chu property and live in JB and also drive my dream car, which is impossible for me to realise in Singapore.

To me, one almost unbeatable advantage in investing in most properties in Malaysia is that in the long run, the investment tends to be right...even for fools. I have never come across anyone who inherited property in Malaysia complained that his or her parents , grand parents or great grand parents bought a piece in crab or something to this effect. Whereas in Singapore where more than 80% properties are leasehold, the values 100% will turn to zero in 100 years, no matter how smart or right the investors. So for those who feel disappointed now, the comforting fact is that even though time may not be on your side it is certainly on the side of your property or your children who are going to inherit what you leave them.

xebay11

To me, one almost unbeatable advantage in investing in most properties in Malaysia is that in the long run, the investment tends to be right...even for fools. I have never come across anyone who inherited property in Malaysia complained that his or her parents , grand parents or great grand parents bought a piece in crab or something to this effect. Whereas in Singapore where more than 80% properties are leasehold, the values 100% will turn to zero in 100 years, no matter how smart or right the investors. So for those who feel disappointed now, the comforting fact is that even though time may not be on your side it is certainly on the side of your property or your children who are going to inherit what you leave them.

That is because those invested in solid properties, land or landed properties in the past, there is no denying that this class of property would succeed anywhere in the world but condos in Johor? Yes sure you cannot deny that there would be an upward trend but there would also be a strong downward push due to maintenance issues and non occupancy for investors and high interest rates which eat into your so called profits and CA.

In Singapore, someone already did a rough calculation, if you own an HDB and rent out for 99 years you get back something like a couple of a million, so who cares if the lease runs out in 99 years to nothing?

Your thinking and logic and unable to see the difference in property investment would not make you a good investor.

xebay11

Did she said she is a doctor?
Since she said to be retiring soon, so must have at least a 7 figure bank account.
Most experienced and successful doctors can earn tons of money in SG and if you are a specialist, better still, buying that semi-D in SG is small change and can enjoy all the finer things in life in SG, why bother to come to JB?
Maybe she is only a nurse?

My point exactly, but unfortunately for her, her gfn husband is really dragging her down like a iron ball for not being able to take hardship and bring home the bacon. I just congratulated my colleague with 3 young sons who accepted an assignment in the Oman, just for the sake of keeping his job and bring home the money, I salute him.

xebay11

Btw, I already made S$300k realised profit and S$700k paper profit on my Sg properties...how about you mpan? How good r u in investing in properties? Care to share?

Well that is nothing, I made that kind of money in a matter of months last time flipping properties and selling options. Even uneducated agents were making that kind of money, in property investments what you made is peanuts.

So many common people made that kind of money with HDB.

freedom

Yes, it is an upgrade if we consider we r living in much bigger houses and driving much better cars for lesser money compared to Sg...only narrow minded people will think it is a downgrade...smart people are already moving there and enjoying life there while the naysayers continue living in pigeonholes and running the rat race here....to be able to think out of the box, one must not be a conformist or stereotype things...I was from GEP and am locum GP and proud to be a non-conformist...

Relaxman

As mentioned, this is a free forum so I am free to post my comments... Just as u think you r doing a service my dissuading poor people from investing here...I think I am doing a service to get richer people to invest and retire here....

In my experience, I profited greatly from property and when a downturn comes, if I have excess cash, I may invest in more or in shares....

Setia investors r not as stupid as you think....it is just a matter of holding power as property investments r not all suitable for flipping...

Wrong. You are not free to post any comment you like. Pls read the forum rules.

mpan12

I don't agree with this.

Firstly, as always, the dangers with some people is comparing properties from different countries. Everyone should know by now Johor properties don't work the same way as SG properties. I suspect that's one big reason why in 2013, so many Singaporeans rushed into Iskandar to buy properties without much thought. (Of all things, Johor condos at RM800-1000 psf which most Malaysian locals won't even touch or can afford?!) That was the year they were hardest hit by the property cooling measures. And they thought, ok, Johor condos so cheap. Let me buy and "invest". I can rent it out and make positive returns. Opps...

Nothing much has changed about Iskandar in the last 3 years. So why did the market in Iskandar suddenly quieten down in 2014 and got even worse after that? Again, I suspect it's the news that there is a huge oversupply coming up in Iskandar. 300,000. Go figure. Forest City that can cater to 700,000 residents! In case some think it was a typo, and should be 70,000, I type here again: 700,000.

For some completed condo projects in Johor, Singaporeans are desperately trying to offload them now but without success. Who wants to buy? And those who bought between RM500k to RM1mil, they are stuck.

Secondly, Singapore's history is not even anywhere near 100 years. Why paint an end-of-the-world picture about leasehold properties? My good friend had an old flat that was 39 years old. Back then, maybe you would have told him: "Haha.. friend your useless flat is so old and leasehold. Prepare for its value to drop to zero soon."

However, the flat was en bloc in 2008. The government relocated them to another nearby good location. It was bought at only S$200+k. After just a short 5 years after that, the price shot up to a high S$700+k. Go figure the profits. And this is not an isolated case.

For Johor? I admit I dunno. Those Johorean families likely bought their properties a long time ago. They don't care about Malaysian policies or currency exchange. They're gonna die in Johor anyway and their kids need a home to live in when they grow up. So they don't worry like a foreign investor.

How much did a Johor landed property cost years ago? RM100-200k? Of course it's a no brainer they will make some profits. Compare that with prices of today which included foreigners and Singaporeans rushing in to buy. In particular, look at Johor condos. Yes most of them are freehold. But can they be sold off easily in the resale market? Please tell. Cos I wish to know too.