• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Setia Sky 88 community

winners

Re: Setia Sky 88 - April 2016 from Twin Galaxy

Design issues are quite common for SP Setia project. Furthermore, even with RTS at Bukit Chagar will not help much. No one will want to walk from Bukit Chagar to Setia Sky 88. Is a very dangerous journey....
Daytime should be okay lah.

Relaxman

Sometimes really boi tahan with those SP Setia sales person. When they mentioned Setia Sky 88 as "Life in the Cloud"..... fuyoooo.....like real man. I wanted to "pui chow nua" at them.

ECboy

Sometimes really boi tahan with those SP Setia sales person. When they mentioned Setia Sky 88 as "Life in the Cloud"..... fuyoooo.....like real man. I wanted to "pui chow nua" at them.

Which condo in JB is the best?

sgtsk

Relax, man! Sorry I got to use your nickname here. :smile:

Let them be lor... It's their money what.

Although it is true that there are risks in every investment, one must take on calculated risks suitable to one's financial situation and investment objective. The problem is, many are just blindly hoping what they have bought (with high risks) will make money.

To me, that's no different from gambling. I can put $100,000 to buy 4D or play jackpot. You can't say to me I won't win. But we all know what the odds are. It's the same with Iskandar if one buys based on hype or blindly following others, which was what happened in 2013.

One needs to consider the time of investment (longer the time you need to wait for something to happen in Johor, the longer you lose in terms of opportunity cost and expenses), something which many forgot. No rental, no buyers, and you're stuck with the property.

For the sake of all gambling addicts, investing in property is still a much preferred or better bet than gambling in casino, horses, sports. At least when one is on the wrong side, one still does not lose completely the bet, having still own a property.

mpan12

I have yet to see a luxurious condo in JB. Many developers these days give very nice drawings in brochures and describe their projects like you're buying some designer luxurious homes. But the look and fittings given are quite ordinary. Some are even suspiciously below standard. It's described as "luxurious" only because of the price range (above RM500 psf) and bought mainly by foreigners and some rich Malaysians.

There are too many condos in JB. They are just like HDB flat equivalents in Singapore. Except that the condos come with extra facilities like swimming pool, gym, etc. Some exclude tennis courts now.

Unsuspecting buyers buy these condos thinking they can invest or make money. Quite ironic. The buyers pay RM600k to more than RM1mil, but in the end, they become the desperate ones who look for tenants for cheap rental. They are slaves to their own investments instead of becoming richer. Or when they realize their mistake, they mark up prices by 10-20% more and quickly try to sell.

But who will want to buy a small expensive resale Johor condo costing more than RM700k?

Relaxman

I have yet to see a luxurious condo in JB. Many developers these days give very nice drawings in brochures and describe their projects like you're buying some designer luxurious homes. But the look and fittings given are quite ordinary. Some are even suspiciously below standard. It's described as "luxurious" only because of the price range (above RM500 psf) and bought mainly by foreigners and some rich Malaysians.

There are too many condos in JB. They are just like HDB flat equivalents in Singapore. Except that the condos come with extra facilities like swimming pool, gym, etc. Some exclude tennis courts now.

Unsuspecting buyers buy these condos thinking they can invest or make money. Quite ironic. The buyers pay RM600k to more than RM1mil, but in the end, they become the desperate ones who look for tenants for cheap rental. They are slaves to their own investments instead of becoming richer. Or when they realize their mistake, they mark up prices by 10-20% more and quickly try to sell.

But who will want to buy a small expensive resale Johor condo costing more than RM700k?

You are absolutely right. They should mark down by 10-20% and try to sell quickly.

xebay11

I bought a semi D at Austin Heights resale for RM 950k in 2013...Is it a good buy to you? It is currently rented out at RM 2500 for 2 years and last transacted 1 year ago similar land size was at RM 1.25mil....factoring forex losses cause I paid in full using Sg equity loan , if I manage to sell at that price, I can still make about S$40K gain...

Sell first then talk.

Frodo

For the sake of all gambling addicts, investing in property is still a much preferred or better bet than gambling in casino, horses, sports. At least when one is on the wrong side, one still does not lose completely the bet, having still own a property.

I agree. To say that buying a condo in JB is akin to casino gambling is in my view very mistaken. Some people can spend a few hundred dollars every month on gambling for years and never win big. If that money was put into a JB condo for 20 years still have at least a property owned fully paid even.

Relaxman

I plan to retire at my beautiful semiD in my beautiful estate full of beautiful gardens which you will never see in Sg ...it has wonderful amenities like a pay per use gym and pool, Guards, Soccer field, Basketball court...dining places a plenty and water theme park and international school right outside and IKEA and Aeon Tebrau and BMW showrooms...an upper class area as acknowledged by my Malaysian patients...I look forward to retiring there soon and I bet many who invested in JB think like me and r preparing to enjoy early retirement in JB by monetising their Sg assets....you can argue rent dun buy but sorry I dun like being a tenant, freehold can pass to my kids is a much wiser decision...

What this got to do with Setia Sky 88????? Are you in the wrong thread?

xebay11

I plan to retire at my beautiful semiD in my beautiful estate full of beautiful gardens which you will never see in Sg ...it has wonderful amenities like a pay per use gym and pool, Guards, Soccer field, Basketball court...dining places a plenty and water theme park and international school right outside and IKEA and Aeon Tebrau and BMW showrooms...an upper class area as acknowledged by my Malaysian patients...I look forward to retiring there soon and I bet many who invested in JB think like me and r preparing to enjoy early retirement in JB by monetising their Sg assets....you can argue rent dun buy but sorry I dun like being a tenant, freehold can pass to my kids is a much wiser decision...

If your husband had a proper job and you being a doctor, you should be able to afford a nice house in Singapore. I consider living in JB is a downgrade, something to do when my earning power is diminished.

Relaxman

I agree. To say that buying a condo in JB is akin to casino gambling is in my view very mistaken. Some people can spend a few hundred dollars every month on gambling for years and never win big. If that money was put into a JB condo for 20 years still have at least a property owned fully paid even.

What is the use of having a condo but you dont use it? ..... worst can't even rent out or selling it?

freedom

Properties are a good hedge against inflation so most who buy are banking on capital appreciation as Malaysiamoves towards a developed nation goal....it is also not a big amount of money and near home so it can be a weekend or holiday home for many...

freedom

If your husband had a proper job and you being a doctor, you should be able to afford a nice house in Singapore. I consider living in JB is a downgrade, something to do when my earning power is diminished.

I do live in a nice landed terrace in Sg and have 3 properties and am planning to retire early, that is why have to do it in inexpensive JB....

Relaxman

Properties are a good hedge against inflation so most who buy are banking on capital appreciation as Malaysiamoves towards a developed nation goal....it is also not a big amount of money and near home so it can be a weekend or holiday home for many...

It depends on what type of property you invested in. If you are not buying for own stay, Setia Sky 88 is a total disaster in term of investment choice.

freedom

I remember it was very popular when launched....maybe because near future RTS....anyway, if RTS really becomes a reality, it may Huat....I for one may choose to rent there and work in Sg since nearer RTS than my home in AH which is rented out...so there will be rental demand.