• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Living in JB 3 (Johore)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mummymoo

Usually nowadays, the Causeway taffic condition bothways is usually not so heavy and quite smooth.
There are days when there is a huge jam on SG's side, I notice the jam was usually caused by the thorough check on cars at the customs side and sometimes a second check by anti-narcotics officers before the exit causing a bottleneck.
I guess those were days when they got winds of some smuggling activities attempts about to happen.

I find the drive back to JB to be much easier after the S'pore immigration. The bridge is almost always free flowing - obviously because the bottleneck is from the S'pore side. Likewise, because the bottleneck is from the S'pore side, the bridge is chocked in the morning. For a country that prides itself for being efficient, I'm thinking they can and have to do better than this. Sure, security is important but there should be a way to distinguish low-risk daily commuters from the casual visitors.

Mummymoo

Great decision to stay at JB. You have proven many people wrong here. These self proclaimed property gurus said that hardly any singaporean would shift and stay at JB. Which JB area you staying now?

We live around the Kempas area. We enjoy the space and I have my own vegetable patch that i am working on and we enjoy eating out and paying what we think are fair prices. We never had the "Singapore-is-better/the best" mentality so that made the transition easier. We just laugh when friends and family members try to diss our decision. I tell them it's better that they remain in Singapore then - we don't need more cars on the road during our commute.

We didn't buy a house in JB for investment - I read the media clips about (was it MAS?) the glut in the property market. For investors who have been burnt, well sometimes you have to pay for the experience :(

danteakc

HELP.
I know I am a ghost in this forum but my roof is leaking water.
Can I DIY?
Who can refer water pump guy?
What is the damage?

snowbird

I find the drive back to JB to be much easier after the S'pore immigration. The bridge is almost always free flowing - obviously because the bottleneck is from the S'pore side. Likewise, because the bottleneck is from the S'pore side, the bridge is chocked in the morning. For a country that prides itself for being efficient, I'm thinking they can and have to do better than this. Sure, security is important but there should be a way to distinguish low-risk daily commuters from the casual visitors.

Unfortunately, drug / cigarette / human smugglers do not wear black jackets and dark glasses like what you see in those B grade Chinese movies.
They usually try to dress and look just like any regular chap, always mingling among them to avoid suspicion and you need trained eyes to pick them out and its not that easy.

bakkuttay

Have also moved to jb, going back only to clear my letterbox and bill. Yes retired. Drive a brand new car. Eat without looking at the prices. Malaysians are much friendlier even down to service levels of coffee shops. Yes never have that feeling Singapore is better. Really malaysia boleh for me.

Relaxman

We live around the Kempas area. We enjoy the space and I have my own vegetable patch that i am working on and we enjoy eating out and paying what we think are fair prices. We never had the "Singapore-is-better/the best" mentality so that made the transition easier. We just laugh when friends and family members try to diss our decision. I tell them it's better that they remain in Singapore then - we don't need more cars on the road during our commute.

We didn't buy a house in JB for investment - I read the media clips about (was it MAS?) the glut in the property market. For investors who have been burnt, well sometimes you have to pay for the experience :(

Great to know that you are enjoying life in JB. As a Johorean, i am proud of your decision too. Kempas area is very nice now.

kslresidence

My family and I moved to JB and marked our first year not too long ago. We are now used to the commute - kids adjusted to timing and are much better with time management. From Feb onwards, we noticed that the traffic situation was remarkably better. We could leave our home at 6am and got to school (in Woodlands) by 7am. And coming home was easy breezy. However, in the last month or so, it seems the traffic situation has returned to its crazy levels and we can't quite put our fingers on why this has been so. There was a day or two when we were at the M'sia immigration building for about an hour because traffic wouldn't move. And there was another day that the bikes took over the car lane and cars, buses and trucks had to share one lane. I don't even know how that happened or why it was even allowed to happen.

Has this been the experience of other commuters? And please, naysayers, spare me with your suggestions of us moving back. We have our own reasons for moving and it's not just for economic reasons.

Congrats to your 1st year anniversary! I am marking my 1st month in a couple of days as well. I do find the traffic congestion manageable but perhaps because I ditched my 4 wheels for 2 wheels. However maybe due to age, I find riding extremely unsafe hence I will be buying a Alza next month so that my wife and me can move around JB area and explore more. Oh ya, I tend to wake up at 4am, move out by 5am reached office around 6.30-6.45am. Not ideal but I find starting the day early does have its advantages which I can catch up on paperworks and stuff. First couple of days I really dreaded the congestion even at my choice of timing. However now, I am more or less used to it. The peaceful night of sleep and the friendly neighborhood of Bukit Indah made up for the commuting.

kslresidence

Have also moved to jb, going back only to clear my letterbox and bill. Yes retired. Drive a brand new car. Eat without looking at the prices. Malaysians are much friendlier even down to service levels of coffee shops. Yes never have that feeling Singapore is better. Really malaysia boleh for me.

sharing same thought although I still faraway from retirement mode.... stiill at the must work harder stage.

congo9

Great decision to stay at JB. You have proven many people wrong here. These self proclaimed property gurus said that hardly any singaporean would shift and stay at JB. Which JB area you staying now?

There is this report saying the security guards business in JB has been infested with Gangster.
Will one day the security of some newer condo or development be infested with all these Gangster ?

Jetstream

There is this report saying the security guards business in JB has been infested with Gangster.
Will one day the security of some newer condo or development be infested with all these Gangster ?

The report relates to Klang Valley - http://news.asiaone.com/news/malaysia/gangsters-more-guards

However I'm not surprised if you will find this in JB too. I once visited a G&G estate in Kulai and the guard at the entrance looked like a thug. I suppose the quality of the development matters, as well as that of the residents - if residents default in paying their maintenance charges, the RA will lack funds and be forced to provide services at the lowest cost.

congo9

The report relates to Klang Valley - http://news.asiaone.com/news/malaysia/gangsters-more-guards

However I'm not surprised if you will find this in JB too. I once visited a G&G estate in Kulai and the guard at the entrance looked like a thug. I suppose the quality of the development matters, as well as that of the residents - if residents default in paying their maintenance charges, the RA will lack funds and be forced to provide services at the lowest cost.

It will be great that the management can give these security officers better pay and treatments. After all, it is the security inside that is much more important.

I am just wondering how much does condos security guard is being paid ? How about those are being paid for those in landed in JB ?

PuteriWorld

Do you buy a new Malaysia car? The RM 2.71 exchange rate has allowed many Malaysians who earn Sing dollars to buy new Malaysia cars which is at all time low and exchang rate at all time best.

My neighbor in immediate office in Singapore bought a new Sonata for S$50,000 in Cash. In Singapore I heard its S$150,000. I think even with S$35 per entry he is paying extra S$80,000 over 10 years only and after 10 years he get to keep the car! That's why I feel S$35/day is very cheap.

James Porn

Do you buy a new Malaysia car? The RM 2.71 exchange rate has allowed many Malaysians who earn Sing dollars to buy new Malaysia cars which is at all time low and exchang rate at all time best.

My neighbor in immediate office in Singapore bought a new Sonata for S$50,000 in Cash. In Singapore I heard its S$150,000. I think even with S$35 per entry he is paying extra S$80,000 over 10 years only and after 10 years he get to keep the car! That's why I feel S$35/day is very cheap.

Sadly, I feel this is "too simple minded way" to justify making purchases based on "damn expensive in Singapore" and "Oh, so cheap in Malaysia" mentality. It is akin to comparing Apples to Oranges. On that note, why stop at a new Sonata? Doesn't a higher value BMW or Merc makes a value purchase considering these cars can confidently last more than 10 years?

By the way, it is not just simply S$35/day ("is very cheap"), even for a Malaysian registered car there are daily tolls to be considered (RM16.50 + S$6.50). And oh, your neighbor in immediate office in Singapore must be a Malaysian cos we Singaporeans or Singaporeans PR cannot drive Malaysian registered cars, in Singapore hor.:smile:

Jetstream

Absolutely correct...if u r S'poren, a PR in S'pore, a work permit holder in S'pore, or whatever immigration pass holder, it is an offence to drive a M'sian registered car in S'pore, period. So can forget about using a M'sian car to commute to work etc, however tempting the proposition sounds on paper :wink:

Dinarissa

Hello all!

We are looking for people who are interested in carpool from Skudai (near UTM) to Clementi.

We will be starting around late june. Looking for ladies/couple.

Morning reach Clementi around 7am.

One way.

Interested, do contact me @ 92384084

Arissa

PuteriWorld

Of cos he is Malaysian but under one of the foreign work passes.

Cant blame him though. Blame the people who allow him to do so. I always make it a point not to hate FT cos its not their problem when they come in to take our rice bowls or jam up our roads.

Sadly, I feel this is "too simple minded way" to justify making purchases based on "damn expensive in Singapore" and "Oh, so cheap in Malaysia" mentality. It is akin to comparing Apples to Oranges. On that note, why stop at a new Sonata? Doesn't a higher value BMW or Merc makes a value purchase considering these cars can confidently last more than 10 years?

By the way, it is not just simply S$35/day ("is very cheap"), even for a Malaysian registered car there are daily tolls to be considered (RM16.50 + S$6.50). And oh, your neighbor in immediate office in Singapore must be a Malaysian cos we Singaporeans or Singaporeans PR cannot drive Malaysian registered cars, in Singapore hor.:smile:

James Porn

Earlier you posted : " My neighbor in immediate office in Singapore bought a new Sonata for S$50,000 in Cash. In Singapore I heard its S$150,000. I think even with S$35 per entry he is paying extra S$80,000 over 10 years only and after 10 years he get to keep the car! That's why I feel S$35/day is very cheap."

and following my reply..
you posted :"Of cos he is Malaysian but under one of the foreign work passes. Cant blame him though. Blame the people who allow him to do so. I always make it a point not to hate FT cos its not their problem when they come in to take our rice bowls or jam up our roads."

Truly I am confused. What has a Malaysian neighbor of yours working in Singapore got to do with an expensive S$150,000 Singapore registered Sonata or a S$50,000 equivalent Malaysian registered Sonata? What is your rational by saying the Malaysian registered Sonata is of a value buy even after taking into consideration, in your own words " is very cheap S$35/day VEP" and the right to keep it after 10 years? Let me put into perspective on how your conversation with your Malaysian neighbor working in your immediate office in Singapore might have transpired :

Puteri World: "Wah, new Sonata? Nice Malaysian number plate!"
Malaysian neighbor: "Thanks, at today's exchange rate I only paid S$50,000 CASH''
Puteri World: "Wah, cheap lah. I heard Singapore you need to pay S$150,000"
Malaysian neighbor: "That's true, I won't be surprised"
Puteri World : "Very clever lah you, even with still cheap S$35/day VEP, you only pay S$80,000 for 10 years and still get to keep your car after 10 years. Thumbs up!"
Malaysian neighbor : "......... ?"

Why on earth, in the first place. would your Malaysian neighbor working in Singapore think about ''opportunity cost'' to even consider buying a Singapore registered car, a Sonata at RM400,000 (S$150,000 equivalent) and pay many times the cost of Road Tax and Insurance just to avoid Singapore's daily VEP? And then you went on to add your opinions about not making it a point to hate FT, take our rice bowls or jam up our roads. Oh dear.. ''shake head''

PuteriWorld

Seriously my friend James Porn, I donno why would you write such a long dissertation over this trivial matter. I don't think I can answer your question as I am merely giving my comments.

James Porn

Well PuteriWorld, I am not here to troll on you. As a matter of fact, I am a retiree and I have an apartment in Malaysia by the seaside which I occasionally enjoy with my loved ones. There is a mix of good things and not so good things living in Singapore and living in JB or any parts of Malaysia. Nothing is perfect. Personally, I don't see the need to explain or justify the pros of each country as I believe to the notion of "to each his own". As long as facts are not taken out of context or twisted, I believe in sharing genuine and helpful information, sweet and simple.

Enjoy!

Status
Not open for further replies.