• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Living in JB 3 (Johore)

Status
Not open for further replies.

cow138

My goodness.
This type of neighbours very headache if they don't want to fix the problem.
Buy condo in Malaysia have to deal with this type of problem.
Maybe an alternative is to get the manager committee to approach the resident upstairs to settle the leaking issue? Third party easier to talk.

alnine

In Spore condo, the upstairs owner is responsible 100% for water leakage. Same for Msia? Anyway, in case you want to try, they do have small claims tribunal. Should be cheaper to claim than via lawyer letter.

Singapore also will have such people but i think much less. This is because many are staying in apartments for a long time and there had been many well publisize incidents of this nature. Hence the awareness to corporate is higher.

May be you can nicely invite them down and show them. Then gentle hint to them what you hope to do. I think in Singapore the problem goes back to the top to redo waterproofing, but I heard most time if due to wear and tear the neighbours split the cost. One of my aunty 30 yr old hdb was like that.

Singapore also will have such people but i think much less. This is because many are staying in apartments for a long time and there had been many well publisize incidents of this nature. Hence the awareness to corporate is higher.

May be you can nicely invite them down and show them. Then gentle hint to them what you hope to do. I think in Singapore the problem goes back to the top to redo waterproofing, but I heard most time if due to wear and tear the neighbours split the cost. One of my aunty 30 yr old hdb was like that.

Yeah for HDB the ruling is different, it is 50:50 sharing basis for HDB water leakage.

I think awareness will help but not make much difference. Just like property owners are all aware have to pay maintenance fees when they buy property but whether they will pay or not is another matter.

alnine

Yeah for HDB the ruling is different, it is 50:50 sharing basis for HDB water leakage.

I think awareness will help but not make much difference. Just like property owners are all aware have to pay maintenance fees when they buy property but whether they will pay or not is another matter.

Yes you are right. Spoke to a SPR, earn Singapore pay as an engineer and was very surprise he argured strongly no need to pay maintenance since not staying in it.

cow138

I agree. That's the typical response.
You just can't convince them but I think now there's some condo maintenance agreement that they have to sign as part of the SPA.
But I know me some of them that the management committee must send out lawyer letter then willing to pay.

And these are highly educated people need a lawyer letter to do the necessary.

kawan2sgmy

Yes, this is what our Sg condo upstairs neighbour did; they renovate the whole the master room toilet, heard it costs them abt 6-7K. But then it leaked again after some time. Since they had done what is to be done, and also had spent so much, we paiseh bring up the matter again. So in the end we engage our own contractor (specialist in water leakage) to rectify the leakage, they injected some 'chemical cement' (not sure the correct words) near the drain down pipes. 1st time it didn't work, so they had to come round to do a 2nd injection.
Btw, can I have the address of the small claims tribunal in JB? TQ!

In Spore condo, the upstairs owner is responsible 100% for water leakage. Same for Msia? Anyway, in case you want to try, they do have small claims tribunal. Should be cheaper to claim than via lawyer letter.

kawan2sgmy

Ya, Mgmt people told me that my upstairs neighbour and their upstairs neighbour are good friends, so it's easy to talk. But then I am not friends with them becos I don't stay there at all.
Looks like I may need to make a trip to visit them personally, hopefully can get them to do up the toilets.

Oh I heard there is a type of 'spray paint' or something like 'epoxy paint' coating used by contractors to solve the flooring leakage problems, and it stays good for a few years, so owners no need to hack up the toilet which is very messy. Anybody tried before?

I agree. That's the typical response.
You just can't convince them but I think now there's some condo maintenance agreement that they have to sign as part of the SPA.
But I know me some of them that the management committee must send out lawyer letter then willing to pay.

And these are highly educated people need a lawyer letter to do the necessary.

Jetstream

Today's Sunday Times featured an article titled: "Johor goes from ulu to ooh la la". I found the concluding remark by the writer, John Lui, worth pondering on:

"As Singapore's population gets
older, as its costs go up while its
land banks go down, it is very likely
that my destiny, and the destinies
of many of us, lies tied up some-
where up north."

Yes, this is what our Sg condo upstairs neighbour did; they renovate the whole the master room toilet, heard it costs them abt 6-7K. But then it leaked again after some time. Since they had done what is to be done, and also had spent so much, we paiseh bring up the matter again. So in the end we engage our own contractor (specialist in water leakage) to rectify the leakage, they injected some 'chemical cement' (not sure the correct words) near the drain down pipes. 1st time it didn't work, so they had to come round to do a 2nd injection.
Btw, can I have the address of the small claims tribunal in JB? TQ!

They are at the 23rd floor of MSC Cyberport building.

Ya, Mgmt people told me that my upstairs neighbour and their upstairs neighbour are good friends, so it's easy to talk. But then I am not friends with them becos I don't stay there at all.
Looks like I may need to make a trip to visit them personally, hopefully can get them to do up the toilets.

Oh I heard there is a type of 'spray paint' or something like 'epoxy paint' coating used by contractors to solve the flooring leakage problems, and it stays good for a few years, so owners no need to hack up the toilet which is very messy. Anybody tried before?

I think if the neighbour is reasonable, no need to be friends also can resolve this kind of problem. If selfish and lawless, the neighbour on friendly term also no use since involving $$$$. I had such experience in Spore several years ago, like you I didn't know the upstairs neighbour and didn't stay there but he was reasonable and the problem was agreed amicably over the phone. We only met to assess and agree on the extent of damage. Btw he was a foreigner from Hong Kong. Nice people.

longwei

hey guys, anyone here knows where I can buy toyogo plastic cabinets in JB?

Apparently the toyogo seem to be produced in MY but sold in SG :(

eric3417

Today's Sunday Times featured an article titled: "Johor goes from ulu to ooh la la". I found the concluding remark by the writer, John Lui, worth pondering on:

"As Singapore's population gets
older, as its costs go up while its
land banks go down, it is very likely
that my destiny, and the destinies
of many of us, lies tied up some-
where up north."

"Our Dear Minister alr told us years back to go retire up North le... What's there to ponder?

LOL

Valdez

"Our Dear Minister alr told us years back to go retire up North le... What's there to ponder?

LOL
By 2030 with more than 1 million unproductive, non tax paying retirees above 65
and expected population of 7 million squeezed into a small island what do you think the govt will do ?

alnine

By 2030 with more than 1 million unproductive, non tax paying retirees above 65
and expected population of 7 million squeezed into a small island what do you think the govt will do ?

The graying problem is everywhere. We can take logical or obvious solution or think out of the box.
In Cameron Highlands there is a community of retired Japanese, they moved out not because of their gov but on their own initiative. Singapore declining birth rate are due to other factors and not the stop at 2 policy, really wasted money with all the ads as the population stop at less tha 2 on their own.

The Malaysian has a MM2H, attracts these old folks instead of reducing the old to young ratio. Do you think it is obviously wrong ?
In the 70s give any SPR citizenship and few will think twice not to take it. Today few will not think many times over before taking it.

As we gray Singapore can explore new ways to deal, hopefully it becomes a success and we can export it out. The obvious solution do not need million dollar policy makers lah. I also can think of it and I do it if ask for a hefty 50% less.

gooddebt

SG govt already planned for old folks to go up North liao la. Why else they build wellness centers in not one but two locations in Nusajaya ? Why allow Medisave to be used at certain hospitals like Gleneagles at Medini in JB ? Why wanna build RTS/HSR ? Why Khaw said SG folks can go JB for cheaper nursing homes ?

Dun need a rocket scientist to see . Sometimes it's so obvious that I wonder why many fail to see it ...

Valdez

SG govt already planned for old folks to go up North liao la. Why else they build wellness centers in not one but two locations in Nusajaya ? Why allow Medisave to be used at certain hospitals like Gleneagles at Medini in JB ? Why wanna build RTS/HSR ? Why Khaw said SG folks can go JB for cheaper nursing homes ?

Dun need a rocket scientist to see . Sometimes it's so obvious that I wonder why many fail to see it ...

Singapore will just be an ATM machine. Draw money here and spent elsewhere.

malpaso

it is a anti fungal waterproofing coating that acts like a sealant, is clear in color (like kerosene) you apply a few layer on the floor / wall / wherever using a paint brush. i have used it one of my walls in my singapore condo, and it seems to have stopped the leakage (from outside during heavy rain). you may try it as a first option. i got mine in KL . in JB try to ask for it in those larger hardware shops selling industrial grade materials.

kawan2sgmy

Thanks for sharing yr experience, if the leakages are internal, we can DIY, unless it's external wall, then it becomes Mgmt problem, need to erect scaffoldings...

it is a anti fungal waterproofing coating that acts like a sealant, is clear in color (like kerosene) you apply a few layer on the floor / wall / wherever using a paint brush. i have used it one of my walls in my singapore condo, and it seems to have stopped the leakage (from outside during heavy rain). you may try it as a first option. i got mine in KL . in JB try to ask for it in those larger hardware shops selling industrial grade materials.

malpaso

Thanks for sharing yr experience, if the leakages are internal, we can DIY, unless it's external wall, then it becomes Mgmt problem, need to erect scaffoldings...

depend on the quality of management .. i chased my MC until fed up so i tried DIY and looks like problem solved. did it a few years ago

Status
Not open for further replies.