• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Living in JB 3 (Johore)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gardener

So maybe the Ends justify means?

Commuters see smooth traffic at Causeway

SINGAPORE: Commuters travelling into Singapore from Johor said their journey was smooth on Saturday morning (August 2), a stark contrast to Friday morning's protests at the Johor Checkpoint. On Friday, two bus drivers had refused to pay the increased tolls at the Malaysian Customs, Immigration and Quarantine Complex and left their vehicles there, blocking traffic.

Some commuters also pointed out that on weekends, fewer workers from Malaysia travel to Singapore. Others noticed traffic into Johor was also surprisingly clear for a weekend.

Hussain Zack, who commutes to Singapore for work, said: "Today for me, is okay. Yesterday was very inconvenient for us." Lim Chee Huat, a technical specialist, who also commutes to Singapore for work, said: "Yesterday there was no bus, so everybody walked almost 30 to 40 minutes to Customs. Maybe a lot of people were late for work."

Driving from Woodlands Checkpoint to Johor was also a breeze, and this came as a surprise to some who were expecting massive jams since it is the first weekend since Hari Raya on Monday. Some commuters coming in from Singapore said a trip that would normally take them about an hour took only about ten minutes.

Rooslina Md Nor said: "I was surprised to see that today the traffic was very clear. I thought since it is Hari Raya, I was afraid to even go in." Yew Hung Seng, who comes home to Johor on weekends, said: "Because of the increase of the toll fees, so maybe for the first weekend, most Singaporeans want to play safe first."

One Singaporean said he drives into Johor with his family at least once a week for leisure, but will now consider cutting down his travel because each visit could cost more than S$7 in toll charges alone. Others said some might find property in Iskandar less attractive to purchase if they had to pay the new toll rates to commute to Singapore every day.

This afternoon, driving from Woodlands checkpoint to JB CIQ, including immigration clearance takes only 5 mins, and on a Saturday afternoon!!!
There were no traffic on both sides of the causeway, it was a non stop drive thru all the way.

Sagitarius

SINGAPORE: ....................Rooslina Md Nor said: "I was surprised to see that today the traffic was very clear. I thought since it is Hari Raya, I was afraid to even go in." Yew Hung Seng, who comes home to Johor on weekends, said: "Because of the increase of the toll fees, so maybe for the first weekend, most Singaporeans want to play safe first."

One Singaporean said he drives into Johor with his family at least once a week for leisure, but will now consider cutting down his travel because each visit could cost more than S$7 in toll charges alone. Others said some might find property in Iskandar less attractive to purchase if they had to pay the new toll rates to commute to Singapore every day.[/QUOTE]

Usually during the weekend, we would be in JB, looking around and spending money. But now we remain in Singapore and will visiting our many places of Singapore that we have not been there before. Keeping a tap on the view-cam, I can see that there are very little traffic entering Singapore. Ya, we should boycott JB for a while and see what breaks!

siacw

I dont know whats the big hoo haa....

The sharp hike in causeway only match what those guys in 2nd link were paying for years.....if they cant afford a few $$ tol fee, just stay in sg. Yeah r8ght it will be souch cheaper.

crystal_tiong

kaoz, today just came back from bk indah at 1030am , only 1130 am reached woodlands . no pump petrol. although jb custom opened a few pathetic counters but still cleared within 5 mins , its sg side jam for nothing lor! officers took 5 mins to check passports for each car .... even came out of booth to use torch light to shined my car insdie though we hv 2 persons nia. i already on interior lights before pass passport to him ....

cow138

when Singapore match then it will be a different story. First link has always been a poorer cousin touthatfor second link.
Cannot expect to pay same level.
The old method was OK as it gave people choice. Now no choice already.

malpaso

SINGAPORE: ....................Rooslina Md Nor said: "I was surprised to see that today the traffic was very clear. I thought since it is Hari Raya, I was afraid to even go in." Yew Hung Seng, who comes home to Johor on weekends, said: "Because of the increase of the toll fees, so maybe for the first weekend, most Singaporeans want to play safe first."

One Singaporean said he drives into Johor with his family at least once a week for leisure, but will now consider cutting down his travel because each visit could cost more than S$7 in toll charges alone. Others said some might find property in Iskandar less attractive to purchase if they had to pay the new toll rates to commute to Singapore every day.

Usually during the weekend, we would be in JB, looking around and spending money. But now we remain in Singapore and will visiting our many places of Singapore that we have not been there before. Keeping a tap on the view-cam, I can see that there are very little traffic entering Singapore. Ya, we should boycott JB for a while and see what breaks![/QUOTE]

I am not going JB for short trips anymore. Will go in only when absolutely necessary.

malpaso

The sharp hike in causeway only match what those guys in 2nd link were paying for years.....if they cant afford a few $$ tol fee, just stay in sg. Yeah r8ght it will be souch cheaper.

the big hoo ha is because i'm being forced to pay for the EDL when najib promised during the election campaign for BN that it will remain free. Worst thing is that even non users of the EDL is forced to pay it. for eg if one lives in woodlands and want to go danga bay, bukit indah , jb sental or stulang, one still has to pay for the EDL. It's like LTA collecting SGD16 at the customs checkpoint so that they can make the PIE ERP-free everyday.

PuteriWorld

I saw a 10-20% increase in cars in Singapore. Weekends in Singapore was supposed to be jam-free but yesterday I felt the stress of weekdays

Usually during the weekend, we would be in JB, looking around and spending money. But now we remain in Singapore and will visiting our many places of Singapore that we have not been there before. Keeping a tap on the view-cam, I can see that there are very little traffic entering Singapore. Ya, we should boycott JB for a while and see what breaks!

I am not going JB for short trips anymore. Will go in only when absolutely necessary.[/QUOTE]

PuteriWorld

Seriously it DOESNT affect me a bit as I am so used to paying for Tuas for 10 years

siacw

Usually during the weekend, we would be in JB, looking around and spending money. But now we remain in Singapore and will visiting our many places of Singapore that we have not been there before. Keeping a tap on the view-cam, I can see that there are very little traffic entering Singapore. Ya, we should boycott JB for a while and see what breaks![/QUOTE]

OMFG!!!!! 7 dollar per trip. Lol

The 1 quater fuel tank already cost more than that!!!

Valdez

Was lunching at the popular seafood restaurant tien tien at gelang patah. Usually packed on sunday afternoon.But today ththere is no crowd. Waiters and waitress swatting flies.

Gardener

Yeah malpaso, he promise then U turn.

the big hoo ha is because i'm being forced to pay for the EDL when najib promised during the election campaign for BN that it will remain free. Worst thing is that even non users of the EDL is forced to pay it. for eg if one lives in woodlands and want to go danga bay, bukit indah , jb sental or stulang, one still has to pay for the EDL. It's like LTA collecting SGD16 at the customs checkpoint so that they can make the PIE ERP-free everyday.

siacw

well....it remain free for the majority of JB folks though....

it is either the whole malaysia tax paying citizen subsidizing the road or in this case those travel to and from sg paying for it.

snowbird

Najib will say that this toll for entry / exit of JB has nothing to do with the EDL so he had not broken his promise.
However, the people and the opposition are very angry with the new MB for allowing this to happen without any prior notice and discussion in the Johor assembly!

wufucheng

:smile::smile::smile:
View from Causeway / 03-08-2014 18:28 hrs
Shiok... Shhhiok...... No Jam sgn boleh
From Kranji to and clear JB CIQ < 25 mins by Bus

• Causeway_03Aug14.jpg
    Causeway_03Aug14.jpg
    16 KB · Views: 310

malpaso

Najib will say that this toll for entry / exit of JB has nothing to do with the EDL so he had not broken his promise.
However, the people and the opposition are very angry with the new MB for allowing this to happen without any prior notice and discussion in the Johor assembly!

the press release by highway authority has stated clearly this toll is for the EDL. the argument is that as what bro siacw says - johoreans get the EDL free as long as they don't enter CIQ to go singapore.

Sagitarius

The big hoo haa is that there is no good reason for the hike at 1st link knowing that the Causeway was "inherited" and any hike was meant for the EDL which we may not use and the money goes somewhere. Or as what some say, the money goes to "maintain" the EDL?

If it is meant to match the 2nd link, then it should have been done long ago and not now when Singapore moderated the VEP fees. Ya, like you say, we will remain in Singapore for the moment, but if we want to we can just drive in. It is a free country..... We may not be rich, but we could afford the toll fees.

Sagitarius

Wonder if the shopping malls are crowded with shoppers during the weekend. Anyone knows? Singaporeans can still visit JB by bus without having to paying the hike in toll fees! But it would be a chore to carry things bought across the checkpoints!

RedsYNWA

well....it remain free for the majority of JB folks though....

it is either the whole malaysia tax paying citizen subsidizing the road or in this case those travel to and from sg paying for it.

Since SG is building the NS Expressway, maybe we should also increase all motor-cycles toll to pay for it? Since they will be major users of NS Expressway. Does that sound logical to you?

FHBH12

Expect many JB retail shops and eateries to fail in 2-3 months' after SG has matched JB tolls, which is likely to be in 1-2 weeks' time.

Status
Not open for further replies.