• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

NUS law professor in CPIB probe over exchanging grades for sex

TanSiongThye

Eve “arrogance” iz crime, mani PEEpearl ear in Sammy will B in jail including U ant moi.

If U buy de book, finiz oredi, prs lent 2 me for read. Moi, also cheapskate, dozit mean moi Dserv 2 go 2 jail? Of course not lah!

Here iz wat de HK Uni sat about zis book:

“Singapore's schizophrenic jurisprudence is fascinating to many legal scholars. Its genius has been to present Singapore as one of the most sophisticated and open societies with its common law, all the while being careful to help keep its highly-controlled political and social system largely intact.

Tey puts forward a brilliant examination of a jurisprudence that has been assembled over decades. It builds on meticulously mined case-law, to illuminate issues ranging from the use of civil defamation proceedings to tackle political dissent, the use of death penalty and criminal due process, to arrive at some insights into the core political values enforced by the Singapore judiciary. It is a careful study of what goes into its decision-making and reasoning process. It throws a great deal of light on how the Singapore judiciary has bought into – wholesale - the political emphasis on the supreme importance of government in human affairs, and on the overriding priority of stability and status quo - a worldview that emphasises respect for hierarchical relationships, that privileges the collective over the individual, and regards voices different from the dominant political discourse as dangerous to Singapore’s social and political order.

With impressive zeal, Tey works through a massive amount of jurisprudence to expose its Legalistic thinking. But it also paints a disturbing picture, of a worldview that challenges the assumptions about the primacy of individual rights and the essential principles of constitutional reasoning that lie at the heart of democratic systems. The broader thesis seems to be that the Singapore Consensus could not have been constructed without its Legal Consensus, itself a result of the consistent complicity of the Singapore judiciary. This book hints at the power relations and dynamics between the political establishment and the Singapore judiciary.”

Why bother to read it? I doubt there are things written that we don't already know for the most part. I think he is too arrogant for his own good, and he got what he deserved.

Huh? What are you talking about, cannot understand your writing. btw, WMM alreay quoted many of his writing but I think many here are not bothered by what he wrote but what he did.

Eve “arrogance” iz crime, mani PEEpearl ear in Sammy will B in jail including U ant moi.

If U buy de book, finiz oredi, prs lent 2 me for read. Moi, also cheapskate, dozit mean moi Dserv 2 go 2 jail? Of course not lah!

Here iz wat de HK Uni sat about zis book:

TanSiongThye

Moi aGri wit U. AberAGE Sinkies like U only bothered about lip upgrading, ALLso Angrish too cheem. Dat’s why I did as was told. Howeber, me knows a CRIME de was not.

Moi sumaRICE wat on de HKU website. Arse de Mafia sat: If U offend de Godfather, U pay de consequences. Crime or no cream, nobodi cares. Silencing off arTHE smart alec critics iz de aim. I was properli breeved.

“…. It [Tey's book] builds on meticulously mined case-law, to illuminate issues ranging from the use of civil defamation proceedings to tackle political dissent, the use of death penalty and criminal due process, to arrive at some insights into the core political values enforced by the Singapore judiciary. It is a careful study of what goes into its decision-making and reasoning process. It throws a great deal of light on how the Singapore judiciary has bought into – wholesale - the political emphasis on the supreme importance of government in human affairs, and on the overriding priority of stability and status quo - a worldview that emphasises respect for hierarchical relationships, that privileges the collective over the individual, and regards voices different from the dominant political discourse as dangerous to Singapore’s social and political order.

… it also paints a disturbing picture, of a worldview that challenges the assumptions about the primacy of individual rights and the essential principles of constitutional reasoning that lie at the heart of democratic systems. The broader thesis seems to be that the Singapore Consensus could not have been constructed without its Legal Consensus, itself a result of the consistent complicity of the Singapore judiciary. … ”

Huh? What are you talking about, cannot understand your writing. btw, WMM alreay quoted many of his writing but I think many here are not bothered by what he wrote but what he did.

Suspicion

Re: NUS Law Prof in Sex - For -Grades scandal

Sex-for-contracts case: Ex-SCDF chief Peter Lim begins 6-month jail term today

Published on Jun 26, 2013

PeterLim2606e.jpg

Former Singapore Civil Defence Force (SCDF) chief Peter Lim Sin Pang (centre) has surrendered himself to a district court on Wednesday afternoon to begin his six-month jail term, The Straits Times understands. -- ST FILE PHOTO: WONG KWAI CHOW

By Walter Sim And Elena Chong

Former Singapore Civil Defence Force (SCDF) chief Peter Lim Sin Pang has surrendered himself to a district court on Wednesday afternoon to begin his six-month jail term, The Straits Times understands.

Lim, 53, had arrived in court dressed in a short-sleeve black shirt and pants.

He was convicted on May 31 of one count of corruptly obtaining sex from Ms Angie Pang Chor Mui, 49, on May 2, 2010, in exchange for furthering the business interests of her then employer Nimrod Engineering.

A week later, he admitted to seven of the nine other corruption charges he faced for trysts with two other women, Ms Esther Goh Tok Mui and Ms Kelly Lee Wei Hoon, who are both in their 40s.

Slayer

Former law professor Tey Tsun Hang, ex-SCDF chief Peter Lim begin jail term

By Claire Huang
POSTED: 26 Jun 2013 1:01 PM
UPDATED: 26 Jun 2013 7:50 PM

stock-tey-tsun-hang-02.jpg

Former National University of Singapore (NUS) law professor Tey Tsun Hang. (photo: Francine Lim, channelnewsasia.com)

SINGAPORE: Both former National University of Singapore law professor Tey Tsun Hang and ex-Civil Defence chief Peter Lim started their jail terms on Wednesday.

Tey, 42, was convicted of six counts of corruption in late May in a sex-for-grades case.

Earlier this month, he was sentenced to five months' jail.

Speaking to Channel NewsAsia, Tey said the move to serve his sentence now is so he can be released earlier.

He clarified that his appeal against his conviction and sentence will still proceed.

Of his recent decision to serve his sentence earlier, the Malaysian said that he and his family are no longer permanent residents in Singapore.

When asked about his wife and daughter, Tey said they are both overseas.

On his future, the former district judge said he has a book proposal.

He also said he is looking forward to the future and to take care of his parents, both of whom are in Malaysia.

Separately, former Singapore Civil Defence Force chief Peter Lim also started his six-month jail term on Wednesday.

Lim was convicted of corruptly obtaining a sexual favour from a former general manager of one of SCDF's vendors.

His appeal is pending for now.

- CNA/xq/de

Leckmichamarsch

Former law professor Tey Tsun Hang, ex-SCDF chief Peter Lim begin jail term

By Claire Huang
POSTED: 26 Jun 2013 1:01 PM
UPDATED: 26 Jun 2013 7:50 PM

stock-tey-tsun-hang-02.jpg

Former National University of Singapore (NUS) law professor Tey Tsun Hang. (photo: Francine Lim, channelnewsasia.com)

SINGAPORE: Both former National University of Singapore law professor Tey Tsun Hang and ex-Civil Defence chief Peter Lim started their jail terms on Wednesday.

Tey, 42, was convicted of six counts of corruption in late May in a sex-for-grades case.

Earlier this month, he was sentenced to five months' jail.

Speaking to Channel NewsAsia, Tey said the move to serve his sentence now is so he can be released earlier.

He clarified that his appeal against his conviction and sentence will still proceed.

Of his recent decision to serve his sentence earlier, the Malaysian said that he and his family are no longer permanent residents in Singapore.

When asked about his wife and daughter, Tey said they are both overseas.

On his future, the former district judge said he has a book proposal.

He also said he is looking forward to the future and to take care of his parents, both of whom are in Malaysia.

Separately, former Singapore Civil Defence Force chief Peter Lim also started his six-month jail term on Wednesday.

Lim was convicted of corruptly obtaining a sexual favour from a former general manager of one of SCDF's vendors.

His appeal is pending for now.

- CNA/xq/de

pay them high salaries to prevent corruption........... proviide sex too lah