• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

What Hougang residents want

ThePlen

20120528.085709_myp_pngenghuat1.jpg

By Tong Jia Han and Samantha Boh
my paper
Monday, May 28, 2012

Regardless of who they voted for in last Saturday's by-election, Hougang residents are looking to their new Member of Parliament (MP) to better their lives.

The Workers' Party's (WP's) newly elected MP, Mr Png Eng Huat, 50, has promised to execute plans such as the Neighbourhood Renewal Programme, where covered walkways, linkways, drop-off points, fitness corners for the elderly and more will be built.

Other projects Mr Png has set his eyes on include the Home Improvement Programme and the Hougang Constituency Education Trust for needy students.

Hougang residents shared with my paper their vision and desires for the constituency, which has been in WP hands since 1991.

Retiree and WP supporter Soh Poh Kheen, 53, said that she hoped that her 10-storey Housing Board block would receive lift upgrading. She also suggested building more fitness corners for the elderly.

Taxi driver Sidek Mohd Ali, 53, who is also a WP supporter, said: "I hope to see flat repairs being done and the construction of fitness centres for the elderly so that senior citizens can keep fit."

These views were not limited to WP supporters. Even residents who had voted for the People's Action Party in the by-election want to see what Mr Png has in store for Hougang.

"At the end of the day, we're all Singaporeans and we want the same thing. As for me, I hope that more health-care subsidies will be introduced," said bank executive director Paul Taim, 50.

Yesterday morning, Mr Png, who made his rounds of the ward as MP-elect for Hougang, was greeted by cheers from hundreds of supporters.

Residents who lined the streets had only praise for him and expressed pride in living in an opposition ward.

"Not everyone can say they live in an opposition ward," said Madam Soh.

A retiree, 70, who gave only his surname Liu, had not heard of Mr Png before the by-election.

He said he was convinced of his competence from his campaign efforts. "I think he did well," he said.

A regional sales manager, James, 39, said: "He is honest and straightforward."

Without giving his full name, he added that he hopes for Mr Png to be a democratic voice in Parliament, as well as the voice of residents on national issues, such as wages and competition from foreign workers.

The election results were deemed "expected" by most residents, such as Mr Edmund Loo, 30, an aircraft technician.

But he felt that the important step is for Mr Png to deliver on his promises. Said Mr Loo: "I hope that he keeps to what he has promised and implements his plans quickly."

ChaoPappyPoodle

All this time WP and LTK never mention about FT, HDB cost to build and profits and GIC and Temasick losts. Only time come election he cry baby and say get bully by PAP. This LTK and QP way to get voters. If LTK and WP want to behave like PAP dogs but don't want to talk abouts FT policy, HDB over price and Temasic lost then we have to treat them like dogs. Go and say to them if don't say this in parliament then no more vote them. We as voter must push politician to do our way.
LTK want wasy life and easy money and people shake cock and cheebye at him to make him happy. But we want to have solution to FT, HDB charge so high to earn money for government. We want to know all things about government. We want more newspaper. LTK complain about newspaper but never give idea to make problem solved.
We all voters please give the worker party a backside kick to do things for Singaporeans. Why he talk fuk to say want to work with PAP? His job is to work for the people that vote him. People neve vote him to work for PAP. If he want to work with PAP then he go and work for PAP! :oIo:

NoNewsGood

All this time WP and LTK never mention about FT, HDB cost to build and profits and GIC and Temasick losts. Only time come election he cry baby and say get bully by PAP. This LTK and QP way to get voters. If LTK and WP want to behave like PAP dogs but don't want to talk abouts FT policy, HDB over price and Temasic lost then we have to treat them like dogs. Go and say to them if don't say this in parliament then no more vote them. We as voter must push politician to do our way.
LTK want wasy life and easy money and people shake cock and cheebye at him to make him happy. But we want to have solution to FT, HDB charge so high to earn money for government. We want to know all things about government. We want more newspaper. LTK complain about newspaper but never give idea to make problem solved.
We all voters please give the worker party a backside kick to do things for Singaporeans. Why he talk fuk to say want to work with PAP? His job is to work for the people that vote him. People neve vote him to work for PAP. If he want to work with PAP then he go and work for PAP! :oIo:

WP is treading the middle path to gain as many votes as possible. After all, winning votes translates to seats in parliament.

In doing so, WP may appear to be not taking a hard stand on certain topics.

ChaoPappyPoodle

Middle path for 20 years already. TLK is a dog and want to have easy life and earn respect but how to respect somebody who never bring the real issue to parliament? But I say vote him lor because if he wasnt to be a dog we can make him out dog. Go ask WP why never bring question that 40% of Singaporean want to know about why so many FT, lose money in billions, Temasick and GIC never sack any body after lose so many billions. You think this kind of politician is serious to help people? GO give WP and LTK a visit and ask them why they playing and cheating our feelings? Make them do the thing. We need to make WP fight with PAP for our vote. See who work harder and who can have ideas to make our life together.

We don't want WP and PAP to work together. This is more problem for Singaporean. We the voters need the politician to be our dogs. PAP and WP must be our dogs forever. Then we the people can have good life and work happy for family and counry.