• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Hougang By-election later news up date

sengkang

This May, Ah Huat will be hosting 2 tea sessions. The second session will be held on 31 May 2014, Saturday at Blk 24 Hougang Ave 3. Come join your friendly MP Png Eng Huat from 2pm to 5pm and enjoy a chat over a cup of hot kopi or tea and some snacks, give a feedback or simply just mingle with your neighbours. See you there!

sengkang

Speech by Png Eng Huat, MP for Hougang for the debate on President’s Address (29 May 2014)

Madam Speaker, every working class generation has a dream to look forward to and that is to be able to stop and smell the roses one day and retire. For our pioneer generation workers, the anxiety of not knowing what is to come after retirement was somewhat moderated by the anticipation and excitement of being able to finally collect their lifelong CPF savings in full at retirement age, which was 55 then.

Before the introduction of the Minimum Sum Scheme (MS) in 1987, turning 55 of age is an exciting day for many retiring workers. For low wage workers who found it hard to save on their meagre income, those CPF savings could be their only life savings after 30 to 40 years of hard work. I have witnessed that excitement through the eyes of my father.

Such excitement and anticipation no longer exist at age 55 for many Singaporean workers today. We are living longer and the statutory retirement age has been raised to 62. The re-employment age will be raised from 65 to 67 over time and the CPF draw-down age will follow suit. CPF savings up to the Minimum Sum will be locked up all in the hope of achieving retirement adequacy.

I welcome the pledge by the President that the Government will enhance retirement adequacy to give greater assurance and peace of mind to all Singaporeans. But for Singaporeans attaining the age of 55 going forward, greater assurance and peace of mind are question marks.

Minimum Sum
I met a Singaporean who works 2 jobs to support his family. He said he is working hard as he wishes to perform his umrah next year when he turns 55. He had calculated that he can withdraw some of his CPF savings to help fund the pilgrimage to Mecca. The announcement on 8 May 2014 changed everything for him. The CPF Minimum Sum was raised from $148,000 to $155,000 thereby reducing his projected withdrawal by $7,000 – a big sum of money especially for someone who has to take on 2 jobs to make ends meet.

In 2012, only 48.7 per cent of active CPF members were able to meet their Cohort Minimum Sum. With the latest increase, how many more CPF members like the gentleman I met will need to change their pre-retirement plans and how many more will need to do some serious financial planning for housing mortgage payments in the future? I am sure we have met residents who were caught by the change in the Minimum Sum at our MPS.

While it is prudent to adjust the Minimum Sum every year to beat inflation, the way to achieving it should not rest solely with the members because the CPF scheme is a tightly regulated instrument. At this moment, the only way for most Singaporean workers to meet any revised Minimum Sum is basically to work longer and harder and nothing else.
The goal of the CPF Minimum Sum Scheme is to help local workers meet their basic retirement needs. The CPF acknowledged that there are many ways that can help members achieve this goal, some of which are to live within one’s means, to invest wisely, as well to continue employment beyond age 55.

To live within one’s means is something the Government cannot legislate. To continue employment beyond age 55 has already been legislated. So the missing component now is to invest wisely our CPF savings so that it can beat inflation.

And that is a challenge as most CPF members may not have the technical knowledge and financial literacy to make an informed choice to grow their savings. This is something the Government can certainly help. The former Minister for Manpower had promised to look into this as well.

Madam, while we want Singaporeans to work longer and harder for their retirement, it is also prudent to make our CPF savings work harder for us at the same time.

The former Minister for Manpower said in 2007 that money place in the Special, Medisave and Retirement Accounts (SMRA) should enjoy a higher rate of return than the Ordinary Account. The current interest rate for SMRA is pegged as the yield of the 10-year Singapore Government Security (SGS) plus 1 per cent. This formula came into force on 1st January 2008.
In the MOM website, it was stated that the Government will review the formula after 5 years, to fine tune if necessary.

We have passed the 5-year mark. The interest rates for our CPF savings had not changed for the past 15 years. The call by the President to enhance retirement adequacy is certainly more than timely. The formula, including that for the Ordinary Account, should be reviewed so that our workers will have enough to retire on in an aging society. We need better SMRA returns so that our workers do not need to worry about not meeting the Cohort Minimum Sum every year and having nothing more than $5,000 or less to withdraw at age 55.

Draw-Down Age
This brings me to another issue – the draw-down age.
The Workers’ Party believes that draw-down age should not be linked to the retirement age or re-employment age. I understand this issue has been debated in this House before.

Whatever amount our workers can withdraw at age of 55 will be the last they see of their CPF savings if they do not meet the Minimum Sum until they reach the draw-down age. For workers born in 1954 or later, the draw-down age is 65. This draw-down age will be raised to 67 over time as the government intends to link it to the re-employment age. By doing so, it will leave no room for Singaporeans to decide how they want to live their lives after age 55 or upon reaching the statutory minimum retirement age.

The President has said that the Government will strengthen safety nets to help the vulnerable and elderly cope with the vicissitudes of life. Madam, the vicissitudes of a working life begin at age 55 when the Minimum Sum kicks in, at age 62 when retirement kicks in and then a few years later when draw-down age kicks in. For workers who do not have any other form of life savings, these CPF savings are the only safety nets.

Delaying the CPF payouts for these older workers may cause them undue anxiety and stress. Older workers on part-time employment may need such draw-downs to supplement their income. And not all older workers can work after age 55 or 62. As SMS Amy Khor had said on Tuesday, sometimes the spirit is willing but the flesh is weak. And for workers who do not have any other form of savings other than their CPF accounts, it spells trouble when ‘the spirit is willing but the flesh is weak.’

The Minimum Sum Scheme, before CPF Life comes into existence, is designed to last for about 20 years or until the member’s Retirement Account savings are depleted. The CPF Life, which is a better scheme, guarantees payout for life.
Madam, our life expectancy at birth is 82.5 years. At draw-down age of 65 to 67, most members will probably enjoy about 15.5 to 17.5 years of payout under CPF Life; which is about 13 to 23 per cent shorter than the 20-year payout period under the old scheme although the payout under CPF Life is slightly more. Can we not allow a member to draw down on his CPF Life a little earlier then?

When we are young, we need a disciplined instrument like CPF to help us save for the future. But when we are old, we need a more flexible instrument to help us plan for the uncertainties of aging. Issues like job security, health, mobility, etc. cannot be taken for granted anymore. The current CPF Life plans do not offer older workers the flexibility to plan for an early or semi-retirement.

I call for a 3rd CPF Life plan to address this issue. This plan will give a monthly payout with no bequest, similar to the old Life Income Plan, but come with an early draw-down age of 60. This plan will give our workers a choice to go slow after age 60 for whatever reasons. Many pension schemes in OECD and Asia/Pacific countries do offer such “early age” withdrawal.

Madam, we are an aging society. I urge the Government to look into providing more choices for older Singaporeans to access their CPF savings.

http://www.theonlinecitizen.com/2014/05/more-returns-and-flexibility-for-cpf/

sengkang

1 Day Malaysia Tour

This tour is brought to you by Hougang Constituency Committee (HGCC). Hougang MP-Elect Yaw Shin Leong & fellow HGCC members welcome both Hougang residents & non-residents to join us for a day of fun, makan, jalan-jalan & shopping! Mode of Transport: Via Coach. Cost: $55 (Adult) $45 (Children). Ticket Sales: 8-9pm Mon-Fri (Blk 702 Hougang Ave 2) & Wed (Blk 310 Hougang Ave 5). Limited Tickets only - First purchased, first confirmed! Please ensure that your passport has a minimal 6 months validity.

sengkang

2015-Calendar-competition-poster.jpg

sengkang

榴梿飘香的季节又来到!我们诚意邀请后港居民和后港区议员方荣发先生一起北上马来西亚共享榴梿话家常。

后港选区委员会将于二零一四年七月二十日为居民主办一年一度的<<榴梿飘香, 新山购物乐>>一日游。

行程包括参观有机菜园、华族庙宇、土产店, 当然少不了享受美味的榴梿。最快乐的莫过于和家人, 朋友一起同游, 并认识邻居, 促进邻里关系。

门票将于本月十一日开始发售, 详情请参阅海报。门票有限, 售完为止!

HGCC's annual one day Malaysia tour is here again! Calling all residents and friends of Hougang SMC to join us and MP Png Eng Huat on 20 July 2014 for a Sunday of endless fun and feast in Malaysia. There will be visits to an organic farm and eco park as well as a Chinese temple. There will also be shopping for local products. Meals include breakfast, lunch and dinner and of course the much anticipated durian feast!

Ticket sales will commence this coming Wednesday, 11 June 2014. Grab your tickets while tickets last. Please refer to the poster for more details. We look forward to seeing all of you next month!
10468640_871858966164047_6006598226682408355_n.jpg

sengkang

PNG ENG HUAT

The solar boat built by my daughter's team. I 'like' the boat but I like the name of the boat and team even more - Dauntless...

Crescent Girls' School
Team Name: Dauntless
Boat Number: B8
Boat Name: Dauntless
Category: New Entrant (Category B)

sengkang

June's tea session with your friendly MP, Ah Huat will be on 29 June 2014, Sunday from 2pm to 5pm at Blk 334 Hougang Ave 5. See all of you there!
10298182_877922965557647_1900388755094293346_o.jpg

sengkang

To celebrate our Nation's 49th birthday, Hougang Constituency Committee will be organising our annual National Day Children's Art Competition. This event will be held in conjunction with this year's National Day theme: "Our People, Our Home"
So calling all children to come join us and display your creativity and artistic talent. A day of fun and laughter guaranteed. We look forward to seeing you there!

为庆祝我国四十九周年国庆,后港选区委员会将再次主办一年一度的国庆日儿童绘画比赛, 并以今年国庆日標语《全民共创,美好家园》作为这一次的主题。
我们诚邀所有后港选区内的小朋友们前来参加,展现您的创意天份和艺术才华, 并结识其他小朋友, 一起切磋交流来度过一个既有乐趣又意义非凡的国家生日!

sengkang

Let's celebrate Hari Raya at Hougang! GEMA AIDILFITRI 2014 will be held on 17 August 2014 (Sunday) from 7:45pm to 10:15pm. Tickets are priced at $6 per person, and will be sold at Block 310, Hougang Ave 5, on every Wednesday from 9 July 2014 to 13 August 2014. For further enquiries, please call Fairoz at 90043158.

Mari menyambut Hari Raya di Hougang! GEMA AIDILFITRI 2014 akan berlangsung pada 17 Ogos 2014 (Ahad) dari jam 7:45 malam hingga 10:15 malam. Tiket berharga $6 seorang, dan akan dijual di Blok 310, Hougang Ave 5, pada setiap hari Rabu dari 9 Julai 2014 hingga 13 Ogos 2014. Untuk maklumat lanjut, sila hubungi Fairoz di 90043158.

sengkang

sengkang

At the break of dawn, MP Png and his residents were off to JB for a day of feasting and shopping. HGCC thanked all residents and friends of Hougang for their unwavering supports of this annual affair. Wishing all a safe and fruitful trip!

从购票至今一个月的期待, 浩浩荡荡五百后港大军终于在今天, 天未破晓之即, 在后港区国会议员方荣发先生的率领下, 挥军北上出发到邻国马来西亚的东甲品尝美味的榴梿咯!

由后港选区委员主办的常年《榴梿飘香 新山购物乐》一向以来的反应都不错, 十二辆旅游巴士门票在短短的两周之内被热情的居民抢购一空, 反应之热烈让后港选区委员会团队振奋不己,

谢谢后港居民一直以来涌越的支持与爱戴, 希望大家一路尽兴, 满载而归 !

10384345_896045540412056_4967505323760266168_n.jpg

sengkang

Let's celebrate Hari Raya at Hougang! GEMA AIDILFITRI 2014 will be held on 17 August 2014 (Sunday) from 7:45pm to 10:15pm. Tickets are priced at $6 per person, and will be sold at Block 310, Hougang Ave 5, on every Wednesday from 9 July 2014 to 13 August 2014. For further enquiries, please call Fairoz at 90043158.

Mari menyambut Hari Raya di Hougang! GEMA AIDILFITRI 2014 akan berlangsung pada 17 Ogos 2014 (Ahad) dari jam 7:45 malam hingga 10:15 malam. Tiket berharga $6 seorang, dan akan dijual di Blok 310, Hougang Ave 5, pada setiap hari Rabu dari 9 Julai 2014 hingga 13 Ogos 2014. Untuk maklumat lanjut, sila hubungi Fairoz di 90043158.

1939658_890355120981098_8072029103693400350_n.jpg

sengkang

[h=2] [/h]The Workers' Party

Parliamentary Questions for 4 August 2014 Sitting

August 4, 2014 at 11:38am

*23. Mr Png Eng Huat: To ask the Minister for Law (a) what is the basis for giving Government institutions a concessionary rental to use state and reserve land for recreational and commercial activities; (b) which other Ministries benefited from such concessionary rentals; and (c) whether the land at the old Ministry of Defence and Central Manpower Base along Holland Road is still leased to the Ministry of Defence.

*40. Mr Png Eng Huat: To ask the Minister for Defence in light of the Report of the Auditor-General for FY2013/14 on land sublet at below fair market value (a) how many years of nominal rental of $45 a year did the privatised contractor enjoy before the annual rental was revised to $0.83 million; and (b) whether there is any attempt to clawback the rental from the privatised company.

*45. Mr Png Eng Huat: To ask the Minister for Education in light of the Report of the Auditor-General for FY2013/14 where $2.16 million in housing allowances are paid by the Ministry to its officers for the period April 2012 to December 2013 (a) who are the beneficiaries of the allowances; (b) what is the breakdown of the beneficiaries by nationality; and (c) what are the qualifying criteria for such allowances.

sengkang

Participate in the 2015 Calendar Photography Competition, themed: “Neighbourhood Stories @ Aljunied-Hougang-Punggol East Town”!
12 Winners will each stand to win prizes worth $200 each and the winning entries will be featured in the 2015 Calendar, which will be distributed to all the HDB households in our town. Check out the poster or this link - http://www.ahpetc.sg/2015-calendar-photography-competition/ for more details!

10498444_905401316143145_247710184707193205_o.jpg