• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

[Singapore] - Parents upset with ridiculously tough Primary 6 Maths!

UltimaOnline

http://www.todayonline.com/Voices/EDC120502-0000026/Standards-are-unrealistic

Apart from the main article itself, check out the hundreds of unhappy parents' posts (bottom of article), angrily demanding that MOE change the curriculum syllabus. The main complaint is that kids in Singapore have no time to enjoy their childhood as kids (like they do in other countries such as Europe and America), but (here in Singapore) all children are instead endlessly and unhappily stressed by ridiculous amounts of schoolwork and the ridiculously tough primary 6 mathematics.

And after being stressed out, what do SG kids gain in return? Being sidelined by foreign kids a few years their senior and on free scholarship in the same class!

We laugh at Ang Mo kids who spent their entire primary schools drawing and colouring. They then spend the secondary schools going for visits, student exchange and taking part in various projects of their own choosing. They then spend cramming during their Pre U for the A level exams.

Yet they invent things we use, they make movies that we watch, we wear the clothes they design, we read the books they write, use their medicine that they discovered, listen to their songs they write, sip the drinks they concoct, we send our kids to universities that they build and follow their western ways.

To pay for the above, we manage cheap labour to build their phones, sew the clothes they design and print books their write, operate cinemas that show their movies, run watering holes where their drinks and entertainment are sold, assist them in research laboratories and buy their companies to get a return.

And we pay our cabinet the highest salary in the world.

cocobobo

We laugh at Ang Mo kids who spent their entire primary schools drawing and colouring. They then spend the secondary schools going for visits, student exchange and taking part in various projects of their own choosing. They then spend cramming during their Pre U for the A level exams.

Yet they invent things we use, they make movies that we watch, we wear the clothes they design, we read the books they write, use their medicine that they discovered, listen to their songs they write, sip the drinks they concoct, we send our kids to universities that they build and follow their western ways.

To pay for the above, we manage cheap labour to build their phones, sew the clothes they design and print books their write, operate cinemas that show their movies, run watering holes where their drinks and entertainment are sold, assist them in research laboratories and buy their companies to get a return.

a point so true it deserves reposting - hope to see this flogged on fb
icon_thumbsup.gif

• icon_thumbsup.gif
    icon_thumbsup.gif
    131 bytes · Views: 147

ZorrorroZ

But, but.... we are World Number 1 in everything.... I saw in the Straits Times... it must be true!

earnestball

But, but.... we are World Number 1 in everything.... I saw in the Straits Times... it must be true!

the key is to be number 1 in your own life on your own terms. u can't possibly live yr life thru someone else, or make someone else live his life thru you - socially engineered, or social engineering. it has all been for the son.

earnestball

very true. we like to beat ourselves up. all the things we are seeing today from MRT to floods etc are very telling that we do not know what we are talking, and we do not know what we are doing. the world class syndrome and orgies i.e. spending sprees or buying over loyalty, 'solutions' etc of 2nd gen ministers are over. If we do not learn to help ourselves, who can be trusted to help us? If we cannot think for ourselves, who will think for us?

earnestball

I heard over radio this morning that A/P PS at the IPS Pop Forum suggesting getting rid of PSLE. I agree. The pri sch system is so out of sync with the upper levels. E.g. PSLE high scorers could jolly well have done so bcos of over emphasis on multiple choice questions whereas writing and oral skills are crucial post-PSLE. High PSLE scorers do not necessarily do well later on.

pretender

very true. we like to beat ourselves up. all the things we are seeing today from MRT to floods etc are very telling that we do not know what we are talking, and we do not know what we are doing. the world class syndrome and orgies i.e. spending sprees or buying over loyalty, 'solutions' etc of 2nd gen ministers are over. If we do not learn to help ourselves, who can be trusted to help us? If we cannot think for ourselves, who will think for us?

but but sinkies are too timid , selfish to help themselves.
only things the sinkies do and concern are
1] price of hdb flat keep going up
2] work like slave to keep the job , to impress the boss , yes man to the boss.
3] obey the government .
4] quietly accept all price increased after making some empty noise.
5] when in other country , act as if he is the smartest and richest there.

earnestball

they hv been intimidated into learning the wrong needs. Learning is a primary function of existence. People need to be whole but here the mentality inculcated is one of dependency and subservience to authority.

"The authority of those who teach is often an obstacle to those who want to learn." - Cicero

"A teacher is one who makes himself progressively unnecessary." - Thomas Carruthers

congo9

http://www.todayonline.com/Voices/EDC120502-0000026/Standards-are-unrealistic

Apart from the main article itself, check out the hundreds of unhappy parents' posts (bottom of article), angrily demanding that MOE change the curriculum syllabus. The main complaint is that kids in Singapore have no time to enjoy their childhood as kids (like they do in other countries such as Europe and America), but (here in Singapore) all children are instead endlessly and unhappily stressed by ridiculous amounts of schoolwork and the ridiculously tough primary 6 mathematics.

Same old story, they are separating the A* from A students !! That how ancient Qing imperial scholastic work !

UltimaOnline

On a related note :

Are children being stifled by ‘model answers’?“I will not give up the pear".

Shin Min Daily News

A netizen recently posed a question on whether schools are stifling the creativity of children with expected answers to open-ended questions.

The man had uploaded an image of a marked worksheet that his son had attempted in school.

On the worksheet was the story of a boy named Kong Rong.

Kong Rong had picked up a smaller fruit from a basket of pears so that his elder brother could have the larger one.

The pupils were asked what they thought the moral of this story was. “If you were Kong Rong, what would you do?”, the students were asked.

The boy who attempted the question answered: “I will not give up the pear.”

This was marked by the teacher as a wrong answer.

Wondering if there is really a ‘correct answer’ to the question, the boy’s father posted the worksheet onto the Internet.

“Did Kong Rong really have to give up the pear?” he asked.

“Are kids wrong if they don’t do the same?” he added.

These are just some of the questions raised in the wave of discussion sparked by the post.

Despite the apparent outrage, local primary school teachers all agree that they will similarly cross out the pupil’s answer as the wrong one.

Speaking to reporters, a primary school Chinese teacher, known only as Ms Zhuang, 27, said, “If the pupil had also explained and justified why he would not give up the pear, it could be seen as an expression of creativity. But if it’s not justified, the answer will be wrong.”

“We are looking for an answer that fits the moral conduct taught to pupils in the lesson. In the story, Kong Rong’s action exemplified the spirit of courtesy and consideration. The answer would only portray a selfish mindset in the pupil,” she added.

A primary school English teacher, known only as Mr Yang, 37, felt that whether the answer is accepted will depend on the model answers provided by the examiner.

The answer given by the boy here is, however, against traditional Chinese values and morals.

“If my student gave such an answer, I may feedback to his or her parents about their child’s mindset,” he said.

Shin Min Daily News also spoke to 15 primary school students to find out what they would do if they were Kong Rong.

Five of the kids did not know who Kong Rong was, while the other ten all said they would give up the pear.

But at least one student offered a different solution.

“I would cut the pear in half and share it with my brother instead,” said the pupil.

Source: Shin Min Daily News, 30 April 2012. Click here for the Chinese report.

-------------------------------------------------------

UltimaOnline's version :

KongRong : "Ya know what guys? Screw the silly pears. I'll buy you guys lunch at Macdonalds!"

KongRong's brothers : "Yeah, that's our bro!"

KongRong's father (nodding to himself) : "I've raised KongRong well..."

ochohoho.gif