• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Paying Tips for Services in USA

Remember to stick the money into the cleavage of the waitress. That's basic courtesy in America.

Bro, outdated. Latest practice is pull the panty liner and put the note there. For waiters. She will give you a friendly slap, sometime very hard but it part of the culture.

Remember to stick the money into the cleavage of the waitress. That's basic courtesy in America.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
15% for average service expectation, 10% for below average service expection and 20% for above average service expectation, rounded up to the next dollar of course.

Agree but i always got poor service, also depending on where you go i guess.

One time i gave 5 USD to a taxi driver for a very short trip, he held it high and then dropped my baggage on the road.
Another time, gave 10 USD to a bell hop, didn't say anything just go off without even a thank you.

Always always tip the waiter/waitress appropriately if you think there is even a 5% chance you will go back there.
For they will remember you and next time give you "extras".

I almost never use porter, concierge or bellhop services when I'm in US (or anywhere). I travel very light with one- or two-piece luggage that I can handle very well by myself. I can find my own way around the airport, hotel and town, thank you. My tips are usually for the chambermaids, waiters/waitresses.

However, that's for traveling alone. I just carry some formal wear for necessity of occassion and the rest are old clothings prepared to be worned out and discarded. Later, can shop for some replacement. Traveling with lady companion is different. Take care of the tips all around so that she'll be well looked after.

Leckmichamarsch

Wtf.. Pay 100 food still give 20 tips? Ok I damn stingy, sibe pain like that eat in US, lol

In USA the waitresses get NO basic pay or very low ones...... so they depend on tips to survive. It is really cruel if you dun tip............

Leckmichamarsch

I almost never use porter, concierge or bellhop services when I'm in US (or anywhere). I travel very light with one- or two-piece luggage that I can handle very well by myself. I can find my own way around the airport, hotel and town, thank you. My tips are usually for the chambermaids, waiters/waitresses.

However, that's for traveling alone. I just carry some formal wear for necessity of occassion and the rest are old clothings prepared to be worned out and discarded. Later, can shop for some replacement. Traveling with lady companion is different. Take care of the tips all around so that she'll be well looked after.

Dominic Strass Kahn, former IMF chief also tips chambermaid........ was it for the use of her chamber?

hotbot

i do remember tipping but can't remember how much, the only thing i remember paying for adult film at the hotel...:p

Dominic Strass Kahn, former IMF chief also tips chambermaid........ was it for the use of her chamber?

I think he used his revolver chamber on her firing range.

i do remember tipping but can't remember how much, the only thing i remember paying for adult film at the hotel...:p

In US hotels providing adult channels, there's no need to tip. Just click on the adult channel and on it. The fee will be added to your final bill on check-out.

Don't waste your time tipping cab drivers in the US or anywhere else. The experience is so mixed. So nowdays unless it was pleasant, not a penny.

Agree but i always got poor service, also depending on where you go i guess.

One time i gave 5 USD to a taxi driver for a very short trip, he held it high and then dropped my baggage on the road.
Another time, gave 10 USD to a bell hop, didn't say anything just go off without even a thank you.

Always always tip the waiter/waitress appropriately if you think there is even a 5% chance you will go back there.
For they will remember you and next time give you "extras".

steffychun

Hi Guys, any tips on how much to pay tips say

1. in a restaurant

2. bell boy

3. taxi

4. room service

If the receipt says there is a service charge of 20% do I still need to pay?

You pay as little. Unless you are Gopalan Nair, and suck their ass and pay 100% tip

Don't waste your time tipping cab drivers in the US or anywhere else. The experience is so mixed. So nowdays unless it was pleasant, not a penny.

In US taxi, should depend on luggage being helped with. I never travel in taxi to or fro airport to town. Always figure out the train or bus. Like I've said earlier, I always travel light. However, to be fair, when I take taxi, I always add a dollar for under US$10 or two dollars for above US$10 and say keep the change. If you have luggage needing help from the cabbie, add US$1 per piece or US$2 per big heavy piece. This reminds me of the Quan Yifeng incident in Singapore.

1. 15% is about right for restaurants. that's typically over the top of the bill after tax. tax in california for sit down food service is about 8.9%. if check has already factored in service charge, sometimes 18% in casinos or resorts with a lot of customers, you can still tip extra 3-5% if you are impressed with the service. otherwise, don't tip extra.

2. usd5 per couple for bell hop will do for any number of luggages. they are very appreciative of any tip over usd2.

3. for cabs, it depends on fare. 10% is good enough. 5% if they suck somewhat. cab drivers don't expect tips in california as the meter has already factored in the premiums. most have very poor attitudes as fleets are typically manned by losers from 3rd world countries. for some afghani or ethiopian drivers, a dollar tip goes a long way. in ny, it's a brotherhood, and every cab driver at the big apple expects a big tip. i don't take cabs in ny. i take the subway. no aggravation with traffic jams.

4. when in doubt, tip two. they'll forgive you as tourists. always carry loose change or a lot of ones in your wallet.

1. 15% is about right for restaurants. that's typically over the top of the bill after tax. tax in california for sit down food service is about 8.9%. if check has already factored in service charge, sometimes 18% in casinos or resorts with a lot of customers, you can still tip extra 3-5% if you are impressed with the service. otherwise, don't tip extra.

2. usd5 per couple for bell hop will do for any number of luggages. they are very appreciative of any tip over usd2.

3. for cabs, it depends on fare. 10% is good enough. 5% if they suck somewhat. cab drivers don't expect tips in california as the meter has already factored in the premiums. most have very poor attitudes as fleets are typically manned by losers from 3rd world countries. for some afghani or ethiopian drivers, a dollar tip goes a long way. in ny, it's a brotherhood, and every cab driver at the big apple expects a big tip. i don't take cabs in ny. i take the subway. no aggravation with traffic jams.

4. when in doubt, tip two. they'll forgive you as tourists. always carry loose change or a lot of ones in your wallet.

Thanks eatshitndie. Yesterday I tipped the bell hop $10. He is very nice, came in to tuen on the aircon for us and teach us how to adjust the bed hardness/softness. I did not tip the guy who brought our dinner cos 20% already factored in. As for the cab driver I already paid him $20 (min charge) for a 500m drive to the hotel so I did not give him any tip, but then he seem very helpful and also appreciative, oh and I got the $20 back from the hotel. Ok I have a plastic bag full of coins from my last visit 7 years ago.

Ok going to the lobby for breakfast now.

good to know that you have arrived safely, got your mifi, connected to the web, adapted to new body clock, and adjusted to life as a visitor to california. welcome! so far, you're doing everything right. :biggrin:

I think ang moh usually call it gratuity... anyone knows?

gratuity, appreciation, loose change, bonus, angpow, whatever, it's all the same. europeans appreciate even the smallest change. only americans are obsessed with tipping, and we spoil the market in asia and europe when we travel.

lately got la bro....not all but some of the smaller restaurants have begun doing this....so look carefully...eyes open big big.

really, but i got this in London, this restaurant call ANGUS STEAKHOUSE, the waiter gave me the receipt and mention service tax not included. He then mention it is around 12% extra.

They have new strawberry milkshake - truely the best milkshake ever, just magic.