• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chiobu honours student quits uni to help at boyfriend's chicken rice stall

From honours student to selling chicken rice

Lianhe Wanbao - 42 mins ago

pc_600x450.jpg
<cite style="display: block; font-style: normal; font-size: 10px; margin-top: 4px; margin-right: 0px; margin-bottom: 4px; margin-left: 0px; ">Ms Eliza Lee, 22, and her fiancé, Mr Michael Bo, 32. (Pic / The New Paper)</cite>
Two years ago, Eliza Lee was just six months from getting her honours degree in Tourism & Hospitality at the Management Development Institute of Singapore.

But the 22-year-old decided to suspend the degree course to help her fiancé sell chicken rice.

Now, she is on her feet 15 hours a day manning a chicken rice stall in a food court in Tampines.

She is doing this for her fiancé, 32-year-old Michael Bo.

Mr Bo has a professional degree in sociology but instead turned to selling chicken rice after completing his national service.

Determined to endure hardship for love, Ms Lee decided to help out Mr Bo at his stall to ease his work load.

Some days, she has to work until 1am in the morning.

Before this, Ms Lee was living a more comfortable life as her parents own a leather bag company.

Now, she has even moved out of her home to stay with Mr Bo in a three-room apartment which he shares with his parents.

Mr Bo revealed to reporters that not many girls could see beyond his blue-collar background like his fiancée.

He added that in his past relationships, his girlfriends had always looked down on him.

Once, an ex-girlfriend had brought him to a friend's new office and lamented to him "if only (he) could also work in an office".

Mr Bo is very thankful for Ms Lee's sacrifice and help at his stall and declared that he will definitely marry her.

"I treasure her a lot. It would be impossible to find someone else like her who is willing to go through hardship with me," he said.

When asked what she liked about him, Ms Lee said: "We never run out of topics to talk about. Sometimes, even our customers have to remind us that we are running a business."

According to her, what is important is that they "share a common goal, which is to start a family and live a good life".

Source: Lianhe Wanbao, 15 April 2012.

bushtucker

"He added that in his past relationships, his girlfriends had always looked down on him."

girls who look down on him are shallow. chicken rice sellers make a lot of money!

vamjok

knn see la, force us to drink sai zhui

our current generation getting stupider and stupider. just 6 months get it over and done with what

Leepotism

"He added that in his past relationships, his girlfriends had always looked down on him."

girls who look down on him are shallow. chicken rice sellers make a lot of money!

True, this man's income is at least $5k a month. Some more, no need to pay income tax.

just 6 months get it over and done with what

Actually getting the degree won't help in running a chicken rice business. But 6 months is a long period for a small business.

Plus if she could have saved a semester's fees ......

Two years ago, Eliza Lee was just six months from getting her honours degree in Tourism & Hospitality at the Management Development Institute of Singapore.

What is the value of this degree?

Probably doing some frontline/junior managerial job in some hotel/tourist attraction/airline etc. May require shift work.

And no, the Tourism Board won't want to hire her, because it's MDIS, not NUS (or NTU).

Yep, being a chicken rice auntie seems like an easy way out. Not that being a hawker is an easy job. But definitely easier that the alternative career option.

If you're a woman and you can convince a man to feed you and put a roof over your head, more power to you.

One sell leather bags, the other sell chicken meat. Both are animal killer...so compatible.

Leather bag sellers don't kill cows, and chicken rice sellers don't kill chickens.

A slaughterhouse would do the killing for them.

Do you have any worthy material to add, or are you stirring shit?

Leather bag sellers don't kill cows, and chicken rice sellers don't kill chickens.

A slaughterhouse would do the killing for them.

Do you have any worthy material to add, or are you stirring shit?

As far as this is concern, they are the unit to feed the demand for animal killings. So they are considered animal killers too.

That's like saying your friends are retarded just because u are.

It means fucktards like you dun understand things looking through the angle of basic intelligence.
it is proven from the way you post.
Well, all sinkies are total fucktard just by reading your fucktard post, ifyou want to see it in this anal way of yours.

vamjok

Actually getting the degree won't help in running a chicken rice business. But 6 months is a long period for a small business.

Plus if she could have saved a semester's fees ......

is either u spend 6k get the degree or throw away 18k get back nothing.

i don't know how to operate a biz so... well no comments since u like that say :(