• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Renovation to your homes

FHBH12

Re: Need some design advice on grills.

Yes will have more lights hung on the walls and maybe candle holders too. We bought this light from Bali few months ago so will probably use this on the walls too. View attachment 21124
Here are some more pictures.
View attachment 21125 had some woodwork done up on the ceiling. The balcony outside of the entertainment room has a nice view of the pool.View attachment 21126View attachment 21127
Decided to leave dining table by the poolside. View attachment 21128

Very cool. Watch out for sharp edges in your pool.

Aisanbo

Can anyone provide contacts of carpenter in JB ?
Or where can I go to search for them ?
Direct carpenter rather than ID or contractor.
Thanks.

potter

Have been following up with developer to do the defects all these weeks..but either getting shoddy work or no progress etc..almost pulling my hair out.:o

KNN!! one morning;last weekend, went to the office....

potter

Wow. Poor thing. Hope it will turn out OK.
Who's the developer?

Thanks for the concern, my SC neighbor!

Guess, many will think that i'm going to bang the table!!! :p

continue...so i went to their small office..looking at their "sian sian" faces.

then ask one of them.. Bro, Coffee;Tea?
they feel a bit paisei at first, but slowly can see that they're very happy to have a kopi to brighten their day.

Drove out and tabao hot hot kopi etc for them and left.

Went back to see see my house ytd. Most of the major defects have been rectified!. :biggrin: And it is within 2-3 days!

So moral of the the story..

Movingaway

Thanks for the concern, my SC neighbor!

Guess, many will think that i'm going to bang the table!!! :p

continue...so i went to their small office..looking at their "sian sian" faces.

then ask one of them.. Bro, Coffee;Tea?
they feel a bit paisei at first, but slowly can see that they're very happy to have a kopi to brighten their day.

Drove out and tabao hot hot kopi etc for them and left.

Went back to see see my house ytd. Most of the major defects have been rectified!. :biggrin: And it is within 2-3 days!

So moral of the the story..

offer kopi/tea to speed up rectification?

nitecrawllerr

Have been following up with developer to do the defects all these weeks..but either getting shoddy work or no progress etc..almost pulling my hair out.:o

KNN!! one morning;last weekend, went to the office....

Wait till u deal with your reno contractors. Real pain in the ass!

Legolad

Just to share.
image.jpg

kaikai

hi all just checking if anyone used kitchen library for your house renovation? would like to check if workmanship is ok

Tekkun

Reno contractors..first thing they do is make a big hole in your wall. Collect money...and tekan more and more money week after week. Lepas tu, they cabut. Talipon tak jawab, Or they will do until last 10% of work. Then they disappear. You got to beg them to come back. Teruk style Malaysian reno contractors.

Bubble

Hi, I'm new to this forum and would appreciate advise from anyone who has done renovations to their Iskandar homes.

We bought a (Subsale) new home and will be embarking on some renovation soon. Received a quote from a contractor (recommended by neighbours) and not sure if the prices are competitive.

Would anyone like to comment on this? Thank you very much.

P/S DESCRIPTION QTY AMOUNT
1. ENTRY AREA
To supply & install 1800mm(L) x 2400mm(H) x 350mm(W) shoe Cabinet with 1 job. RM2200.00
Laminate.

2. YARD AREA
a. To supply & install 1750mm(L) x 1800mm(W) sun louvers with 5mm + 5mm Laminate 1 job. RM3800.00
glass & aluminium.
b. To supply material & labour to erect slab & 900mm(W) x 1800mm(L) decking with 1 job. RM4500.00
Chengai wood.

3. EXTERIOR AREA
a. To supply & install 6000mm(L) x 1500mm(W) sun louvers with polycarbonate. 1 job. RM5600.00
b. To supply & install 9000mm x 3350mm decking with 140mm(W) x 2800mm(H) . 1 job. RM23,450.00
Composite wood.

4. DRY KITCHEN AREA
a. To supply & install 4800mm(L) x 2400mm(H) x 800mm(H) hanging cabinet. 1 job. RM4480.00
b. To supply & install 3900mm(L) x 762mm(H) x 600mm(W) basement cabinet. 1 job. RM3581.20
c. High gloss door for hanging & basement cabinet. 1 job. RM3000.00
d. 3900mm(L) x 600mm(W) x 60mm(THK) Quartz top. 1 job. RM2800.00
e. 600mm(L) x 450mm(W) 1 pc .basin. 1 job. RM1400.00
f. 700mm(H) x 2900mm(L) glass spray with paint. 1 job. RM1900.00

5. 4800mm(L) x 1066mm(H) x 800mm(W) kitchen island cabinet with laminate. 1 job. RM6400.00
6. 4000mm(L) x 800mm(W) x 60mm(THK) Quartz top. 1 job. RM4500.00
a. To box-up 2 pcs pillar with mirror. 1 job. RM4700.00

7. WET KITCHEN AREA
a. To supply & install 1200mm(L) & 800mm(L) x 850mm(H) x 600mm(W) basement 1 job. RM3050.00
Cabinet with laminate.
b. To supply & install 1800mm(L) & 900mm(L) x full height hanging cabinet 1 job. RM4200.00
1800mm(L) x 1800mm(L) Quartz top. 1 job. RM3360.00
c. 800mm(L) x 450mm(W) 2 bowl basin. 1 job. RM2300.00
d. 800mm(L) x full height x 8mm(THK) tempered glass. 1 pc. RM1850.00
e. 1200mm(L) x 2100mm(H) D/L sliding door with completed set. 1 job. RM3800.00

8. ROOM 1 AREA(MASTER BEDROOM)
a. 2700mm(L) x 2400mm(H) x 600mm(W) wardrobe with laminate. 1 job. RM4950.00
b. 1066mm(L) x 2000mm(H) x 1016mm(W) shower screen. 1 job. RM1800.00
c. 1800mm(L) x 600mm(H) x 400mm(W) Vanity cabinet. 1 job. RM2100.00
d. 1800mm(L) x 1200mm(H) x 75mm(THK) mirror. 1 job. RM1600.00

9. ROOM 2 AREA
a. 4550mm(L) x 250mm(H) x 3000mm(W) platform with laminate floor. (conceal storage 1 job. RM5300.00
space)
b. Design bedside with pvc cushion. 1 job. RM800.00
c. 1800mm(L) x 2000mm(H) shower screen. 1 job. RM2400.00
d. Vanity cabinet & mirror. 1 job. RM1900.00
e. 1500mm(L) x 2400mm(H) x 600mm(W) wardrobe with laminate. 1 job. RM3000.00
f. 1800mm(L) x 762mm(H) x 450mm(W) study table & cabinet. 1 job. RM1800.00

10. ROOM 3 AREA
a. 3556mm(L) x 250mm(H) x 3500mm(W) platform with laminate floor. (conceal storage 1 job. RM4800.00
space)
b. Design bedside with pvc cushion. 1 job. RM650.00
c. 1000mm(L) x 762mm(W) shower screen. 1 job. RM1600.00
d. 900mm(L) x 750mm(H) x 400mm(W) vanity cabinet & 900mm(L) x 1000mm(H) x 1 job. RM1200.00
70mm(THK)mirror.
e. 1500mm(L) x 2400mm(H) x 600mm(W) wardrobe with laminate. 1 job. RM2850.00

11. GROUNG FLOOR TOILET AREA
a. 800mm(L) x 450mm(H) x 400mm(W) vanity cabinet with laminate & mirror. 1 job. RM1850.00
b. To supply labour to change toilet bowl. 1 job. RM2500.00
c. 900mm(L) x 2000mm(H) shower screen. 1 job. RM1800.00

12. MAID ROOM TOILET AREA
a. 700mm(W) x 2100mm(H) wood door frame & nyatoh plywood door completed set. 1 job. RM1400.00

Maybe very late or too late to comment..anyhow, those quotes are super expensive.Just one item made my jaw drop-LABOUR to change toilet bowl=Rm2500????its a difficult job to do.Yet you have to pay 2x the monthly salary of a labour.Atrocious!!!

SandySwee

Maybe very late or too late to comment..anyhow, those quotes are super expensive.Just one item made my jaw drop-LABOUR to change toilet bowl=Rm2500????its a difficult job to do.Yet you have to pay 2x the monthly salary of a labour.Atrocious!!!
I believe the toilet bowl involve pipe change, otherwise it's really expensive. But this days, things has gone up a fair bit, even my regular contractor is charging about 20 to 30% more for works. I just had an Aircon installed in Singapore and it costs me sin280. An Aircon installation here is about rm150 to 200, so it's still acceptable I guess. Enjoy your Reno.