• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A Singaporean's guide to living in Thailand

Re: A Singaporean's guide to living in Thailand ? Feasible?

Is there a critical mass to get this new section going?

even you settle in first world country, why you want to sabot your follower to move third world shit hole like johor or bangkok.

ah ..not everyone shares that view

obviously not all, but would you want your kids to study in thai school where they brain wash your kid to think that the king is like god. It is a third world whatever you spin it.

erection2015

Alfrescian (InfP) + C

third world perhaps...we can debate that, but shit hole ? Not so nice la.

obviously not all, but would you want your kids to study in thai school where they brain wash your kid to think that the king is like god. It is a third world whatever you spin it.

Study international school lor

HedgeTrader

Seriously I was considering it 3-4 years ago, selling my apartment here can buy 3 apartments there, stay in 1 and rent 2 apartments, no need to work liao, lol

Talk cock king now got good idea LOL

Bro, take up Windsor's and Sam's suggestion. The suggested folder mod would certainly need to be someone who is in such a place, gone thru the pain and the pleasure of setting something in one of these countries.

Frankly the forum is lot more organised than it looks and there is little work as Sam is religious in screening and cleaning the place everyday. As it is not going to be a religious site, there will be some sleaze that is expected but if people stick to the main agenda, it should be ok. Just have a look at Wuqi's folder - simple but very informative - visa, where to find mechanic, football team etc. In your case, you already contributed some, more of the same and the occasional post from Bangkok posts,

Chonburfic can also take a stake in the game as he is also very informative. There is already a resource pool of guys who are familiar with at least one of these coountries - Narong, WIndsor, Ramseth, Alamaking, Drifter,KYP, etc Others like postnews and Singveld will provide photographic coverage for big event etc. like they did during the floods.

At least give it a go. No need to be here all the time, even a short time every days will get things, going.

Bro please don't sahboh because I also don't know anything about operating this forum like points and zaps and whatever crap these are please hor I need to work hor many people in Poseidon depending on me hor. No no no I kindda like the idea of "South East Asia - Our Backyard" by scroobal.

Also I to much sleaze liao I disqualify for anything.

Its like the JB folder, they have no intention of taking up Malaysian citizenship or sending their kids to the school there, more a relief and some variety. If you are a frequent traveller due to business or pleasure, it somehow grows on you and you would want to learn more and get the best of both worlds.

even you settle in first world country, why you want to sabot your follower to move third world shit hole like johor or bangkok.

Raiders

Is there a critical mass to get this new section going?

You can start a section for "A Singaporean's guide to living in S.E.A/Asia" instead. There is a good percentage of Singaporeans living in Vietnam, China, HK as well. I'm willing to contribute in the Vietnam section. :biggrin:

erection2015

Alfrescian (InfP) + C

need to get some moderators. Tonychat, 666 and erection immediately disqualified due poor character traits and low education status.

HedgeTrader

Living In JB sounds too restricted. Emigration Matters sound too serious. Suggest merge together call Guide To Run Road!

Did not realize this thread until moments ago. Can probably share a thing or two about Pattaya.

What those that wanted to retire in Thailand just for the purpose of being able to change hookers girlfriend every week? I personally know of someone here with the plan to retire in Thailand with a "nurse" and "girlfriend" by the seaside.
Such retirement plans with multiple gfs can run out of retirement very easily. :wink:

while we are at it...start one about China too....

there is a bro asking about Shanghai...its good to build on it.
My first choice retirement is Hainan Island.
Narong I don't think most are sex tourists la. Many talk about living and retiring in this country also what its just the distance is much farther than JB so less takers for now. But I must admire the angmohs who are so into coming here a living here for life. Visit http://www.thaivisa.com and you will see all sorts of serious discussions about facilities, requirements, investments etc etc
thavisa dot com is getting extremely commercialized. My competitor is a paid sponsor over there. Negative but true comments about his business are often deleted almost instantly. Overall, still a good site to visit for general info. on LOS.

:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin: yes actually staying here long term need not invest in property, here long term rental apartments with all necessary amenities goes for as low as 4000baht (less than $200) per month. And there are lots to do here in this vast country.
Yes, LOS land laws are unfavorable to foreigners. The only private property a foreigner can own are condominium units. There are ways for foreigners to own land via proxy but will not touch on this.

Seriously I was considering it 3-4 years ago, selling my apartment here can buy 3 apartments there, stay in 1 and rent 2 apartments, no need to work liao, lol
Don't retire while you can still work. Feel good for only first few months. After that, really feel very boring and become really lazy. Everyday, I am struggling to find things to do and it's a torture.

Study international school lor
Yes, choice of most foreigners and even wealthy Thais to send their kids to international school.

Living In JB sounds too restricted. Emigration Matters sound too serious. Suggest merge together call Guide To Run Road!

There was many a time when I wanted to move the "Living in JB" thread to the emigration folder. I resisted the urge and decided I have made the right decision not to do it.

Living in JB is not about emigrating. It's about having your cake and eating it too.

I'm not sure whether "Living in Thailand" has quite the same flavour. I put it halfway between "emigrating" and "living in JB".

The suggestions to lump everything into "Living in SEA" sounds logical but I'm afraid it may dilute things too much. It is always hard to find the right balance between trying to be everything to everyone and specialising by concentrating on a narrow range of specific issues. If you go too far in either direction, it affects participation levels.

Dun dare to say I know alot but when it comes to run road think I can input some info :biggrin:

Talk cock king now got good idea LOL
Its a feasible idea 4-5 years ago, now quite impossible

Don't retire while you can still work. Feel good for only first few months. After that, really feel very boring and become really lazy. Everyday, I am struggling to find things to do and it's a torture.
Of cox lah will take my time there and do some business, definitely...

HedgeTrader

Why now impossible? Now should be better. Price up you sell your house even more money. Then you go Thailand buy car so cheap!

I know of some Ang Mohs (An Aussie and American) doing online business from their Pattaya home. Not sure what they meant by online business but seems to be doing well.

For those thinking about retiring or semi-retiring in LOS. My advice is to stay and recce the particular place for an extended period of time (at least 1 month). 1-2 weeks a little difficult to check out the real environment. The longer you stay, the more things you find out. Some good and some bad things.

For my case, I was lucky to be posted to LOS by my ex-company and so I have more than enough time to check out the place. Did not like the place at all when I first came here. Now? :wink:

I just finished lunch with a female friend Ms. Hazard and her dog, was brought to a very nice but country type of Thai food restaurant out in Rom Klao near the airport. One thing great about Thai ladies they really takes care of the men. Ordered a rack of pork rib and being a man I wanted to cut it but she insists its her responsibility. Someone here just said not getting married in Singapore because of women's charter I say on top of that its the mordern Singapore women's character too. Anyway I got to rush to go massage now with the Singapore couple.

I start a section and put you as moderator. How about that?

Leongsam, I'd love to do this however I got no idea what is the job of the moderator, I'm so pathetic that I just googled and it came up with non-helpful links. If I say I need guidance can you or someone guide me? You see asking these simple questions already malu show I not qualify.