• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A Singaporean's guide to living in Thailand

Breakfast bee-tai-bak soup

ingredients I've choosen include fried fishball, minced pork, sliced pork and tofu with fish paste. 50 baht only or like $2.20

chicken cutlet with cheese

16906885695_a88376fcbc_b.jpg

yinyang

Mixed views on Thais? From Bangkok Post's editorial today, with a tid bit on Taksin

Less than impressed
Opinion: Mixed words about Thais from Singapore’s statesman.

Singapore’s late founding father Lee Kuan Yew was a leader who did not mince his words, especially after he stood down as prime minister in 1990.

He shared his views on regional and global issues in a forthright manner in his books and interviews. And in recent years, there were two areas of caution he expressed about Thailand. First, the military’s interference has resulted in a perpetual state of political uncertainty in the country and has shaken the confidence of investors.

Second, a failure for Thailand and other countries in the region to close economic and social gaps will lead to more protests to demand improvements in the distribution of wealth.

Lee compared Thailand with Myanmar in an essay entitled “Socialism or Free Markets? Consider Myanmar and Thailand”, published by Forbes Magazine in 2012. He said both countries are comparable in size and in the 1960s had similar rates of growth.

While Myanmar chose a closed-door economic policy in 1962 after a coup by Gen Ne Win, Thailand pursued a freemarket economy and became one of Asia’s busiest manufacturing hubs, Lee wrote.

He noted, however, that while elections were held regularly, the army continued to stage coups whenever it considered the government unreliable or going against the monarchy. He warned the repeated cycle of power takeovers has led to political instability in the country.

“Both countries’ governments would do well to remember that it was the open-door policies of free trade and investment that made Thailand prosperous and the passive closed-door policies that held Myanmar back for 50 years,” Lee wrote.

During a seminar on the future of Asia in Tokyo in the same year, Lee said he believed political protesters in Thailand were demanding a more equitable wealth distribution. He said growth in various Asian countries has benefited somewhat while there is a growing disparity in others.

“This is something countries in the region have to be mindful about when they are undertaking their growth strategy,” Singapore’s Minister Mentor said. He added that governments in the region should learn from China, which invested in infrastructure development in inland areas where four major cities that could house as many as 40 million people each are being built.
This is one way to reduce social and economic gaps that could create an unstable country divided between the haves and have-nots, he said.

When it comes to geopolitics, he said Thailand remains far from being a serious challenge to Singapore’s leadership position in the region.

“How high are their skills and education? They have to be better than us,” Lee replied to the question of whether Thailand could be Singapore’s competitor, published in the book, One Man’s View of the World.

He did not believe that Thailand has the ability or the potential to develop the English-language skills and other qualities necessary to attract high-value investments for the majority of its people either.

“First, we have the advantage of the English language. Second, we have an education infrastructure that has been producing high-quality graduates, those from the polytechnics and those from the ITEs. Nobody goes without some skill. Can they develop that for 60 million people spread across the rural areas?” Lee said.

In his view, Bangkok has always resorted to its “bending with the wind” strategy when it comes to foreign policy.

“You know the history of the Thais. When the Japanese were strong and about to attack Southeast Asia, they allowed Japanese troops into Thailand, made it easier for them to move on to Malaysia and Singapore. So whoever is the winning side, whoever is the more powerful side, that is the side they will ally themselves with,” Lee said.

Thailand’s former prime minister Thaksin Shinawatra was impressed with Lee’s nation-building efforts and considers the late statesman his political mentor.

Lee had some praise for Thaksin: “He is much shrewder and smarter than his critics,” he said. Still, Lee maintained reservations about the ousted premier.

He said Thaksin once told him he took a trip by coach all the way from Bangkok to Singapore. After that, Thaksin told Lee he knew what made Singapore tick so he was going to do it the same way.

“I don’t know whether one trip gets him to understand our black box, which has to do with education, skills, training and a cohesive society with equal chances for all,” Lee said.

In case anyone in Siam is interested here you go

please don't zap me

yinyang

A slice of thai scam mango today.

Parents lose B1.7m to job hoax
Scam offered false training for civil posts

The parents of 21 young people were swindled out of 1.7 million baht by a gang who promised to secure jobs for their children in the provincial Social Development and Human Security Office without having to sit the examinations, Roi Et police said.

Pol Col Veerawat Srabua, chief of Muang district police, received a complaint about the con on Saturday from a lawyer acting for the office. He said Ekapong Srihad, 29, his wife, Oy, and a few other men had promised jobs to the children of residents of Ban Non Nam Thaeng and several other villages in tambon Khilek of Pathum Rat district in northeastern Roi Et province.

They told villagers they could put their children to work as officials at the provincial office and bypass the formal exam. All the young people had to do was undertake mental development training for 29 days at Wat Srirat, or Sikaew forest monastery, in tambon Sikaew of Muang district.

They claimed those with a Mathayom 6 or lower vocational education certificate who wished to be C-1 officials had to pay 30,000 baht each. The holders of a diploma or a higher vocational education certificate were to pay 80,000 baht each to be recruited as C-2 officials, and those with a bachelor’s or master’s degree could obtain jobs as C-3 officials for a 120,000-baht fee each.

Parents of 10 young men and 11 women, aged 18-30, were taken in by the fraudulent offer and paid the gang a total of 1.7 million baht, police say. Arrangements were subsequently made for the 21 youths to take the 29-day mental development training course at Wat Srirat. They were instructed to wear Ministry of Social Development and Human Security uniforms throughout the course.
The scam was exposed when Suchart Taisap, chief of the Roi Et development office, was asked about the training by an official from another office who had visited the temple.

Mr Suchart went to see Phra Khru Wichit Pannaporn, the abbot of Wat Srirat, to find out what was going on. The abbot said that in late February a well-dressed man came to see him with a letter asking the temple to provide the training for 21 people between March 1-29.

The man gave the temple 25,000 baht and the abbot agreed. Mr Suchart said the whole saga was made up because his office is not authorised to recruit its own officials. He asked a lawyer to lodge a complaint with Muang district police.

Police on Saturday obtained an arrest warrant for Mr Ekapong and the other members involved in the con trick.
When the police went to the temple on Sunday, there was no sign of the 21 people taking the course. Local villagers said they had left the temple on March 20. Police are investigating the case.

Nice dinner last night, wanted something Chinese and close by

Fish maw with crab meat and egg

Goose web with sea cucumber, shiitake mushroom, unfried fish maw

Steamed Snow fish

At then this

[video=youtube;W-PvQkylZ8M]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W-PvQkylZ8M[/video]

All went very well with brandy

Lu Bu

Nice dinner last night, wanted something Chinese and close by

Fish maw with crab meat and egg

Goose web with sea cucumber, shiitake mushroom, unfried fish maw

Steamed Snow fish

At then this

All went very well with brandy

Be patient kapo. Zap coming soon. The bugger that i outsource to did not do his job. That's right, almost everything thing can be outsource. :biggrin:

Simply trying to leave the highway onto Sukhumvit Road stuck on this filter lane, a slope of about 400m. So far taking 40mins still got time to take video and post here. Knn. Total journey so far 2hrs for less than 20km.

There's a Yakitori restaurant in Sukhumvit Soi 23, Mitsumori, run by Japanese and most of the customers Japanese too.

Really soft tofu

Eaten with katsuobushi - katsuobushi is actually smoked fermented tuna, first time I come across this thick katsuobushi have to say I really like it

With some soya sauce you're good to go

Ok some of the yakitori ordered

Tomatoes

Chicken

Mushroom

Hokkae

First time I've had this

lormee

Breakfast bee-tai-bak soup

ingredients I've choosen include fried fishball, minced pork, sliced pork and tofu with fish paste. 50 baht only or like $2.20

Khun Joe whats bee tak mai known as in Thai har? I see u makan heaps of them but i never seem to be able to find them. maybe i have more luck if i know its Thai name. Mind to share? Thanks in advance

Thats called "giam yee" or saen giam yee.

Froggy, as for me I love all things Thai! But as an aside, my intelligence tells me that Bangkok today is flooding. It seems the skies there also weep for our old Man LKY.:biggrin:

Rainy season is about to start right after Songkrang so it's not surprising and nothing to do with LKY. You don't need intelligence to tell you bangkok flooding, it's a sure thing whenever there's heavy rain it will be followed with spots of ponding.

lormee

A few times, to certify document.

Khun Joe are u registered in their database as well as sger living in Bkk? I myself never bothered coz in all my 9/10 years here ive had 0 dealings with them. If yes would u rec that i do the same?

Monkey during turbulent time when embassy advise so.

Hey you're an old hand here why not post more about what's happening at your end?

These days lots of chinese tourists in Thailand, do give yourself more time to clear security and immigration in Suvarnabhumbi Airport