• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

JB Food

city sq stuff are ex meh? From a sinkie's perspective it's cheap

What about their kopi tiam food?

buffet style

16076874136_7de65c2c0b_b.jpg

Close up

15916907717_402b02695a_b.jpg

Hiap joo bakery and biscuit factory

15480482224_5678079d6f_b.jpg

Look at their menu

15915516650_e2713bcb9f_b.jpg

Banana cake

15483126593_3056e572af_b.jpg

wanton noodles

16101601771_b3e0788716_b.jpg

15917443269_be3dc33c92_b.jpg

15917766267_6da198117b_b.jpg

15917765617_37e9dcf59f_b.jpg

Shabu shabu

15916142188_664931a43a_b.jpg

Raw ingredients

16077784886_b7bf323b77_b.jpg

15917817087_cc9bb8ec15_b.jpg

15483890583_63b7a5b46f_b.jpg

15917824347_52da061852_b.jpg

15481251974_57e7eb0232_b.jpg

Ready to cook

15916146208_e144b0aa02_b.jpg

cooking

16102845092_88e8fb8c29_b.jpg

15917818657_fff515faca_b.jpg

ready to eat

15481252764_7a01a61dbf_b.jpg

congo9

From what i see, JB is getting too expensive.
Local are complaining. But stuff at city square is expensive. Food,Clothing and shoes. It like going to Singapore mall.

Again, market forces will prevail. The $13 toll charges ( to and fro ) have some very negative impact on Johor itself. JB is not as affordable it should be when they are looking over Singapore. Singapore is expensive because of rental and salaries, but JB is expensive because Singaporean spends over there.

Frodo

From what i see, JB is getting too expensive.
Local are complaining. But stuff at city square is expensive. Food,Clothing and shoes. It like going to Singapore mall.

Again, market forces will prevail. The $13 toll charges ( to and fro ) have some very negative impact on Johor itself. JB is not as affordable it should be when they are looking over Singapore. Singapore is expensive because of rental and salaries, but JB is expensive because Singaporean spends over there.

If you all like Pontian noodles, in JB still cheap compared to Singapore. RM6 for large bowl!

matix

The Nasi Lemak sold at Petron petrol station just before the 2nd Link is delicious, but expensive.... RM3.5 (chicken) and RM2.5 (ikan bilis) for a very small packet. I wonder how they make the rice so nice... All my colleagues rave about it and always ask me to buy. Anyone tried it?

Frodo

Would also recommend Sushi Mentai, have a few outlets and the sushi belt have only 2 prices, RM1.80 and RM2.80. Even the sashimi also cheaper than most restaurants and food is reasonably good.

congo9

Would also recommend Sushi Mentai, have a few outlets and the sushi belt have only 2 prices, RM1.80 and RM2.80. Even the sashimi also cheaper than most restaurants and food is reasonably good.

Where is this Sushi Mentai ?

congo9

Differential pricing? But mental conversion to S$2.50....still can say cheap lah.:p

Cannot say cheap what. But the living cost across is so much lower. The income for the local is so much lower. How can that be cheap when you take into consideration that ?

I stop patronizing AH biao wanton mee once it hit RM6. It a total rip off. The portion all remains the same. No bigger portion and not extra meat and wanton. Worst still , they try to charge me a FISH CAKE for RM5. KNS ... I ask them to bring it back.

One thing i learn from patronizing any store, you need to ask for the pricing for any food you order before hand. Even the honest look satay selling Malay Auntie will want a piece of you.

potter

Acceptable price for WTM is RM4 - 4.50.

Malay stalls anyhow charge their dishes nowadays if you are an alien.

Frodo

Cannot say cheap what. But the living cost across is so much lower. The income for the local is so much lower. How can that be cheap when you take into consideration that ?

I stop patronizing AH biao wanton mee once it hit RM6. It a total rip off. The portion all remains the same. No bigger portion and not extra meat and wanton. Worst still , they try to charge me a FISH CAKE for RM5. KNS ... I ask them to bring it back.

One thing i learn from patronizing any store, you need to ask for the pricing for any food you order before hand. Even the honest look satay selling Malay Auntie will want a piece of you.

OK ok, cheap relative to Singapore mah.:p

True true, need to ask price first. We were at Onn Kee at PJ to eat CNY dinner, waiter asked whether we want soup, We say OK, when bill come soup cost RM150, total bill was RM450. Where on earth soup so ex one? We also avoid any restaurant that has menu but no price list.

congo9

OK ok, cheap relative to Singapore mah.:p

True true, need to ask price first. We were at Onn Kee at PJ to eat CNY dinner, waiter asked whether we want soup, We say OK, when bill come soup cost RM150, total bill was RM450. Where on earth soup so ex one? We also avoid any restaurant that has menu but no price list.

It is a rip off.
I would advice families to eat in.

Geminipegasus

If you all like Pontian noodles, in JB still cheap compared to Singapore. RM6 for large bowl!
Oh no, just went & now 7.50. Hawkers here are getting greedy, just like in Singapore. Even the Rojak seller at pasar malam also raised his price by 20% when singapore dollar appreciates 5% against the ringgit. Today I ate at Hoppy roast duck near holiday plaza, costs 17 rm for noodle withe roast duck and roast pork. That's even more expensive than in Singapore. After that I saw an air conditioned eatery in ksl distributing shabu shabu buffet for only 19.50 rm. Going to try tomorrow.

Legolad

Got Assam Laksa, Teh Tarik, Mee Bandung, Chendol and fruits from Agrobazaar Malaysia. Starts today!
Malaysia Fair 2.jpg