Page 449 of 497 FirstFirst ... 349399439447448449450451459 ... LastLast
Results 8,961 to 8,980 of 9924

Thread: Living in JB 2 (Johore)

My Reputation Points: 10 / Power: 0

Default Re: Living in JB 2 (Johore)

Hi,

Any reliable and good childcare toddlers/playschool to recommend in nusajaya (horizon hills, nusa idaman and bukit indah area) area? Cheers.

My Reputation Points: 1213 / Power: 5

Quote Originally Posted by jasonjst View Post
    How Legoland can affect housing values nearby ? I mean residence will only go there once in a while right ?
    Quote Originally Posted by Funds Transfer View Post
    I very much doubt that Legoland impacts on the real estate prices directly. However, if enough visitors travel there for their holidays, whether they are Malaysians, Singaporeans or other foreigners, it would change their mindset on life there and possibly increase the likelihood of residency in Nusajaya.

This change in perception may help.
    Quote Originally Posted by crystal_tiong View Post
    Perhaps for ppl who are working there with higher salary might buy /rent a house there to ease the daily commuting ...
    After all, there is another indoor theme park which gg to open end of the year ....
    That's what I think as well. I think the main benefit for Nusajaya is the news coverage of Legoland as it is an international theme park.
    - The opening of legoland in Nusajaya City will be announced in prime time TV news of Malaysia and its neighbouring countries like Singapore, Indonesia, Brunei, Thailand etc.
    - It'll also appear in many newspapers in the countries mentioned above.
    - Tour/holiday advertisers will include this new 'Legoland Malaysia' package.

All these news and advertisements will reach out to many millions of people in this part of the world who still don't know about the progress of Iskandar.
    Presently, with nothing in Nusajaya City, people all around this region have no reason to visit this upcoming city.
    With Legoland, Medini's Lifestyle Retail Mall and Puteri Harbour's Indoor theme park opening this year. Together with the news and tour advertisements, visitorship to Nusajaya will increase tremendously as compared to present. Think about it, in order to reach out to so many millions of people, how much do UEM or BN have to pay in the advertising and marketing of Iskandar? It'll be multi million dollars.

Many of these visitors might become potential home buyers in Nusajaya, just like what Fund Transfer mentioned above.
    With such an increase in visitorship to Nusajaya, there's no logic that demand will become lower than present when all other factors affecting demand remains constant.
    Demand from the middle to high income earners working in Legoland on rental/purchase of properties here cannot be denied too, as mentioned by Crystal_Tiong.

What about those international universities in Educity Nusajaya? How does it affect property prices?
    Many property investors like to invest in properties near international schools because of the good rental demand.
    Educity will host 8 international universities eventually. NewCastle Uni opened last year, Marlborough College and University of Southampton will open this year and more international Universities will subsequently open in 2013, 2014 and 2015. Not forgetting Pinewood studios which will employ many times more employees than Legoland.
    Presently, rental yield for some landed properties in Nusajaya is very attractive at above 7%(based on current market price).
    This attractive rental yield will attract property investor to invest, thus increasing demand for the purchase of properties in Nusajaya.
    As all of us know, increase in demand = increase in price.
    Last edited by Investor; 30-07-2012 at 05:46 PM.

My Reputation Points: 21 / Power: 0

Quote Originally Posted by RedsYNWA

Havent viewed Straits View yet, but the pictures look v nice. Bro, are you the only member who has bought a project there? I didnt see other names on the list of properties. I have also found this to be an interesting project due to its proximity to causeway but its probably too big for my small family size.....haha
    Guess I'm the only one in this forum that have bought a unit there. I've been to a number of developments but I like it best there because of its exclusitivity. The lap pool, tennis court and clubhouse is like 1 min walk away...

I also went to leisure farm again recently. From the plots of land that are for sale, you can virtually stand there and see legoland!

Quote Originally Posted by Lord Aragorn View Post
    Guess I'm the only one in this forum that have bought a unit there. I've been to a number of developments but I like it best there because of its exclusitivity. The lap pool, tennis court and clubhouse is like 1 min walk away...

I also went to leisure farm again recently. From the plots of land that are for sale, you can virtually stand there and see legoland!
    The houses look very nice from the pic. What type of houses are available in this development? You've bought a bungalow?

My Reputation Points: 28 / Power: 0

Quote Originally Posted by Investor View Post
    That's what I think as well. I think the main benefit for Nusajaya is the news coverage of Legoland as it is an international theme park.
    - The opening of legoland in Nusajaya City will be announced in prime time TV news of Malaysia and its neighbouring countries like Singapore, Indonesia, Brunei, Thailand etc.
    - It'll also appear in many newspapers in the countries mentioned above.
    - Tour/holiday advertisers will include this new 'Legoland Malaysia' package.

All these news and advertisements will reach out to many millions of people in this part of the world who still don't know about the progress of Iskandar.
    Presently, with nothing in Nusajaya City, people all around this region have no reason to visit this upcoming city.
    With Legoland, Medini's Lifestyle Retail Mall and Puteri Harbour's Indoor theme park opening this year. Together with the news and tour advertisements, visitorship to Nusajaya will increase tremendously as compared to present. Think about it, in order to reach out to so many millions of people, how much do UEM or BN have to pay in the advertising and marketing of Iskandar? It'll be multi million dollars.

Many of these visitors might become potential home buyers in Nusajaya, just like what Fund Transfer mentioned above.
    With such an increase in visitorship to Nusajaya, there's no logic that demand will become lower than present when all other factors affecting demand remains constant.
    Demand from the middle to high income earners working in Legoland on rental/purchase of properties here cannot be denied too, as mentioned by Crystal_Tiong.

What about those international universities in Educity Nusajaya? How does it affect property prices?
    Many property investors like to invest in properties near international schools because of the good rental demand.
    Educity will host 8 international universities eventually. NewCastle Uni opened last year, Marlborough College and University of Southampton will open this year and more international Universities will subsequently open in 2013, 2014 and 2015. Not forgetting Pinewood studios which will employ many times more employees than Legoland.
    Presently, rental yield for some landed properties in Nusajaya is very attractive at above 7%(based on current market price).
    This attractive rental yield will attract property investor to invest, thus increasing demand for the purchase of properties in Nusajaya.
    As all of us know, increase in demand = increase in price.
    It is not correct to simply say increase in demand = increase in price.
    More correct to say increase in price will happen when demand outstrip supply.

Also increase in investor demand (not residence demand) = increase in price volatility.

Only when there is increase in residence demand with limited supply, then will there be steady price increase.

Be more concerned with your character than your reputation, because your character is what you really are, while your reputation is merely what others think you are – John Wooden.

My Reputation Points: 23 / Power: 0

Quote Originally Posted by Newbie2012 View Post

Also increase in investor demand (not residence demand) = increase in price volatility.

Only when there is increase in residence demand with limited supply, then will there be steady price increase.
    Well said!

My Reputation Points: 29 / Power: 0

HDB has stepped up its efforts against illegal subletting (TODAY PAPER)

Owners who try to circumvent the HDB's rules by locking up one room n subletting the rest of d flat without physically staying in it will be regarded as having engaged in u authorized subletting of the entire flat.
    HDB have been stepping up enforcement against unauthorized subletting, besides conducting checks n planned inspections . Unauthorized subletting - including imposing financial penalties or compulsorily acquiring their flats
    Bro n sis, do take note.

My Reputation Points: 53 / Power: 2

HDD comes with the content already? INteresting.

Quote Originally Posted by bbbear View Post
    No need buy cd ler. Will install hdd system. Cheapest starting from rm1k. Hi end bat rm3k that can be controlled via ur own tablets.
    - always online
    away from home

My Reputation Points: 29 / Power: 0

Owners who try to circumvent the HDB's rules by locking up one room n subletting the rest of d flat without physically staying in it will be regarded as having engaged in u authorized subletting of the entire flat.
    HDB have been stepping up enforcement against unauthorized subletting, besides conducting checks n planned inspections . Unauthorized subletting - including imposing financial penalties or compulsorily acquiring their flats
    Bro n sis, do take note.

My Reputation Points: 16 / Power: 0

No need buy cd ler. Will install hdd system. Cheapest starting from rm1k. Hi end bat rm3k that can be controlled via ur own tablets.

Yup. I m extending bathroom with glass. All hacking work done. Glass track installed by tomorrow. Followed by tiles work.
    Hi bro bbbear,

You seems to be very knowledgeable in audio system, are you familiar with "black record player"? Any recommended brand to look for? My uncle looking for one for his entertainment room...thanks

Black record player.jpg

Smile Re: Living in JB 2 (Johore)

Agree that I shouldn't have just simply stated 'demand' factor in the last sentence. I stated earlier saying that 'if all other factors affecting demand remain constant'. You've stated it accurately.
    Last edited by Investor; 31-07-2012 at 02:15 AM.

My Reputation Points: 67 / Power: 3

20120730_213837_july3012_boschler.jpg

Size of campus a big draw

S'pore PR to move his kids to M'sian branch of English public school Marlborough College. -TNP
    Zul Othman

Tue, Jul 31, 2012
    The New Paper

When the Malaysian branch of the English public school Marlborough College takes in its first batch of students next month, Mr David Bochsler's two children will be part of the pioneer batch.

The Canadian, 40, will move the kids - aged eight and six - to Marlborough from the Canadian International School Singapore, which they are now attending.

Until recently, they commuted to the campus in Lakeside, Jurong West, from their home in the Johor district of Nusajaya.

Mr Bochsler - a Singapore permanent resident since 2007 - moved to Johor Baru about three years ago because of his business, Exhale Group, which designs luxury homes there.

He says he needed to be closer to the builders and clients, although he commutes to the physical office in Robinson Road every day.

He tells The New Paper on Sunday: "My roots are still in Singapore because that is where I work. But we decided to move our children over to Marlborough because of the facilities and the size of the campus, which is located just 7km from where we are now."

He says he is attracted by the name of the school and the type of education it offers.

Malborough's 36.4ha campus in Iskandar, Malaysia, is the elite English school's first overseas campus.

Targeting children of locals and expatriates in Malaysia, Singapore and elsewhere in the region, its fees range from RM56,000 (S$22,000) a year for the youngest to RM126,000 a year for boarding seniors.

The fees, Mr Bochsler adds, is not much different from the $20,000 a year he pays for each of his children at the Canadian International School.

"The standard of living in Johor is much lower, so I save some money, but Marlborough, I felt, had a lot to offer for my children's education," he explains.

He knows that there are other parents from his children's school who are moving their kids to Marlborough College as well.

Other expatriate parents are considering the move, too.

Some, like Australian marketing consultant James Webbs, are even moving to Johor to be near the school.

He relocated to Johor last year so that his eight-year-old son, who studied at an international school here, could be enrolled in Marlborough College.

"They are very big on student and teacher interaction... plus there will be an added focus on languages, music and sports, which was a pull for us when considering the school," adds the 45-year-old. Marlborough's primary-level programme - which Mr Bochsler's children will attend - will be an English- based preparatory school curriculum.

The curriculum will be supported by a wide range of academic extension and enrichment activities through lectures, debates, poetry readings, conference and concerts aimed at producing a "well-balanced educated person".

While it could not provide exact figures, Mr Robert Pick, the master of Marlborough College Malaysia, tells TNPS in a telephone interview that about half the inaugural batch of 300 students, aged five to 15, will comprise children living across the Causeway.

Most are children of expatriates based in Singapore.

The rest are Singaporeans who will commute to the school, he adds.

"The dominant student population will be children of expatriates from around the world," adds Mr Pick, who was the deputy principal of Marlborough College in Britain.

"At last count, we have students holding 60 different kinds of passports, thus making us a truly international school."

It will eventually enrol up to 1,350 students, he adds.

The parent school began exploring the idea of expansion in 2005.

Singapore, Hong Kong, China, India and Malaysia had previously expressed interest in hosting a branch.

But Mr Pick says that the parent school chose Malaysia because it could provide "a large piece of land and they believed in education and were not in it to make money".

Mr Pick admits that the expensive price tag won't be for everyone.

But the price tag comes with facilities that include equestrian sports, multiple tennis and squash courts, and a lake for canoeing and fishing, among others.

Mr Pick says the long-term plan is to establish a global network of Marlborough schools with the intention that students can exchange between the schools.

He adds: "I am hoping the first student exchange between the two colleges will happen next year... These culture exchanges will be very important for our students because it will enhance the opportunity for the young person to be truly global."

Source:
    http://news.asiaone.com/News/Latest%...30-362342.html

My Reputation Points: 18 / Power: 0

Quote Originally Posted by nickyu View Post
    Hi bro bbbear,

You seems to be very knowledgeable in audio system, are you familiar with "black record player"? Any recommended brand to look for? My uncle looking for one for his entertainment room...thanks

Black record player.jpg
    Ha.. my knowledge is jus merely entry level... I dun even have a hi-end system.. jus trying to get decent sound within my budget.

For this vinyl record player.. guess u really need to seek for experts. Sorry, i can't help much here.

My Reputation Points: 16 / Power: 0

Ha.. my knowledge is jus merely entry level... I dun even have a hi-end system.. jus trying to get decent sound within my budget.

For this vinyl record player.. guess u really need to seek for experts. Sorry, i can't help much here.
    haha okay...guess at least u know more than me thanks anyway

Oh by the way, is your Buddha quote meant for me?

My Reputation Points: 27 / Power: 0

Quote Originally Posted by Sanur View Post

Bro n sis, do take note.
    FYI, the HDB officers do checks even during odd hours and irregular intervals. They may conduct spot check at 1am and follow by another at 5am the following day. Normally on weekdays and mid night base on past experience. On one occasion, they waited more than half an hour to check on us.
    Last edited by Stevewish; 31-07-2012 at 05:16 AM.

My Reputation Points: 122 / Power: 2

Quote Originally Posted by Stevewish View Post
    FYI, the HDB officers do checks even during odd hours and irregular intervals. They may conduct spot check at 1am and follow by another at 5am the following day. Normally on weekdays and mid night base on past experience. On one occasion, they waited more than half an hour to check on us.
    huh , wake ppl up @ 1am wee hours to do spot check ????

Quote Originally Posted by crystal_tiong View Post
    huh , wake ppl up @ 1am wee hours to do spot check ????
    I guess they did that in a response to a complain. They can't be performing random checks at such wee hours right? If they do, they'll definitely receive many complains from all those innocent citizens.
    Last edited by Investor; 31-07-2012 at 06:12 AM.

My Reputation Points: 122 / Power: 2

I guess they did that in a response to a complain. They can't be performing random checks at such wee hours right? If they do, they'll definitely receive many complains from all those innocent citizens.
    ya lor , doesnt make sense ...

Stevenwish

is it yr neighbours complain u ?
    Last edited by crystal_tiong; 31-07-2012 at 06:26 AM.

My Reputation Points: 28 / Power: 0

Oh by the way, is your Buddha quote meant for me?
    No lah, it is not for you. Started including my signature in other threads when I thought that some forumer might need some spiritual help.

It is okay to make mistake, to be purely mistaken and even bias but purposefully spouting the untruth with ill intention will need the "care" of Budhha.

Be more concerned with your character than your reputation, because your character is what you really are, while your reputation is merely what others think you are – John Wooden.