• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Sg Electricity price is 82% higher than Hong Kong

2lanu

KNN, white scum conning peasants to cough more blood money again!!!

Oct 27, 2008
ELECTRICITY PRICES

82% higher here than in Hong Kong

THE recent jump in the electricity tariff has left many wondering what was the rationale. Is the oil price the only culprit?

Fuel is not the only component cost of electricity. Buildings and infrastructure, plant and machinery depreciation, maintenance, insurance, manpower, distribution grid and management costs are substantial expenditure in the total production of electricity.

Forum writers have pointed out that Singapore's electricity is more expensive than in the United States and France. Some ask for transparency, while others wish the price to remain, in view of the economic downturn. The authority does not seem willing to help. Should we cut household electricity usage back to 1970s level?

Everyone should save electricity, but there is a limit, unless we curtail our lifestyle to the extreme. More development, population growth and a higher standard of living increase electricity demand. Is it helpful to punish existing consumers who try their best to save?

Let us examine Singapore's 'twin city' of Hong Kong with a similar vibrant lifestyle and standard of living, and try to understand if Singaporeans, for all their hard work, enjoy the same public utility in good times or bad times.

Like Singapore, Hong Kong imports all its fuel and pays similar volatile fuel prices. Hong Kong does not enjoy the advantages of piped natural gas. Neither has nuclear power and both operate on the same business model - free market pricing.

=> Really?

I don't know how Hong Kong pegs its electricity tariff, but I am sure power generation companies know the production costs of electricity to work out competitive tariff rates to consumers. Unless Hong Kong gets very cheap oil, there is no reason why its tariff is so much lower.

However, people in Hong Kong pay an electricity tariff at 88 Hong Kong cents (17 Singapore cents) per unit. Why should Singaporeans pay 31 cents per unit - a whopping 82 per cent higher?

Paul Chan

R4g3

they will claim that HK is using coal which is the reason for the price different, and coal causes pollution which is not a good choice.

But i have read somewhere that only 1 out of the 4 power plant is using coal. So we might need some stats and info here to have a clearer picture.

2lanu

If coal really that cheap, we should go for it! Or tell them to run treadmill to generate electricity for nation. Burn some of their fats too!

shOUTloud

please lah, Singapore Power dun give a fucking damn one lah.

They will act only when the MNCs kaopeh kaotiu and threaten to move out of Singapore. Remember the great blackout a couple of years ago. The government never apologised to the people and when Vivian Balakrishnan was scolding the power suppliers, he was citing complaints from the MNCs.

Again, the normal citizens go and eat shit.

etherc

Sillyporeans must keep quiet like the good citizens they used to be, continue to vote "wisely" and stop questioning how the scholars&/ex military men run their business. Leave the big issues, big money and country running to them. We are just the Lilliputians unlike the omni talented giants. We must stand on the shoulders of these giants and look far into the horizon. Take the bitter pill even if you aren't ill, its good for you. It trains you to be resilient, to be able to take the prick in the @55!

no_faith

please lah, Singapore Power dun give a fucking damn one lah.

They will act only when the MNCs kaopeh kaotiu and threaten to move out of Singapore. Remember the great blackout a couple of years ago. The government never apologised to the people and when Vivian Balakrishnan was scolding the power suppliers, he was citing complaints from the MNCs.

Again, the normal citizens go and eat shit.
i agree.
those mncs have impact to sg economic ma, they bring money to sg ma.
set up this n tat, generate jobs for ppl ma...then the jobs give to outsiders.
we as a normal citizen does not bring anything to sg.

furthermore they wan to be the first.
first to increase taxes, first to increase bills etc.

so govt cares abt u? i believe they do, i really believe...:rolleyes:

PJ Boy

they will claim that HK is using coal which is the reason for the price different, and coal causes pollution which is not a good choice.

But i have read somewhere that only 1 out of the 4 power plant is using coal. So we might need some stats and info here to have a clearer picture.

Come, come. Even if someone discovers a new, cheaper and clean fuel tomorrow, sg cannot use it because sg signed a long term gas purchase contract with Indonesia. So whether you like it or not, you are stuck with such fuel prices for many years to come unless someone is willing to take the gas off sg.

So the real question is: did sg over-pay for its gas?

They will say they followed international standards for their contract with Indonesia. But are they blindly following the so called international standards? Is there a one-size-fit-all gas pricing formula in the first place?

2lanu

i agree.
those mncs have impact to sg economic ma, they bring money to sg ma.
set up this n tat, generate jobs for ppl ma...then the jobs give to outsiders.
we as a normal citizen does not bring anything to sg.

The question is how about HK?

2lanu

SG tax and service did not give value to the consumers. Take GST% for example. It was said to implement tax across the board, everyone is tax evenly. But where is the value? End of the day, we as consumer get the same thing at higher price.

HK even went ahead to cut liquor tax and their ciggarette tax is half of what SG is taxing. By cutting on taxes, it create demand where people want to spend more thus help the economy. That's why SG economy will definitely lag behind HK. Who want to spend when there are so many taxes.