• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Aljunied GRC MPs Outreach...

sengkang

300538_214328228628399_165771696817386_586874_584195945_n.jpg

297344_214328285295060_165771696817386_586875_453193179_n.jpg

314473_214328321961723_165771696817386_586876_1946557052_n.jpg

310721_214328358628386_165771696817386_586877_442705881_n.jpg

294211_214328425295046_165771696817386_586879_162537764_n.jpg

316193_214328471961708_165771696817386_586880_1293333939_n.jpg

307621_214328518628370_165771696817386_586881_2026595391_n.jpg

298990_214328591961696_165771696817386_586882_130925101_n.jpg

292043_214328635295025_165771696817386_586883_1233111014_n.jpg

313686_214328715295017_165771696817386_586884_1396385927_n.jpg

304624_214328778628344_165771696817386_586885_431444559_n.jpg

293683_214328845295004_165771696817386_586886_591810333_n.jpg

299841_214328918628330_165771696817386_586887_1986331374_n.jpg

307424_214328991961656_165771696817386_586888_570563265_n.jpg

291771_214329078628314_165771696817386_586889_152811926_n.jpg

317355_214329148628307_165771696817386_586890_1732112545_n.jpg

306443_214329235294965_165771696817386_586891_1009881972_n.jpg

315975_214329305294958_165771696817386_586892_1274837477_n.jpg

307431_214329395294949_165771696817386_586894_995944791_n.jpg

315073_214329468628275_165771696817386_586895_1792912630_n.jpg

320521_214329538628268_165771696817386_586896_422232281_n.jpg

308331_214329601961595_165771696817386_586897_1290579181_n.jpg

319386_214329655294923_165771696817386_586899_1173543009_n.jpg

300629_214329728628249_165771696817386_586900_1525313789_n.jpg

310388_214329818628240_165771696817386_586901_1251801136_n.jpg

314740_214329861961569_165771696817386_586902_89359037_n.jpg

307610_214329948628227_165771696817386_586903_2003781175_n.jpg

296735_214329995294889_165771696817386_586904_85580012_n.jpg

311138_214330051961550_165771696817386_586905_967811628_n.jpg

303565_214330135294875_165771696817386_586906_1303917197_n.jpg

312383_214330185294870_165771696817386_586907_348950413_n.jpg

314393_214330235294865_165771696817386_586908_247728245_n.jpg

319566_214330281961527_165771696817386_586909_523518030_n.jpg

Robert Half

The above photos should be Kaki Bukit ward.

Never expect one Aljunied GRC won by WP can change the political mindset of Singaporeans :biggrin:

Unrepented

Thanks for the uploads.

Heart warming to see the harmony and all the smiles, esp from the old folks....hope the S'pore spirit can radiate once again from Aljunied GRC:smile:

HedgeTrader

What did SDP do? Bang chair bang table blame this blame that. :oIo:

SDP supporters even worse. Scold other opposition who can win as fake. :oIo::oIo:

JohnnyQuid

Bros..am a proud resident of Aljunied..am repenting and loving every minute of it..Btw, since WP became MPs of Aljunied, am proud to say, have seen my MP Pritam Bhaiee Singh at least 3 times, shake his hand twice cos he come to do House Visit..these people really walk the ground..last time, my KNNCCB PAPig MP, the useless Zainul Abidin, never even see him for 5 years, even want to see him for Meet People Session, only see his carry balls RC people cos they say MP very busy and must select who he can say, dats why last GE2011, when I go vote, my family and I give big cross to WP and ask PAP to FARK OFF!!!

Good on you Bro... Well Done to All Brave Aljunied residents for voting for WP last May... Used to lived in Tampines for 18 years before moving out to Hougang last July... Never ever seen that shortie prick MBT reaching out to the neighbourhood residents...He will only be present during election period or attending community events as the Guest of Honour around my neighbourhood... Other than that, his presence is zero.. Continue supporting the WP.. They are doing their job with humility and sincere dedication... All The Best to Aljunied GRC residents and the Workers Party..:smile:

HedgeTrader

Wah lan eh only 3 months after GE see 3 times liao.

My PAP farking MP 5 years see no time until election nah beh :mad:

I voted WP but sipei suay lost by a little. :(

©過路稻草人®™

Hopefully that the WP EAST Coast team will continue to work and extend their outreach in this GRC, and will emerge victorious in the next coming 2016 GE. my family and neighbour have given WP the vote for first world parliment.

sengkang

AJCC 8 Days Kunming/Dali/Lijiang 01/11/2011 to 08/11/2011
by Aljunied GRC on Thursday, September 15, 2011 at 2:37pm

Aljunied Constituency Committee (AJCC) and Hougang Constituency Committee (HGCC) are going to China!

302930_214722795255609_165771696817386_587863_219638311_n.jpg

DAY 1 - 01 NOV MI916 1110/1510
SINGAPORE - KUNMING/ GRAND VIEW TOWER/ TEA CULTURE EXCHANGE (D)
Kunming is the capital of the Yunnan Province, "The City of Eternal Springs". Upon arrival, visit the triple-eave Grand View Tower (Da Guan Lou), built in 1682 and rebuilt in 1883. The tower offers unobstructed views of Lake Dian.
DAY 2 - 02 NOV
KUNMING / PEACOCK GARDEN/ YUAN TONG TEMPLE/ KUNMING (B, L, D)
Tour the colourful Yunnan - Peacock Garden and be surrounded by the graceful birds. Then proceed to Jiuxiang which is one of the most beautiful scenic spots near Kunming, is praised as the "Home of Karst caves, famous for limestone caves. Visit Yuan Tong Temple, the largest Buddhist temple in Kunming with a thousand year history.
DAY 3 - 03 NOV
KUNMING/ DA LI/ ZHANG GARDEN/ 3-CUP TEA/ CULTURAL SHOW/ ER HAI PARK (B, L, D)
After breakfast, travel to Da Li and visit Zhang Garden where the minority tride, Bai Zu, resides. Be treated to "San Dao Cha" where you will be served three different cups of tea; bitter, sweet and honey tea. The philosophy behind the "San Dao Cha" of the Bai Zu comes from the belief that one will bear hardships (bitter tea), then enjoy the comforts (sweet tea) and recollect the flavors
(honey tea). While doing so, enjoy a performance put up by the tribe. Following that, proceed to Er Hai Park, popular for providing one of the most spectacular sights in Da Li: Chang Shen Er Hai.
DAY 4 - 04 NOV
DA LI/ MING ZHU SHOPPING MALL/ OLD CITY OF DA LI/ FOREIGNER'S STREET/ THREE PAGODAS OF CHONG SHENG TEMPLE/ DA LI MARBLE/ LI JIANG (B, L, D)
This morning, shop in the Ming Zhu Shopping Mall after breakfast. Take a trip down to the Old City of Da Li, built during the Ming Dynasty. It provides a glimpse of the grand architectural and cultural landscape of China with its many attractions rooted in its rich imperial history. Some must-see sights include Bai Zu crafts and performers and the Foreigner's Street. View the Three Pagodas of Chong Sheng Temple and Da Li Marble before heading to Li Jiang.
DAY 5 - 05 NOV
LI JIANG/ JADE DRAGON SNOW MOUNTAIN / JADE WATER VILLAGE/ BLACK DRAGON POOL GARDEN/ OLD TOWN OF LI JIANG/ SQUARE STREET/ VISIT LUO XUAN ZAO (B, L, D)
Visit the Jade Water Village, a small village in Li Jiang City, located near the Jade Dragon Snow Mountain, home to the Naxi tribal people and the centre of Dongba culture. Move on to Black Dragon Pool Garden where a bridge divides the two-coloured pool. Continue on to the Old Town of Li Jiang, the only old city without a city wall. Visit the centre of the Old Town; Square Street. Follow up with a visit to Luo Xuan Zao.
DAY 6 - 06 NOV
LI JIANG/ DA LI/ ER HAI/ TIAN LONG BA BU MOVIE CITY (B, L, D)
Today, take a cruise trip on Er Hai, one of the most beautiful locations in Da Li. This is a perfect time to take a moment to enjoy the scenery and its crystal clear waters. Move on to the filming location of "Tian Long Ba Bu".
DAY 7 - 07 NOV
DA LI/ KUN MING/ JIN MA BI JI GATEWAY/ NAN PING WALKING STREET/ FLOWER MARKET (B, L, D)
After breakfast, return to Kunming and visit the Jin Ma Bi Ji Gateway, a popular attraction famous for its two gateways; "Golden Horse" and "Emerald Chicken", said to represent mountains on the East and West of the city and the sun and moon deities. Shop at Nan Ping Walking Street, and visit the flower market.
DAY 8 - 08 NOV KMG/SIN MI 915 1615/2020
KUNMING/ FREE AND EASY - SINGAPORE (B)
After breakfast, free and easy time. Then transfer to the airport for your scheduled flight home.

For more details, email us at [email protected]

hairylee

Wah lan eh only 3 months after GE see 3 times liao.

My PAP farking MP 5 years see no time until election nah beh :mad:

I voted WP but sipei suay lost by a little. :(

Your PAP MP got too many directorship.
We only pay them a monthly allowance of $15000 which is too little and they have to supplement this income.

sengkang

MP Sylvia Lim made SGCC Patron

by The Workers' Party on Wednesday, September 14, 2011 at 5:04pm

Aljunied GRC MP Sylvia Lim was installed as a Patron of the Serangoon Gardens Country Club (SGCC) on Sat 10 Sep at the Club's Mid-Autumn Festival Dinner and Dance. She joins the list of existing SGCC Patrons consisting of Emeritus Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong and former Ministers George Yeo and Lim Hwee Hua.

Joining about 300 club members in the festivities, Sylvia Lim observed in her speech that the SGCC had steadfastly kept to its tradition of appointing the incumbent Member of Parliament for the area as a Patron. She also revealed that being in charge of Serangoon Division was a homecoming of sorts for her, as she had grown up and attended schools around Serangoon Gardens, and had invested much leisure time there with friends. The evening was spent catching up with friends and constituents, and marveling at the dancing talent of the SGCC members.

MPs celebrate MId-Autumn Festival with VWOs and Elderly
Earlier in the evening, she was also Guest-of-Honour at an annual charity dinner organised by the Love and Unity Volunteers Establishment for a thousand elderly poor at Kovan. Non-Constituency MP Yee Jenn Jong also attended the event. In her welcome speech, Sylvia Lim acknowledged the hard and consistent work put in by the volunteers throughout the years in befriending and supporting elderly folk who lived alone or were institutionalised.

307565_289785921037998_149672065049385_1391764_169747172_n.jpg
301181_289786247704632_149672065049385_1391766_1608665202_n.jpg

294486_289786761037914_149672065049385_1391768_2108556831_n.jpg
317460_289787127704544_149672065049385_1391770_171567053_n.jpg

299286_289787397704517_149672065049385_1391771_180301455_n.jpg

steffychun

MP Sylvia Lim made SGCC Patron

by The Workers' Party on Wednesday, September 14, 2011 at 5:04pm

Aljunied GRC MP Sylvia Lim was installed as a Patron of the Serangoon Gardens Country Club (SGCC) on Sat 10 Sep at the Club's Mid-Autumn Festival Dinner and Dance. She joins the list of existing SGCC Patrons consisting of Emeritus Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong and former Ministers George Yeo and Lim Hwee Hua.

Joining about 300 club members in the festivities, Sylvia Lim observed in her speech that the SGCC had steadfastly kept to its tradition of appointing the incumbent Member of Parliament for the area as a Patron. She also revealed that being in charge of Serangoon Division was a homecoming of sorts for her, as she had grown up and attended schools around Serangoon Gardens, and had invested much leisure time there with friends. The evening was spent catching up with friends and constituents, and marveling at the dancing talent of the SGCC members.

MPs celebrate MId-Autumn Festival with VWOs and Elderly
Earlier in the evening, she was also Guest-of-Honour at an annual charity dinner organised by the Love and Unity Volunteers Establishment for a thousand elderly poor at Kovan. Non-Constituency MP Yee Jenn Jong also attended the event. In her welcome speech, Sylvia Lim acknowledged the hard and consistent work put in by the volunteers throughout the years in befriending and supporting elderly folk who lived alone or were institutionalised.

307565_289785921037998_149672065049385_1391764_169747172_n.jpg
301181_289786247704632_149672065049385_1391766_1608665202_n.jpg

294486_289786761037914_149672065049385_1391768_2108556831_n.jpg
317460_289787127704544_149672065049385_1391770_171567053_n.jpg

299286_289787397704517_149672065049385_1391771_180301455_n.jpg

Congrats.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

sengkang

Workers’ Party position on the Internal Security Act

The Workers’ Party notes the Malaysian government’s proposal to repeal the Internal Security Act (ISA).
The Workers’ Party manifestos, including the 2011 election manifesto, proposed the abolition of the ISA in Singapore. This repeal would destroy the prospect of any government using the wide ranging powers therein to curtail its critics and opponents. Even where there are suspects accused of espionage, trials can still be held, with modified procedures if state secrets are at risk.
Nevertheless, the Party acknowledges the need for effective measures against terrorism. As such, our manifesto also stated that the government should be enabled by a dedicated anti-terrorism law to make swift arrests and detain suspects without trial. However, these suspects must be afforded real avenues to challenge the legality of their arrests through the courts and an advisory board. These bodies should be empowered to order the person’s release if not satisfied as to the legality of the detention.
The Workers’ Party
16 Sep 2011.

sengkang

Bedok Reservoir - Punggol Division is kick-starting its free health talk series with its first talk scheduled in October. For more details, please refer to the poster.

319554_216459415081947_165771696817386_593397_974351937_n.jpg

sengkang

[h=2]EXCLUSIVE: Yaw Shin Leong - leading by example[/h]

Picture credit: Shawn Byron Danker
“All credit goes to Mr Low Thia Khiang,” says the new Workers’ Party (WP) Member of Parliament (MP) for Hougang Single-Member Constituency (SMC), Mr Yaw Shin Leong. He was replying to this writer’s question about his victory in Hougang in the May general elections. “If not for the foundation which Mr Low has laid in the last 20 years [in Hougang], I don’t think I would be even talking about this type of percentage,” Mr Yaw says, referring to the 64.8 per cent winning margin over his rival from the People’s Action Party (PAP), Mr Desmond Choo in GE 2011.

Mr Yaw, a Teochew, was his party’s choice to succeed Mr Low, who had helmed the ward for 20 years, in the general elections this year. In the event, Mr Yaw surpassed Mr Low’s best results, attained in the 2006 elections, of 62.74 per cent.
Having joined the WP in 2001 amidst one of the party’s most trying periods in its history when Mr JB Jeyaretnam stepped down after having been sued for defamation by PAP members, Mr Yaw has seen what some at that time believed to be the demise of the party to its present position as the most-recognized and best-supported opposition party in Singapore.
The WP has since chalked up another milestone in snatching the neighbouring Aljunied Group Representation Constituency (GRC) from the ruling PAP. The WP team was led by Mr Low who had made the “heavy decision” to leave Hougang in order to seek a breakthrough in the GRC system.
speech320240.jpg
All these achievements of Mr Low perhaps raise questions of whether his successor will be able to fill his big shoes. While he may also be overshadowed by the more well-recognised names of other party MPs such as Ms Sylvia Lim and Mr Chen Show Mao, Mr Yaw’s motivation in his political path has been constant: to help achieve “a more balanced political society in Singapore”. “That pretty much drives my motivation,” he says. It keeps him going until there is a “sizeable number [of opposition MPs] in the House.” This has always been his belief since his entry into political activism in the 90s and will continue to be a goal.
“If I can do my part towards this change, I think I would have done my part as an individual,” says Mr Yaw who holds a Bachelor of Arts (BA, Merit) degree in Political Science & Sociology from National University of Singapore, and a Master of Business Administration (MBA) from University of Western Sydney.
It is a theme which he keeps coming back to during the one hour interview with publichouse.sg – that individuals can and should do their part for Singapore, to effect the change they want to see. And he is leading by example. His conviction in this belief goes back to his earlier student days when he would be involved in the organization of events, and in various political activities. When asked for specific examples from his younger days which have shaped his beliefs and thinking, Mr Yaw cited the “organization of a first-ever democratically elected student council for JJC [Jurong Junior College]” in 1993. Previously, council members were appointed by teachers. Mr Yaw spearheaded a campaign to bring direct elections to elect student representatives. “That was a milestone,” Mr Yaw says. That experience, among others, made him realize the effectiveness and importance of working as a team to change things but that it takes an individual to plant that seed for the idea to first take root.
jbj320240.jpg
His activism continued from there to his days in the university and in the army. One of his most memorable instances of political activism was to help organize the “Save JBJ” rally in April of 2001. Mr JB Jeyaretnam, who had been the secretary-general of the WP for some 30 years, was on the brink of bankruptcy after having been sued by several members of the PAP for defamation for an article in the party’s newspaper in 1995. The courts had ordered Mr Jeyaretnam to pay “total damages of S$465,000 and S$250,000 in court costs.” The rally was to raise funds for Mr Jeyaretnam and so to “save” him from bankruptcy, else he would be barred from contesting future elections.
“He was an inspiration to an entire new generation of (younger) activists, including myself,” Mr Yaw says. “The lion of Singapore. There can only be one lion. Sometimes I really wonder what kept him going. That is something people of our generation can never comprehend. Despite one setback after another, one obstacle after another, he just kept going. That itself is inspirational. He stayed, he fought, despite the obstacles placed in front of him… If a man of such dogged determination can conquer his obstacles one by one, there should no mountain too high for anyone of us.”
But Mr Jeyaretnam’s fiery public persona is not something which Mr Yaw will be emulating anytime soon. He prefers a more nuanced and moderate approach, compared to what some have called the “fire and brimstone” preferences of Mr Jeyaretnam. “I’m quite a balanced person in terms of my understanding of policies,” Mr Yaw says. It is a position which at times throws up situations which may seem odd to his constituents who approach him for help.
“Sometimes I find it very interesting when constituents come to me to complain about certain policies. I would need to put into perspective [for them] why certain policies are in place. This is sometimes amusing to the constituents. They’d say, ‘Eh, I thought you were suppose to oppose this particular policy?’ That’s an interesting aspect [of being an opposition MP],” Mr Yaw explains, laughing.
res320240.jpg
“It’s not so much of defending them,” he adds. “There are merits to some of the policies, why they are in place. Before even criticizing polices, we must understand why certain policies are in place. Like the cov issue,” he explains, referring to the cash-over-valuation used in housing transactions. “If you do not allow covs, you may drive such things underground. So, there are no easy solutions to these.”
His balanced approach, as he describes it, is perhaps borne out of events earlier in his life. Mr Yaw, who is now 35-years old, lists the passing of his father in 1990 as one of the main episodes in his life which have informed his personal philosophy. His father was 48-years old when he died.
“I remember I was 13-years old, secondary two. It was February, I remember, February 11, 1990, he passed away. That episode somewhat changed my perspective on life. [My father] was a university graduate. He died so young, chasing after money, so to speak, bringing bread to the table. [His passing at such a young age] made me think: what is it that I want in life? Should I be doing things I passionately believe in, or should I be doings things because I have to do them rather than because I believe in them?”
His mother, who had been a housewife, became the breadwinner after Mr Yaw’s father passed away. She first worked as a clerk and later as a room rental agent. Mr Yaw has one younger sister. They have been supportive of his political activities and have not treated him any differently even after he became an MP. The job, however, demands more of his time now. Apart from running his own enrichment company, he has to also spend time at the town council. “After all my morning and afternoon appointments, I need to come back to the town council [to do work],” says Mr Yaw. It was more challenging immediately following the results of the general elections when he had to reconstitute the Hougang grassroots and the Hougang Town Council (HGTC).
hgcc320240.jpg
“After winning Aljunied, much of the Workers’ Party resources needed to be channeled to the building of grassroots functions and grassroots mechanisms from scratch,” Mr Yaw explains. “So interestingly, the entire HGCC is made up of very very new and inexperienced activists. But for the lack of experience, they make up for it with passion. So ok lah. Nevermind. Mistakes there will be, one or two, minor mistakes here and there. But otherwise, I think it’s fine. It’s a learning process. A lot of youthful dynamism in that sense. That was the biggest challenge – building up a grassroots to run and organize activities, which prior to that, nobody knew how to.” His five years of experience as a town councilor and secretary of the HGCC for Mr Low’s administration when Mr Low was MP for Hougang was helpful in helping him establish his own team.
As a WP MP now, however, his duties and responsibilities are not confined to just those of the constituency. At the party level, Mr Yaw has been appointed the party treasurer in the new WP Central Executive Council (CEC), a different role from his previous one of Organizing Secretary which he held for some five years.
While seeing his MP role in the constituency as that of a village chief, reflecting the kampong spirit of Hougang, Mr Yaw says it goes further than that, and encompasses a wider national role as well, especially for the eight WP MPs. The other opposition parliamentarian is Non-Constituency Member of Parliament (NCMP), Mrs Lina Chiam, from the Singapore People’s Party (SPP).
“Although I am the elected member of Hougang, from a national perspective, opposition members have an important role to play, in the context of Parliament,” he says. “The reason being that there are only that many of us. So it is important for Workers’ Party parliamentarians to be of one heartbeat, as we put forth our arguments. But that doesn’t mean that there will be group-think. I believe that a lot of intra-party democracy is needed when we talk about arguing for a certain position to take, be it a policy decision or be it a political position. And that must be done and when the party is to decide on a particular course of action, or course of position to take, I do expect the eight of us to rally behind the party position and debate them vigorously in the context of Parliament. That will also sound off certain viewpoints which very possibly will or could be the concern of our fellow countrymen. From that perspective, it’s not just a constituency role I am playing as an MP but also a national role which I need to assume and execute my duty well.”
sl320240.jpg
Known by friends and members for his seemingly boundless store of energy, Mr Yaw is well aware that his work in Hougang is of utmost importance. During the election campaign, for example, away from the limelight, he was diligently making house visits in Hougang while the party took to the stadiums for its nightly rallies. It left some members of the public wondering where he was. “I only spoke at the first and last rallies,” Mr Yaw said. The first rally was held in his ward, while the last was at Serangoon Stadium. The seven days in-between, he was visiting residents in the 96 blocks in the constituency, even though previously he, together with Mr Low, had already covered the blocks twice.
Not resting on his laurels, Mr Yaw has hit the ground running after the elections. Besides taking over the running of the town council he has instituted several programmes for his residents. One of these is the Hougang Women Support Network which caters to women, such as widows, in the ward who needs help. Another initiative is the support group for the Hougang United Football Club which, incidentally, falls under Ang Mo Kio GRC.
“At the grassroots level, we have moved beyond just a committee-centric point of organization,” Mr Yaw explains. “While that has been very helpful, in terms of organizing manpower, organizing activities and events, increasingly there is this heartbeat for us to organize people around their passion. And when we do that, we form networks that are related to the areas of passion these constituents have a heartbeat for.” The support group for the football club is an example of this “passion-centric” organization. “There are young people coming forward and supporting this S-League club which is a good thing. So we organize people around their passion and their love for a particular interest or hobby.”
yslhougang320240.jpg
What about politics at the grassroots? Does Mr Yaw have any plans to, for example, initiate a political club in Hougang, to harness the energy of the increased number of politically-aware residents? While he does not feel there is a need for such clubs in the constituency, because “Hougang constituents are one of the most politically aware group of Singaporeans in our country”, Mr Yaw feels there is a need for the party to reach out to fellow Singaporeans beyond the boundaries of Hougang and Aljunied. “How will the end structure be like, I believe the Workers’ Party Central Executive Council [will look into this]. In the past we reached out to fellow Singaporeans outside Hougang via the area committees. We need to rethink our strategy as we build up towards 2016.”
In the meantime, as the world goes into an uncertain period with expectations of a global downturn in the coming months and lasting an extended period of time, Mr Yaw urges Singaporeans not to be discouraged. “Diligence is important, and the ability and the spirit to overcome adversity and obstacles is equally important, if not more important,” he says. “This perseverance spirit is very key. And this applies across the board for both Hougang residents and fellow Singaporeans. So you need to have this ability to adapt to local circumstances vis a vis international conditions. We must be agile, we must have this ability to look out for new opportunities for us to stay ahead of the game.”
While such downturns will not be easy for many, Mr Yaw says nonetheless “our antennaes must be up”. While we deal with the present circumstances, we must also be able “to size up… the global opportunities that present themselves.” “We may even turn out stronger if we manage to get our strategy right at the macro level or at the national level, or even at the private sector level,” he adds.
And if Singapore does well, it will perhaps be something to celebrate in four years’ time when the island-state turns 50 in 2015. “I do hope that our competitive spirit burn stronger, building upon the foundation of these last 50 years, such that Singapore can be propelled into yet another league of its own, unimaginable at this moment,” says Mr Yaw. “And it is important for fellow countrymen and women to come together and say, hey we are in a very very unique journey from now, 2011 to 2015. This part of history is definitely in the making. And the makers of history are none other than ourselves.”
lantern320240.jpg
It is perhaps with this in mind that Mr Yaw, who married three years ago, is leading by example, and he hopes that more Singaporeans, especially younger ones, will step forward. “I sincerely do hope that each individual will step forth, in whatever area – be it in cyber activism, be it in political activism, in social work, community involvement or even on the economic front, be the entrepreneur that you are, or as an employee. I believe there [is] this enterprising spirit in each individual.”
Mr Yaw’s motivation to help Singapore move towards a “more balanced political society” has now taken a step forward with his election as MP. Disagreeing with what Mr Lee Kuan Yew said recently – that national solidarity or unity may be negatively affected by political diversity in Parliament – Mr Yaw says, “On the contrary, as result of all this diversity, across our society, and particularly political diversity, the nation can only be stronger.”
While credit for the WP’s transformation indeed must be accorded to Mr Low, it is the younger MPs such as Mr Yaw who will help see Singapore through the next phase of progress.
Mr Yaw’s passion for Singapore is perhaps best seen in his signing up for the “Reservist on Voluntary Extended Reserve Service (ROVERS) Scheme.” The scheme is for NSmen who are keen to continue to serve NS after completing their training cycle, according to the Mindef website. Mr Yaw served as a 2SG combat medic during his National Service. He joined the ROVERS scheme soon after completing his MINDEF Reserve obligation in 2009, and says he is looking forward to his next in-camp training in November.
The village chief, in character, putting on the kampong spirit and leading by example.
------------
Pictures from Yaw Shin Leong blog and Facebook page.

sengkang

EXCLUSIVE: Yaw Shin Leong - leading by example

Picture credit: Shawn Byron Danker

“All credit goes to Mr Low Thia Khiang,” says the new Workers’ Party (WP) Member of Parliament (MP) for Hougang Single-Member Constituency (SMC), Mr Yaw Shin Leong. He was replying to this writer’s question about his victory in Hougang in the May general elections. “If not for the foundation which Mr Low has laid in the last 20 years [in Hougang], I don’t think I would be even talking about this type of percentage,” Mr Yaw says, referring to the 64.8 per cent winning margin over his rival from the People’s Action Party (PAP), Mr Desmond Choo in GE 2011.

Mr Yaw, a Teochew, was his party’s choice to succeed Mr Low, who had helmed the ward for 20 years, in the general elections this year. In the event, Mr Yaw surpassed Mr Low’s best results, attained in the 2006 elections, of 62.74 per cent.
Having joined the WP in 2001 amidst one of the party’s most trying periods in its history when Mr JB Jeyaretnam stepped down after having been sued for defamation by PAP members, Mr Yaw has seen what some at that time believed to be the demise of the party to its present position as the most-recognized and best-supported opposition party in Singapore.
The WP has since chalked up another milestone in snatching the neighbouring Aljunied Group Representation Constituency (GRC) from the ruling PAP. The WP team was led by Mr Low who had made the “heavy decision” to leave Hougang in order to seek a breakthrough in the GRC system.
speech320240.jpg
All these achievements of Mr Low perhaps raise questions of whether his successor will be able to fill his big shoes. While he may also be overshadowed by the more well-recognised names of other party MPs such as Ms Sylvia Lim and Mr Chen Show Mao, Mr Yaw’s motivation in his political path has been constant: to help achieve “a more balanced political society in Singapore”. “That pretty much drives my motivation,” he says. It keeps him going until there is a “sizeable number [of opposition MPs] in the House.” This has always been his belief since his entry into political activism in the 90s and will continue to be a goal.
“If I can do my part towards this change, I think I would have done my part as an individual,” says Mr Yaw who holds a Bachelor of Arts (BA, Merit) degree in Political Science & Sociology from National University of Singapore, and a Master of Business Administration (MBA) from University of Western Sydney.
It is a theme which he keeps coming back to during the one hour interview with publichouse.sg – that individuals can and should do their part for Singapore, to effect the change they want to see. And he is leading by example. His conviction in this belief goes back to his earlier student days when he would be involved in the organization of events, and in various political activities. When asked for specific examples from his younger days which have shaped his beliefs and thinking, Mr Yaw cited the “organization of a first-ever democratically elected student council for JJC [Jurong Junior College]” in 1993. Previously, council members were appointed by teachers. Mr Yaw spearheaded a campaign to bring direct elections to elect student representatives. “That was a milestone,” Mr Yaw says. That experience, among others, made him realize the effectiveness and importance of working as a team to change things but that it takes an individual to plant that seed for the idea to first take root.
jbj320240.jpg
His activism continued from there to his days in the university and in the army. One of his most memorable instances of political activism was to help organize the “Save JBJ” rally in April of 2001. Mr JB Jeyaretnam, who had been the secretary-general of the WP for some 30 years, was on the brink of bankruptcy after having been sued by several members of the PAP for defamation for an article in the party’s newspaper in 1995. The courts had ordered Mr Jeyaretnam to pay “total damages of S$465,000 and S$250,000 in court costs.” The rally was to raise funds for Mr Jeyaretnam and so to “save” him from bankruptcy, else he would be barred from contesting future elections.
“He was an inspiration to an entire new generation of (younger) activists, including myself,” Mr Yaw says. “The lion of Singapore. There can only be one lion. Sometimes I really wonder what kept him going. That is something people of our generation can never comprehend. Despite one setback after another, one obstacle after another, he just kept going. That itself is inspirational. He stayed, he fought, despite the obstacles placed in front of him… If a man of such dogged determination can conquer his obstacles one by one, there should no mountain too high for anyone of us.”
But Mr Jeyaretnam’s fiery public persona is not something which Mr Yaw will be emulating anytime soon. He prefers a more nuanced and moderate approach, compared to what some have called the “fire and brimstone” preferences of Mr Jeyaretnam. “I’m quite a balanced person in terms of my understanding of policies,” Mr Yaw says. It is a position which at times throws up situations which may seem odd to his constituents who approach him for help.
“Sometimes I find it very interesting when constituents come to me to complain about certain policies. I would need to put into perspective [for them] why certain policies are in place. This is sometimes amusing to the constituents. They’d say, ‘Eh, I thought you were suppose to oppose this particular policy?’ That’s an interesting aspect [of being an opposition MP],” Mr Yaw explains, laughing.
res320240.jpg
“It’s not so much of defending them,” he adds. “There are merits to some of the policies, why they are in place. Before even criticizing polices, we must understand why certain policies are in place. Like the cov issue,” he explains, referring to the cash-over-valuation used in housing transactions. “If you do not allow covs, you may drive such things underground. So, there are no easy solutions to these.”
His balanced approach, as he describes it, is perhaps borne out of events earlier in his life. Mr Yaw, who is now 35-years old, lists the passing of his father in 1990 as one of the main episodes in his life which have informed his personal philosophy. His father was 48-years old when he died.
“I remember I was 13-years old, secondary two. It was February, I remember, February 11, 1990, he passed away. That episode somewhat changed my perspective on life. [My father] was a university graduate. He died so young, chasing after money, so to speak, bringing bread to the table. [His passing at such a young age] made me think: what is it that I want in life? Should I be doing things I passionately believe in, or should I be doings things because I have to do them rather than because I believe in them?”
His mother, who had been a housewife, became the breadwinner after Mr Yaw’s father passed away. She first worked as a clerk and later as a room rental agent. Mr Yaw has one younger sister. They have been supportive of his political activities and have not treated him any differently even after he became an MP. The job, however, demands more of his time now. Apart from running his own enrichment company, he has to also spend time at the town council. “After all my morning and afternoon appointments, I need to come back to the town council [to do work],” says Mr Yaw. It was more challenging immediately following the results of the general elections when he had to reconstitute the Hougang grassroots and the Hougang Town Council (HGTC).
hgcc320240.jpg
“After winning Aljunied, much of the Workers’ Party resources needed to be channeled to the building of grassroots functions and grassroots mechanisms from scratch,” Mr Yaw explains. “So interestingly, the entire HGCC is made up of very very new and inexperienced activists. But for the lack of experience, they make up for it with passion. So ok lah. Nevermind. Mistakes there will be, one or two, minor mistakes here and there. But otherwise, I think it’s fine. It’s a learning process. A lot of youthful dynamism in that sense. That was the biggest challenge – building up a grassroots to run and organize activities, which prior to that, nobody knew how to.” His five years of experience as a town councilor and secretary of the HGCC for Mr Low’s administration when Mr Low was MP for Hougang was helpful in helping him establish his own team.
As a WP MP now, however, his duties and responsibilities are not confined to just those of the constituency. At the party level, Mr Yaw has been appointed the party treasurer in the new WP Central Executive Council (CEC), a different role from his previous one of Organizing Secretary which he held for some five years.
While seeing his MP role in the constituency as that of a village chief, reflecting the kampong spirit of Hougang, Mr Yaw says it goes further than that, and encompasses a wider national role as well, especially for the eight WP MPs. The other opposition parliamentarian is Non-Constituency Member of Parliament (NCMP), Mrs Lina Chiam, from the Singapore People’s Party (SPP).
“Although I am the elected member of Hougang, from a national perspective, opposition members have an important role to play, in the context of Parliament,” he says. “The reason being that there are only that many of us. So it is important for Workers’ Party parliamentarians to be of one heartbeat, as we put forth our arguments. But that doesn’t mean that there will be group-think. I believe that a lot of intra-party democracy is needed when we talk about arguing for a certain position to take, be it a policy decision or be it a political position. And that must be done and when the party is to decide on a particular course of action, or course of position to take, I do expect the eight of us to rally behind the party position and debate them vigorously in the context of Parliament. That will also sound off certain viewpoints which very possibly will or could be the concern of our fellow countrymen. From that perspective, it’s not just a constituency role I am playing as an MP but also a national role which I need to assume and execute my duty well.”
sl320240.jpg
Known by friends and members for his seemingly boundless store of energy, Mr Yaw is well aware that his work in Hougang is of utmost importance. During the election campaign, for example, away from the limelight, he was diligently making house visits in Hougang while the party took to the stadiums for its nightly rallies. It left some members of the public wondering where he was. “I only spoke at the first and last rallies,” Mr Yaw said. The first rally was held in his ward, while the last was at Serangoon Stadium. The seven days in-between, he was visiting residents in the 96 blocks in the constituency, even though previously he, together with Mr Low, had already covered the blocks twice.
Not resting on his laurels, Mr Yaw has hit the ground running after the elections. Besides taking over the running of the town council he has instituted several programmes for his residents. One of these is the Hougang Women Support Network which caters to women, such as widows, in the ward who needs help. Another initiative is the support group for the Hougang United Football Club which, incidentally, falls under Ang Mo Kio GRC.
“At the grassroots level, we have moved beyond just a committee-centric point of organization,” Mr Yaw explains. “While that has been very helpful, in terms of organizing manpower, organizing activities and events, increasingly there is this heartbeat for us to organize people around their passion. And when we do that, we form networks that are related to the areas of passion these constituents have a heartbeat for.” The support group for the football club is an example of this “passion-centric” organization. “There are young people coming forward and supporting this S-League club which is a good thing. So we organize people around their passion and their love for a particular interest or hobby.”
yslhougang320240.jpg
What about politics at the grassroots? Does Mr Yaw have any plans to, for example, initiate a political club in Hougang, to harness the energy of the increased number of politically-aware residents? While he does not feel there is a need for such clubs in the constituency, because “Hougang constituents are one of the most politically aware group of Singaporeans in our country”, Mr Yaw feels there is a need for the party to reach out to fellow Singaporeans beyond the boundaries of Hougang and Aljunied. “How will the end structure be like, I believe the Workers’ Party Central Executive Council [will look into this]. In the past we reached out to fellow Singaporeans outside Hougang via the area committees. We need to rethink our strategy as we build up towards 2016.”
In the meantime, as the world goes into an uncertain period with expectations of a global downturn in the coming months and lasting an extended period of time, Mr Yaw urges Singaporeans not to be discouraged. “Diligence is important, and the ability and the spirit to overcome adversity and obstacles is equally important, if not more important,” he says. “This perseverance spirit is very key. And this applies across the board for both Hougang residents and fellow Singaporeans. So you need to have this ability to adapt to local circumstances vis a vis international conditions. We must be agile, we must have this ability to look out for new opportunities for us to stay ahead of the game.”
While such downturns will not be easy for many, Mr Yaw says nonetheless “our antennaes must be up”. While we deal with the present circumstances, we must also be able “to size up… the global opportunities that present themselves.” “We may even turn out stronger if we manage to get our strategy right at the macro level or at the national level, or even at the private sector level,” he adds.
And if Singapore does well, it will perhaps be something to celebrate in four years’ time when the island-state turns 50 in 2015. “I do hope that our competitive spirit burn stronger, building upon the foundation of these last 50 years, such that Singapore can be propelled into yet another league of its own, unimaginable at this moment,” says Mr Yaw. “And it is important for fellow countrymen and women to come together and say, hey we are in a very very unique journey from now, 2011 to 2015. This part of history is definitely in the making. And the makers of history are none other than ourselves.”
lantern320240.jpg
It is perhaps with this in mind that Mr Yaw, who married three years ago, is leading by example, and he hopes that more Singaporeans, especially younger ones, will step forward. “I sincerely do hope that each individual will step forth, in whatever area – be it in cyber activism, be it in political activism, in social work, community involvement or even on the economic front, be the entrepreneur that you are, or as an employee. I believe there [is] this enterprising spirit in each individual.”
Mr Yaw’s motivation to help Singapore move towards a “more balanced political society” has now taken a step forward with his election as MP. Disagreeing with what Mr Lee Kuan Yew said recently – that national solidarity or unity may be negatively affected by political diversity in Parliament – Mr Yaw says, “On the contrary, as result of all this diversity, across our society, and particularly political diversity, the nation can only be stronger.”
While credit for the WP’s transformation indeed must be accorded to Mr Low, it is the younger MPs such as Mr Yaw who will help see Singapore through the next phase of progress.
Mr Yaw’s passion for Singapore is perhaps best seen in his signing up for the “Reservist on Voluntary Extended Reserve Service (ROVERS) Scheme.” The scheme is for NSmen who are keen to continue to serve NS after completing their training cycle, according to the Mindef website. Mr Yaw served as a 2SG combat medic during his National Service. He joined the ROVERS scheme soon after completing his MINDEF Reserve obligation in 2009, and says he is looking forward to his next in-camp training in November.
The village chief, in character, putting on the kampong spirit and leading by example.
------------
Pictures from Yaw Shin Leong blog and Facebook page.

Aljunied has now became the most livable and comfortable place to live in Singapore and so is Hougang.

With regard to Serangoon country club, I see the well spirit of the committee to invite Silvia Lim as patron. This what I called Singapore spirit, fair and just and everyone has made their independent choice without fearing the ruling party. Besides, PAP is a downer already, not as prestique as it seemed after the watershed GE and PE. At least the club is not like people's association, biased and political - extremely nauseous.