• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

foreign talent or foreign trash

astonteo1981

support this forum,thus come out with this issue as i feel as sporean guys,we are being looked down compared to ang mos.

if we are @ a nitespots filled with ang mos,chances of them picking up gers would generally be higher than us.

are they any betta than locals??

are they worth their salaries??

hope all members can voice out their discontentment and experience here

Wang Ye

What about south asian foreign talent who work in the construction industry? :biggrin: Sorry could not resist it. But seriously it's never fair to us local guys. Always a double standard. :(

tepes

Being objective... Out of the 50+(approximately, didnt want to waste brain-juice counting them haha) foreign talents that I know/worked with, I personally respect(in terms of work) around 3 of them... And the good ones are really good... The others... well... let's say that some took many times to pass simple certification exams of a certain industry... All the time pretending to be superior to the local boys who passed the exams in 1 try... Haha... Some of the foreign WLs that I have encounters have better work ethic compared to some of my previous caucasian bosses...

Wang Ye

Interestingly enough it we have to import some of them simply because the local system killed off the local talent from developing. Talk about irony.

dysentry

Was outside MOE yesterday and saw a battalion of Chinese teachers from China trooping by. Prolly there to attend some workshop.

Only the landlord Singaporeans are smiling these days.

storm

Every community has its mix of good and bad eggs. But I do agree that the mentality that "angmo" is better stilll exists in Asian minds.

Don't get me wrong, everyone in the world should be equal. And we are living in a mix of different people , different culture environment.

coolcum

support this forum,thus come out with this issue as i feel as sporean guys,we are being looked down compared to ang mos.

if we are @ a nitespots filled with ang mos,chances of them picking up gers would generally be higher than us.

are they any betta than locals??

are they worth their salaries??

hope all members can voice out their discontentment and experience here

thats because ang mos are perceived as bigger spenders and give tips while we don't. Naturally the girl goes to the man with the fatter pocket.

Bigone65

First of all, I wish to say that personally, I have nothing against employing foreign talent - provided they are really employed for specific technical responsibilities, but based on my experience, not all cases are true. In order to get approval for employment pass, they usually state the job scope as - Technical Representative or Specialist(from Head Office or Factory in the case of an MNC company). At the end of the day, you realised that the so called "foreign talent" is only doing a Sales and Marketing job which I strongly believe any well experienced or qualified local can handle just as well if not better. Furthermore, there is also a cultural difference in which locals have the advantage over the foreigners. Who to blame for all these loopholes??? No prize in guessing. Finally, I am speaking from past experience and not making this up.

The fact is the great white caucasian has conquered every other race in the world and thus we have to live with the consequences. Blame our ancestors for being too weak or whatever. There's nothing that can be done about it. As for me, I just make sure I'm not around white caucasians unless absolutely necessary, not because I have problems with white caucasians, but because, Asian Singaporeans being the inferior species that they are, I know that I'll have to deal with Pinkertons who think I'm trying to latch on to the ang moh, or passive-aggressive ang moh haters who always complain about angmoh but then always take it out on their fellow Asian Singaporeans. It's really quite difficult to live in this country; so many haters but all do not wish to stand up for themselves, only know how to take it out on themselves and make themselves more miserable. And Singaporeans always wonder why ang mohs are always seen as superior, what a joke.

storm

thats because ang mos are perceived as bigger spenders and give tips while we don't. Naturally the girl goes to the man with the fatter pocket.

Aiyo, this is changing for sure. The perceived "rich" angmos arent as financially stable as you think. Just look at the current subprime issue and you will understand. For those who think we are always in debt and slave to our HDB flat, you will then understand its common everywhere.

Unless its those who have the property handed down by older/previous generation, there's no way anyone in 30s today can fork out all the money to buy a house. I am talking about the general public be it low or middle income.

angry_one

The fact is, no one will respect sinkapore unless we sinkees respect ourselves.

We lose jobs to ang mors becos sinkee employees and the public perceive them to be our masters. Go to a developed country like Japan, and it's quite the opposite.

High Command

The fact is, no one will respect sinkapore unless we sinkees respect ourselves.

We lose jobs to ang mors becos sinkee employees and the public perceive them to be our masters. Go to a developed country like Japan, and it's quite the opposite.

True! That's the problem with our system. Treat you like dirt until someone overseas treat you like a god then they will follow suit. :mad:

Reminds me of an incident when there was a public tender local company lost to another foreign company only to be sub-contracted to do the job later on. Classic example. :rolleyes:

JohnTT

I think foreign TRASH more than foreign talent.

They also have bad manners & tend to think that they are superior.

Worse still, many local TV programmes amplify their superiority & belittle local Singaporeans. :mad:

B

bluemilk

every few days, you 've got this ang mo tourist writing in to the forum about how courteous s'poreans are, how nice the place , how everything is so good, service is fast, airport checkout very fast.

i wonder when it comes to other yellow coloured skin , whether the service provided is just as good?

are we hypocrites to criticise that we should not be inferior to ang mos but our actions says otherwise?

jrbecker99

the trouble with sing is multinational companies situate their major branches here and think that only ang mohs can run them. so what do sings do when they are promoted, they suck up to the ang mohs even when they are better in their jobs than ang mohs.

time for sings to stand up and say enough. you come to sing as our equal not as better. forget the old colonial days.

JohnTT

every few days, you 've got this ang mo tourist writing in to the forum about how courteous s'poreans are, how nice the place , how everything is so good, service is fast, airport checkout very fast.

i wonder when it comes to other yellow coloured skin , whether the service provided is just as good?

are we hypocrites to criticise that we should not be inferior to ang mos but our actions says otherwise?

Angmohs are the real hypocrites. Look at some of the local forums they put up. Condemned this, condemned that. :mad: