• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Thailand & Cambodia Ready for WAR!

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR>Oct 14, 2008
</TR><!-- headline one : start --><TR>Ready to respond to threat <!--10 min-->
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><!-- show image if available --><TR vAlign=bottom><TD width=330>
thai.jpg

</TD><TD width=10>
c.gif
</TD><TD vAlign=bottom>
c.gif

There has been a limited troop withdrawal from the area and talks have been held several times to resolve the conflicting claims, but without much progress. -- PHOTO: AGENCE FRANCE-PRESSE
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"-->PHNOM PENH - THAILAND said on Tuesday it was ready to respond militarily if attacked by Cambodia, after its smaller neighbor issued an ultimatum for Thai troops to pull back from a disputed border territory by midday.
Despite the war of words - including a description by Cambodia's prime minister of the contested land as 'a life-and-death battle zone' - hostilities did not break out, although the two countries disagreed on what had actually happened, and who backed down.
<TABLE width=200 align=left valign="top"><TBODY><TR><TD class=padr8><!-- Vodcast --><!-- Background Story --><STYLE type=text/css> #related .quote {background-color:#E7F7FF; padding:8px;margin:0px 0px 5px 0px;} #related .quote .headline {font-family: Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; font-size:10px;font-weight:bold; border-bottom:3px double #007BFF; color:#036; text-transform:uppercase; padding-bottom:5px;} #related .quote .text {font-size:11px;color:#036;padding:5px 0px;} </STYLE>Thailand denies troop withdrawal
BANGKOK - THAILAND'S foreign minister on Tuesday denied that about 80 of the country's troops had withdrawn from a disputed area on the border with Cambodia, and insisted they had the right to stay there.

Cambodian military officials earlier said that the Thai soldiers had moved out of the contentious area near the ancient Preah Vihear temple, after Cambodian Prime Minister Hun Sen issued an ultimatum.

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>A Cambodian general said that Thailand had acceded to the demand, but a Thai army spokesman later said the troops had not moved.
Thailand's prime minister said his country's troops had been on their own territory all along.
'If there is a problem, we will use peaceful means with an emphasis on negotiations,' said Thai Prime Minister Somchai Wongsawat. 'I want to insist that we will use peaceful negotiations. We will not be an invader. We will not use violence.'
Mr Somchai is also under intense political pressure at home from anti-government militants seeking his resignation.
The dispute was a continuation of one that arose between the two neighbors earlier this year over the land around Preah Vihear, an 11th century temple and landmark long claimed by both countries but awarded to Cambodia by the World Court in 1962. Sovereignty over some of the land around the temple has not been clearly resolved.
Tensions flared July 15 after Unesco, the United Nations agency, approved Cambodia's bid to have the temple named a World Heritage Site.
Cambodia deployed about 800 troops to the border, and Thailand sent some 400 soldiers.
Both sides pulled back most of their troops in late August, but it is not clear how many remain in the area and at other spots along the disputed border. They have been having talks to end the tension.
Cambodian Prime Minister Hun Sen said on Tuesday morning that Thai troops had tried a day earlier to advance into Cambodia's territory but Cambodian soldiers 'waved them back and said, 'If you want to die, keep coming.'' 'They must withdraw,' Mr Hun Sen said during a speech at an economic conference in the capital, Phnom Penh. 'I have set the timeline for them to withdraw by 12 o'clock (1pm Singapore time).'
Cambodian army commander Brig. General Yim Pim later said all Thai troops had retreated about 90 minutes ahead of the deadline and were back inside their camp about half a mile (1 kilometre) from the contested territory.
'The tense situation has now eased,' Yim Pim told The Associated Press.
But a Thai army spokesman denied that any soldiers had been withdrawn. 'There has been no troop movement,' Thai army spokesman Sansern Kaewkumnerd said in a telephone interview. 'The army wants the two countries to continue with bilateral talks, but if the situation escalates, we are ready. But we will not attack first.' -- AP

DerekLeung

Too much competition, shortage of raw materials and too many cheap lifes around. So how Get rid of some cheap lifes. Make some war and send someone's else children into battle.

theblackhole

KNN! like this over a small thing also want to go to war! KNN! fight for what? Only kill innocent people and achieve nothing.KNN!

There will be no War between Thailand and Cambodia. Both side want face just talk only.

pia

There will be no War between Thailand and Cambodia. Both side want face just talk only.

Wag the dog. It will be a good diversionary tactic to keep the attention away from the mess in Bangkok.

Anyway, limited conflict only lah... treat as military exercise for the Thais. I still can't help laughing at the photo of the Cambodian and Thai soldiers standing off... the Cambodian soldiers were wearing flip-flops and odd motley of headgear and attire :biggrin:

yinyang

Wag the dog. It will be a good diversionary tactic to keep the attention away from the mess in Bangkok.
True, this galvanises nationalistic sentiments.. some respite for the likes of embittered Somchai (shortlived?)

theblackhole

thailand is a messed up country.protests and protests...what the fuck they are doing protesting all night long!!! nothing has been achieved. the king is still the power. the military is still the power.prime ministers take turn to come in and bow out gracefully.this is a country of protests all night long. singapore should learn from the thais to protest all nights long. and see what happen. you can't even wear a decent shirt with funny logo.protest somemore lah!!!

TeeKee

Thailand & Cambodia Ready for WAR!

told you guys not to worship buddha, you dun believe...

cursed be the lands who indulged in idolatry.

see!

Psalm 115:4-8 (New International Version)

4 But their idols are silver and gold,
made by the hands of men.

5 They have mouths, but cannot speak,
eyes, but they cannot see;

6 they have ears, but cannot hear,
noses, but they cannot smell;

7 they have hands, but cannot feel,
feet, but they cannot walk;
nor can they utter a sound with their throats.

8 Those who make them will be like them,
and so will all who trust in them.

1 Corinthians 10:18-20 (New International Version)

18Consider the people of Israel: Do not those who eat the sacrifices participate in the altar? 19Do I mean then that a sacrifice offered to an idol is anything, or that an idol is anything? 20No, but the sacrifices of pagans are offered to demons, not to God, and I do not want you to be participants with demons.

theblackhole

cursed be the lands who indulged in idolatry.

nnk! don't talk cock okay! nothing to do with buddha or idolatry or what not.it's your own bloody doing okay.the most war-mongering countries in the world are non-buddha countries.the country that killed the most innocent human lives are non-buddha country. the country that killed and destroyed the most earth inhabitants is not a buddha-country. so don't talk cock okay!

knn! if you step on the buddha statute...you wait and see what'll happen to you..nnk!..don't talk about buddha statute...just step on any humble idol or joss-sticks or curse and spit on any offerings by humble singaporeans, and see what'll happen to you. i'm sure you got no balls to do that! nnk!

theblackhole

worshipping demons your head lah! go and worship your god and don't speak foul of others. you do it at your own peril .nnk!

TeeKee

worshipping demons your head lah! go and worship your god and don't speak foul of others. you do it at your own peril .nnk!

See you are confused. because you are blinded by your idols.

Isaiah 44:18-19 (New International Version)

18 They know nothing, they understand nothing;
their eyes are plastered over so they cannot see,
and their minds closed so they cannot understand.

19 No one stops to think,
no one has the knowledge or understanding to say,
"Half of it I used for fuel;
I even baked bread over its coals,
I roasted meat and I ate.
Shall I make a detestable thing from what is left?
Shall I bow down to a block of wood?"

yinyang

cursed be the lands who indulged in idolatry..
You must be out of your freaking mind, to thread in hallowed ground (antagonising other religions):rolleyes:

Human failings la, what's this got to do with the cross or other religious beliefs:confused: Maybe we shd forgive YOUR confused pea brain?

VIBGYOR

You must be out of your freaking mind, to thread in hallowed ground (antagonising other religions):rolleyes:

Human failings la, what's this got to do with the cross or other religious beliefs:confused: Maybe we shd forgive YOUR confused pea brain?

whose confused? whose blinded?