• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Pay SGD$1,600 for dishwasher, but cannot find Singaporeans to take. You believe?

http://sg.finance.yahoo.com/news/pore-restaurant-group-jumbo-expand-103658070.html

S’pore restaurant group Jumbo to expand overseas

Home-grown Jumbo Group of Restaurants plans to expand overseas for the first time as it finds the business environment in Singapore "challenging", said its chief executive Ang Kiam Meng.

In an interview with Yahoo! Singapore Finance on Monday, Ang said that the group, which operates the popular Jumbo Seafood restaurants and other chains, is looking to open at least one store each in China and Indonesia this year.

"First of all (the reason we are going overseas) is the market-size compared to Singapore. There are still a lot more growth opportunities, especially in China and Indonesia," said Ang, noting there is no direct competition in those markets yet for the kind of food the chain offers.

The outlets will be located in Beijing in China, and in Surabaya and possibly later in Jakarta in Indonesia.

The group will still be expanding in Singapore as it plans to open two new outlets , said Ang, but he said the expansion was slower as business conditions were tougher.

"Part of the reason (we are going overseas) also is the current Singapore business environment is rather challenging. I think the two major factors — labour and rental — is adding a lot of pressure on business profitability, business bottomline," he said.

He disclosed that under the recently renewed restaurant lease at VivoCity, the company would be paying 50 per cent higher rental starting July.

He also said that given the tight labour market, the company has had to increase salaries. For example, in the past year and a half, they had to increase the pay of a dishwasher from S$800 to S$1,600. :eek:

He said that about half of the company's 670-strong workforce is Singaporean, but the group usually can't get locals to apply for the openings.

In the meantime, Ang said the group has been tapping on the assistance of SPRING Singapore to strengthen internal processes and train staff.

Taking part in the enterprise development agency's human capital development programme, the restaurant group has sent leaders and managers for advanced management training and tapped on experienced mentors for its leadership team.

It has also joined a part-time pool programme spearheaded by SPRING to address manpower needs.

The initiatives have since resulted in a manpower attrition rate that is lower than that of the industry, according to SPRING.

Singapore's government last year tightened on the entry of foreign executives and workers last year amid growing resentment among citizens. Massive influx of immigrants over previous years has been blamed for overcrowding on trains and for the sharp rise in housing prices.

1,600 before CPF cut. After CPF take home = 1280.

work 10 hrs, heavy work - abt 12.80 per hour.

not easy job. who will be able to take this job? retirees? Retrenched PMETs? ITE grads won't even take this job....they can easily earn this amt being an office boy.

It just shows what a spoilt bunch sinkies are. There are twits in this forum who keep calling on the govt to help the poor but the problem is that these so called "poor" refuse to take the jobs that are readily available. They expect to sit back and demand handouts instead.

I believe these losers should receive a good kick up the arse. If they refuse to work, they should be thrown in jail.

ZorrorroZ

Can a family of 4 survive on $1600 monthly salary in Singapore? Will the father have to sacrifice the growing up years of his children whilst he washes dishes from morning to midnite?

A man's job is to provide for his children by working. I know many breadwinners who spend months away from home in order to bring home the bacon. That's the role the man plays in a marriage. If he's not up to it, he shouldn't have children.

Is the level of comprehension in this forum that low? Now i understand why Sam likes to say the majority of people here are morons.

The question in this case is ALL Singaporeans not willing to take a $1,600 job? That includes the lowly educated and retirees.

Shut Up you are Not MM

Aiyah Stupid!

How can expect Singaporeans to do dishes?

Let me repeat what my mom screamed at me when she made me do dishes last time:

Sek Ye Umm Zou Ye ! 食嘢唔做嘢!
Zou Ye Dah Lan Ye ! 做嘢打烂嘢!
Soy Zai ! 衰仔!

Is the level of comprehension in this forum that low? Now i understand why Sam likes to say the majority of people here are morons.

The question in this case is ALL Singaporeans not willing to take a $1,600 job? That includes the lowly educated and retirees.

before you take the broom and make such sweeping statements - consider this:

1600 for dishwasher - nature of job rules out retirees. it is physically demanding - crates of creamic / procelain plates / bowls no joke to load and unload from the dishwasher. You have to be able to lift heavy loads, work in slippery / hot kitchen environment.

low educated - depending on your definition of lowly educated. What is low educated? intellectually challenged? like those in MINDS? Or O-level grads? ITE grads? Poly grads?

nature of job suitable for young / able bodied. If you fall into this category - you can easily perform other tasks - eg: bus captain earning much more. Or sales assistants.

http://sg.finance.yahoo.com/news/pore-restaurant-group-jumbo-expand-103658070.html

The group will still be expanding in Singapore as it plans to open two new outlets , said Ang, but he said the expansion was slower as business conditions were tougher.

"Part of the reason (we are going overseas) also is the current Singapore business environment is rather challenging. I think the two major factors — labour and rental — is adding a lot of pressure on business profitability, business bottomline," he said.

He disclosed that under the recently renewed restaurant lease at VivoCity, the company would be paying 50 per cent higher rental starting July.

He also said that given the tight labour market, the company has had to increase salaries. For example, in the past year and a half, they had to increase the pay of a dishwasher from S$800 to S$1,600. :eek:

Singapore's government last year tightened on the entry of foreign executives and workers last year amid growing resentment among citizens. Massive influx of immigrants over previous years has been blamed for overcrowding on trains and for the sharp rise in housing prices.

It's interesting that the debate is over the difficulty of the work & not that the busness environment in Spore is challenging. If you pay someone enough you will always have people knocking on your door. Can't really blame Sporeans for being calculative as they have expensive costs unlike foreigners who can "balek kampong" where costs are lower.

Spore's taxation hidden or otherwise is killing Spore. I know many well educated Sporeans who have left Spore because they don't see a future in Spore:( Whether you are a businessman, wage earner, unemployed, housewife,... the tax burden is high.

before you take the broom and make such sweeping statements - consider this:

1600 for dishwasher - nature of job rules out retirees. it is physically demanding - crates of creamic / procelain plates / bowls no joke to load and unload from the dishwasher. You have to be able to lift heavy loads, work in slippery / hot kitchen environment.

low educated - depending on your definition of lowly educated. What is low educated? intellectually challenged? like those in MINDS? Or O-level grads? ITE grads? Poly grads?

nature of job suitable for young / able bodied. If you fall into this category - you can easily perform other tasks - eg: bus captain earning much more. Or sales assistants.

It is interesting that you rule out retirees for dish washing. Then what have i been seeing in coffeeshops or hawker centres? Were those dishwashers actually young people disguising themselves as old retirees? Must be la! Or can i say you talk cock?

If you need to ask me if the definition of lowly educated comprises of the realm of intellectually challenged, then you are clearly hopeless.

All these hogwash & wayangs to pull wool over SINgaporean's eyes, & start again, with the preaching of increase productivity & upgrading one's skills. If this was, say 20 years back, JUMBO unable to get SINgaporeans to wash dishes at $1,600 , it is possible, but then again, the pay is that low that no locals will take. Back then, they will get Malaysians, who are more than willing to work at that rate. This is 2012, surely JUMBO can invest in automatic crockery washing machines, that requires less manpower. But, stingy businessmen will not do that, they will moan & groan that, no locals want to work at $1,600 for they want, what the Hokkien's will say " ai chi, ai pi, ai, tua liap ni" and blame the SINgaporean workers, as usual.

Have heard this, so many times, remember in 1997 or 1998, during the Asian Financial Crises, one famous resturant group, complain the same thing as now JUMBO does, unable to get local workers at x,xxx to work for them

What is new?? :mad:

It is interesting that you rule out retirees for dish washing. Then what have i been seeing in coffeeshops or hawker centres? Were those dishwashers actually young people disguising themselves as old retirees? Must be la! Or can i say you talk cock?

If you need to ask me if the definition of lowly educated comprises of the realm of intellectually challenged, then you are clearly hopeless.

did you mix up dishcollectors with dish washers in Hawker centres?

do you haul crates of plates / utensils in hawker centres? or you are referring to washing dishes per stall basis?

go check out food courts - dishwashers are FTs behind those swaying doors , your retirees are collecting dishes and cleaning up the tables after you eat.

please lah...i have washed dishes in a restaurant (read resturant - like the case in your post) and its tough. My back wanna break just after one day of work. Ok, maybe i am physically unfit..

you said lowly ed - i ask you for definition. Can you please define it here for all?

did you mix up dishcollectors with dish washers in Hawker centres?

do you haul crates of plates / utensils in hawker centres? or you are referring to washing dishes per stall basis?

go check out food courts - dishwashers are FTs behind those swaying doors , your retirees are collecting dishes and cleaning up the tables after you eat.

please lah...i have washed dishes in a restaurant (read resturant - like the case in your post) and its tough. My back wanna break just after one day of work. Ok, maybe i am physically unfit..

you said lowly ed - i ask you for definition. Can you please define it here for all?

What a retarded twit you are. Trying to misconstrue what is plain simple English. Dishwasher and dishcollector are clearly different and if you are under the assumption that anyone could get those two mixed up, then you are more daft than i had assumed.

Yes, you are physically unfit if your back is breaking after washing dishes. A pussy if i may add.

Don't avoid my point. More specifically, do you consider intellectually challenged as lowly educated? Can you answer this? If not, it's alright. I can give you a pass on this.

Spock

Without a ready source of cheap imported labour, the restaurant would have invested in an industrial-grade dish-washing machine, trained and hired two operators for $3k a month each to operate it and supported other companies who may import or build or maintain the machines. If the whole of SG does this, there will be impetus to innovate and build machines customised for local markets instead of relying on cheap labour to perform menial jobs.

What a retarded twit you are. Trying to misconstrue what is plain simple English. Dishwasher and dishcollector are clearly different and if you are under the assumption that anyone could get those two mixed up, then you are more daft than i had assumed.

Yes, you are physically unfit if your back is breaking after washing dishes. A pussy if i may add.

Don't avoid my point. More specifically, do you consider intellectually challenged as lowly educated? Can you answer this? If not, it's alright. I can give you a pass on this.

LOL....

I don't consider intellectually challenged as lowly edu....

i am now asking you - what you define as lowly edu? You haven't answered this.

We are talking about dishwashing in restaurants and you say coffee shops - comparing apples with oranges. Therefore i cast doubt on whether you have mistaken dishcollector and dishwasher.

anyways, I await your definition regarding lowly educ...i have given you mine.

ok, so I am physically unfit...so eat me ha ha...

LOL....

I don't consider intellectually challenged as lowly edu....

i am now asking you - what you define as lowly edu? You haven't answered this.

We are talking about dishwashing in restaurants and you say coffee shops - comparing apples with oranges. Therefore i cast doubt on whether you have mistaken dishcollector and dishwasher.

anyways, I await your definition regarding lowly educ...i have given you mine.

ok, so I am physically unfit...so eat me ha ha...

Let's try your trick. When you ask about the definition of 'lowly educated', do you mean my own personal opinion or the opinion of people like you or the general consensus of my friends and relatives?

The venues quoted is the only factor. I do not understand how your mind will assume that i got the two groups mixed up due to this. Can you explain why? Can we just pin it down to the plain old stupidity excuse?

Now do you see how retarded you are?

Let's try your trick. When you ask about the definition of 'lowly educated', do you mean my own personal opinion or the opinion of people like you or the general consensus of my friends and relatives?

The venues quoted is the only factor. I do not understand how your mind will assume that i got the two groups mixed up due to this. Can you explain why? Can we just pin it down to the plain old stupidity excuse?

Now do you see how retarded you are?

just put your personal opinion...LOL

cool, if retarded people respond to you....it shows we need to redefine 'retarded' don't we?

washing dishes in a restaurant is different from washing dishes in a coffeeshop. You have to man-handle crates of procelain dishes, plates, bowls, serving plates onto the dishwasher, lower the hood and when done, manhandle the crates down. And repeat for x number of times. After the dishwasher has done with washing the plates, they are hot and slippery. the floor is slippery, the crates are heavy. And there are serving plates that are too big for the dishwasher (and very heavy), these you have to wash them manually.

and during peak hours, there aren't enough plates / cups / glasses to go around, you face time pressure to get them washed and ready for the kitchen. You cannot afford to break these expensive bone China either...

Not your coffee shop affair where you sit on a stool, wash dishes from a few basins of soapy water and rinse dry and stack them - melamine plates at that. And the volume is a fraction of what goes on in a resturant.

Why don't your maid marry me. We wash dishes together and go shooting range together. :biggrin: