• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Hai Kee Teochew Char Kuay Teow is Delicious!

Bro Zhihau, when you visit High St CKT stall at Bedok South, you must also try the cuttlefish & kangkong located 3 stalls away.

The cuttlefish & kangkong sold there is closest to Penang Gurney Drive cuttle fish & kangkong.

The stall opens at 5 pm and be prepared to queue up for 30-45 mins.

bedok south blk?

Porfirio Rubirosa

Looks like I need to do abit more tasting next time I visit this HC.

Any idea when the hawkers need to quit the HC?

I believe all those CKT stalls mentioned are merited ones. Each has its own style of cooking and ingredients. The Margaret Drive fella pre-fried a few plates then gave individual plate a thorough final fry irrespective of whether there is a long queue. His CKT dished out is a bit wet and best eaten with raw cockles, if one can take it. Just buried them in the hot kuay teow for awhile and they should be cooked, but not overly-cooked.

This HCentre is about to be demolished for the Dawson Redevelopment Scheme and hence most of the nearby blocks were torn down and those still standing do not have much residents living. Hence, the presence of huge crowds there is a tribute to the quality of the food. You can't compare it with a huge estate like Bedok with thousands of residents.

Beside the good coffee stall, there is a good western stall a few stalls from Hai Kee and in the centre, the zhi char stall run by a couple, wife a bit plumb and be-spectacled son offers very affordable food, especially the hainanese-style pork chop at $5/- only. Two large pieces wih potatos, tomatoes and good gravy thrown in. There are also two mee pok stalls one with very large fish balls and both very well patronised.

Upstairs 2nd storey, the famous Sin Kee chicken rice previously from Sago Lane and one hardly can find a seat, what with chickens so smoothly done. Then there is this potted rice stall where a medium pot of $8/- with big servings of ingredients can feed 3 persons. The standard is comparable to those stalls at Kreta Ayer FC. Double-boiled soups are also available at reasonable prices.

With so many good food, it is not surprising that this HC is so well-patronised though with little residential support.

postnew

Bedok South Block 16 Market and Food Centre
bkggclt_bedok_south_block_16_market_and_food_centre.jpg

jcjgisb_hill_street_fried_kway_teow.jpg
jcjghun_char_kway_teow.jpg

untitled272.jpg
untitled273.jpg

BedokSouthFC.jpg

Echo_O

At bedok south don't forget to try the fishball noodles and the hokkien mee there. Been eating there regularly for the past 20 years

newszeeker

Replying to #45's "Any idea when the hawkers need to quit the HC?" ,it is around 2 years as I understand from one of the hawkers previously. In any case, the HDB had held public exhibitions to promote the new-style housing there.

Regards.

newszeeker

Some views from colleagues and friends for sharing :

Newszeeker :
LTK, Which one’s better .. Queenstown or Bedok.. you tasted both, I believe.

LTK(Bedok resident):
Yes .. I tasted both .. Queenstown CKT is much better.

OBK (Staying at Queen’s Close) :
What about Hong Lim complex and Ghim Moh food centre

LTK :
1 Hong Lim & Queenstown CKT are equally good.

2 Ghim Moh ... don't know .. never try b4.

Vincent S (Toa Payoh resident, running around Spore) :
Hong Lim & Queenstown CKT are equally good. Queenstown still the best overall...
Ghim Moh ... don't know .. never try b4. Don't waste your time going there and join the que...

Henry (Staying in Spottiswoode Park) :
Try Chinatown's 3 CKT stalls. Two at the 2nd floor of the new Chinatown Complex Food Centre. On of them was previously from the foodcourt at Hill Street[Newszeeker: The other relocated from Outram Park]. The other at the Chinatown's Smith Street Hawker Centre. Must try. From the Malay proverb "Belum kena, belum tahu. Sudah kena lagi mahu!"

slotmania

HC with the same teochew man is now at telok blangah crescent hawker centre. he opens after 7.00pm just like at the former commonwealth/Margaret drive place

before gouging on any stir fry food in sg, what i need to know are: does sg import cooking oil from china? if yes, are these cooking oil products used by local food vendors? if yes, do they taste like gutter oil so much so that they make the char kway teow taste different but shiok?

Forvendet

untitled273.jpg

Good grief! I don't know how you people can find this palatable or even delicious, it's inedible on sight.

Actually, there are some slight variations of CKT. Some is more watery/Oily, some more dry and some half half. Personally, I prefer watery/oily type. There's one shop that meet my specs and is in Bukit Merah Hawker Centre (Near Bukit Merah Interchange). Stall is right at the end, facing a Aquarium shop. This stall was mend by 2 brothers.
As for Hai Kee (Margaret Drive), it is reasonably good but I find it not watery enough. Also, I do not like the additional Lap Chiong and Fishcake. Just the tow gay and see ham will do. Above average.

For Hill Street (Bedok), think is reasonably good but sometimes not consistent. Can be a little "Chow Ta" at times when stall is busy. Suspect the owner just turn the fire big on the stove to cook faster. Other times, you can get a reasonable CKT. Serving is smaller as compare to Margaret Drive and my favorite at Bukit Merah Hawker Centre.

Fearless Jedi

Guys. Hai Kee CKT has been at Telok Blangah for the past two over years now. The price is now $3 per plate and this has separated those who like it for the price and those who really like the CKT. Enjoy but spare a thought for your heart.

Hil street CKT is best when the old man is frying...the son standard is good but not there yet. MBT is a fan, see the photos from the stall.
Old airport road have a few reputable ones as well, 老夫子, lucky and another that I forgot name....the hawkers like to fry making noise with their spatulas to show business is good LOL

kingrant

Bro, you got more specific location?

Wah, this thread started by Porfiro is already so old. I knew that the Margaret Drive area was going to be demolished/rebuilt or sth like that. Porfiro was right that there was a kopi stall 2 doors away to the end of the block (twds the polyclinic side). The guy who used to run it with his wifey I think is called Andy. He spotted a pony tail then. I believe they have all been chased away by resettlement or SERS.

Guys. Hai Kee CKT has been at Telok Blangah for the past two over years now. The price is now $3 per plate and this has separated those who like it for the price and those who really like the CKT. Enjoy but spare a thought for your heart.

middaydog

Actually, there are some slight variations of CKT. Some is more watery/Oily, some more dry and some half half.

for me, Thai Phad See Iew anytime ( dunt know how to spell ) something like singapore CKT

can find at some thai stalls in singapore