• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Buddhism has a lifespan of 5000 years

hairylee

Nvm objective proof of karma. Harry Lee is still alive and kicking. As is his good friend, Kim Jong Il.

Karma comes in many forms. It means nothing to be alive and kicking to old age. Nothing to do with karma or Buddhism.
Now do you know why my nick is HairyLee?

Unrepented

In cognitive psychology, there is also concept of desires and its eradication by finding its root. I forgotten the actual word for "desire" in the context of psychological studies. It has been many years. If I am not wrong, it might be "cravings". Since you recommended studying cognitive psychology, maybe you should know something about this similar concept and the actual word to replace "desire".

You wanna know about psychology, I suggest you study cognitive psychology. Even an idiot can say something profound and wise in one of his random ramblings. And only an idiot will latch on to every subsequent word of said idiot as words of wisdom. A lot of Sinkie sheep fall into this category. Science isn't perfect. Because it requires the interpretation of imperfect humans. But it's fundamental to our conception of truth. What is truth? That which could be proven. What could be proven? That which could be observed. Religious believers do not take too kindly to observation. It spoils their wishful, idealised picture of reality, of the future.

hairylee

Bro, no worries, I am not confrontational on this, nor do I purport that what I post is beyond challenge. It is for discussion and sharing.

And I get what you mean :smile:

Imo, certain things are symbolic like the every step in Borobudur. Take for example, some Buddhist dont eat beef. I always believed that it was symbolic to teach illiterate villages in ancient times, the need to show gratitude to those who helped them. In the case of the cow, who till the land for them and provided milk for the family, so dont kill the cow :p

For me, I eat beef too, but along as I know what is gratitude and practises it.:smile:

No worries Bro, when comes to true Buddhism I am a empty vessel waiting to be filled.
Along the way true Buddhism got mixed up with cultural practices or faiths.
Dalai Lama himself have stated people chant to Buddha for wealth which is wrong.

Unrepented

Computer? Hardware or software?:biggrin:

Us, we, me is relevant only because of our level of consciousness.

Imagine if one suffers from dementia, I also cannot imagine what it will feel like.:*:

The mind is somehow like a computer, somehow you can be able to retrieve this info perhaps if you browse thru the "recycle bin". But how does one have access to the computer instead of the computer accessing us? :biggrin:

Cruxx

Computer? Hardware or software?:biggrin:

Us, we, me is relevant only because of our level of consciousness.

Imagine if one suffers from dementia, I also cannot imagine what it will feel like.:*:

Can you imagine the consciousness of a sperm without a material brain? You don't have to imagine it. We were all brainless sperms before.

Unrepented

Your attempt to pervert logic and reasoning. When Ah Beng say his child is a boy, doesnt mean Ah Seng's child must be a girl:rolleyes::biggrin:

While atheists, Muslims, Christians seek falsehoods and ignorance, right? "Buddhism is about seeking the truth and enlightenment" is as vacuous and meaningless a statement as "PAP is best qualified to run Singapore" or "My son would never commit murder". :rolleyes:

scbccb

Live life to the fullest. The Shinto Zen Buddhist way. KNN. :rolleyes:

Buddhism cannot escape from stupidlity too ...they believe that when those bad deeds will reincarnate into insects or animals ...they believe that those who are born without limps are those who do bad deeds in their previous life ...i think its evil to say that . they also encourage ppl to give up " living to the fullest " theory ...thats also evil ...:wink: . they also encourage ppl to beg on the street for food rather then to work for food . :rolleyes:

Unrepented

Maybe you should check out Tibetan Buddhism out of interest. I learnt that the various coloured little flags that we see in movies about tibet, actually contain respective prayer or sutras. I find it quite a noble intention, as these prayers are for humanity at large and not for their individual riches. I bought afew when I was there, just out for novelty sake.:p

Green colored flags are sutras for the well being for the forest, blue for the sky, another color for animals, etc. And the tibetans let these combination of coloured flags flutter in the wind, as it is their belief that with every flutter a complete prayer is carried by the wind to the world and for the world at large. The practice is symbolic of their noble intention, imo.

On the dalai Lama, I dont bother much. First of all, he has to get rid of this gold rimmed glasses.:biggrin:

No worries Bro, when comes to true Buddhism I am a empty vessel waiting to be filled.
Along the way true Buddhism got mixed up with cultural practices or faiths.
Dalai Lama himself have stated people chant to Buddha for wealth which is wrong.

Sadly Drifter believes in such crap. I told him to join a social club like a church for peaceful fun, he never listened. Religion is something that's neither proven nor disproven.

Live life to the fullest. The Shinto Zen Buddhist way. KNN. :rolleyes:

middaydog

how cum, when people start to discuss jesus christ some fux will come and throw the thread in trash heap? :biggrin:

hairylee

Maybe you should check out Tibetan Buddhism out of interest. I learnt that the various coloured little flags that we see in movies about tibet, actually contain respective prayer or sutras. I find it quite a noble intention, as these prayers are for humanity at large and not for their individual riches. I bought afew when I was there, just out for novelty sake.:p

Green colored flags are sutras for the well being for the forest, blue for the sky, another color for animals, etc. And the tibetans let these combination of coloured flags flutter in the wind, as it is their belief that with every flutter a complete prayer is carried by the wind to the world and for the world at large. The practice is symbolic of their noble intention, imo.

On the dalai Lama, I dont bother much. First of all, he has to get rid of this gold rimmed glasses.:biggrin:

Ah! thanks for your info. Now then I know what those flags means. Have been curious in the past but did not bother to find out.

My interest on the Dalai Lama started only recently. Someone sent me an e-mail on his conversation with a Brazilian professor and he quoted the dalai lama.
I find his take on the Buddha teachings in pure unlike those out in the public.

Forvendet

Basically, Buddhism is a branch of Hinduism (just like Christianity and Islam are branches of Judaism). Hinduism tells you you're better off dead unless you're born high caste. Buddhism says to hell with the castes; you're all better off dead anyway. The highest level of Buddhist practice is to be a monk, laze around all day long doing nothing productive, just pretending to be holy and con people to donate them.

We all know con scams, like selling magic stones for thousands of dollars. What's the difference with monks or priests telling you donation to temples or churches increases your merits? No difference.