• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

cathylmg

I am very proud that you bounced back and with a vengence Cathylmg, my wife suffered the same thing as you and was retrenched for a Chinese FT. She miscarried as well as they treated her very badly and she wanted to do the right thing by the company(i wished they did the same for her). The same Chinese FT was then retrenched a few months later for somebody even cheaper(not sure how that is possible)

Wuqi, same experiences lah. No raise for 3 years. Eat my bonuses for 2 years, even wanna cut my 13 months. Nobody will be loyal to this kind of company. Now the company is closed for good. Serve them right. Orbee good!

I worked doubly hard, invested wisely so that she didn't have to work anymore after that. She has not been working for more than 5 plus years now. Now with regularly rental income................

We went through a period of darkness afterwards, then strange thing happened, businesses picked up, my hubby worked very hard on his business. I didn't had go back to work since then. I think he also felt the same calling as you do. That is to provide. We are better off now, although still poor.... :smile:

cathylmg

Imagine your neighbours in Setia Tropika doing it. Disgustin right. Robbing your own neighbours stuff.

I used it to protect my plants from the landscapers.

People helped themselves to it.

What to do?

Wah biang! You got approach you neighbour or not? Or they thought its someone just throw it there one? Next time bind it with cement lor. More heavy to remove. haha!

aangsc

I worked doubly hard, invested wisely so that she didn't have to work anymore after that. She has not been working for more than 5 plus years now. Now with regularly rental income, a company of her own, she is in a better position financially. When i pass on, at least will not need to worry for her financially.

Wah brother, you must shared some secret how to invest so wisely that your spouse do not have to work and yet own multiple units of ppty there. Your attitude is commendable.

U R reinforcing the belief that only LOSERS move to JB.

:mad::mad::mad::mad:

I don't know what is the reason for your move to JB, whether alternative lifestyle or whatever, but what gives you the right to call people who are looking for lower cost alternative for retirement as LOSERS? You are so damn rude! :mad:

just a thought suddenly.... we keep quiet... more people come buy properties... our property price go up!

*hey... just a passing thought ok??? not that we should follow or anything... dun take it seriously...*

haha okay okay i keep very quiet..:biggrin:

Hi ginfreely,

does that mean that you basicallt TT over to your Malaysia account from them, and they charge you $10 for the TT?

Yeah that's right. They charge $10 for the TT. Very convenient, just use cheque to deposit to the money changer and then they'll arrange the transfer.

Welcome to the forum, Pleb.

Regarding yout answer, I would say, yes, at leat on my part.

My mortgage for my 5rm HDB will end in 4 year's time, and it will take me a total of 12 years to complete it.
I have enough for my needs now, and if nothing goes wrong along the way, my needs should be covered at least for the next 10-20 years.
As for retirement, I am planning for it, but I am not sure if target is achievable.
If inflation goes as high as it goes the last few quarters, I think Singaporeans are in for a shock soon.
Many have suggested that one should sell the bigger house, and get a smaller house, and the balance from the sales can be used as retirement.
But is that what we are all looking forward to? Not me.

So, I got a unit in HH, pay for it now, and when I retire, I can rent out my place in Singapore and live happily in HH with the rental income.
Thats all I can plan for for now.

And from now till I retire, I can still rent out the place (if needed) to get rental to cover the purchase, and I can still save up here and there for retirement.

I also had an idea of renting out the place in HH, get it paid off, and sell it off just before I retire.
Then, I will use the money and buy a house in Cameron Highlands and move there (I like the weather lah!)...

What about you? You are asking for views, but we would like to hear your views too, at least I would.

And again, the above is just me. There are other achievers who are better off then me and are not a "loser" like me, and they have their views on getting a place in Malaysia which are different from mine.

The spectrum of foreigners buying houses in Malaysia are really wide.

We've the same game plan for retirement (minus the Cameron highlands part), be it sale or rental eventually as long as have two fully paid properties by retirement age..haha great minds think alike! :biggrin:

2bfree2b

Hi Soon2BFree
Happy to read your post with such clearly articulated thoughts. I get so much flak for having moved over [not that I really care, but it can be boringly repetitive from genuine friends, so cannot politely tell them to diam mulut yet again].
Was just with some newbies at the Urban Retreat for a first organized informal neighbourly get-together. ALL were quietly so happy to be living in Johor. Many insights, some useful sharing of information: Singaporeans, Malaysians and other expats. And we ranged in age from 30s - 60s, with a couple of babies in tow.
Writing to ask if I may quote your post in my weblog [www.puterim.com], slightly amended - mostly to put in paragraphing for easier reading. Erm ... another reason is that you are not at the usual retirement age of 60+, so it is refreshing and positive reading.
With thanks

Hi Mallow, tnx for taking the time to read my posting. Feel free to do so. Tnx again.

ginfreely, you won't face this problem if you move to JB. Infact, the FTs even gives you an added advantage. Think of it, the very same reasons that people draded, those FTs, will result in higher rental which only puts more coins in your pockets. Not good meh? Think deeper. LOL!

Haha think very hard already but still want less FT becos they messed up this place in the last few years. Rather have less rental than to be bullied by FT in our own country :biggrin:

Analytical Professor

Now teachin my kids to water plants. For the moment they dun enjoy it. They are sittin on a chair as they find carryin the hose painful.

Hmm the new generation hardly loves plants

aangsc

2 is not enough. Have as many as possible. :biggrin:

I am not so sure about price resilience of Johor property. The old JB side already not going up anymore , in fact some already lose $ there. If Johor make it to be a big city then all is fine. If not, I have doubt about the yield potential but one unit for staying certainly no big issue. Of course, if they get some help from Temasek or SG GLC, it will be a lot more rosy. I cannot erase the doubt due to bad experience with CLOB.

cathylmg

Haha think very hard already but still want less FT becos they messed up this place in the last few years. Rather have less rental than to be bullied by FT in our own country :biggrin:

Aiyah, nothing is permanent. The only permanent thing is changes. Things evolve, people gotta evolve also. Now the city too develope liao, even without these FT, I also won't like to stay in concrete jungles. Lets move on.

I was retrenched 2 times. The 2nd time my accountant purposely told me that my other Malaysian FT colleage has been very accomodating. Up to the point of not getting her salaries for a few month. It was a very small company. Bosses kept on saying company not making money, but then strange, I had the previllage to come into knowledge of my bosses paying himself a of S$5K salaries monthly via HR accounts. That was 10 odd years ago. When my FT malaysian colleage was on maternity leave, I was pregnant and vomiting frequently, but still have to cover her job. 2 full sets of account at only $100 extra pay. You may think that that's really bad. Not at all. Worst still, the minute I finished my confinement, Monday I had to start work, on Friday I took out all my office clothes to iron. My accountant call to say that my position was redandant and so they terminated me.

There was no mercy. The very desk that I was working in, they built a room on it, all my things was put into an A4 size paper box. Casted out on the empty table outside the room. When I went back to collect my last pay cheque, they made me sign a paper document of not intending to pursue any liability. My pay was final, I collected my box, went home and went into post natal blues. It took me about a year to finally come out of it.

So you see? I keep repeating that its the same everywhere. Nobody bothers. You are on your own. Don't expect anyone to help you. No matter what the hell you have been through, how much sacrifices you have made for the company, its your business, life still goes on. The sooner you come to your senses the better. Do yourself a favour, plan for your own retirement. Take care of yourself. Don't wait for others to take care of you. There is no such thing.

Poor Cathy, glad you made it now. This reminds me of the time I need to cover someone on maternity leave for three months, got to work till 10 pm on most nights and guess what when the person come back, she resigned immediately and I've to cover another 3 months while they take their own sweet time to hire! Yeah no extra pay, no extra bonus, just a pat on the back...so silly of me hor?!

Narmi

Hi all

Allow me to share my brief story. Have been going in and out of JB for makan/shopping/holiday for as long as I can remember. When got hitched in 2002 already planned to get a property in JB (can u imagine how cheeep that can be at that time?). Alas my missus was not for it for all the negative reasons that all bros/sis have mentioned in this forum.

We r both professionals. Have cleared my 5 rm HDB loan within that time and with 3 lovely kids fr P3 to Pre-sch. Took almost 10 yrs to convince the other better half.. during which from no restrictions by msian govt to min 500k rule imposed. Well it is better late than never right :smile:.

I do not regret for it is no use if I were to buy earlier and my missus neva wanna stay or step inside the hse. But now she is the one who kept planning what to buy or put in the new hse in 1+ yrs time. Plan to clear the loan in 10-12yrs..

Although we are not immediate neighbours, it is still good to know of fellow sporeans from different developments.

Btw i am taking the plunge at NI.

Wish me luck =)

Status
Not open for further replies.