• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Analytical Professor

My wife urging me to sell as well when the going is good maybe in 5 years time. But for me i feel like i wanna keep it, retire with it and pass it on or possibly sell it in my twilight years. This is my thinking for now atleast.

Maybe one of them if the price is good and if i need the money... if i can afford i will just let it rot... but definitely i will keep one for retirement

LeMans2011

My wife urging me to sell as well when the going is good maybe in 5 years time. But for me i feel like i wanna keep it, retire with it and pass it on or possibly sell it in my twilight years. This is my thinking for now atleast.

Yes i think keeping one is definitely no harm. Do not be discouraged if some things don't work out for now. I know at the moment Setia Tropika is a bit far, and i have seen many Singaporean neighbours on Nusajaya side who took the trouble to come on Friday evening... spend the whole Saturday cleaning the house... enjoy half a day on Sunday... and off they go back to Singapore.

I'm sure you've heard about the new Dispersal Link that connects Setia Tropika to JB city centre right? That will shorten your journey by a great deal since you can avoid the Tebrau Highway. Once the travel becomes more comfortable the feel will be much better. Do you know they are selling the new cluster houses at ST pricing from 750k to 900k+? I don't suppose they are so stupid to price themselves out of the market right. And the fact that the whole Immigration Dept moved to ST is another plus point. I can see ST is already a self-sufficient township.

You can share some of our points with your wife... but at the end of the day our family always come first and the final decision will be a joint decision... its about choice in life no good or bad :smile:

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
I want to move in to my house in jb to enjoy a better quality of living, make my money stretch longer and to get income from my current hdb. I also intend to use another unit in jb as a kind of piggybank to collect rental as a retirement fund. To me, capital appreciation is a bonus but not an aboslute necessity. Most important thing is to built a sustainable monthly income, so that me and my husband can really retire and enjoy life for good.

I recommand those intending to invest in property to read Robert Kyosaki and Kim Kyosaki's series of books. Especially Rich Dad, Poor Dad.
PS:I don't have anything to gain from this.

Agree Cathylmg, yes you would want something sustainable, not just to make some fast buck. Thats actually one of my aims. If it really goes up, its a welcomed bonus.

Prof, i don't wish to keep having the discussion about which has the edge over the other, they are mutually dependant on each other. We are but riders in this train, the true destination can only be achieved with the right drivers.

If you have time, just come out to look at the side road outside HH, Puteri Harbour, Integrated resort etc. I am not mentioning the others you already mentioned. There are already documents from UEM/Sime Darby, just search through earlier threads.

http://www.iskandarmalaysia.com.my/category/news-category/properties

Massive infrastructure is already happening, i see it taking place every day in Perling, just outside HH and even in Kempas area as it will be one of the major transit hub linking to KL, etc.

This is not just about infrastructure as infrastructure can only play a supporting role but it is offering all this into a package with the CIQ at the Puteri harbouentertainment, medical, factories, ports, government and the mixed development Medini with financial districts, etc

http://www.iskandarmalaysia.com.my/the-5-flagship-zones

http://www.uemland.com/projects/kotaiskandar.htm

http://www.iskandarmalaysia.com.my/news/100901/uem-land-to-step-up-nusajaya-projects

If one has time, please look for clues like job vacancies in the area:
http://malaysiajobs.biz/search/vacancies-at-lego-land-iskandar-malaysia

There are interesting companies offering jobs there.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section

Thats good thinking, if its good, its a keeper. :smile:

Analytical Professor

Wuqi if you read those are not my comments. Those are what i collated from the net and posted on another forum 2 years ago. Its mentioned there as well and i have nothing to hide <<incase you think so>>. Hence i rightfully agreed that i posted those comments gathered from various web sites/users of forums.

And now the forum is dead and i am sure you are aware of that.

So where is below the belt?

Anyway i think people in this forum are sensible enough to spot the difference betwen criticism and healthy debate. Even a coffee shop has this.

I love to encourage healthy debates so we can learn and for those who dunno can learn as well.

Hi Prof, you posted at the link below as well i presume? http://www.setiaproperty.com/forum/index.php?/topic/176-bukit-indah-nusajaya-vs-kempas/

Criticizing under any forms of disguise might be seen as hitting beneath the belt.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
I agree you did not dismiss Setia.[/QUOTE]

Thanks Prof, again both places are mutually dependant on each other. I think no one wish anyone to fail or to subtly hit at one by talking about lack of this or that when we all know that things will come by, its only a matter of time. It would be funny otherwise right. Even when people tell me about the LRT to Bukit Indah, i always maintain the "i will see it when i believe it" but i am really seeing changes or maybe i should get my eyes checked and stand corrected.

Analytical Professor

I heard its a toll road. nevertheless i cant wait for it to finish. Just wanna whiz in and out (minus as much of the jams as possible)

I'm sure you've heard about the new Dispersal Link that connects Setia Tropika to JB city centre right? That will shorten your journey by a great deal since you can avoid the Tebrau Highway. Once the travel becomes more comfortable the feel will be much better. QUOTE]

Analytical Professor

I agree there are changes. I see quite a few changes and changes are happening at a fast pace too.

I agree you did not dismiss Setia.

i always maintain the "i will see it when i believe it" but i am really seeing changes or maybe i should get my eyes checked and stand corrected.[/QUOTE]

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Wuqi if you read those are not my comments. Those are what i collated from the net and posted on another forum 2 years ago. Its mentioned there as well and i have nothing to hide <<incase you think so>>. Hence i rightfully agreed that i posted those comments gathered from various web sites/users of forums.

And now the forum is dead and i am sure you are aware of that.

So where is below the belt?

Anyway i think people in this forum are sensible enough to spot the difference betwen criticism and healthy debate. Even a coffee shop has this.

I love to encourage healthy debates so we can learn and for those who dunno can learn as well.

Yes criticism is very welcome but look at it this way Prof, from your other posts, first suddenly potholes and then the lack of this and that and inconvenient, etc. It goes on and slowly starts looking like something else when crime gets mentioned as well.

This is a bit, strange right? From then to progressing on the current discussion which to the casual onlooker is already casting doubts on Nusajaya as a whole.

Someone sent that link to me actually as 2 years down the road, it should be clearer now?

People are coming out to Johore because of the new developments and not just one place, as i said we can agree to disagree as there are too many differences in opinion here due to:

1. Vested interests
2. The thing that drew them out here in the first place. - Each place may have something that the other one does not have. Those that are already attracted to that place will not suddenly change their minds.
3. A healthy discussion takes into perspective both sides.

If its meant to discourage more people to come here and avoid overcrowding this place then some folks who have already asked me to do the same will thank you.

I am not doubting you, but you are acting a bit out of character, as i read through your earlier posts, the tone feels different.

If i have read it incorrectly though, i do apologise.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Quote [Analytical Professor;686029]I heard its a toll road. nevertheless i cant wait for it to finish. Just wanna whiz in and out (minus as much of the jams as possible)

Thats actually one of the selling points i mentioned to my learned friends and relatives. They can straightaway bypass a lot of stuff and just goes straight there. It will definitely improve over time. The whole place will. Kempas will be a major transport hub and i believe that will take place soon.

There are already lots of discussion on Kempas as a hub:

http://www.google.com.my/#hl=ms&sou...as+hub&aq=f&aqi=&aql=&oq=&fp=1da81e052b73ecf8

Source:
http://www.starproperty.my/PropertyScene/PropertyNews/10868/0/0

By ZAZALI MUSA
[email protected] | Mar 18, 2011
New transport hub in Johor

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

PASIR GUDANG: An integrated transportation hub would be built in Bandar Seri Alam township here to serve residents in the Eastern Gate Development Zone.

Seri Alam Properties Sdn Bhd acting head of subsidiary Frankie Tan Kiat How said a 3.19ha site near to a private medical centre has been slated for the project.

“The hub will be developed within the next two years and it will improve connectivity from the Eastern Gate to other parts of Iskandar Malaysia,’’ he told StarMetro.

Tan said this after hosting an appreciation lunch for members of Johor Baru media and the company’s corporate clients at Amansari Residences and Resorts.

He added that the hub would encompass train commuter, feeder bus and taxi services with the commuter system to be inter linked with the rail network at the Kempas Sentral.

The latter is part of the KTM Kempas Baru station which would be developed into an integrated transportation hub for Iskandar Malaysia, similar to KL Sentral, but several times bigger.

Eastern Development Gate is one of the five flagship development zones in Iskandar Malaysia – others are the Johor Baru City Centre, Nusajaya, Western Development Gate and Kulai-Senai.

Areas that come under the Eastern Development Gate are Pasir Gudang, Pasir Gudang Port, Pasir Gudang industrial park, Tanjung Langsat Port and Tanjung Langsat industrial complex.

“There is a possibility of a link-up with the Singapore’s Mass Rapid Transit system with the transportation hub which will extend from Singapore to Pasir Gudang,’’ said Tan.

In a separate matter, Tan said the company had allocated 16.18ha site in the township for a proposed public hospital in Pasir Gudang to cater for the increasing numbers of residents in the Eastern Gate.

He hoped the government would give priority to the project as residents seeking medical treatments at public hospitals now have to go either to Hospital Sultan Ismail in Pandan or Hospital Sultanah Aminah in Johor Baru.

Although there is a private medical centre here, he said not everybody especially wage earners from the medium-low income brackets groups could afford the high medical charges.

“A full-fledged public hospital at least with 200 or 300 beds is a better choice to serve residents here rather than a small hospital,’’ said Tan.

Seri Alam Properties, is a wholly-owned subsidiary of United Malayan Land Bhd, and currently undertakes the development of 1,347.60ha Bandar Seri Alam township.

Development started since 1992, as of todate 60% of the area has been developed with about 10,000 residential and commercial properties and 50,000 residents.

cockcansing

I have moved from SG to JB last year... And enjoying every minute of it.[/QUOTE said:
I have to agree with this. Have been staying here for a few months now and love the space here. Food is cheap and plenty, electricity much cheaper and water is damn bloody cheap! But I still need adjusting to the travelling time with school going children. But my children are not complaining though.

We plan to rent out our house in Singapore as fully furnish. However my hubby and I have difference in opinions about the extend of fully furnishing. Does 'fully furnished' includes a TV in the living room(hubby said if you supply then you will have to buy new ones for your tenants if its spoiled), and a cabinet for hanging clothes(we have half height built-in cabinets without a metal bar for hanging of clothes)?

Thanks in advance for your advice.

Hi Cathy, yes usually include TV and cabinet. However, as long as the tenant is agreeable, no need also can. For TV breakdown, usually there is a clause in tenancy agreement (in Singapore) for tenant to pay minor repairs up to $150.

Thanks AP, Damsell and contra for your advice on debit cards. Looks like debit card got risk. I understand from the credit card sales promoters in the malls that Singaporean cannot apply for credit card in Malaysia. Anyone knows how to get credit card in Malaysia?

contra

Thanks Wuqi for the link.

Haha indeed 50% accuracy + 50% distortion is already a high score for Straits Times. On the whole it helps to create awareness about "THE ALTERNATIVE" for Singaporeans.

"Most of the foreigners - including the Singaporeans - interviewed by The Sunday Times, admitted that their homes had been broken into at least once."... wahahaha this is CLASSIC case of misreporting. I don't believe any bros here have a break-in encounter, not that i want to be complacent. The ang moh guy's house at Ledang Heights kanna break-in 3x? Hmmm.... The terrace house having 5000 sft built-up is another case of boo-hoo and lacking in common sense.

Anyway, this is good... at least it tells people it is not Tan Ah Kow the loser that moves to JB but professionals including ang moh (which in the Singapore context this is good publicity)

Correct what? They interviewed 2 Ang Mohs (Ledang Heights & EL in the older days) and Wuqi. The ang mohs got robbed . 2 out of 3 is still = "most"

But ya lah the reporters always look for sensations and then exaggerate.

contra

Hi Analytical Professor,

It seems after the reflexology session, you got more stressed instead.. I share with you why I think she sold at a loss, to ease your mind. And why you need not worry in Setia Tropika.

When I first visited Bukit Indah, it was to look for a house to retire in one day (unfortunately Singapore house just too expensive for me because retirement must = fully-paid-up property). I drove around the housing areas and did not attract me enough. So not a big surprise the lady sold at a loss.

And then I stumbled into Horizon Hills . . . . it was like finding an oasis. The difference is upmarket-gated-community amidst a beautiful golf course. The security standards impressed me.

Is that simple - good gated community is what will drive up the prices. Even the locals are getting into it now.

I do not mind paying the toll on 2nd link as is a really pleasant drive with low traffic. Or if I have to, take the CW3. Whether the train will run thru Kempas first, I do not really care while for other people is a prereq for personal reasons. To each his/her own personal circumstance.

(Nusajaya and Iskandar is a long term project. See their website and they even recommend taking a 10+ year time horizon for capital appreciation. So far they are on track with milestones achieved. Credibility intact. And it does not just bank on Educity and Legoland. They also made the SILC (Manufacture), Medini (Financial), Wellness township, LRT and KL bullet train and East side an oil&gas terminal. Already Port of TP is there to benefit the manufacturing industries & stimulate trade, eg Flextronics. Nusajaya is targeted to supplement Singapore, not overtake it. Singapore Gov knows that and is why we see the support. It all makes sense taken collectively. There is also leisure like golf and beautiful housing. Up next, high end shopping factory outlets near Puteri Harbour.. I have worked in Guangdong before - what I see is following a real success model and not just airy fairy).

You are a key pioneer in living in JB, and big contributor. Appreciate you for that. Hope to see more of it... :smile:

humphreysguitar

Quote: LeMans2011
Re: Living in JB

Alamak... is the article available online? Would anyone be so kind to provide the link here..
Eng Quote

---------------------------------------------------------

Hi LeMans2011, its here:

Source - http://www.streetsine.com/.
Original Source: The Straits Times © Singapore Press Holdings Ltd. Reprinted with permission.

Singapore Property & Related News» Homes away from home Straits Times: Sun, Mar 27

Home to educator Denyse Tessensohn had always been Singapore. But two years ago, after agonising over it, her family uprooted from their five-room Zion Road flat to settle in Johor, Malaysia, instead. Her younger son, Mikhil, 25, an aspiring mu...
Home to educator Denyse Tessensohn had always been Singapore. But two years ago, after agonising over it, her family uprooted from their five-room Zion Road flat to settle in Johor, Malaysia, instead.

Her younger son, Mikhil, 25, an aspiring music therapist, had a place to study at the Berklee College of Music in Boston.

But when they worked out the sums, the family found that they could not afford Mikhil's overseas education if they continued to live in Singapore.

Two years on, they have since found the move not as painful as they had expected.

Ms Tessensohn, 60, and her husband Steve Hogan, 62, refer to their 9,000 sq ft home as a 'modest bungalow'.

Spacious as it is compared to their former HDB flat, it is the second smallest home in the Ledang Heights estate in Nusajaya, west of Johor Baru city.

For the $400,000 price tag, they have four bedrooms, a garden, parking space and membership in the estate's clubhouse which has a pool, gym and restaurant.

'Our living cost is much lower; utilities are a quarter of what we used to pay,' Ms Tessensohn said. 'It's quiet, there's space, good air. It's affordable and there's very good food.'

The couple commute to work in Singapore five days a week. Mr Hogan is an artist and teacher.

Moving to Johor

More Singaporean families have gone to live in and commute from Johor. They are attracted to its up-and-coming residential cities such as Nusajaya, where big houses and a quality lifestyle can be had on middle-class incomes.

Take the figures at East Ledang and Horizon Hills, two estates in Nusajaya where expatriates make up half of the residents. Of the foreigners, 80 per cent are Singaporean.

Not all is rosy though. Most of the foreigners - including the Singaporeans - interviewed by The Sunday Times, admitted that their homes had been broken into at least once.

Most of the Singaporeans declined to be photographed, concerned that they might be discriminated against by their fellow countrymen for - in the words of one - 'semi-quitting' their homeland.

Nusajaya

From the sky, Nusajaya resembles a city in progress. Patches of construction areas and swathes of virgin greenery make up the bulk of the 9,308ha landscape.

There is access to the highways bound for Johor Baru city or the Tuas checkpoint, both 20 minutes' ride away. Nusajaya is said to be on the way to becoming one of the most sought-after residential cities in Johor.

It is part of the Iskandar Malaysia project to develop Johor into an economic powerhouse. The area, including regions such as Johor Baru city, Senai and Pontian, is three times the size of Singapore.

In Nusajaya itself, various hubs are in the pipeline. There is EduCity, a 242ha collection of brand-name colleges and research centres, including Britain's Newcastle University and Singapore's MDIS. Newcastle's medical college will be ready there by this year.

Its integrated theme park, Legoland Malaysia, is due to be completed by next year. A transport hub has also been planned for the area, with a coastal highway due to be ready by next year.

Residential enclaves - like Ms Tessensohn's estate - have already sprung up. Each estate touts itself grander than the next. Nusajaya's Horizon Hills, for example, features an 18-hole award-winning golf course at residents' doorsteps.

Despite the premium pricing for houses in Nusajaya - starting from RM700,000 (S$292,000) for terrace units with about 5,000 sq ft in built-up space - they are popular with Singaporeans, who make up half the clientele.

Technology consultant Wu Qi (not his real name), is one of them. His semi-detached house cost him less than RM800,000 when he bought it two years ago. It takes him about an hour to travel to his office in Singapore's Central Business District each workday.

But the 34-year-old said: 'It is worth it. I enjoy the fresh air, the space and the freedom. It's not really about the travelling cost but whether it makes long-term sense.'

The lower cost of living was also a draw for Mr Steven Wong, 40, who has a weekend home in Setia Indah. The manufacturing firm manager estimates that food items in Malaysia are two to three times cheaper, thanks to the currency conversion.

'Living here is so much cheaper,' he said. 'The money saved can go towards my retirement. If I still live in Singapore, I won't be able to retire in comfort.'

Security issues

The expanses of land in both developed residential projects and uncompleted ones can lead to security issues, though.

At East Ledang, tall 'anti-climb' fences enclose entire residential developments, while guards patrol 24/7 within and closed-circuit television cameras scan the perimeters for intruders.

Meanwhile, the Johor police has been combating the perception that crime is a serious issue in the area.

Last year, the authorities arrested 3,286 suspects for break-ins that include property and vehicle thefts.

Local media said the crime rate dipped by 22 per cent after the authorities stepped up patrols and crime prevention campaigns. The Malaysian government has also allocated RM140 million to build a district police headquarters for Nusajaya.

Still, many residents take no chances when it comes to personal safety.

Ms Tessensohn said her house was broken into three times in two years after she moved in.

'We now have razor wire, grilles and dogs. Alarms are about to be installed,' she said. 'The guards had been slack. Now a RM5 million safety fence has been installed. We feel a lot safer.'

Mr Wu, too, said residents look for ways to cope.

'Crime is everywhere, be it in Johor Baru or Singapore. The key is to have some common sense and not be flashy. Keep a low profile. Never display your wealth,' he said.

Fitting in

Australian writer Kaz Augustin, 45, spent two years in Singapore before she moved to Johor Baru with her husband and two children in 2008.

Recreation for the family includes visiting the Ledang Heights estate's clubhouse and restaurants. They also take walks in the park in the estate, or enjoy the nearby lake in their motorised speedboat.

Bukit Indah, which is about 10 minutes away by car for the Augustins, has supermarket chains such as Jusco and Tesco, and shops. But there are some things in Singapore that are hard to beat.

'I miss the libraries there. There is no library close to us to take the children to,' said Mrs Augustin.

Residents there are awaiting the completion of Legoland and Puteri Harbour, a waterfront development. Till then, they spend their free time around the usual places in their gated communities, and however far their cars can take them out of Nusajaya.

Life in Johor can be slower in other ways, too. Ms Tessensohn said the Internet connection at her home is 'laggy', as are many services there.

'It can take a huge amount of time to get something done,' she said.

Mr Wong spends more time waiting for the waiters in restaurants to serve him than he does in Singapore, but he has learnt to take things easy. 'You must remember you're not in Singapore,' he said.

But he does see some pluses in the faster pace in Singapore.

'Rushing for time may not be such a bad thing, at least when it comes to work. It means we get our work done faster so we have more time for other things,' he said.

[email protected]

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Peace of mind - at a price

'We now have razor wire, grilles and dogs. Alarms are about to be installed...The guards had been slack. Now they are on the ball and a RM5 million safety fence has been installed. We feel a lot safer.'

SINGAPOREAN DENYSE TESSENSOHN, whose Ledang Heights home in Nusajaya has been burgled three times in the two years since she moved in

Keeping a low profile

'Crime is everywhere, be it in Johor Baru or Singapore...The key is to have some common sense and not be flashy. Keep a low profile. Never display your wealth.'

SINGAPOREAN TECHNOLOGY CONSULTANT WU QI, who owns a semi-detached house in Nusajaya

Source: The Straits Times © Singapore Press Holdings Ltd. Reprinted with permission.

Hey guys! This article about my mom, Denyse, didn't give a plug to her website which is about living in JB

If you guys are interested in living in JB or malaysia and need some more insights into my family's lifestyle in malaysia here's the website

http://www.puterim.com

peace out

humphreysguitar

Quote: LeMans2011
Re: Living in JB

Alamak... is the article available online? Would anyone be so kind to provide the link here..
Eng Quote

---------------------------------------------------------

Hi LeMans2011, its here:

Source - http://www.streetsine.com/.
Original Source: The Straits Times © Singapore Press Holdings Ltd. Reprinted with permission.

Singapore Property & Related News» Homes away from home Straits Times: Sun, Mar 27

Home to educator Denyse Tessensohn had always been Singapore. But two years ago, after agonising over it, her family uprooted from their five-room Zion Road flat to settle in Johor, Malaysia, instead. Her younger son, Mikhil, 25, an aspiring mu...
Home to educator Denyse Tessensohn had always been Singapore. But two years ago, after agonising over it, her family uprooted from their five-room Zion Road flat to settle in Johor, Malaysia, instead.

Her younger son, Mikhil, 25, an aspiring music therapist, had a place to study at the Berklee College of Music in Boston.

But when they worked out the sums, the family found that they could not afford Mikhil's overseas education if they continued to live in Singapore.

Two years on, they have since found the move not as painful as they had expected.

Ms Tessensohn, 60, and her husband Steve Hogan, 62, refer to their 9,000 sq ft home as a 'modest bungalow'.

Spacious as it is compared to their former HDB flat, it is the second smallest home in the Ledang Heights estate in Nusajaya, west of Johor Baru city.

For the $400,000 price tag, they have four bedrooms, a garden, parking space and membership in the estate's clubhouse which has a pool, gym and restaurant.

'Our living cost is much lower; utilities are a quarter of what we used to pay,' Ms Tessensohn said. 'It's quiet, there's space, good air. It's affordable and there's very good food.'

The couple commute to work in Singapore five days a week. Mr Hogan is an artist and teacher.

Moving to Johor

More Singaporean families have gone to live in and commute from Johor. They are attracted to its up-and-coming residential cities such as Nusajaya, where big houses and a quality lifestyle can be had on middle-class incomes.

Take the figures at East Ledang and Horizon Hills, two estates in Nusajaya where expatriates make up half of the residents. Of the foreigners, 80 per cent are Singaporean.

Not all is rosy though. Most of the foreigners - including the Singaporeans - interviewed by The Sunday Times, admitted that their homes had been broken into at least once.

Most of the Singaporeans declined to be photographed, concerned that they might be discriminated against by their fellow countrymen for - in the words of one - 'semi-quitting' their homeland.

Nusajaya

From the sky, Nusajaya resembles a city in progress. Patches of construction areas and swathes of virgin greenery make up the bulk of the 9,308ha landscape.

There is access to the highways bound for Johor Baru city or the Tuas checkpoint, both 20 minutes' ride away. Nusajaya is said to be on the way to becoming one of the most sought-after residential cities in Johor.

It is part of the Iskandar Malaysia project to develop Johor into an economic powerhouse. The area, including regions such as Johor Baru city, Senai and Pontian, is three times the size of Singapore.

In Nusajaya itself, various hubs are in the pipeline. There is EduCity, a 242ha collection of brand-name colleges and research centres, including Britain's Newcastle University and Singapore's MDIS. Newcastle's medical college will be ready there by this year.

Its integrated theme park, Legoland Malaysia, is due to be completed by next year. A transport hub has also been planned for the area, with a coastal highway due to be ready by next year.

Residential enclaves - like Ms Tessensohn's estate - have already sprung up. Each estate touts itself grander than the next. Nusajaya's Horizon Hills, for example, features an 18-hole award-winning golf course at residents' doorsteps.

Despite the premium pricing for houses in Nusajaya - starting from RM700,000 (S$292,000) for terrace units with about 5,000 sq ft in built-up space - they are popular with Singaporeans, who make up half the clientele.

Technology consultant Wu Qi (not his real name), is one of them. His semi-detached house cost him less than RM800,000 when he bought it two years ago. It takes him about an hour to travel to his office in Singapore's Central Business District each workday.

But the 34-year-old said: 'It is worth it. I enjoy the fresh air, the space and the freedom. It's not really about the travelling cost but whether it makes long-term sense.'

The lower cost of living was also a draw for Mr Steven Wong, 40, who has a weekend home in Setia Indah. The manufacturing firm manager estimates that food items in Malaysia are two to three times cheaper, thanks to the currency conversion.

'Living here is so much cheaper,' he said. 'The money saved can go towards my retirement. If I still live in Singapore, I won't be able to retire in comfort.'

Security issues

The expanses of land in both developed residential projects and uncompleted ones can lead to security issues, though.

At East Ledang, tall 'anti-climb' fences enclose entire residential developments, while guards patrol 24/7 within and closed-circuit television cameras scan the perimeters for intruders.

Meanwhile, the Johor police has been combating the perception that crime is a serious issue in the area.

Last year, the authorities arrested 3,286 suspects for break-ins that include property and vehicle thefts.

Local media said the crime rate dipped by 22 per cent after the authorities stepped up patrols and crime prevention campaigns. The Malaysian government has also allocated RM140 million to build a district police headquarters for Nusajaya.

Still, many residents take no chances when it comes to personal safety.

Ms Tessensohn said her house was broken into three times in two years after she moved in.

'We now have razor wire, grilles and dogs. Alarms are about to be installed,' she said. 'The guards had been slack. Now a RM5 million safety fence has been installed. We feel a lot safer.'

Mr Wu, too, said residents look for ways to cope.

'Crime is everywhere, be it in Johor Baru or Singapore. The key is to have some common sense and not be flashy. Keep a low profile. Never display your wealth,' he said.

Fitting in

Australian writer Kaz Augustin, 45, spent two years in Singapore before she moved to Johor Baru with her husband and two children in 2008.

Recreation for the family includes visiting the Ledang Heights estate's clubhouse and restaurants. They also take walks in the park in the estate, or enjoy the nearby lake in their motorised speedboat.

Bukit Indah, which is about 10 minutes away by car for the Augustins, has supermarket chains such as Jusco and Tesco, and shops. But there are some things in Singapore that are hard to beat.

'I miss the libraries there. There is no library close to us to take the children to,' said Mrs Augustin.

Residents there are awaiting the completion of Legoland and Puteri Harbour, a waterfront development. Till then, they spend their free time around the usual places in their gated communities, and however far their cars can take them out of Nusajaya.

Life in Johor can be slower in other ways, too. Ms Tessensohn said the Internet connection at her home is 'laggy', as are many services there.

'It can take a huge amount of time to get something done,' she said.

Mr Wong spends more time waiting for the waiters in restaurants to serve him than he does in Singapore, but he has learnt to take things easy. 'You must remember you're not in Singapore,' he said.

But he does see some pluses in the faster pace in Singapore.

'Rushing for time may not be such a bad thing, at least when it comes to work. It means we get our work done faster so we have more time for other things,' he said.

[email protected]

Peace of mind - at a price

'We now have razor wire, grilles and dogs. Alarms are about to be installed...The guards had been slack. Now they are on the ball and a RM5 million safety fence has been installed. We feel a lot safer.'

SINGAPOREAN DENYSE TESSENSOHN, whose Ledang Heights home in Nusajaya has been burgled three times in the two years since she moved in

Keeping a low profile

'Crime is everywhere, be it in Johor Baru or Singapore...The key is to have some common sense and not be flashy. Keep a low profile. Never display your wealth.'

SINGAPOREAN TECHNOLOGY CONSULTANT WU QI, who owns a semi-detached house in Nusajaya

Source: The Straits Times © Singapore Press Holdings Ltd. Reprinted with permission.

Hey guys, i'm new to this forum, not sure if i'm posting properly

this article is about my family and that's my mom. The paper didn't give my mom a plug for her website so if you guys are interested about another perspective of living in JB, check out her website, there's lots of good stuff on it

http://www.puterim.com

peace out

cockcansing

Thanks AP, Damsell and contra for your advice on debit cards. Looks like debit card got risk. I understand from the credit card sales promoters in the malls that Singaporean cannot apply for credit card in Malaysia. Anyone knows how to get credit card in Malaysia?

Last time when I applied my house loan from HSBC they included credit card with the loan. Not all banks does that. You may ask the bank you had applied your home loan with if you may apply for their bank cards. If you are working in Malaysia, you may apply with the Malaysian company payslip.

cathylmg

I have to agree with this. Have been staying here for a few months now and love the space here. Food is cheap and plenty, electricity much cheaper and water is damn bloody cheap! But I still need adjusting to the travelling time with school going children. But my children are not complaining though.

I am looking for a tuition teacher to come to my house to teach my son. Since you have school going children, I was wondering whether you have any contacts?

Thanks in advance for helping out.

Status
Not open for further replies.