• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

aangsc

where did u get the rate of rm2.375? is it reflected from the money changer in mudland? if it is, then if i change a few thousand sing dollars it should be almost rm 2.40.

MAS has reiterated that they will further strengthen the $ing dollars. I am glad I changed RM in bulk during the RM 2.40 era.

Boon Lay Shopping Center. My best rate was 2.45 , well also long gone , sigh !:(

You watched it from Nusa Idaman? I was stationed in Sutera utama area and saw the spectacular fireworks from 1130pm to 1230am... literally NON-stop. Polis on bike came and talked to me.. say " bro, someone comprain lah, dont put now.. delay by 20 minute please"

He smiled and fuck off.

In Singapore, I would have been handcuffed to safety!

That is the best about Malaysia. Can play fire cracker. Bring children there to celebrate CNY to see how traditional CNY celebration. Now many parent buy PSP/handphone spoil the child playing whole day game on it.
Now new trend coming out play lantern or small version of hot air balloon.

Analytical Professor

For me i got my electrical and electronic stuff from all over the place...

My lights i got from skudai.

My TV and fridge from a shop at Setia Tropika

Water heater from another shop....

FAn from yet another place

And now aircons from yet another place and the list goes on...

Initially i did not know where to go and buy. So when i saw something and the price was good/comparable i just bought it.

Now that you have suggested Nusa Bestari that will have to be on my watch list. Thank you man.

Its quite expensive to buy one in jb but if u must, try the shop along euro rich.. many cheap applicances.. even aircons are cheap. I was planning to snap up my aircons from this shop

Analytical Professor

Luckily my wife has told my kids there will strictly be no Computer Games/PSP/Wii/Nintendo etc.

Instead she offers them travel holidays, watching tv together for limited time, church, gardening, baking and plenty of parental time. My kids are still very young.

Now many parent buy PSP/handphone spoil the child playing whole day game on it.

Analytical Professor

No bro i am still not familiar with all the traditional massage shops. I just know a few.

I passed by a couple of them but did not try.

I think i know the one near Euro Rich that you are referring to.

I should try it sometime. Have not tried it yet.

Thanks.

do u always go to the massage parlour at one corner of the traffic junction of nusa bestari along Euro Rich hotel? The massage is simply great and value for money. And I understand that they are clean decent service, unlike sinkie shops kept pestering me for "special" service.

Honest & decent guys like me deserve honest service

maxpark

Big cups is stationed at perling my friend. Next to the polis station and maybank side. But these few weeks I was quite sad when i change money but could not be served by my big cups .. i was served by the male boss i presume or malay lady. I felt like asking the boss where he stationed his big cups so that i can visit her next time

Honest and decent friend, thanks for the tip, haha...
I'll keep a look out the next time I jalan jalan at Perling...and make sure I wear my dark glasses too, dont want to kena blinded by spotlights! :biggrin:

My experience is exchange at Golden Mile or Woodland is usually alright. No point hunting for cents and millicents of difference. The fractions of cents you save per dollar is not worth the trouble. Just don't exchange after crossing the border. Singapore moneychanger rates are generally better, worldwide renowned.

If you need emergency cash in Malaysia, you can use ATM. Draw from your savings account, not from credit line. It'd still be more expensive than cash exchange at money changers but an emergency is an emergency. Draw at least 4 figures (in the thousands) to make the extra service charges average out to worth the while.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Hey Ramseth, thats what i used to think too, until my wife brought me to a couple of them near Nusa Bestari, if you change more, they tend to give you better rates than even in SG provided you change with $50 dollar notes. Anything amount with per note denomination that smaller than that,then SG is definitely better. This is excluding those in change alley (SG) who may give a better rate.

contra

Just to share some notes from a field trip today...

Took the afternoon off work to run the car. Traffic at 2nd link non-existent (sgd3.2 + RM7.5 each way up and down) . With the good new roads, the distances amongst the Nusajaya developments in the main-road loop (eastwards from Nusajaya interchange, HH & NI, Kota Iskandar, & loop back south & west passing Medini, Legoland, Educity, EL/LH, Geland Patah interchange) are even closer than I imagined. And this not yet including the Coastal Hway that can be seen being completed that will slice through the centre of the loop; from HH to Legoland. Got me thinking about the appreciation that will surely come when they are completed and more people discover the area . Saw a couple of Singapore Mercedes driving thru the show houses too...

Dropped by the showhouses of East Ledang (impressive what ideas you can get to make up a terrace. they block the road but just ask the guard in the shed and he will let you thru) and even kapoh the Nusa Idaman (semi d Prec 4 showhouse). Wonder why HH does not do a proper showhouse ? Perhaps is true without doing it, they have sold out all their developments (at least the terraces) thus the concept & from seeing outside the Gateway & Golf & Clubhouse, it sells for itself.

At the BI Jusco car park, I went into my car, and locked it. Someone came up to my side door and asked if can ask me a question. I shook my head and he went away. Part of me wanted to but another part said dont bother. Nothing happened and perhaps I over-reacted. Although I see many more police patrolling (and even the new Nusajaya Police Station at the Anjung), we should not let our guard down and better to err on the side of caution. I even bought a steering lock that is std deterrent accessory in Malaysian cars. I got the baseball bat type for RM35 as it fits the thicker steering wheels (because of airbags) and got a good grip itself as well.

At nightfall, the best part was the food, shopping, then car wash in Bukit Indah, full tank petrol and cool 'highland' air esp after the rain and straight wide highway with the cool air rushing through the winded-down windows in the drive along the 2nd link.

Looking fwd to my HH house to be ready in 2012 to enjoy more of that more regularly.

Analytical Professor

Need to get some bricks today to protect my pine trees ie., to prevent the landscapers from accidentally cutting my pine trees.

Noticed a shop in Nusa Bestari that sells them.

matix

That rate hovered during January last year.

I think happy times may be back soon if the S$ strengthens...

On the other hand, Malaysia is facing high inflation threat too. Saw in CNBC that analysts are also betting on the strengthening of the Ringgit. Don't know which one will strength more, S$ or MYR? In any case, just don't hold on to any US$ or Euro. :biggrin:

aangsc

Yeah my kids are studying in Sg.

That is one of the reasons i cant completely shift to JB. I cant seem to think of them doing the to and fro journey everyday.

Me too. Can only see other enjoying their investment. Some days don't even go there for a few weeks.

I was also looking for bricks for perimeter use and found a brick manufacturer who quote me RM1.3 per pcs but must pick up from plant at Kota Tinggi.

Skippy

Hello...
Me too bought a unit at HH :smile:... was hoping to find out if any SG folks around and doing the same... wow surprise surprise:p... so many folks are in here ... so glad to have find this forum:cool:... Hope i can get to know more folks around. Also share the many good tips and cheap bargains... Keke

Bro Wuqi... u are really amazing... very informative and resourceful too.. thanks for your kind sharings... :smile:

Coolsaint77

Hello everyone,

I chanced upon this thread while surfing for more info about my new purchase in Horizon Hills. Its a 3 storey semi d in Gateway and i am sure many of u stay in Gateway.

Saw a few mercs, 7 series, and one X5 parked outside houses when I visited my house just now to do measurements. This place must be safe.

Unlike many forummers who prefer to communicate online, I am open to knowing new friends from HH or EL and anyone who stays around New JB. We can share our purchase info and wont get chopped so easily too!

Just now I was at Horizon Residence and heard that the Sri lankan group has just purchased more than 10 units! This is on top of their 100+ units in HH. Flithy rich group/man he must be.

Enjoy your day.

Congrats to you. Sounds like you purchased the golf-facing Gateway units and that must be from the resale market?

We all look forward to your open house :biggrin:

May I know which money changer Singapore do remittance to Malaysia? Do you have their contact number?

Hi Cathy, someone gave me this money changer contact that does remittance:

Raffles - 24 Raffles Place #20-03 Clifford Centre Tel:65380080.

They waive the transaction fee (S$10) for amount above RM50k per transaction.

Very soon in 2 year time many people in Singapore and JB will have to sell theirs flat/house to pay ah long/bank for their gambling debt.
I know many people that owning bank/creditcard/utility bill....................

Very soon in 2 year time many people in Singapore and JB will have to sell theirs flat/house to pay ah long/bank for their gambling debt.
I know many people that owning bank/creditcard/utility bill....................

Status
Not open for further replies.