• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

NUS students very scare of eating alone in canteen

Actually if you are a young chap or chiobu eating alone can easily get hitched :p

Same in the casinos. You eat or drink alone, good chance a member of the opposite sex, usually PRC, will join you. If with others, not unlikely to join in. The benefits of being alone cannot and should not be underestimated.

KNNBCCB

Cannot. Very rude. Silencers are better. Can pretend it is someone else and kehkeh look here and there completely disgusted with whoever let go that silencer!

Rude to ownself only ma.
Jesus not watching. :biggrin:

FOL : stomach got air due to food pressing inside. no smell.
Silencer : Asshole full of shits blocking the air from exit. si beh chao. :biggrin:

kukubird58

Same in the casinos. You eat or drink alone, good chance a member of the opposite sex, usually PRC, will join you. If with others, not unlikely to join in. The benefits of being alone cannot and should not be underestimated.
hahaha...no wonder you OMO.....the PRCs there chio or not....
since my gugu is missing....might as well go for ECA tonite.....

hahaha...no wonder you OMO.....the PRCs there chio or not....
since my gugu is missing....might as well go for ECA tonite.....

Aiyoh, like market place, some are fresh, others stale or frozen. Better get focussed in casinos coz winning is the ONLY objective. Tcss at makan areas not important. But, if they come by, no harm engaging in tcss.

Haha the other bro is right, in casino being hitched by PRC normally will cause my luck to go down n down in the table.

cheowyonglee

:eek: :eek: :eek:

eat.jpg

:biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin:

cheowyonglee

ntu grad already, adult already and somemore not young like kids already still have this type of thinking!!! pukee.....

a%20Freshman%20Eating%20Alone.jpg

cheowyonglee

Haolian Uni grads with tones of friends like to eat in a group and despise other Uni grads who eat alone???
Or they are the kuku themselves without any confident in them that they always need to seek companies to eat???

:biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin:

01-giant-panda-group-eating-bamboo.jpg

Debonerman

It should be made compulsory for Gen Y to carry this badge of omnipotency. They will never fear being alone again.

pap_badge.jpg

sinren67

So far I went for solo travel thrice. Am i a loser?

I hope the ranking keep falling after this stupid campaign.

vamjok

talk cock, everyone timetable so diff where got mood to purposely meet up to eat everyday. i have doubt abt the result of this survey by this rubbish university

This report horrified me.
If this is what the young people of SG are concerned about these days, we are doomed.
:(

sukhoi-30

It is disturbing to read these development among young, educated people in Singapore. I still remembered friends tugging me along to have lunch with them even when i have just finished mine. Many prefer to go hungry then to lunch alone.This is a psychological problem that affects seemingly healthy people even in NUS.

A few friends disclosed that they joined some mega-churches because they want to be together in a group. They do not want to attend those with slightly lesser attendees , those not hip enough and not chinese.Some even wanted to be in the faith because they were afraid to be seen as old-fashioned,superstitious or un-chic if they were not believers.Many just feel shameful to be followers of Asian religious traditions.

This is the problem faced by many modern East Asian countries. The rush to be modern and chic over-rides everything else. The fear of being alone and not part of a "happening" group' creates the anxiety of being look down upon. Old buildings of cultural values are demolished to build cold and chic buildings in a rush to modernise. This also creates social problem for the young, when peer presure causes an upheaveal in family relations.Just because a friend bought a chic mobile phone,the others will want it too..and the parents becomes victim.

For my church friends there are some good news . Many of them changed after they came back from further studies in the US, Australia and Europe. They became independent. They realised that it is superstitious ,un-chic,not-cool and non-fashionable to be in a mega church in these western countries.

But then, aren't this another peer pressure cycle again or is that a sign of maturity??

metalslug

These people are so ridiculous! Can someone go there and knock some sense into them?

http://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=170436309661251

162016_170436309661251_4865550_n.jpg

Time: Wednesday, January 19 · 12:00pm - 4:00pm

Created By Milo Peng, Jude Alphonsus Tan, Sonianne Ting Wen

More Info: Ok everyone! A lot of people are still very confused about the event. So here are some FAQs.

**Disclaimer: If you believe in this, do support us. It's totally VOLUNTARY.

1. What sparked this off? Was there an incident that left such a significant impact on you (or one of you) that pushed you guys to come up with such an event or was it because of a series of events and encounters with friends who refused to eat alone? Who came up ...with the idea for this event?

I used to encounter incidents when I had to accompany friends to eat because they are shy about eating alone in the canteen. In fact, I too get weird stares from people whenever I eat alone in the canteen too. I found it strange then, and after talking to my friends about it, I realized that many of them heard of or experienced similar situations.

So we came up with this idea to provide people (or our friends) who are afraid of eating alone, a platform to try eating alone and also to let them know that eating alone is not as frightening as they thought. After all, you wouldn’t know that unless you try it yourself.

2. Why did you guys choose Jan 19th? Is there any special significance to it?

No special significance. We picked this date because we don’t have classes on that day.

3. What is the objective and aim of the event? How many people do you guys aim to target? I read on the event's page that you want some continuation of the event after the actual such that students can wear the t-shirt to school on any day they want to. Could you elaborate on this? Does it mean that whenever someone needs/wants to eat alone they could wear the t-shirt to show that they are okay with eating alone?

There are 3 issues we want to address here. 1) We want to raise awareness about people’s fear of eating alone. 2) This fear of eating alone is in part due to the negative stereotype attached to those who eat alone. These people are often perceived as anti-social, unpopular or loners. Thus, our second aim is to address this negative perception that people have on those who eat alone. 3) In addition, we want to provide a platform for the people who are afraid of eating alone to have a feel for themselves what it is like to eat alone and come to the realization that it is not as bad as they perceive it to be (But we are not professing that eating alone is good as some others have misinterpreted).

Our target is 100 people.

The purpose of the t-shirt is to generate awareness on the issue (or generate some chat topic). After all, I think people are generally curious and will want to understand more about the issue and the campaign. Then they can take this opportunity to share this “eat alone” concept. It’s the same as someone wearing a shirt (I support the hike in school fees/ I love the SU system), people are going to ask lots of questions. And the attention of the shirt is going to last even after the actual event day.
The continuation I am referring to here is that we don’t want people to just eat alone for the event day and its back to avoiding the canteen. In fact, I wished that more people would voluntarily do so after the event.

4. In your opinion (or based on the stories you've heard from your friends), why do some people not like to eat alone? Is the social stigma so prevalent that it calls for a campaign?

I’m not exactly sure if you can call it a “social stigma” because some people are strongly against the use of this term. I would think that this is more of a social phenomenon.

But I guess there is this misconception that eating alone means you are an anti-social/loner. Perhaps, individuals have this tendency to be seen as sociable, so they will avoid any occasion whereby they are seen alone (other than doing work at the benches, which I personally find is strange). Or perhaps the canteen is seen as a place for social interaction, if you are doing something different (like eating alone), then people are going to perceive you negatively.

In our opinion, it does warrant this campaign. Many of us have either experienced it first hand when our friends request us to eat with them or we have heard about it.

5. Who's paying for the t-shirt? Do you have any sponsors?

This is a voluntary event, there are no sponsors. Students who want to buy the T-shirt can contact us and purchase it at $8.

6. I read some criticisms on the event's page about the campaign. What are some of the criticisms that you think are valid or didn't anticipate? For example, the one about people using this as an opportunity to hook up with others over lunch or the one about how the social stigma is non-existent?

The main criticisms is with the campaign is 1) whether such a problem really exist, 2) can this campaign effectively solve the problem.

With regards to the first issue, we feel that either people are generally really not aware of the problem, or it affects only a certain minority of the population. I will prefer to see that most people are not aware; hence this campaign serves to highlight this issue.

We acknowledge that a single event is not enough to solve this issue. Nonetheless, we have taken the first step of solving the problem by raising awareness of this issue. We will do some post-event evaluation before deciding the follow-up actions subsequently.

This is definitely not a hook-up session. We understand that there were concerns of not having enough seats if all the participants sit alone, thus depriving others a seat. Hence, we feel that sharing tables can help to solve this logistical issue. But we also want to avoid them sitting with their own friends, which would have defeated the purpose. Hence we would like them to have a feel of sitting with others they are not familiar with.

**We understand that the campaign may not be the best solution to this issue, hence we will like to encourage constructive recommendations to make it better. The event first started as a way to help our friends, but somehow (albeit strangely) the buzz ended up spreading around the entire school. Our apologies if you do see the event as spam.

the event is confirmed on the 19th Jan (wed). Refer to the googledoc link below to sign up! Do remember to fill up, otherwise we can't get your t-shirt sizes.

https://spreadsheets.google.com/viewform?formkey=dGlxeUQtNW5lbzhXTUZaSXdzOGgza1E6MQSee

spassymop

this event was supposed to be for-fun only ... seriously... pls don't take it too seriously and start :

1. worrying about nus ranking
2. worrying about the youth nowadays
3. worrying about the insecurity issues/ psychological problems of students nowadays
4. commenting that nus students should be dedicating their time to more serious concerns such as bla and bla and bla

hahahaha... gosh! All the responses are really getting quite far fetched & ridiculous because this was only supposed to be for fun!

it's not like nus started an official campaign for this cause. it's only a campaign between some friends. don't we even have the liberty to do things for fun, with good intentions, for the benefits of our friends, during our own free time?? (:

please...... don't worry so much. thanks. Anw, hope i clarified this 'grave concern' of some sort...

Rimururu

I am not against the event you twit. :rolleyes:
I am just wondering how the youth society has such superficial views on people eating alone.

You must have a weird sense of fun. If it is fun, then we are looking at some people who have limited imagination. Seriously you need to have a good hard look at yourself if this is your idea of fun. It reflects poorly on these tertiary students. How about scaling a mountain, riding a bike, taking part in play, organising a comedy festival or going to a nitespot for drinks and entertainment.

There must be some level of class even when having fun.

this event was supposed to be for-fun only ... seriously... pls don't take it too seriously and start :

1. worrying about nus ranking
2. worrying about the youth nowadays
3. worrying about the insecurity issues/ psychological problems of students nowadays
4. commenting that nus students should be dedicating their time to more serious concerns such as bla and bla and bla

hahahaha... gosh! All the responses are really getting quite far fetched & ridiculous because this was only supposed to be for fun!

it's not like nus started an official campaign for this cause. it's only a campaign between some friends. don't we even have the liberty to do things for fun, with good intentions, for the benefits of our friends, during our own free time?? (:

please...... don't worry so much. thanks. Anw, hope i clarified this 'grave concern' of some sort...