• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Visitors to Orchard Road feel the heat of massive jams

metalslug

http://news.xin.msn.com/en/singapore/article.aspx?cp-documentid=4540112

By Channel NewsAsia, Updated: 23/12/2010

8563179659C3CBEC7090D8B4BB1CB7.jpg

SINGAPORE : It’s a couple of days to Christmas and thousands are thronging Singapore’s Orchard Road shopping belt for last—minute buys, resulting in massive human and traffic jams.

This has led to the Singapore Road Safety Council (SRSC) expressing concern over the situation.

It says drivers and pedestrians could be distracted by the festive atmosphere and be less alert to situations, which could lead to accidents.

So it advises pedestrians to cross at designated crossings and motorists to pay attention to traffic signs.

To facilitate traffic, some roads in Orchard will be closed on December 25 and 26.

For the "Celebrate Christmas In Singapore" event, the following roads will be closed from 1.00pm on Saturday, December 25 to 1.00am on Sunday, December 26:

— Orchard Road (between Scotts Road and Bideford Road)

— The carriageway of Mount Elizabeth in the direction of Orchard Road (between Nutmeg Road and Orchard Road)

Auxiliary police officers will also be deployed at all affected road junctions to assist motorists and regulate traffic flow.

To cater to the expected increase in passenger demand, SBS Transit will also be adding more trips and extend its operating hours for buses and trains.

In addition to the 220 train trips added weekly for December, another 96 train trips will be added on Christmas Eve on the North—South and East—West Lines. 41 trips will be added after the evening peak hours to enhance frequency to 5 minutes on the North—East Line.

Visitors and shoppers are also feeling the heat of the jams.

One said: "I came here to sightsee and it took me half an hour because Orchard Road is just crowded — human traffic and car traffic, but human traffic is just too much."

Another added: "I came to town to hang out with my friends and it took about 30 to 45 minutes. It’s really crowded, but I think it’s ... going to get worse."

— CNA/al

I think they should permanently close Orchard Road & make it into a a giant mall. Then you wouldn't have all these jams :smile:

dey shud issue coe 4 shoppers 2 go 2 orchard rd ...

mor moni 4 gahmen oso ...

silverfox@

Parking hard to find, traffic jam, so I take MRT. Take MRT also jam. so much people. So the moral of the story is go to heartland malls or stay at home. :p

SneeringTree

http://news.xin.msn.com/en/singapore/article.aspx?cp-documentid=4540112

By Channel NewsAsia, Updated: 23/12/2010

8563179659C3CBEC7090D8B4BB1CB7.jpg

SINGAPORE : It’s a couple of days to Christmas and thousands are thronging Singapore’s Orchard Road shopping belt for last—minute buys, resulting in massive human and traffic jams.

This has led to the Singapore Road Safety Council (SRSC) expressing concern over the situation.

What the fuck is this money-wasting, resource-exhausting council?

Charlie258

Parking hard to find, traffic jam, so I take MRT. Take MRT also jam. so much people. So the moral of the story is go to heartland malls or stay at home. :p

Hey, Silverfox: why not park someplace outskirts of Orchard Road, then use a foldable bicycle to ride to Orchard Road? :biggrin:

cheowyonglee

i went to orchard and ... hmmm wasted my time squeezing here and there,
wasted my time trying to find place to makan when everywhere was packed with makaners and lastly ... wasted alot of my time waiting for mrt and bus to go home!!!In the end, i walked back home.Luckily it's not like jurong to changi... haha or else i will be a dead meat half way home!! :oIo: :oIo: :oIo:

silverfox@

Hey, Silverfox: why not park someplace outskirts of Orchard Road, then use a foldable bicycle to ride to Orchard Road? :biggrin:

I also thought of that, but I would look weird carrying a foldable bicycle around in midst of human jam.... :o

The bookshop I went is packed and I have never seen Kinokuniya having such a long queue at the cash registers on a weekday. OMG.

Avoid Orchard, Bugis

cheowyonglee

I also thought of that, but I would look weird carrying a foldable bicycle around in midst of human jam.... :o

The bookshop I went is packed and I have never seen Kinokuniya having such a long queue at the cash registers on a weekday. OMG.

Avoid Orchard, Bugis

and most of the people you saw not = singaporeans....

If Christmas season no crowd, then Orchard Road shopkeepers worry. Even shoppers should worry. Singaporeans are funny. Want no crowd? Expect thousands of shops to stock billions of dollars worth of goods with crowd around just for your personal strolling and shopping pleasure worth a few hundred dollars, more or less?

cheowyonglee

If Christmas season no crowd, then Orchard Road shopkeepers worry. Even shoppers should worry. Singaporeans are funny. Want no crowd? Expect thousands of shops to stock billions of dollars worth of goods with crowd around just for your personal strolling and shopping pleasure worth a few hundred dollars, more or less?

now you know we singaporeans are funny!!!! now then u know... :confused:

soikee

I think they should permanently close Orchard Road & make it into a a giant mall. Then you wouldn't have all these jams :smile:

It's not only Orchard Rd. All over our network of expressway highways, it is chock-a-block all over!

This is the price we pay for the fucking gahman's policy to push up our population to 5.5m & 6.5m
in the near future.

Vote them bastards out!

The Ministars will start asking you who is going to compensate for potential ERP revenue losses?

Easy lah, move the ERP to Scott's Rd. Guaranteed to catch more fishes that try to escape.

With the road space they can reclaim from Orchard Rd, they can rent out more shop space more $$$$.

It's not only Orchard Rd. All over our network of expressway highways, it is chock-a-block all over!

This is the price we pay for the fucking gahman's policy to push up our population to 5.5m & 6.5m
in the near future.

Vote them bastards out!

50 years is way too long for a single party to be in power. You start having people feel an entitlement that the country owes them a multi-million $$$ lifestyle:rolleyes:

It's too late for many uncles/aunties :( . Even if the PAP gets kicked out they've already done alot of damage that will be difficult to undo.

As for me I'm looking for something better than a void deck in some HDB. estate. I'm making plans to move to somewhere quieter, safer, cleaner,...., & that's not in Spore :rolleyes:

soikee

50 years is way too long for a single party to be in power. You start having people feel an entitlement that the country owes them a multi-million $$$ lifestyle:rolleyes:

It's too late for many uncles/aunties :( . Even if the PAP gets kicked out they've already done alot of damage that will be difficult to undo.

As for me I'm looking for something better than a void deck in some HDB. estate. I'm making plans to move to somewhere quieter, safer, cleaner,...., & that's not in Spore :rolleyes:

Bro Johnny, I am also planning to move to Niagara Falls, Ontario where a bungalow on 12,000 sq ft of freehold land costs C$180,000 and a Lexus 350 hybrid costs C$32,000 only.

All the best my fren.

C$1 = S$1.2911.

cathylmg

Same thing with Tsim Sha Shui at Hong Kong. Fully pacted on Christmas eve and Christmas Day even though the whole stretch of road is officially closed to traffic. I think Singapore should close down Orchard Road and Scotts Road on these 2 days too. Everybody should just take MRT down like Hongkong. Leave more space for walking.