• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Unsustainable Policy : HDB

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
Minister Mah Bow Tan has continued to claim that HDB flats are "affordable" despite of the 30 years mortgage. He has however, made a few interesting points today.

First he asserts that due to land scarce, in order to have a "SUSTAINABLE" housing policy, the present HDB policy should continue. Secondly, he has somewhat RETRACTED from his earlier position that it is ok to have high HDB prices because we could "monetize" aka sell our flats for retirement. He now says that we may not need to sell our flats and downgrade for retirement.

I have explained why selling flat for retirement is <a href="http://singaporealternatives.blogspot.com/2010/03/hdbs-flawed-direction.html">NOT A WORKABLE and SUSTAINABLE OPTION at all. </a>

Before I talk about why this scheme of "selling flat for retirement" is not sustainable in the long run, I would like to address the basic fundamentals of why such HIGH HDB PRICES under the guise of "asset enhancement" is the deliberate policy direction of PAP government.

<span style="font-weight:bold;"><span style="font-style:italic;">High Property Prices to solve Aging Population Problems</span></span>

Since early 1980s, PAP has suddenly realized that their aggressive "TWO IS ENOUGH" policy is flawed and it would create unprecedented acceleration of aging population. By doing a demographic projection, it would mean that the CPF scheme may not be sustainable in providing adequate retirement financing for this aging population.

The burden of providing retirement financing lies on the government to give constant returns to CPF account holders. If less and less people are going to work in the work force while more and more people are going to withdraw their CPF money, it will create cashflow pressures on CPF. i.e. CPF will have to liquidate its assets to repay the CPF holders while earning lesser returns from a smaller asset pool. This problem will aggravate in time to come. This is also part of the reasons why CPF withdrawal age keep postponing.

The brilliant idea of maintaining high HDB flat price comes about to solve a lot of these problems derived from aging population. The following are the reasoning:

1) If people have less savings in CPF, the government won't be burden by interest payment to the account holders. i.e. the government will wash its hands off from retirement financing of an aging population.

2) How or who will finance the future retirees then? A 30 year mortgage plan will DEFINITELY force Singaporeans to sell their flats for retirement! This is basically because their CPF accounts will have very little amount of funds left! By allowing HDB prices to increase, these future retirees could well "withdraw" their "retirement funds" by selling off their HDB flats at high prices! This would solve their retirement financing!

<span style="font-weight:bold;">
<span style="font-style:italic;">Impact of HDB flat for Retirement Financing</span> </span>

Such simplistic thinking will have a few impacts. All of these impacts are unfavorable to Singaporeans but very favorable to the Government.

1) The Government could benefit from selling HDB flats at high prices to citizens and they no longer need to fork out money for any subsidies. All so call subsidies are basically on paper accounting, market subsidies.

2) The first adjustment is to raise land prices. HDB, on paper is in deficit because it has to buy land from SLA (both under Ministry of Development) at market prices. Please note that SLA has become the biggest land owner in Singapore with monopoly power to determine prices.

3) All proceeds from Land Sales go directly into the reserves and that is why our reserves grow at rapid rate since 1980s.

4) The government earns interests, instead of paying interests, from making loans to HDB buyers. This also means that Singaporeans are paying higher HDB prices using almost all their CPF monies and burden by higher mortgage interests.

5) The prices of HDB flats MUST increase substantially over time in order for this scheme to be sustainable. If not, the whole system will collapse.

<span style="font-weight:bold;"><span style="font-style:italic;">Implications</span></span>

<span style="font-style:italic;">What are the implications? <span style="font-weight:bold;"></span></span>

Apparently, the government benefited the most from such scheme! It relinquishes its responsibility of providing retirement financing for an aging population basically transferring this burden to the future generations in terms of HIGHER HDB PRICES. MAKE PROFITS from these higher HDB prices which transferred into reserves which make them good i.e. they have been boasting how good they are because they have accumulated so much reserves. On top of that, make money from interests collected from HDB buyers!

What they government gain will be what the citizens will lose. This is a very simple logic. HDB is the MONOPOLY of the new HDB flat market and it is also the lender who earns interests from all outstanding loans.

This scheme will impact on both present HDB owners who bought their flats at high prices which end up with 30 year mortgage. They will most probably be FORCED to sell their HDB flats when they want to retire. The future generations will have to suffer higher HDB prices because this is intended, so that the present generation could generate enough funds for their retirement needs!
<span style="font-style:italic;">
Unsustainable<span style="font-weight:bold;"></span></span>

This model is NOT sustainable in the long run. The reason is pretty clear. In order to preserve the purchasing power of the amount of money Singaporeans have put into their HDB flats, the future price of their flats has to increase tremendously to cover the interest cost as well as inflation throughout the 30 years period.

However the wages of the working class normally grow at the rate just enough to cover inflation. That is why we are witnessing this impact of wages lagging behind HDB price growth for the past two decades. From the following graph prepared by <a href="singaporemind.blogspot.com">Lucky Tan </a>.

HDB_PRICES_20YRS.jpg

From 1990 to 2009, wage doubled while HDB prices grow by FOUR folds! This correspond to the increase in the mortgage payment period from 15 years to 30 years! In time to come, our future generations may have to pay for a 40years or even 50 years mortgage for just a decent HDB flat!

<span style="font-weight:bold;">Is this sustainable?<span style="font-style:italic;"></span></span>

Nobody can guarantee property prices to grow forever at such rapid rate. With an aging population, less youngsters will demand for MORE supply due to more elders trying to sell their flats. This will have downward pressure on relative prices.

There are CONFLICTING policy objectives. On one hand, in order for the scheme of utilizing high HDB prices as a means for retirement financing, we need HDB prices to outstrip wage growth but in order to maintain "AFFORDABILITY" for all generations, we need to maintain the price increase according to wage growth! How could these CONFLICTING policy targets be met simultaneously?

This is really an ill-thought out HDB-retirement scheme by the PAP government. This scheme benefits only the present government by alleviating its burden to provide for the retirement funding needs for the citizens while benefiting from all the higher HDB prices and interests earned from loans to HDB owners. This is in the expense of Singaporeans both present and future.

Almost all present Ministers will not be around in 30 years time to take responsibility for the effects of their policies. It is important for Singaporeans to understand the great implications of this HDB-retirement scheme upon our present generations as well as future generations.

I have come to this realization of this scheme ever since PAP started to embark the so call "Asset Enhancement Scheme" back in early 1990s. I have written a number of articles in protest of this scheme but many Singaporeans were overwhelmed by the immediate gain of paper capital gains. There were even Singaporeans trying to capitalize on the sudden increase in their flat value by upgrading or multiple upgradings. In the whole process, they committed higher and higher debts.

The latest <a href="http://singaporemind.blogspot.com/2010/12/consequences-of-govt-inaction-in.html">report</a> has indicated Singapore's housing debt has constituted more than 51% of total loans from our financial loans! This is even higher than Hong Kong's 20%! We will be doomed if there is a property crash! The whole financial system will be burden with unperforming loans!

An economy cannot invest too much of its financial resources in assets like properties which are not "productive" for the economy. If the property sector takes up too much of financial resources of the economy, we will not be able to have enough resources to finance investments by our local entrepreneurs. It will also means that the financial sector will be over-exposed to a potential bubble which will wipe off our wealth when it burst.

Experiences from Japan, Ireland and even US have shown that over-exposure of the financial sector to the bubble prone property sector will destroy the economy. Japan has hardly recover from its collapse of economy due to property bubble since 1990s!

It is up to every Singaporeans to judge on whether what I write here make any sense. It is easy to sell greed to the masses but it will create non-reversal damage to our future generations. It is not easy to convince people that high property prices are BAD for them. I have waited this long for the opportune time to explain what I have learned throughout these years. I urge every readers who agree with my views to help me to spread this message to your friends and relatives.

This unsustainable and potentially damaging HDB-retirement scheme must be stopped and ceased else our future generations will suffer in vain for our inaction.

Goh Meng Seng

cleareyes

Can you for cry bout loud use layman terms?

Not everyone study economics and even if many does, most wont bother to remember.

coolguy

GMS, you are correct to raise your concerns.
But as the saying goes "When one never see his coffin, he will never cry."
So unless the bubble burst now, what you have said will fall on dead ears.

Goh, stop copying my points. I already raised these issues at a time when u disagreed with them. U did not mention a couple of points.

1)This high housing costs via high price of flats is directly contributing to the uncompetitive nature of the singapore economy. Imagine if the HDB actually sold a flat at cost to a singaporean. Lets say the flat cost price is $100K. The sinkie will have a small mortgage payment when purchasing this flat, and a small mortgage amount of maybe only $80K. His monthly payments is only a few hundred dollars. He therefore can afford to take a job paying him $1500 a month, and still afford his mortgage payment and put food on the table. Can u imagine how much more competive the economy would be if the labour cost was so low?

2) This leads us to the next point. If the singapore economy was so competitive, with people able to work for wages this low, is there any need to import cheap FT labour? Would MNCs even consider relocating?

3) My analysis of the HDB loans is that at this point, they would prefer not to do the loans. That is why they allow the banks to get in on the act. They are actually losing money on the loans, the interest rate charged is not enough for them. I believe if possible, HDB would get out of the housing loan business if they could and turn it over to the banks.

4) Selling your flat to retire is a very risky proposition. U are basically doing real estate speculation on your retirement fund. U have to time the market properly. If you are selling the flat because u are retiring, or downsizing, what happens of its a down market? How do u know u are selling at a best price. Do u postpone your retirement until the market improves so u can sell your flat for more money? How will people determine this?

5) People don't realise that selling the flat for retirement is a probable scenario, but the more likely scenario would be that they sell the flat when they incur high medical bills due to one or more medical illnesses. because our govt, provides very little social benefits, medical bills will be high non subsidized and paid out of your own pocket. Hence the actual retirement income available will be even less than what people think they need.

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
Dear PAPSmear,

I am sorry, where and when did you write your views on HDB as the retirement scheme of PAP's policy?

Goh Meng Seng

Tristan

Can you for cry bout loud use layman terms?

Not everyone study economics and even if many does, most wont bother to remember.

He wantsto sound "learned". Well if you can't convince someone, confuse them.

The graph and report prepared by Lucky Tan? Who the fark is he? Some blogger who rates "Money no enough" and "Liang Po Po" as his best movies.... Hardly the kind of person you would take seriously.

Coolsaint77

Basically the government is happy to propagate the bubble. The bubble can be sustained for unbelievably long time... but it would have to burst at some point.

Quite sad when your country expect you to work till you die, at lower salary when you are old, and provide for your own retirement... on the premise "there is no free meal".

Wage scale is obviously not catching up with asset inflation. High asset price makes you feel good, but not many can realise this returns unless you have more than one property and sell one of them.

If the prices continue to reach one peak after another, the logical thing to do is to cash out and be homeless... but cash rich. Park the money somewhere else.

There has not been a country in the world that could escape the bursting of an asset bubble... though we dont know how long it takes.

I dread the thought of growing old in Singapore and finding myself not able to pay for my medical bills... i have already executed my plan B and i believe many has done so.

Tristan

GMS: ...a 30 year mortgage plan will DEFINITELY force Singaporeans to sell their flats for retirement.

Not necessarily. Some have other savings to rely on. I sold my flat 5 years ago and now stay in a private property. I started with a HDB but did not end there nor rely on it fr retirement. I have a tidy sum invested in other areas for my retirement. It depends on your ability.

Ahhhh Magdalene.......Still gives me a hard on after all these years!!!:p:p:p

In case you aren't aware, viagra's available in the market now. Your hard on will get a superb boost. Just standby some ice water just in case it is needed to cool THING down. Magdalene is history. Try Ho C today.

Airlib

For what purpose is that article for?? To show off your knowledge??? Articles like that... I think MND can easily shoot it down point by point with their scholars serving their bonds there... So don't waste time lah.... Do something more constructive to gain the confident of voters will you....

Thick Face Black Heart

The graph and report prepared by Lucky Tan? Who the fark is he? Some blogger who rates "Money no enough" and "Liang Po Po" as his best movies.... Hardly the kind of person you would take seriously.

Lucky tan is seriously over-rated and over-hyped by his compatriots. He might be able to teach GCE "O" level economics no doubt but just because he is the only blogger who actively weaves "O" level econs concepts into his satirical postings mean he necessarily makes sound points wif substance.

Another over-hyped but seriously lacking in any substance guy is Mr Wang.

I prefer broad-based and yet cutting analysis like Alex Au, a couple of writers at TOC (EXCEPT Leong Sze Hian the broken record), Gerald Giam, etc.

ivebert

Only a loser like GMS will use the world "sustainable" to describe housing policies :oIo:

People with brains will find this usage very weird and out of place because this is not the right way to describe housing policies

Anyone agree?

ivebert

GMS: ...a 30 year mortgage plan will DEFINITELY force Singaporeans to sell their flats for retirement.

Not necessarily. Some have other savings to rely on. I sold my flat 5 years ago and now stay in a private property. I started with a HDB but did not end there nor rely on it fr retirement. I have a tidy sum invested in other areas for my retirement. It depends on your ability.

A 30 year mortage is necessary to keep the spurs on those sinkie peasants

Over the 20 years, the Govt may have realized that if you give them the peasants much $$$, they go to Casinos, KTVs and prostitutes. The better peasants will take the money and migrate to other countries.

Hence I would rather the money go to Temasek Holdings to they can invest in our economy

Only a loser like GMS will use the world "sustainable" to describe housing policies :oIo:

People with brains will find this usage very weird and out of place because this is not the right way to describe housing policies

Anyone agree?

Price is according to supply and demand. Basic economics. If price is so high that few can afford to buy, then there'd be excess unsold supply, and price would adjust downward itself. Basic economics again.

From a political angle, if too many people can't afford prices artificially jacked up by policies, there'd be many homeless causing more socio-political problems. There are, but not that many, as least not yet.

Price is according to supply and demand. Basic economics. If price is so high that few can afford to buy, then there'd be excess unsold supply, and price would adjust downward itself. Basic economics again.

From a political angle, if too many people can't afford prices artificially jacked up by policies, there'd be many homeless causing more socio-political problems. There are, but not that many, as least not yet.

Fuck, everyone in this thread just lost their brains or what? Basic economics as u say does not apply here. Where have u been? When one party controls the supply (by owning over 80% of the land, and 100% of the flats) and creates the demand (by building very few flats and letting in many FTs who need housing), u can throw your supply and demand theory out the door.

ivebert

Do you know how and when the media uses the word "sustainable"?

It is important for cocksters like GMS to adhere to their standards so the mass can understand. :rolleyes: