• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

2010 Academic Ranking Of World Universities ...

sammymugabe

I'm not British, just so happen to live there because of parents moving there for work.

Did you get British citizenship at that point? I highly doubt so based on what I know of NS regulations.

If so, you do not pay citizen rates in Oxford.

Since there's "nothing wrong" with going to a local university, you really should have flown back and attended NTU here or something. Then you'd only pay $3-4k a year or something.

jixiaolan

Did you go to Oxford for your UNDERGRAD?

Or are one of the many joker farmers who go to overseas to do a 9 mth course-based master's, many times in the department of a prestige school that isn't even renowned for that department in order to claim that they are "overseas grads" (they are NOT) Wanna know a big joke? I know this NTU graduate loser, who applied and went to do a 8 mth Oxford master's.......in Oxford's BUSINESS SCHOOL!

Who the fuck goes to Oxford to do businesS? Anyone in the know knows that its a joke.

Both Oxford's Said Business School and Cambridge's Judge Institute do not have the long tradition of running MBA programmes but they are world renowned. You can get in, then you talk ok.

LoserKiller

Did you get British citizenship at that point? I highly doubt so based on what I know of NS regulations.

If so, you do not pay citizen rates in Oxford.

Since there's "nothing wrong" with going to a local university, you really should have flown back and attended NTU here or something. Then you'd only pay $3-4k a year or something.

Oxford/Cambridge is a bad investment for non-scholarship holders... Its easy to get in if you have 4 As and above.

hokkienpeng

Oxford/Cambridge is a bad investment for non-scholarship holders... Its easy to get in if you have 4 As and above.

They are both crappy universities too:

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/e...hing-nobel-in-deceiving-ourselves-764880.html

Oxbridge's budget and endowment are a fraction of top American private universities'. For this reason, their graduate programmes are particularly easy to get into; anyone willing to spend about $35,000 on fees can buy a masters degree from Oxbridge. But of course most S'poreans don't know that. In Singapore, you can still con people with an Oxbridge degree.

It's slightly harder to gain admission to Oxbridge as an undergraduate (around 30% acceptance rate) but the selectivity is nowhere near American schools like Harvard (7%), Stanford (8%), Yale (8%), etc.

The only exception is maybe Trinity College, Cambridge. It still has pretty high admissions standards.

sammymugabe

No lah

If you look at this ranking, it is highly inaccurate.

How can Uni of Sydney be better than University of Virginia?

UV is one of the best public schools in US

You're such a deluded ignorant loser who must have studied in NUS or even more tragic, NTU or SMU. I dunno which of the three clown schools is saddest.

University of Sydney has produced 3 Nobel laureates. Its true that UV is one of the best universities in the US. But Sydney is no slouch. In fact, Australian universities in total produced 15 Nobel laureates and the Japanese ones, over 20.

Singapore farmer universities? how about ZERO?

sammymugabe

Both Oxford's Said Business School and Cambridge's Judge Institute do not have the long tradition of running MBA programmes but they are world renowned. You can get in, then you talk ok.

I know you're one of the local farmers despised and laughed at, who in a desperate bid to remove the farmer label from your forehead, applied to Said business school.

Nobody worth any salt goes to Oxbridge for b-school.

Ask anyone, even the local farmers (Nus, Ntu, Smu), or the poly grads or even some people who did not go to poly or university at all. ANYONE who's been born in the first world after the year 1970 knows that the BEST b-schools outside of the USA are a few names - INSEAD is one of them. Other than that, the best b-schools universally recognised by even a beggar or a truck driver are Harvard, Wharton of Penn and Stanford.

There is a very prestigious and hard-to-get-in and highly regarded B-school in the UK and that's London Business School. Have you even heard of it? Haha

NOBODY, absolutely nobody except NTU and NUS losers apply to Oxbridge for b-school.

You have no idea who you're dealing with..I suggest you make a fool elsewhere where nobody like me can call your bluff.

vamjok

Actually out of all the rankings I see, local universities fare the same as this ranking. There is only 1 ranking that ranks NUS at 30 something. Judging from your kind of 'reasoning', I think that ranking is the one that 'skews' towards a 'focus of study'.

Everyone knows that the useless Times ranking's biggest weightage is on the proportion of international students. Local universities try to do well on that ranking by importing lots of third rate PRC, Indian, Viet and Malaysians. Later they send press release to the 154th dog press, the 154th pethouse dogs will collaborate on the efforts and publish fake sell-backside stories to easily hoodwink Sinkies, most of whom are frogs in the well who graduated from the three loser universities. They are well known to be gullible and having no critical thinking abilities or exposure to the big wide world overseas or life experience, they are easy to fool.

i am actually rather happy with ntu and nus current policy of getting more FT. this is a source of good quality prc mei mei to screw

sammymugabe

They are both crappy universities too:

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/e...hing-nobel-in-deceiving-ourselves-764880.html

Oxbridge's budget and endowment are a fraction of top American private universities'. For this reason, their graduate programmes are particularly easy to get into; anyone willing to spend about $35,000 on fees can buy a masters degree from Oxbridge. But of course most S'poreans don't know that. In Singapore, you can still con people with an Oxbridge degree.

It's slightly harder to gain admission to Oxbridge as an undergraduate (around 30% acceptance rate) but the selectivity is nowhere near American schools like Harvard (7%), Stanford (8%), Yale (8%), etc.

The only exception is maybe Trinity College, Cambridge. It still has pretty high admissions standards.

Finally, someone else in the thread who has some clue.

Yes indeed. Its very much easier getting a place in Oxbridge than American universities. However in Singapore, most people don't know this and this is the reason there are farmer graduates from here who try to apply to some lacklustre b-school or MSc course in Oxbridge in order to tell others in the office that they're overseas grads.

However, most of them who apply still do not get in.

Overall, this applies to both US and UK universities - it's much harder to get into the undergrad programme of the SAME department of the SAME university, than the post grad programme like master's. In fact, the higher up you go, the easier it is to get a place. Undergrad is the hardest, next is Master's, easiest to get a place is PhD.

This applies only when comparing the SAME department. For instance, obviously its easier to get into Yale undergrad engineering (because Yale is NOT known for engineering, MIT/Caltech are) than the super prestigious Wharton b-school in Upenn.

I've touched on this in a previous post. A guy in MIT PhD who got into MIT undergrad is not smarter than a guy who got into MIT undergrad of the same department. The first guy just chose to stay on. A guy with NUS PhD is 100 times dumber than a guy in the worst undergrad department in Oxbridge or HYPSM.

The idiots in this thread who wont be able to understand the logic above include the guy who just posted the George Bush post.

sammymugabe

Local universities have a 100% acceptance rate. Local universities in total, got more than 16000 places. Every year, A level and IB grads, not even as many as 16000. The rest of the students in are poly applicants.

Its law and med schools are the dumping ground of scholarship rejects. Its other departments take in people with grades like CCC.

LoserKiller

I know you're one of the local farmers despised and laughed at, who in a desperate bid to remove the farmer label from your forehead, applied to Said business school.

Nobody worth any salt goes to Oxbridge for b-school.

Ask anyone, even the local farmers (Nus, Ntu, Smu), or the poly grads or even some people who did not go to poly or university at all. ANYONE who's been born in the first world after the year 1970 knows that the BEST b-schools outside of the USA are a few names - INSEAD is one of them. Other than that, the best b-schools universally recognised by even a beggar or a truck driver are Harvard, Wharton of Penn and Stanford.

There is a very prestigious and hard-to-get-in and highly regarded B-school in the UK and that's London Business School. Have you even heard of it? Haha

NOBODY, absolutely nobody except NTU and NUS losers apply to Oxbridge for b-school.

You have no idea who you're dealing with..I suggest you make a fool elsewhere where nobody like me can call your bluff.

You haven't answer 1 very important question

Where did you graduate from?

Royalblood

Local universities have a 100% acceptance rate. Local universities in total, got more than 16000 places. Every year, A level and IB grads, not even as many as 16000. The rest of the students in are poly applicants.

Its law and med schools are the dumping ground of scholarship rejects. Its other departments take in people with grades like CCC.

Those are pretty strong claims you are making. You need to provide some concrete evidence to substantiate your claims in order not to make urself look like an idiot

hokkienpeng

George W Bush is a Yale and Harvard alumnus.

George W. Bush entered Yale in 1964. Those were the days when you could get admitted just because your dad was a senator or an Yale alumni. Those days are long gone.

Do you know why when it came to the two Bush twins, one went to Yale while the other went to UT Austin? That's because one of them applied just before Yale eliminated its policy of favoring alumni's children while the other applied after.

hokkienpeng

Forgive my ignorance but which business school did Carlos Slim matriculate at?

If you look at the Forbes top 10 list, most of them, especially the younger ones, went to spectacular schools (Harvard, Columbia, Stanford, Chicago, Ecole Polytechnique, RWTH Aachen, etc):

http://www.worldsbiggests.com/2010/03/world-richest-people-top-10-list.html

The usual retort that you get when you tell people this is the tired old shit about some of them dropping out. It's getting in that is the most difficult part. Most people couldn't be a Harvard drop-out if their lives depended on it.

But I digressed. Carlos Slim went to UNAM. While it's no Harvard or Yale, it's the Mexican equivalent of Peking University or Tokyo University and it has produced three Nobel prize winners. He was an unusually good student -- already teaching classes at the university before he had graduated.

Bear in mind that Carlos Slim was from a generation when American universities saw very few overseas applicants and most governments would only send scientists and engineers to train in American universities. It's of course a different world today; while Carlos Slim didn't have a Stanford MBA, you better have one if you hope to become a top lieutenant in his company.

CCBcsj

You're out of touch. Law and Med, you may not get in even with 4 H2 "As", and 1 H3 distinction. Most faculties in the three universities will reject 3 Cs (although some will interview those with one A and 2 Ds).

LoserKiller

You're out of touch. Law and Med, you may not get in even with 4 H2 "As", and 1 H3 distinction. Most faculties in the three universities will reject 3 Cs (although some will interview those with one A and 2 Ds).

Until he tells us where he graduate from, no need to give much thought to his statements lah... I think he is just from a public uni in America.. big deal meh???

Seee3

Local .....

Local med schools take in only about 260 per year. Top local students are crazy over becoming doctors. Many scholars would willing trade their overseas scholarships for a place in local med. Knew of one given full scholarship by Cambridge itself rejecting the offer because he was accepted by local med. By the way, the selection of students for med is not purely by academic results (although 5As is the norm).

CCBcsj

Until he tells us where he graduate from, no need to give much thought to his statements lah... I think he is just from a public uni in America.. big deal meh???

Probably not even one of the state university systems. Just one of the city universities.

Don't waste your time. Some of us had past interaction with this chap and after much discussion we realised that he is not grad but has responsibility with handling grads for the SAF in a HR role. He could spew many things but can't tie the ends to his arguments.

Ever talk to hotel service industry staff such as concierge etc. They deal with VIPs and celebrities. They eventually live in a world of VIPs and celebrities and know many factual things but they themselves are not and they live on good tips to maintain their lifestyle.

A butler at Tanglin Club used to drive a BMW and lives in a condo and his 2 sons behave as though they come from well to do families but its their mum that regularly get handouts from her sister to keep up appearances. This butler can hold a conversation with the best because of the people he has to deal with in his day job.

The same with this chap. He is right about most things when it comes to foreign universities that SAF scholars are sent to. He is also right about B-schools because they are sent there and he also understands the reasoning because he does handle the process and sees the position papers.

You can see that he is highly emotional and uses the farmer tag regularly indicating a complex. I don't think he is with PSC as he only knows SAF staff but knows zilch about the Alpha society.

Many years ago, there used to be a library belonging to the American embassy operating from a building at Raffles Place / Collyer Quay vicinity. There is a malay chap who dresses well and speaks very good english with a clear american accent. He is actually is the library assistant but knows his stuff well such as entry requirements, tests and the relevant books. He has done it for years that he is an expert. Robert Mugabe of this forum reminds me of this chap. By the way, the chap with the american accent only went to the US for holidays.